D-Link DPN-FX3060V GPON WiFi Router, (Nijika) Firmware Community Modding

TSAnime4000
post May 22 2024, 12:41 PM, updated 9 months ago

2,399 posts

D-Link DPN-FX3060V GPON Router
A GPON WiFi Router (All in One) based on Realtek SoC Processor that given by TM for Unifi Ultra Subscriber,
it share same Realtek LUNA SDK as my PON Stick Project. So I quite familiar with the layout.

Official Warranty
1. 1-Year Limited Warranty: Provided by TM, ensuring coverage for manufacturing defects.
2. Free Replacement: Available for customers who are currently under contract with TM.
3. Contractual Implications: For customers not under contract, a replacement will automatically initiate a new 2-year contract with TM.

Avoiding Contract
If you want to avoid committing to a 2-year contract, you can opt for a custom-built GPON Stick or a managed GPON device compatible with TM's OMCI, available for purchase.

Specification
SoC: RTL9607DQ (Cortex A55), 4 Core @ 1GHz, AArch64, ARMv8
RAM: 512MB DDR3L @ 1866MT/s
MEM: 256MB SPI Flash Winbond
MB: Realtek Taurus ENG Board

A1 (White)
WiFi6: RTL8852CE (2.4GHz & 5GHz)

B1 (Black)
WiFi6: RTL8192XBR (2.4GHz) + RTL8832CR (5GHz)
LAN1: RTL8221B Switch Chip (HiSGMII to 2500Base-T)

Internal
Image of A1 Hardware a gift by chong601
Image of B1 Hardware

Block Diagram
A1 (White)

B1 (Black)

Discovery 10G
I found stock firmware has 10G PON (XGPON, XGSPON). Maybe TM have planning to migrating hmm.gif

Known Issue
1. Prior to B1 Hardware @ V2.0.2 have issue to set bridge mode on certain OLT, temporary fix is by accessing UART at change FwdOp to 0x02
2. Prior to B1 Hardware @ V2.0.2 when in bridge mode, LAN side management such as WebGUI, SSH, Telnet being killed by deep ME 171 (ex: Alcatel-Lucent/Nokia OLT)
3. Both Hardware has so called "Cloud IoT" for D-Link Air, it always running and always watching, other considered this as Backdoor

Vulnerability ⚠️
Two user has been verified there several CVE or more.
If you are concern about security and want to minimise risk of attack, DON'T USE THIS DEVICE

Use of Dumb ONT Bridge to avoid backdoor, can re-use this D-Link as ATA Device, I recommend get own ATA or Desktop SIP Phone

It appear that Firmware V2.0.3 as same vulnerability as previous version

VoIP User Agent
CODE

DPN-FX3060V_V2.0.2 (SIP-std-R11448)

Management Entities Issue
OMCI ME can be very complex and total control of your ONT even without TR069! This mean TM can disallow Bridging and Force creation of PPPoE inside the Router!

Example of Simple OMCI Stack
* based on Alcatel-Lucent/Nokia OLT

ME Point
The RLT9607DQ has HiSGMII which can be paired with RLT8221B for 2.5GbE Access, but it use wrong ME Point, this can be fix by adjusting the OLT or Hack

Nijika Firmware A port form PON Stick Project

I have ported my PON Stick Project to both hardware, In my spare time, I manage to add OLT Info page and bug fix!

OLT Info
ZTEG/5a544547 (ZTE)

ALCL/414c434c (Alcatel-Lucent/Nokia)

ALCL/414c434c (Alcatel-Lucent/Nokia) by jonathanwhm

As you can see, even on same OLT, the way VLAN is being push, set and manage is different, for example my fiber VLAN400 (VoIP) doesn't exist on LAN1 UNI but only exist on VEIP UNI
This discrepancy among OLT's make many user unable to bridge!

OLT Vendor Id
ASCII HEX
ALCL 414c434c
FHTT 46485454
FHTT 0x00*
HWTC 48575443
UBNT 55424e54
ZTEG 5a544547
- 0x00**
* FHTT send 0x00 to ONT as allowing other ONT work on FHTT OLT
** Sometime TM use off-brand OLT on Kampung/under-develop area

OLT Issue
On my experience during PON Stick deployment, there are many ME 171 to map. Rank from top (most troublesome)

1. Fiberhome (FHTT) (most troublesome)
A. FHTT doesn't show it's OLT Vendor Id when in Universal Mode, it cause to display as 0x00.
B. Also FHTT push ME 171 varies from customer to customer, mostly are able to bridge until ME 171 become Router Mode which is need a special IGD hack to fool OLT and quietly bridge VLAN 500 to SFP Interface
C. Speed issue are very common on FHTT, It's has lack proper QoS and doesn't have DSCP, wrong ME 277 (Priority Queue) cause speed drop or even worst: 2000Mbps Download, 67Mbps Upload ranting.gif
2. Alcatel-Lucent/Nokia (ALCL)
A. ALCL has very deep ME 171, even it can kill WebGUI, disable LAN Ports even crash the ONT by sending same VLAN on PPTP and VEIP!
B. Bridging VoIP from VEIP to LAN/SFP side can very tricky, but possible to override!
C. First time activation, only one ME 171 profile for you for all ONT you have!
D. ALCL has proper QoS and DSCP, this give user more speed especially upload speed can be max as 1100Mbps! rclxm9.gif
3. Huawei (HWTC)
A. HWTC have different Forwarding Operation (FwdOp) depend on legal TM ONT, mostly HWTC would use 0x04 or 0x10 for other ONT
B. Bridging VoIP from VEIP to LAN/SFP side can very tricky, but possible to override!
C. Plugging different ONT cause HWTC set different ME 171 profile to match that ONT, as simple fix!
4. ZTE (ZTEG) (least troublesome)
A. ZTEG in Universal is very easy to handle, ME 171 also simple
B. ZTEG has very highest speed performance! Download speed can be max as 2129Mbps! overtake ALCL for Download performance!
C. ZTEG also has proper QoS despite lack DSCP feature!
If you ask me, FHTT is crap to work with! I hate FHTT Priority Queue so much!

Share OLT Status Page
Please update the firmware to correct Hardware A1 or B1, and share your OLT Info just like screenshot above,
This way we here can know which OLT are you on, either troublesome FHTT or awesome ZTEG

Firmware download can be found on next post

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Oct 27 2024, 03:49 AM
TSAnime4000
post May 22 2024, 12:42 PM

2,399 posts

Firmware Download
D-Link DPN-FX3060V, Hardware A1 (White):
DPN-FX3060V_V1.1.2_20231108_rel241118.njk

D-Link DPN-FX3060V, Hardware B1 (Black):
DPN-FX3060V_V2.0.3_20240802_rel241118.njk

WARNING!
By flashing this custom firmware, your device warranty will be invalid!

Change Log
CODE

Revision 241118
1. Add Proprietary Huawei OMCI/ME (support TIME & Maxis own infra)
2. Add Hardware Information
3. Add current image partition info
4. Base Firmware B1 2.0.3
5. Base Firmware A1 1.1.2 (no change)
6. Updated login page :3
7. Vulnerable still exist because I didn't patch yet, welp.
8. Build-in Web Speedtest @ http://192.168.0.1/speedtest (only can test download, buggy)

Revision 240521
1. Add OLT Status page at Status Menu
2. Add fix WebGUI being killed, at least it works on me (ALCL)

Revert Firmware
To roll back, just enable SSH/Telnet in the WebGUI and do this:

CODE
nv getenv sw_active

If value return 0:
CODE

nv setenv sw_active 1
nv setenv sw_commit 1
reboot

If value return 1:
CODE

nv setenv sw_active 0
nv setenv sw_commit 0
reboot

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Nov 28 2024, 10:00 AM
jiaen0509
post May 23 2024, 05:51 PM

3,305 posts

I have 3 questions:

1. Does your firmware provide a fix for the issue where bridge mode is unavailable on certain OLTs?
2. Do we have the original firewall configuration to roll back to in case anything happens before the TM team arrives?
3. Could you share the steps or method for updating the firmware, so we avoid any mistakes that might cause issues?

This post has been edited by jiaen0509: May 23 2024, 05:52 PM
TSAnime4000
post May 23 2024, 08:26 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ May 23 2024, 05:51 PM)
I have 3 questions:

1. Does your firmware provide a fix for the issue where bridge mode is unavailable on certain OLTs?
2. Do we have the original firewall configuration to roll back to in case anything happens before the TM team arrives?
3. Could you share the steps or method for updating the firmware, so we avoid any mistakes that might cause issues?
1. Not yet, I believe this fixable via changing FwdOp, at least works on me under Nokia OLT

2. The firmware is pulled from the SPI Flash, I only modify to add only OLT Info page, this help to troubleshooting how OLT set your VLAN and TM doesn't care, I show this to them, they liked OLT Info page as this very useful information

3. Just update as usual at Maintenance ▶️ Firmware Upgrade.
To roll back, just enable SSH/Telnet and do this:

CODE
nv getenv sw_active

If value return 0:
CODE

nv setenv sw_active 1
nv setenv sw_commit 1
reboot

If value return 1:
CODE

nv setenv sw_active 0
nv setenv sw_commit 0
reboot

This Router has two different OS, can set which partition need to boot
eclectice
post May 25 2024, 07:59 AM

2,734 posts

jonathanwhm
post May 25 2024, 03:45 PM

87 posts

I requested TM to switch the ONU model from A1 to B1. The next morning, three technicians from TM came to my house to inspect the ONU. They decided not to make the change because the ONU was still functioning perfectly. They also questioned me about how I obtained Nijiki's firmware over the call. Unfortunately, I wasn't home at that time to answer their questions and paksa them to change the model sad.gif
P/S: My dad saw them taking a photo of the ONU login screen at that time.

This post has been edited by jonathanwhm: May 25 2024, 03:49 PM
jiaen0509
post May 25 2024, 07:30 PM

3,305 posts

QUOTE(jonathanwhm @ May 25 2024, 03:45 PM)
I requested TM to switch the ONU model from A1 to B1. The next morning, three technicians from TM came to my house to inspect the ONU. They decided not to make the change because the ONU was still functioning perfectly. They also questioned me about how I obtained Nijiki's firmware over the call. Unfortunately, I wasn't home at that time to answer their questions and paksa them to change the model  sad.gif
They like to snap snap snap whatever they like. I use my own Asus router also their face like surprised and take my asus router picture😒
Ashren
post May 25 2024, 08:58 PM

156 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ May 25 2024, 07:30 PM)
They like to snap snap snap whatever they like. I use my own Asus router also their face like surprised and take my asus router picture😒
Using own router not a problem but custom modding or tampering their service equipment considered breach of ToS already. They can deny you their service or even blacklist you. It also break your ONR warranty. In this case I'm sure they'll dig more about Anime's firmware and I'm not surprised if they disable manual future update and only push updates through TR-069. That's why it's important to roll back any changes you made to the device before any on-site visit or warranty claim. Not just for TM's equipment but all other devices running under custom firmwares. Aways make sure to go back to stock beforehand.

This post has been edited by Ashren: May 25 2024, 09:53 PM
TSAnime4000
post May 25 2024, 10:02 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(jonathanwhm @ May 25 2024, 03:45 PM)
I requested TM to switch the ONU model from A1 to B1. The next morning, three technicians from TM came to my house to inspect the ONU. They decided not to make the change because the ONU was still functioning perfectly. They also questioned me about how I obtained Nijiki's firmware over the call. Unfortunately, I wasn't home at that time to answer their questions and paksa them to change the model  sad.gif
You can just switch Boot Partition back to Stock Partition, first, do this:

Roll Back Previous Boot Partition
Enable SSH/Telnet

Login SSH
Type tmadmin@192.168.0.1 at Windows Console or Linux/Mac Terminal

Enter Busybox
Type "sh" after saw >

Now in Busybox
You will see # when in busybox

Get Current Boot Partition

Set Boot Partition

NOTE:
When return sw_active=1, type this:
CODE

nv setenv sw_active 0
nv setenv sw_commit 0
reboot

When return sw_active=0, type this:
CODE

nv setenv sw_active 1
nv setenv sw_commit 1
reboot

This will switch boot, it's recommend boot into 0 first and let Nijika at 1

before you flash Nijika, make sure check sw_active=0, then you can update firmware, this will flash Nijika at Partition 1 and automatically reboot to Partition 1

This time, you have:
Stock at sw_active=0 Partition 0
Nijika at sw_active=1 Partition 1

This post has been edited by Anime4000: May 25 2024, 10:07 PM
sadlyfalways
post May 26 2024, 01:59 AM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ May 22 2024, 12:41 PM)
D-Link DPN-FX3060V GPON Router
A GPON WiFi Router (All in One) based on Realtek SoC Processor that given by TM for Unifi Ultra Subscriber,
it share same Realtek LUNA SDK as my PON Stick Project. So I quite familiar with the layout.

Specification
SoC: RTL9607DQ (Cortex A55), 4 Core @ 1GHz, AArch64, ARMv8
RAM: 512MB DDR3L @ 1866MT/s
MEM: 256MB SPI Flash Winbond
MB: Realtek Taurus ENG Board

A1 (White)
WiFi6: RTL8852CE (2.4GHz & 5GHz)

B1 (Black)
WiFi6: RTL8192XBR (2.4GHz) + RTL8832CR (5GHz)
LAN1: RTL8221B Switch Chip (HiSGMII to 2500Base-T)

Internal
Image of A1 Hardware a gift by chong601
Image of B1 Hardware

Block Diagram
A1 (White)

B1 (Black)

Discovery 10G
I found stock firmware has 10G PON (XGPON, XGSPON). Maybe TM have planning to migrating hmm.gif

Known Issue
1. Prior to B1 Hardware @ V2.0.2 have issue to set bridge mode on certain OLT, temporary fix is by accessing UART at change FwdOp to 0x02
2. Prior to B1 Hardware @ V2.0.2 when in bridge mode, LAN side management such as WebGUI, SSH, Telnet being killed by deep ME 171 (ex: Alcatel-Lucent/Nokia OLT)
3. Both Hardware has so called "Cloud IoT" for D-Link Air, it always running and always watching, other considered this as Backdoor

Backdoor
D-Link security track record is not that great, even both hardware shipped with Cloud IoT for D-Link Air by default! UART Log
If you concern about security of your network, you can use old ONU or PON Stick for 2Gbps

When use of PON Stick to avoid backdoor, can re-use this D-Link as ATA Device, I recommend get own ATA or Desktop SIP Phone

Management Entities Issue
OMCI ME can be very complex and total control of your ONT even without TR069! This mean TM can disallow Bridging and Force creation of PPPoE inside the Router!

Example of Simple OMCI Stack
* based on Alcatel-Lucent/Nokia OLT

ME Point
The RLT9607DQ has HiSGMII which can be paired with RLT8221B for 2.5GbE Access, but it use wrong ME Point, this can be fix by adjusting the OLT or Hack

Nijika Firmware A port form PON Stick Project

I have ported my PON Stick Project to both hardware, In my spare time, I manage to add OLT Info page and bug fix!

OLT Info
ZTEG/5a544547 (ZTE)

ALCL/414c434c (Alcatel-Lucent/Nokia)

ALCL/414c434c (Alcatel-Lucent/Nokia) by jonathanwhm

As you can see, even on same OLT, the way VLAN is being push, set and manage is different, for example my fiber VLAN400 (VoIP) doesn't exist on LAN1 UNI but only exist on VEIP UNI
This discrepancy among OLT's make many user unable to bridge!

OLT Vendor Id
ASCII HEX
ALCL  414c434c
FHTT  46485454
FHTT  0x00*   
HWTC  48575443
UBNT  55424e54
ZTEG  5a544547
-     0x00**  
* FHTT send 0x00 to ONT as allowing other ONT work on FHTT OLT
** Sometime TM use off-brand OLT on Kampung/under-develop area

OLT Issue
On my experience during PON Stick deployment, there are many ME 171 to map. Rank from top (most troublesome)

1. Fiberhome (FHTT) (most troublesome)
2. Alcatel-Lucent/Nokia (ALCL)
3. Huawei (HWTC)
4. ZTE (ZTEG) (least troublesome)
If you ask me, FHTT is crap to work with! I hate FHTT Priority Queue so much!

Share OLT Status Page
Please update the firmware to correct Hardware A1 or B1, and share your OLT Info just like screenshot above,
This way we here can know which OLT are you on, either troublesome FHTT or awesome ZTEG

Firmware download can be found on next post
Nice to see some Java. Don’t know why I expected the ont to be running some version of sap hana for account status stuff 💀

This post has been edited by sadlyfalways: May 26 2024, 01:59 AM
eclectice
post May 26 2024, 11:18 PM

2,734 posts

QUOTE(sadlyfalways @ May 26 2024, 01:59 AM)
Nice to see some Java. Don’t know why I expected the ont to be running some version of sap hana for account status stuff 💀
Java? It's more like C to me.
TSAnime4000
post May 29 2024, 01:27 PM

2,399 posts

I have send mtd14 (ubi_apps) and IoT Module (D-Link Air) to PON Hacking

There is several vulnerabilities:
1. IoT not suppose to run as Root Privilege
2. IoT bind on all Interface (ppp, nas0, nas1, ethX, wlanX) including t-cont

CODE

2227     1 root     S    99512 21.6   1  0.0 /bin/ccom_linkkit [redacted] cloudProductSecret [redacted] [redacted] Shanghai
1690     1 root     S     8872  1.9   2  0.0 /bin/tr142_app

ubi_apps, tr142 and /bin/ccom_linkkit always run as root no matter what, cannot be disable in WebGUI

they found many vulnerability such as common overflow, it can be attack even in Bridge Mode.

I trying to remove from the firmware, it caught on boot loop 😭
It has been suggested that to replace to ability to reply in boot process, this will take time, might more time eradicate any IoT
jiaen0509
post Jun 5 2024, 10:33 AM

3,305 posts

Today I plugged back the A1 (White) ONR and bridge mode to my ASUS router. Noticed one issue with my speed where my upload was capped around 150mbps.

While full speed on my ZTE ONU

TSAnime4000
post Jun 5 2024, 12:20 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(jiaen0509 @ Jun 5 2024, 10:33 AM)
Today I plugged back the A1 (White) ONR and bridge mode to my ASUS router. Noticed one issue with my speed where my upload was capped around 150mbps.

While full speed on my ZTE ONU

can you flash my custom firmware and screenshot OLT Info
jonathanwhm
post Jun 11 2024, 08:01 PM

87 posts

I just got the ONU replaced by TM this evening, from model A1 to B1. I'm running on Bridge Mode and using my Deco BE85 as a router. I managed to get around 2085Mbps DL and 1037Mbps UL.

mivec024
post Jun 17 2024, 03:48 PM

hi, would like to ask, is it possible for me to setup my old router (dir x1860z) as mesh with my new onr (dpn fx3060z)

i already tried couple of time using wps button, but not successful

is there any method and step to pair it if it possible
zeronehza
post Jun 22 2024, 08:08 PM

Malaysian Real Madrid Supporter Club
1,704 posts

QUOTE(jonathanwhm @ Jun 11 2024, 08:01 PM)
I just got the ONU replaced by TM this evening, from model A1 to B1. I'm running on Bridge Mode and using my Deco BE85 as a router. I managed to get around 2085Mbps DL and 1037Mbps UL.

replaced ? u request or the white one got prob ? got contract extension for replacement ?
jonathanwhm
post Jun 23 2024, 12:43 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(zeronehza @ Jun 22 2024, 09:08 PM)
replaced ? u request or the white one got prob ? got contract extension for replacement ?
Yes, it has been replaced. There is no contract extension, but an additional RM50 is charged to this month's bill.
kwss
post Jul 24 2024, 09:12 AM

1,207 posts

I just take a look at the firmware. Can you provide the content of ubi0:ubi_Config (/var/config)?

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ May 29 2024, 01:27 PM)
I have send mtd14 (ubi_apps) and IoT Module (D-Link Air) to PON Hacking

There is several vulnerabilities:
1. IoT not suppose to run as Root Privilege
2. IoT bind on all Interface (ppp, nas0, nas1, ethX, wlanX) including t-cont

CODE

2227     1 root     S    99512 21.6   1  0.0 /bin/ccom_linkkit [redacted] cloudProductSecret [redacted] [redacted] Shanghai
1690     1 root     S     8872  1.9   2  0.0 /bin/tr142_app

ubi_apps, tr142 and /bin/ccom_linkkit always run as root no matter what, cannot be disable in WebGUI

they found many vulnerability such as common overflow, it can be attack even in Bridge Mode.

I trying to remove from the firmware, it caught on boot loop 😭
It has been suggested that to replace to ability to reply in boot process, this will take time, might more time eradicate any IoT
ubi cannot be disabled because it is used to mount the config partition.

tr142 (kernel module + tr142_app) is loaded via the following path:
insdrv.sh -> rtk_tr142.sh

However I am not sure if it can be easily disabled because it is referenced in the following binary: axel, boa, monitord, omci_app, smuxctl, startup.
You can try nuking it in insdrv.sh and see if the device still boots.

ccom_linkkit is linked inside /bin/startup. Theoretically building a new statically linked ccom_linkkit should work.
CODE

int main()
{
   return 0;
}

Depending if they actually check for error code, you might get away with replacing ccom_linkkit with inert binary like id:
CODE

# cp id ccom_linkkit

Also looks like iot-auth-global.aliyuncs.com is actually dead. Depending on which server you hit, you get a 302 to different location. I did not have the hardware to test this, but it seems hardcoded to lookup using the following DNS server: 223.5.5.5, 223.6.6.6, 8.8.8.8.

Completely untested, all based on static analysis and non expert understanding.

This post has been edited by kwss: Jul 24 2024, 09:15 AM
TSAnime4000
post Jul 24 2024, 12:36 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Jul 24 2024, 09:12 AM)
I just take a look at the firmware. Can you provide the content of ubi0:ubi_Config (/var/config)?
ubi cannot be disabled because it is used to mount the config partition.

tr142 (kernel module + tr142_app) is loaded via the following path:
insdrv.sh -> rtk_tr142.sh

However I am not sure if it can be easily disabled because it is referenced in the following binary: axel, boa, monitord, omci_app, smuxctl, startup.
You can try nuking it in insdrv.sh and see if the device still boots.

ccom_linkkit is linked inside /bin/startup. Theoretically building a new statically linked ccom_linkkit should work.
CODE

int main()
{
   return 0;
}

Depending if they actually check for error code, you might get away with replacing ccom_linkkit with inert binary like id:
CODE

# cp id ccom_linkkit

Also looks like iot-auth-global.aliyuncs.com is actually dead. Depending on which server you hit, you get a 302 to different location. I did not have the hardware to test this, but it seems hardcoded to lookup using the following DNS server: 223.5.5.5, 223.6.6.6, 8.8.8.8.

Completely untested, all based on static analysis and non expert understanding.
I have ARM64 build root, all sus binary replaced with "int main::return 0;" as you mention it, luckily it still boot but usable not tried yet.

all the rucks happen lately, I stop Reverse Engineering on this D-Link DPN series, and remove the firmware download links sweat.gif

I have been told in discord discussion that D-Link DPN-FX3060V has vulnerable, they still didn't tell me how to exploit it, as for this I now didn't care to nuke sus IoT binary out of D-Link, just let them hack the D-Link

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Jul 24 2024, 12:39 PM
kwss
post Jul 27 2024, 07:01 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jul 24 2024, 12:36 PM)
I have ARM64 build root, all sus binary replaced with "int main::return 0;" as you mention it, luckily it still boot but usable not tried yet.

all the rucks happen lately, I stop Reverse Engineering on this D-Link DPN series, and remove the firmware download links sweat.gif

I have been told in discord discussion that D-Link DPN-FX3060V has vulnerable, they still didn't tell me how to exploit it, as for this I now didn't care to nuke sus IoT binary out of D-Link, just let them hack the D-Link
I reverse engineer ccom_linkkit.
It is basically built on top of AliOS Things, which can be found here:
https://github.com/alibaba/AliOS-Things

The vulnerabilities seems to be many of the components are old and never updated.
After looking at some of the CVE, potentially exploitable in the real world are:
CVE-2024-2466
CVE-2024-23775
CVE-2024-6197

I am limiting my CVE search to within these 2 years based on the state of AliOS Things repo.
No doubt there are other known CVE but I feel they are a bit "hard" to exploit.
If I am the attacker I would just focus on the above CVEs.

I only check for curl, cjson and mbedtls. I did not go look at the other long list of components.
This is really some intense time consuming work.

As for boa, I let this article do the talking:
https://www.theregister.com/2022/11/23/micr...boa_web_server/

This post has been edited by kwss: Jul 27 2024, 07:38 AM
TSAnime4000
post Jul 27 2024, 01:13 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Jul 27 2024, 07:01 AM)
I reverse engineer ccom_linkkit.
It is basically built on top of AliOS Things, which can be found here:
https://github.com/alibaba/AliOS-Things

The vulnerabilities seems to be many of the components are old and never updated.
After looking at some of the CVE, potentially exploitable in the real world are:
CVE-2024-2466
CVE-2024-23775
CVE-2024-6197

I am limiting my CVE search to within these 2 years based on the state of AliOS Things repo.
No doubt there are other known CVE but I feel they are a bit "hard" to exploit.
If I am the attacker I would just focus on the above CVEs.

I only check for curl, cjson and mbedtls. I did not go look at the other long list of components.
This is really some intense time consuming work.

As for boa, I let this article do the talking:
https://www.theregister.com/2022/11/23/micr...boa_web_server/
Your finding is same CVE as other guy found, but he found more apparently.
he said firmware is easily override with infected firmware and can prevent bridging,

so, forcing user to use as router so the device can become zombie/botnet
⬆️ it is possible some user reportingg can't bridge and slow speed? might device already infected
ssslayerrr
post Jul 27 2024, 04:04 PM

805 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jul 27 2024, 01:13 PM)
Your finding is same CVE as other guy found, but he found more apparently.
he said firmware is easily override with infected  firmware and can prevent bridging,

so, forcing user to use as router so the device can become zombie/botnet
⬆️ it is possible some user reportingg can't bridge and slow speed? might device already infected
OMG that is scary and diabolical man!

Both my dlinks at different sites have this problem, suddenly speed with throttle down to 300/100. white and black also like that. There seems to be no set schedule when it happens, sometimes, day time, night time/ twice a day, 3 days once......

Black one will replace once i get my media converter, will use with the ODI stick.
kwss
post Jul 27 2024, 05:53 PM

1,207 posts

This whole speed drop thing is still a mystery.
It might be malware, might be something else, might be a lot of things.

I don't think I will spend that kind of time to finally prove what caused it. Or maybe I get lucky.

I don't even know where to look right now.
TSAnime4000
post Jul 27 2024, 07:19 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Jul 27 2024, 05:53 PM)
This whole speed drop thing is still a mystery.
It might be malware, might be something else, might be a lot of things.

I don't think I will spend that kind of time to finally prove what caused it. Or maybe I get lucky.

I don't even know where to look right now.
Well, not worth of time to clean-up the D-Link or even de-compile ARM64 driver for OpenWRT on D-Link ONR

unlike PON Stick use very specific modified MIPS R3000 SoC, so far no one can compile simple hello beside obtain official Realtek Luna SDK

ARM64? Quite easy to make own binary laugh.gif
MelancholicAnubis
post Jul 30 2024, 03:38 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Jul 27 2024, 04:04 PM)
OMG that is scary and diabolical man!

Both my dlinks at different sites have this problem, suddenly speed with throttle down to 300/100. white and black also like that. There seems to be no set schedule when it happens, sometimes, day time, night time/ twice a day, 3 days once......

Black one will replace once i get my media converter, will use with the ODI stick.
I having this same exact issue! It's driving me nuts why suddenly my internet will DC and later internet speed dropped to exactly the speed range you mentioned. (Free upgraded 1Gbps plan, and TM said have to change ONU/router to this). It's running in bridge mode currently.

Not sure if complaining to TM will help.. or if there's any way to resolve the issue/root cause.. reboot seems to fix but it's just the temporary for a few days.
ssslayerrr
post Jul 30 2024, 10:00 PM

805 posts

QUOTE(MelancholicAnubis @ Jul 30 2024, 03:38 PM)
I having this same exact issue! It's driving me nuts why suddenly my internet will DC and later internet speed dropped to exactly the speed range you mentioned. (Free upgraded 1Gbps plan, and TM said have to change ONU/router to this). It's running in bridge mode currently.

Not sure if complaining to TM will help.. or if there's any way to resolve the issue/root cause.. reboot seems to fix but it's just the temporary for a few days.
I tried changing all sorts of setting, no point mentioning coz nothing worked.

Since it's a 1 gbps package, I have reverted to to the old huawei onu, it's been two days, speed hasnt' dropped yet. Will wait 1 week and update here (Coz sometimes the speed can tahan 4, 5 days, then suddenly drop again).

My other site is using a 2 gbps package, so using the old onu is not an option. For this site, I'm using an SFP xpon flashed by Anime4000.

Basically, stopped using the dlink ONU's both white and black.
MelancholicAnubis
post Jul 30 2024, 10:35 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Jul 30 2024, 10:00 PM)

Since it's a 1 gbps package, I have reverted to to the old huawei onu, it's been two days, speed hasnt' dropped yet. Will wait 1 week and update here (Coz sometimes the speed can tahan 4, 5 days, then suddenly drop again).

My other site is using a 2 gbps package, so using the old onu is not an option. For this site, I'm using an SFP xpon flashed by Anime4000.

I'm trying to revert to the old Huawei ONU, but for now seems like the PPPoE cannot dial, not sure if the old modem already blacklist or what.. will keep trying.

All the setting still intact, installer didn't reset it so not sure why it's not working.

This post has been edited by MelancholicAnubis: Jul 30 2024, 10:36 PM
kwss
post Jul 31 2024, 02:43 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(MelancholicAnubis @ Jul 30 2024, 03:38 PM)

You should make a fuss out of it to MCMC. I hope the pressure will stop TM from giving ONR to people.
TSAnime4000
post Jul 31 2024, 12:52 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(MelancholicAnubis @ Jul 30 2024, 10:35 PM)
I'm trying to revert to the old Huawei ONU, but for now seems like the PPPoE cannot dial, not sure if the old modem already blacklist or what.. will keep trying.

All the setting still intact, installer didn't reset it so not sure why it's not working.
Same issue I facing before when change DP Fiberhome to DP Nokia.
Their system has bind your ONU/PLOAM Password with S/N (Reason: prevent stolen PLOAM Password) hmm.gif

I believe Huawei HG8240H (and H5 variant) can change S/N in Full Hex,
So, Try this example:
CODE

Printed S/N: DLKI34101F1F
Vendor Id: DLKI
Serial: 34101F1F

Vendor Id in HEX: 44 4C 4B 49
Serial: 34101F1F
Concat: 444C4B49 + 34101F1F

S/N in Full HEX: 444C4B4934101F1F

Then, backup your Huawei SN then replace like this 444C4B4934101F1F

It said can put "DLKI34101F1F", try that too

QUOTE(kwss @ Jul 31 2024, 02:43 AM)
You should make a fuss out of it to MCMC. I hope the pressure will stop TM from giving ONR to people.
With recent my IPv6 case has been closed, I think TM still giving AIO / ONR for make internet cheaper...

at least TM didn't prevent use of PON Stick,

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Jul 31 2024, 01:03 PM
soonwai
post Jul 31 2024, 01:38 PM

11,455 posts

Joining the DPN-FX3060V Black club. Still in box though.
TSAnime4000
post Jul 31 2024, 01:59 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 31 2024, 01:38 PM)
Welcome, we advice not to use this D-Link because have unpatched CVE rclxub.gif
ssslayerrr
post Aug 4 2024, 05:58 AM

805 posts

QUOTE(ssslayerrr @ Jul 30 2024, 10:00 PM)

It's has been 1 week, speeds are stable on both sides, one using old ONU, other using the Xpon stick.

This pretty much confirms that the speed throttling issue is only with the black or white D-Link ONR, using bridge mode
soonwai
post Aug 4 2024, 03:49 PM

11,455 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Jul 31 2024, 01:59 PM)
Welcome, we advice not to use this D-Link because have unpatched CVE rclxub.gif
I read this thread. Now scared to even look at the DLink. sweat.gif

Later PM you for GPON stick.
TSAnime4000
post Aug 6 2024, 07:26 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Aug 4 2024, 03:49 PM)
I read this thread. Now scared to even look at the DLink. sweat.gif

Later PM you for GPON stick.
feel free to whatsapp me
Epic_winner091
post Aug 27 2024, 01:07 AM

332 posts

Also joined the black ONR club.

Is it possible to change the default DNS to Google or Cloudflare on the router?

It isn't as straightforward as the DIR-X3060Z.
TSAnime4000
post Aug 27 2024, 01:33 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(Epic_winner091 @ Aug 27 2024, 01:07 AM)
Also joined the black ONR club.

Is it possible to change the default DNS to Google or Cloudflare on the router?

It isn't as straightforward as the DIR-X3060Z.
can, but Plain DNS, ISP can hijack the query
Epic_winner091
post Aug 28 2024, 12:54 AM

332 posts

Understood. Got any pointers on where to change it? Thanks!
TSAnime4000
post Aug 28 2024, 09:25 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(Epic_winner091 @ Aug 28 2024, 12:54 AM)
Understood. Got any pointers on where to change it? Thanks!
via DHCP Server?
Epic_winner091
post Aug 29 2024, 05:57 PM

332 posts

Tried changing it. Either I did it wrong or the router is ignoring the settings.
TSAnime4000
post Aug 29 2024, 07:31 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(Epic_winner091 @ Aug 29 2024, 05:57 PM)
Tried changing it. Either I did it wrong or the router is ignoring the settings.
welp, if that didn't work, I suggest you to use own Router with DoH Support
Epic_winner091
post Aug 30 2024, 12:50 AM

332 posts

I think ASUS models have the best DoT/DoH support? If i bridge the ONR will it break VoIP?

OKLY
post Aug 30 2024, 02:18 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Epic_winner091 @ Aug 30 2024, 12:50 AM)
I think ASUS models have the best DoT/DoH support? If i bridge the ONR will it break VoIP?
Technically it shouldn’t although I’ve not tried the VoIP as I no longer use a home phone.
PRSXFENG
post Aug 30 2024, 07:41 AM

2,607 posts

Asus only supports DoT, it seems to come from Asuswrt-Merlin then got implemented back to stock firmware

DoH is not supported, and it seems like Merlin is not a fan of DoH so I don't think he will ever implement it (he does not like that dns traffic gets mixed in with http content)

with that said, there's probably something you can download and install on asuswrt-merlin
TSAnime4000
post Aug 30 2024, 01:25 PM

2,399 posts

When in bridge mode, only bridge what ME 171 told to do, only VLAN500 get passed as tagged traffic and VoIP remain as is

Many reports D-Link speed would drop overtime

This post has been edited by Anime4000: Aug 30 2024, 01:28 PM
OKLY
post Aug 30 2024, 01:40 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Aug 30 2024, 01:25 PM)
When in bridge mode, only bridge what ME 171 told to do, only VLAN500 get passed as tagged traffic and VoIP remain as is

Many reports D-Link speed would drop overtime
Any guesses/speculations why the speed drops overtime when in bridge mode? hmm.gif
Hikari Natsumi
post Aug 30 2024, 01:46 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Aug 30 2024, 01:40 PM)
Any guesses/speculations why the speed drops overtime when in bridge mode? hmm.gif
This one I not sure, check RAM are fine and no visible memory leak, it appear to be random time at random OLT,
I thought FHTT OLT cause it, also effect on HWTC and ALCL OLT.

This post has been edited by Hikari Natsumi: Aug 30 2024, 01:47 PM
jonathanwhm
post Aug 30 2024, 01:52 PM

87 posts

I finally encountered a speed drop issue when my VPN was connected to SG server. Initially, the connection was running at full speed for the first 5-10 minutes after the VPN was established. However, after some time, the speed capped at 320/150. Even after disconnecting the VPN, the speed remained capped at 320/150 until I rebooted the ONU unit.

No speed drop issue so far if I am not using any VPN service after the ONU rebooted. It happened again and again 10 minutes after the VPN was established.

This post has been edited by jonathanwhm: Aug 30 2024, 01:54 PM
kwss
post Aug 30 2024, 03:12 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(jonathanwhm @ Aug 30 2024, 01:52 PM)
I finally encountered a speed drop issue when my VPN was connected to SG server. Initially, the connection was running at full speed for the first 5-10 minutes after the VPN was established. However, after some time, the speed capped at 320/150. Even after disconnecting the VPN, the speed remained capped at 320/150 until I rebooted the ONU unit.

No speed drop issue so far if I am not using any VPN service after the ONU rebooted. It happened again and again 10 minutes after the VPN was established.
Just wondering. Did you torrent or transfer lots of data after you turn on VPN?
If you turn on VPN and do nothing, does the speed still drop?
jonathanwhm
post Aug 30 2024, 03:26 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Aug 30 2024, 04:12 PM)
Just wondering. Did you torrent or transfer lots of data after you turn on VPN?
If you turn on the VPN and do nothing, does the speed still drop?
Yes. The speed is still capped after a certain period, even if I do nothing once the VPN is established. Is it possible to have a capping system that detects the change in the routing and then throttles the speed? hmm.gif hmm.gif
kwss
post Aug 30 2024, 03:35 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(jonathanwhm @ Aug 30 2024, 03:26 PM)
Yes. The speed is still capped after a certain period, even if I do nothing once the VPN is established. Is it possible to have a capping system that detects the change in the routing and then throttles the speed? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
I'm not aware of such thing in D-Link but currently I suspect the 2.5G switch chip is overheating.
In the white D-Link, this external switch chip doesn't exist. All the functionality is provided by the SoC.

Do you happen to put the device in a confined space?

You have experiment and can trigger the speed drop as many times as you want just by connecting to VPN?

What VPN protocol did you use?
jonathanwhm
post Aug 30 2024, 03:44 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Aug 30 2024, 04:35 PM)
I'm not aware of such thing in D-Link but currently I suspect the 2.5G switch chip is overheating.
In the white D-Link, this external switch chip doesn't exist. All the functionality is provided by the SoC.

Do you happen to put the device in a confined space?

You have experiment and can trigger the speed drop as many times as you want just by connecting to VPN?

What VPN protocol did you use?
The ONU device is placed in an open area, and the ONU temperature is consistently below 20 degrees.

The speed drop only happens when connecting to a VPN (OpenVPN protocol). I tested many times and am pretty sure my line was capped after the VPN was established.

This post has been edited by jonathanwhm: Aug 30 2024, 03:49 PM
kwss
post Aug 30 2024, 03:49 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(jonathanwhm @ Aug 30 2024, 03:44 PM)
The ONU device is placed in an open area, and the temperature is consistently below 20 degrees.

The speed drop only happens when connecting to a VPN (OpenVPN protocol). I tested many times and am pretty sure my line was capped after the VPN was established.
Just to be clear. You establish the VPN from your computer and not via the ONR right?
Do you use UDP or TCP for your OpenVPN?

As far as I know, middlebox don't have any special rules for OpenVPN, unlike IKE, GRE or some other protocol.
dev/numb
post Aug 30 2024, 04:00 PM

691 posts

QUOTE(jonathanwhm @ Aug 30 2024, 03:26 PM)
Yes. The speed is still capped after a certain period, even if I do nothing once the VPN is established. Is it possible to have a capping system that detects the change in the routing and then throttles the speed? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Does your VPN provider provide more than one SG server? Try to do a traceroute/mtr to the hostname of your current SG VPN server (while not connected to the VPN, obviously) to determine the peering/transit providers. Check with your other SG VPN nodes. Hopefully your provider has a different server on a different rack/datacenter using a different peering path. I’m asking because with certain peering providers, ISPs might perform some sort of load balancing, not to target you specifically, but mainly because they’re cheapskate and won’t pay peering providers for a bigger bandwidth pipe.

This post has been edited by dev/numb: Aug 30 2024, 04:01 PM
jonathanwhm
post Aug 30 2024, 04:00 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Aug 30 2024, 04:49 PM)
Just to be clear. You establish the VPN from your computer and not via the ONR right?
Do you use UDP or TCP for your OpenVPN?

As far as I know, middlebox don't have any special rules for OpenVPN, unlike IKE, GRE or some other protocol.
I tested both on my computer and on my own router (in bridge mode) using the UDP setting. Both are getting the speed capped too.

kwss
post Aug 30 2024, 04:08 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(jonathanwhm @ Aug 30 2024, 04:00 PM)
I tested both on my computer and on my own router (in bridge mode) using the UDP setting. Both are getting the speed capped too.
With bridge mode most of the control logic are turned off. Either something is happening at the OMCI or my earlier suspicion, the external switch chip.

But none of these know you are using OpenVPN.

Just to rule out the switch chip:
Can you try iperf between the 2.5G port and the other 1G port?
Just blast them with bi-directional data
jonathanwhm
post Aug 30 2024, 04:08 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(dev/numb @ Aug 30 2024, 05:00 PM)
Does your VPN provider provide more than one SG server? Try to do a traceroute/mtr to the hostname of your current SG VPN server (while not connected to the VPN, obviously) to determine the peering/transit providers. Check with your other SG VPN nodes. Hopefully your provider has a different server on a different rack/datacenter using a different peering path. I’m asking because with certain peering providers, ISPs might perform some sort of load balancing.
I tested on 3 different SG servers (all 3 SG servers hosted by different telcos in SG) and got the same result which the speed was capped after some time. It's really strange that it happened only when the VPN was established. All back to normal after I rebooted the ONU without connecting to the VPN.
micwk
post Sep 1 2024, 01:18 PM

52 posts

I recently got upgraded and was given the DPN-FX3060V combo box. Every time I leave the house or disconnect from the home internet, I can’t connect back to the wifi.

I need to restart the router every time in order to make a connection. Restarting the phone doesn’t work. Is there a way to troubleshoot this?

* the combo box come in default settings done by the technician.
kwss
post Sep 1 2024, 05:20 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(micwk @ Sep 1 2024, 01:18 PM)
I recently got upgraded and was given the DPN-FX3060V combo box. Every time I leave the house or disconnect from the home internet, I can’t connect back to the wifi.

I need to restart the router every time in order to make a connection.  Restarting the phone doesn’t work. Is there a way to troubleshoot this?

* the combo box come in default settings done by the technician.
Do you happen to use a USB-C dock?
What about other device? Can they reconnect?
What about already connected devices? Do they continue to work?
What if you manually disconnect your phone while you are home? Can it reconnect?
Can you pinpoint it to a single device that cause this issue?
emilyngsc
post Sep 1 2024, 05:53 PM

1,644 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Jul 31 2024, 01:38 PM)
Today I also reporting in.
micwk
post Sep 2 2024, 10:57 AM

52 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Sep 1 2024, 05:20 PM)
Do you happen to use a USB-C dock?
What about other device? Can they reconnect?
What about already connected devices? Do they continue to work?
What if you manually disconnect your phone while you are home? Can it reconnect?
Can you pinpoint it to a single device that cause this issue?
I am able to connect to the 2.4G without problem but all devices can’t connect to 5G after manually disconnect. Sometimes it also auto disconnect from the 5G

This post has been edited by micwk: Sep 2 2024, 10:58 AM

TSAnime4000
post Sep 2 2024, 12:38 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Sep 1 2024, 05:53 PM)
Today I also reporting in.
Welcome, for safety...
There is known vulnerabilities and been proven hacker can override own firmware and turn as zombie/bot net, I suggest not using this D-Link, perhaps use stock ONU
kwss
post Sep 3 2024, 12:22 AM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(micwk @ Sep 2 2024, 10:57 AM)
I am able to connect to the 2.4G without problem but all devices can’t connect to 5G after manually disconnect. Sometimes it also auto disconnect from the 5G
Can you try changing the 5GHz Wi-Fi to non-DFS channel?

Did you have this problem since the day you get the D-Link or only these few days?
Do you have non-Apple device? Do they work?
biatche
post Sep 3 2024, 05:15 PM

1,649 posts

ive been offered a free upgrade.

my current ONT is some 2 years old i believe. currently i use my own mikrotik router. i hear the new device is some combobox, i desire to use my own mikrotik router still, so what kinda changes are we seeing here?

i really hope to not involve double NAT.
biatche
post Sep 3 2024, 05:16 PM

1,649 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Sep 2 2024, 12:38 PM)
Welcome, for safety...
There is known vulnerabilities and been proven hacker can override own firmware and turn as zombie/bot net, I suggest not using this D-Link, perhaps use stock ONU
what stock ONU? my current one?
Jjuggler
post Sep 3 2024, 06:46 PM

Narcissistic Genius
1,337 posts

Welcome, for safety...
LMAO. F.
PRSXFENG
post Sep 3 2024, 09:08 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Sep 3 2024, 05:15 PM)
ive been offered a free upgrade.

my current ONT is some 2 years old i believe. currently i use my own mikrotik router. i hear the new device is some combobox, i desire to use my own mikrotik router still, so what kinda changes are we seeing here?

i really hope to not involve double NAT.
It can be bridged, so double NAT can be avoided

problem is there seems to be serious speed issues, a lot of people have it drop to 300Mbps randomly and only a reboot resolves it
biatche
post Sep 3 2024, 10:38 PM

1,649 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 3 2024, 09:08 PM)
It can be bridged, so double NAT can be avoided

problem is there seems to be serious speed issues, a lot of people have it drop to 300Mbps randomly and only a reboot resolves it
so if there's security and performance issues, then can we just use our existing one?

they called me today, say im eligible for a free upgrade. as i asked questions, i learned of this new 'combobox'. i thought it was weird that they need to ask if i want the upgrade, so i asked why wouldn't anyone want it? anything hidden? and thats when i learned that they may not like the router. and so it brought me to this post.

plan would be 800mbps -> 1gbit plan. i am very certain the bottleneck isn't going to be local 99.99% the time. LAN being 1gbit, why would i need 2.5gbit lan port? can we actually purchase our own ONU or ONT wahtever its called?
PRSXFENG
post Sep 3 2024, 10:44 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Sep 3 2024, 10:38 PM)
so if there's security and performance issues, then can we just use our existing one?

they called me today, say im eligible for a free upgrade. as i asked questions, i learned of this new 'combobox'. i thought it was weird that they need to ask if i want the upgrade, so i asked why wouldn't anyone want it? anything hidden? and thats when i learned that they may not like the router. and so it brought me to this post.

plan would be 800mbps -> 1gbit plan. i am very certain the bottleneck isn't going to be local 99.99% the time. LAN being 1gbit, why would i need 2.5gbit lan port? can we actually purchase our own ONU or ONT wahtever its called?
Well, 1gig Lan port = 940Mbps in the real world
2.5gig Lan port can help you extract that last 60Mbps or so for a true 1gig

But yes, the bottleneck will mostly be in international routing

Own ONU/ONT, not supposed to replace on your own, but the TS of this thread sells their own customized one
biatche
post Sep 3 2024, 11:09 PM

1,649 posts

QUOTE(PRSXFENG @ Sep 3 2024, 10:44 PM)
Well, 1gig Lan port = 940Mbps in the real world
2.5gig Lan port can help you extract that last 60Mbps or so for a true 1gig

But yes, the bottleneck will mostly be in international routing

Own ONU/ONT, not supposed to replace on your own, but the TS of this thread sells their own customized one
o i'd actually be interested. what benefit from custom one?
TSAnime4000
post Sep 4 2024, 02:42 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Sep 3 2024, 11:09 PM)
o i'd actually be interested. what benefit from custom one?
all own devices, many big company I setup use my GPON stick, as they don't want ISP and Gov spying and/or take control, especially at ONU.

Who knows, now DNS has been hijacked as per MCMC requirement.

Future? all using ONR, ISP can override bridge mode into router mode and prevent user using own Router...
Or SNI intercepted (force using TLS1.2 and detect Domain Name in HTTPS header)
Or even worst ONR do the MITM attack.

Even you disable TR069, ISP can manage your ONU/ONR from OLT.

this what GPON Stick come... Ignore, Override and Reply fake OK to OLT and keep bridge mode.

ISP can say giving ONR is able to reduce cost, but I don't believe it!

Like Huawei EG8010Hv6 is just dumb one LAN port bridge that Allo in Penang using it.

But... One LAN port no longer allow customers use two ISP
TM no longer allow to subscribe multiple ISP for quite some time, EG8010Hv6 + AX3000/6000 router still cost effective and as usual user can use own router,

TM so big, can ask Huawei to make EG8010Hv6 with POTS variant for analogue telephone, and still cheap.

If you want avoid tampering by big boyz, don't use ONR, if you have old ONU, use it, or buy used Huawei ONU like HG8240H, HG8240H5
biatche
post Sep 4 2024, 04:12 AM

1,649 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Sep 4 2024, 02:42 AM)
all own devices, many big company I setup use my GPON stick, as they don't want ISP and Gov spying and/or take control, especially at ONU.

Who knows, now DNS has been hijacked as per MCMC requirement.

Future? all using ONR, ISP can override bridge mode into router mode and prevent user using own Router...
Or SNI intercepted (force using TLS1.2 and detect Domain Name in HTTPS header)
Or even worst ONR do the MITM attack.

Even you disable TR069, ISP can manage your ONU/ONR from OLT.

this what GPON Stick come... Ignore, Override and Reply fake OK to OLT and keep bridge mode.

ISP can say giving ONR is able to reduce cost, but I don't believe it!

Like Huawei EG8010Hv6 is just dumb one LAN port bridge that Allo in Penang using it.

But... One LAN port no longer allow customers use two ISP
TM no longer allow to subscribe multiple ISP for quite some time, EG8010Hv6 + AX3000/6000 router still cost effective and as usual user can use own router,

TM so big, can ask Huawei to make EG8010Hv6 with POTS variant for analogue telephone, and still cheap.

If you want avoid tampering by big boyz, don't use ONR, if you have old ONU, use it, or buy used Huawei ONU like HG8240H, HG8240H5
ill surely reject the dlink, i suppose i insist on keeping my old one then? or must i change
TSAnime4000
post Sep 4 2024, 08:13 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(biatche @ Sep 4 2024, 04:12 AM)
ill surely reject the dlink, i suppose i insist on keeping my old one then? or must i change
for >= 1Gbps plan, just use old ONU, technician won't take it after upgrade
chillingz
post Sep 4 2024, 02:06 PM

191 posts

I just got my upgrade with the Dlink DPN-FX3060V as well...
when raise a case with them...
TM installer called said they can offer the choice of the other 2 model of
Fiberhome AX3000 or skyworth AX3000 CPE that only drawback has only 1G port instead of 2.5G port...
syahpian
post Sep 6 2024, 12:01 AM

811 posts

finally finish my FSU upgrade biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by syahpian: Sep 6 2024, 12:01 AM
TSAnime4000
post Sep 6 2024, 12:02 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(syahpian @ Sep 6 2024, 12:01 AM)
finally finish my FSU upgrade  biggrin.gif
Nice, an ALCL (Nokia) OLT,

are you on Unifi Biz? saw VLAN400 exist on LAN1
syahpian
post Sep 6 2024, 12:04 AM

811 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Sep 6 2024, 12:02 AM)
Nice, an ALCL (Nokia) OLT,

are you on Unifi Biz? saw VLAN400 exist on LAN1
nope, me on normal home unifi plan
TSAnime4000
post Sep 6 2024, 02:16 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(syahpian @ Sep 6 2024, 12:04 AM)
nope, me on normal home unifi plan
odd, the way VLAN is provision is not same as me even same OLT, haha
OKLY
post Sep 13 2024, 12:24 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Out of curiosity, who is responsible to patch the known CVEs? Can we report it to somebody?
TSAnime4000
post Sep 13 2024, 02:05 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Sep 13 2024, 12:24 PM)
Out of curiosity, who is responsible to patch the known CVEs? Can we report it to somebody?
have told TM and still no answer, I guess they don't care
PRSXFENG
post Sep 13 2024, 03:43 PM

2,607 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Sep 4 2024, 02:42 AM)
Fiberhome which they also like to use has a model exactly with those requirements

Fiberhome AN5506-02-B
1 or 2 LAN Port, 1 VOIP Port

https://en.fiberhome.com/TNOTN/20240130/46448.html
https://www.gditechnology.com/manuals/AN550...2%20_Manual.pdf
enduser
post Sep 13 2024, 06:59 PM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Sep 13 2024, 12:24 PM)
Maybe can open ticket at cyber security malaysia?

https://www.cybersecurity.my/en/index.html
TSAnime4000
post Sep 13 2024, 07:30 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Sep 13 2024, 06:59 PM)
Maybe can open ticket at cyber security malaysia?

https://www.cybersecurity.my/en/index.html
I try to compile required document, but... only I know, thing some one in Hack GPON group didn't disclose the exploit, so I can't report this as I don't know how to replicate their exploit
blstz
post Sep 20 2024, 12:39 PM

832 posts

hi all sifus. hope to get some help here. just got called by unifi for 800mbps -> 1gpbs upgrade with installation set to be next week.

cs told me over the phone that they will give me a new router and i believe would be the same dlink gpon router mentioned in this thread.

the more i read about this router the more worried i get about dealing with random speed cap, vulnerabilities etc. shocking.gif unsure.gif sad.gif

anyway currently im using 7 year old huawei onu bridged to asus ac86u router.

1. can i still use my existing setup after the upgrade? will tm take my old onu away and insist on setting up the dlink gpon router during installation? i understand that onu is tm property so will they allow to let me keep it after the upgrade?

2. not advance user but main things i want to retain is being able to choose my own DNS server, configure my own wifi network and password, scheduling. already familiar with asus router setup/configurations

3. is there any passwords (for the devices or login) i need to get from tm installer during setup?

thanks in advance
OKLY
post Sep 20 2024, 01:16 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Sep 20 2024, 12:39 PM)
hi all sifus. hope to get some help here. just got called by unifi for 800mbps -> 1gpbs upgrade with installation set to be next week.

cs told me over the phone that they will give me a new router and i believe would be the same dlink gpon router mentioned in this thread.

the more i read about this router the more worried i get about dealing with random speed cap, vulnerabilities etc.  shocking.gif  unsure.gif  sad.gif

anyway currently im using 7 year old huawei onu bridged to asus ac86u router.

1. can i still use my existing setup after the upgrade? will tm take my old onu away and insist on setting up the dlink gpon router during installation? i understand that onu is tm property so will they allow to let me keep it after the upgrade?

2. not advance user but main things i want to retain is being able to choose my own DNS server, configure my own wifi network and password, scheduling. already familiar with asus router setup/configurations

3. is there any passwords (for the devices or login) i need to get from tm installer during setup?
thanks in advance
If you’re worried about the DLink ONR, yes use back your existing ONU and ASUs router. Just note that you will get max achievable speed of up to 940mbps due to the limitation of 1GBe LAN port.
TSAnime4000
post Sep 20 2024, 02:40 PM

2,399 posts

blstz like OKLY said, just use old ONT since you are on 1G plan, this much better then use D-Link on random issue later on
blstz
post Sep 20 2024, 03:40 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Sep 20 2024, 01:16 PM)
If you’re worried about the DLink ONR, yes use back your existing ONU and ASUs router. Just note that you will get max achievable speed of up to 940mbps due to the limitation of 1GBe LAN port.
QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Sep 20 2024, 02:40 PM)
blstz like OKLY said, just use old ONT since you are on 1G plan, this much better then use D-Link on random issue later on
thank you for the info. glad to have that as an option. 940mbps is more than enough for me. hopefully technician will be willing to let me stay on the old onu.

may i know whether my unifi connection is locked to a particular ONU? should i bother to have technician setup the new 2 in 1 gpon router to keep as backup?

if say next time my ONU kaput, can i just plug and play another huawei onu or the 2 in 1 gpon router and use without needing TM to do any setting change on their side?

OKLY
post Sep 20 2024, 03:43 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Sep 20 2024, 03:40 PM)
thank you for the info. glad to have that as an option. 940mbps is more than enough for me. hopefully technician will be willing to let me stay on the old onu.

may i know whether my unifi connection is locked to a particular ONU?  should i bother to have technician setup the new 2 in 1 gpon router to keep as backup?

if say next time my ONU kaput, can i just plug and play another huawei onu or the 2 in 1 gpon router and use without needing TM to do any setting change on their side?
Majority of us was able to just plug and play the old ONU or new ONR without issues. However there were cases where some couldn’t, maybe technician unbinded the old ONU? hmm.gif

Recommended to get technician to setup new ONR so that you can keep that as a spare.
blstz
post Sep 20 2024, 06:53 PM

832 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Sep 20 2024, 03:43 PM)
Majority of us was able to just plug and play the old ONU or new ONR without issues. However there were cases where some couldn’t, maybe technician unbinded the old ONU? hmm.gif

Recommended to get technician to setup new ONR so that you can keep that as a spare.
i see.

would you know if the suspected “unbinding” is done locally on the old ONU (remove settings) or is it done on TM “infrastructure” side.

asking coz wanna know what to look out for. later technician setup new onr and in the process “unbinds” old onu 😅 anything i can do to make sure this doesn’t happen?

TSAnime4000
post Sep 20 2024, 08:57 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Sep 20 2024, 06:53 PM)
i see.

would you know if the suspected “unbinding” is done locally on the old ONU (remove settings) or is it done on TM “infrastructure” side.

asking coz wanna know what to look out for. later technician setup new onr and in the process “unbinds” old onu 😅 anything i can do to make sure this doesn’t happen?
you need ask to not bind the Serial Number,

however, you can copy D-Link SN to old ONU, like Huawei HG8240H (or H5) can set S/N, just use D-Link S/N
emilyngsc
post Oct 5 2024, 11:10 AM

1,644 posts

Welcome, for safety...
Can you set for me in Johor area? Just install your firmware will do on my black FX3060V? Upstairs connected 2.4GHz and the dl speed get less than 25Mbps only.

I’ve successfully flashed your firmware. Mine is ALCL 414c434c

This post has been edited by emilyngsc: Oct 5 2024, 06:00 PM
wcnew
post Oct 15 2024, 09:58 PM

275 posts

Just got this GPON router after free upgrade to 1gbps, wifi 5G and 2.4G auto disconnect frequently after i connect to tv...Can i disable the wlan for this GPON router and connect existing wifi6 router (change to AP mode)to this GPON router to replace the wifi?

This post has been edited by wcnew: Oct 15 2024, 10:01 PM
vapanel
post Oct 15 2024, 11:45 PM

1,075 posts

QUOTE(wcnew @ Oct 15 2024, 09:58 PM)
Just got this GPON router after free upgrade to 1gbps, wifi 5G and 2.4G auto disconnect frequently after i connect to tv...Can i disable the wlan for this GPON router and connect existing  wifi6 router (change to AP mode)to this GPON router to replace the wifi?
Yes of course

That's what i did

My wifi speed is 920mbps with my Asus router act as AP
OKLY
post Oct 16 2024, 05:59 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Aware that TM is now providing a newer v2.0.3 firmware, irregardless whether they solved the speed drop issue when using bridge mode, are the CVEs patched?
TSAnime4000
post Oct 16 2024, 07:47 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Oct 16 2024, 05:59 PM)
Aware that TM is now providing a newer v2.0.3 firmware, irregardless whether they solved the speed drop issue when using bridge mode, are the CVEs patched?
nope, one of my friend overseas still can enter even in v2.0.3, even they get WG working by back porting the kernel.

D-Link now become VPN point for them xD
OKLY
post Oct 16 2024, 08:21 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Oct 16 2024, 07:47 PM)
nope, one of my friend overseas still can enter even in v2.0.3, even they get WG working by back porting the kernel.

D-Link now become VPN point for them xD
Oh my.. sweat.gif

Can’t help but wonder if they purposely don’t patch the CVEs due to some other motives..
TSAnime4000
post Oct 16 2024, 08:30 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Oct 16 2024, 08:21 PM)
Oh my.. sweat.gif

Can’t help but wonder if they purposely don’t patch the CVEs due to some other motives..
that's a mystery,

either they don't know, or already patch but still there, or they don't care since because sold to TM cheap cheap

what I can told from my friend, they just say "not using known CVE", I guess they found a way to attack D-Link remotely even NATed via VLAN 209 to find another D-Link ONR.

whatever it is, ISP equipment is never been secure

TM not paid enough to maintain security since.

many people already using own Router that managed by Asus, TP-LINK, Mikrotik, Ubiquiti, etc... that have active security patches.

I know VLAN209 is for management, for good.
but once got a weak point, it come a checkpoint to crawl deeper within ISP private network

that is why old ONU Bridge since we been using are fine and never been use as Internet Routing.

all of sudden Unifi also offer ONR solution, trade off security for cheaper internet
mus6677
post Oct 16 2024, 09:47 PM

20 posts

are the firmware file v2.0.3 available? we can flash it ourself?
TSAnime4000
post Oct 16 2024, 09:57 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(mus6677 @ Oct 16 2024, 09:47 PM)
are the firmware file v2.0.3 available? we can flash it ourself?
No, I can't upload that, sadly you need ask TM technician for that
OKLY
post Oct 16 2024, 10:27 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Oct 16 2024, 09:57 PM)
No, I can't upload that, sadly you need ask TM technician for that
So it's kinda like still in beta stage and they are not pushing it to everyone yet?
TSAnime4000
post Oct 16 2024, 11:35 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Oct 16 2024, 10:27 PM)
So it's kinda like still in beta stage and they are not pushing it to everyone yet?
apparently, just to be safe
still, not to use ISP equipment if concern about security sweat.gif

since DNS debacle, many overseas companies who use 2Gbps plan, use my PON Stick,
they don't trust TM because anytime mcmc can force ISP to push stock DNS via OMCI or TR069
emilyngsc
post Oct 24 2024, 10:57 AM

1,644 posts

Anime4000 any update for new firmware? Thanks
TSAnime4000
post Oct 27 2024, 03:29 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Oct 24 2024, 10:57 AM)
Anime4000 any update for new firmware? Thanks
I working on patching the firmware, just now I got a screenshot where D-Link DPN-FX3060V_2.0.3 successfully exploited

Screenshot, blur sensitive information

It appear using msf6 (Metasploit Framework) apart from their RAT (Remote Access Tools), where msf code just striped down from RAT

but it appear the D-Link can be pawned

what more dangerous, can override Inactive Firmware partition as you see at last command, where:

1. Check current active partition, it appear partition 1 (secondary) is active as V2.0.3 installed.
2. Use 'NC' to accept connection and pipe hacked firmware to inactive partition 0 (primary) where V2.0.2 is reside
3. Attacker can force to boot hacked firmware and clone to another partition

In order patching these exploit, I need their code, at least strip down msf code

or

remove all cloud stuff, disable TR142, TR069, and other stuff.

even in Bridge mode, this exploit has multiple stages and can find more victim via VLAN209 and 400

the thing is, I didn't give V2.0.3 to them, somehow they manage to get it, what they told me, same exploit can be use

this D-Link pawned has been sold in zero day market... because potential money generator, aka VPN Node, Botnet, etc... since who own D-Link is has high speed internet...

I no idea then, only way to save D-Link is,
by remove everything and dumb down as DUMB ONT Bridge! No Routing, No ISP Management, No WiFi

what do you think?
enduser
post Oct 27 2024, 03:52 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Oct 27 2024, 03:29 AM)

what do you think?

i think tm nut should take responsibility on this

How many gpon router now already been use ready to be exploited,.

TSAnime4000
post Oct 27 2024, 05:23 AM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Oct 27 2024, 03:52 AM)
i think tm nut should take responsibility on this

How many gpon router now already been use ready to be exploited,.
I don't think so, to make internet cheap, device security is second. (not paid enough to maintain security)
for example, cheap router like TOTO LINK, don't care vulnerability
can't be sure how many, but plenty compromised device around the world
with right fingerprint, can found on Shodan IoT search engine
emilyngsc
post Oct 27 2024, 07:25 AM

1,644 posts

Anime4000 can someone write a letter to DM Teo Nie Ching regarding the serious exploit or loopholes?
kwss
post Oct 27 2024, 03:54 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(emilyngsc @ Oct 27 2024, 07:25 AM)
Anime4000 can someone write a letter to DM Teo Nie Ching regarding the serious exploit or loopholes?
Security is a continuous, persistent and long term practice.
The product owner / developer must not only keep up with CVE but also practice secure software development.

The trouble with home router in general is they don't practice this since their goal is just pump out as many new model as possible.

For this D-Link model, their use of boa after it has long EOL shows they never bother in the first place. It's not possible to fix it without massive overhaul.

Personal opinion: Politician cannot fix this. It's not a one time thing.

TM also have a practice of giving lowest cost stuff and treat them as one off procurement instead of going for long term support.

The only home router with long term support I know is Asus. No other brand offer anything remotely close to their long firmware cycle.

Want security? Go for Enterprise product.

Yes you see product like Cisco has a lot of security vulnerabilities. That's because they actively get reported and fixed.

FYI, boa was discontinued in year 2005, almost 20 years ago. That's a heck of a long time in the security world. It's like running Windows ME in year 2024.

This post has been edited by kwss: Oct 27 2024, 04:03 PM
shahzad86
post Nov 3 2024, 03:02 PM

171 posts

Hi All, i got upgraded from 800mbpsto 1GBps & was given black modem/router, which I honestly regretted this decision. The 5GHz performance and reliability has been worse than previous setup. I have to change to 2.4Ghz everytime upstairs to get Internet to work. I still have old modem & router, if I change back to old setup, is it plug & play or need much configuration?
TSAnime4000
post Nov 3 2024, 09:48 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(shahzad86 @ Nov 3 2024, 03:02 PM)
Hi All, i got upgraded from 800mbpsto 1GBps & was given black modem/router, which I honestly regretted this decision. The 5GHz performance and reliability has been worse than previous setup. I have to change to 2.4Ghz everytime upstairs to get Internet to work. I still have old modem & router, if I change back to old setup, is it plug & play or need much configuration?
just plug old one, no config needed
TSAnime4000
post Nov 16 2024, 06:51 PM

2,399 posts

I put OpenSpeedTest inside D-Link DPN-FX3060V:

just dumb, the boa web server not that fast, not multi threading, and upload cannot work
TSAnime4000
post Nov 18 2024, 04:26 PM

2,399 posts

with my spare time, I improved the stock firmware, as usual I port PON Stick to here, planning make bridge mode only

I add "Nijika OS" to display hardware info, MIB and OMCI stuff

still, I wont patch the vulnerability, so many binary related to each other
TSAnime4000
post Nov 19 2024, 11:49 AM

2,399 posts

After modding to make D-Link ONR become dumb (ONT Bridge), porting the PON Stick files into D-Link and recompile, now testing

Dumb D-Link Wireless is disabled, No Router, No NAT, just bridge with ME 171 override

Login Screen

Nijika OS

VLAN

I not sure why Nokia OLT suddenly push VLAN 500 into VEIP? what's make it? previously don't have:

Note: TM is clear on this, flashing modded firmware will invalidate the warranty, so, this firmware will push -NIJIKA prefixes into OMCI message.
blstz
post Nov 28 2024, 09:08 AM

832 posts

QUOTE(blstz @ Sep 20 2024, 03:40 PM)

may i know whether my unifi connection is locked to a particular ONU?  should i bother to have technician setup the new 2 in 1 gpon router to keep as backup?

reporting back after my speed upgrade

without any request from me, unifi technician provided new fiberhome ONT. no dlink 2 in 1. but limited to 940mbps only due to 1Gbps LAN port on ONT. tried putting back previous alcatel ONT also can work. quality of fiberhome ONT looks flimsy and cheap sweat.gif
baka.bakashi
post Feb 4 2025, 05:45 PM

53 posts

Hi guys.. I've received this model when our office upgraded to 1Gbps package. But after 3 months usage, we found that sometimes (once a week), the latency getting higher with ping goes up to 1xxx ms (we suspect due to high load/traffic) and resetting the device resolved the issue.

Is this normal? Nowadays we resort to manual reset of the device every week and the problem hasn't happened for the past month. But it's getting annoying to do it manually cos we cannot find any schedule reboot function.

Any feedback will be nice..
hsbb
post Feb 4 2025, 06:06 PM

447 posts

Can share the latest official frmware for white model?
TSAnime4000
post Feb 5 2025, 06:54 PM

2,399 posts

I have earlier,
during Binary Diff, still contain vulnerable, cause I not share bad firmware
TSAnime4000
post Feb 20 2025, 11:42 PM

2,399 posts

Another Update,

It appear that Zyxel also make ONR, and use same SoC and board as D-Link DPN-FX3060V A1 hardware!!!

UBoot Init
D-Link A1:
CODE

NOTICE:  Booting Trusted Firmware - Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
NOTICE:  BL1: v1.5(release):TAURUS_TAPEOUT_2_0
NOTICE:  BL1: Built : 17:13:20, Oct 27 2021
NOTICE:  BL1: CPU Speed 1000 MHz
NOTICE:  GLOBAL_STRAP 0xc0a
NOTICE:  boot from serial NAND flash
NOTICE:  SPI_NAND: MT29F2G01ABAGDWB/F50L2G41XA/XT26G02ELGIGA 0x2c24
NOTICE:  SPI_NAND: Page 0x800, Block 0x20000, Chip 256MB
NOTICE:  SPI_NAND: plane_select=0x40, plane_select_bit=0x1000
NOTICE:  Platform initialized
NOTICE:  ROTPK undeployed
NOTICE:  BL1: Booting BL2
NOTICE:  BL2: RTL9607DQ CPU Speed 1000 MHz
NOTICE:  BL2: SPI_NAND: MT29F2G01ABAGDWB/F50L2G41XA/XT26G02ELGIG/WSFVC32GBID 0x2c24
NOTICE:  BL2: SPI_NAND: Page 0x800, Block 0x20000, Chip 256MB
NOTICE:  BL2: SPI_NAND: plane_select=0x40, plane_select_bit=0x1000
U-Boot 2020.01-00005-g2117f28170 (Mar 08 2023 - 11:54:55 +0800)Taurus-SoC

Zyxel:
CODE

NOTICE:  Booting Trusted Firmware - Realtek Semiconductor Corp.
NOTICE:  BL1: v1.5(release):TAURUS_TAPEOUT_2_0
NOTICE:  BL1: Built : 17:13:20, Oct 27 2021
NOTICE:  BL1: CPU Speed 1000 MHz
NOTICE:  GLOBAL_STRAP 0xc0a
NOTICE:  SPI_NAND: W25N04KV 0xefaa23
NOTICE:  SPI_NAND: Page 0x800, Block 0x20000, Chip 512MB
NOTICE:  Platform initialized
NOTICE:  BL1: Booting BL2
NOTICE:  BL2: RTL9607DQ
NOTICE:  BL2: SPI_NAND: W25N04KVZEIE 0xefaa23
NOTICE:  BL2: SPI_NAND: Page 0x800, Block 0x20000, Chip 512MB
U-Boot 2020.01-svn22550 (Oct 07 2024 - 07:57:17 +0000)Taurus-SoC

Booting Kernel
D-Link A1:
CODE

Starting kernel ...

[    0.000000] Booting Linux on physical CPU 0x0000000000 [0x412fd050]
[    0.000000] Linux version 5.10.70 (wen_peng@ubuntu) (aarch64-linux-gcc (Realtek ASDK64-10.2.0 Build 3544) 10.2.0, GNU ld (Realtek ASDK64-10.2.0 Build 3544) 2.35.1.20201230) #1 SMP Wed Mar 8 11:56:34 CST 2023

Zyxel:
CODE

Starting kernel ...

[    0.000000] Booting Linux on physical CPU 0x0000000000 [0x412fd050]
[    0.000000] Linux version 5.10.138 (square@cdd59d47d0ed) (aarch64-openwrt-linux-gnu-gcc (OpenWrt GCC 11.2.0 r0+19487-2a59b851ac) 11.2.0, GNU ld (GNU Binutils) 2.37) #0 SMP Fri Dec 13 02:02:44 2024

Inside Zyxel

WebGUI Zyxel

---

Well, I waiting for him to dump NAND Flash, so we can build proper OpenWRT for D-Link A1 and Zyxel ONR.

Since using OpenWRT, no more exploit thumbup.gif
kwss
post Feb 21 2025, 09:48 AM

1,207 posts

Anime4000
Did the Zyxel has the same GPON SoC as the D-Link?
Is the Zyxel an off the shelf ONR or is it specifically customized for ISP?

The problem with a lot of OpenWRT porting is the board cannot use vanilla kernel due to binary blob.
The specific roadblock I can see in D-Link ONR is all the proprietary initialization sequence are in startup binary. Maybe you can swap those with your own one from PON stick.

But since you have the Realtek SDK, does it comes with the toolchain for the GPON SoC?
TSAnime4000
post Feb 21 2025, 12:47 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Feb 21 2025, 09:48 AM)
Anime4000
Did the Zyxel has the same GPON SoC as the D-Link?
Is the Zyxel an off the shelf ONR or is it specifically customized for ISP?

The problem with a lot of OpenWRT porting is the board cannot use vanilla kernel due to binary blob.
The specific roadblock I can see in D-Link ONR is all the proprietary initialization sequence are in startup binary. Maybe you can swap those with your own one from PON stick.

But since you have the Realtek SDK, does it comes with the toolchain for the GPON SoC?
Zyxel and D-Link both use same SoC and same Taurus reference board, what I checked for now, only D-Link A1 hardware share quite a lot similarly.

we just have incomplete reverse engineer SDK

but, compile for ARM64 not that hard, like Zyxel did, use OpenWRT tool chain,

see if can use Zyxel kernel and driver on D-Link, if required patching, so be it.

let say DPN-FX3060V A1 has completed OpenWRT Build, still can't update firmware via WebGUI, need flash directly into NAND
kwss
post Feb 21 2025, 01:24 PM

1,207 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Feb 21 2025, 12:47 PM)
Zyxel and D-Link both use same SoC and same Taurus reference board, what I checked for now, only D-Link A1 hardware share quite a lot similarly.

we just have incomplete reverse engineer SDK

but, compile for ARM64 not that hard, like Zyxel did, use OpenWRT tool chain,

see if can use Zyxel kernel and driver on D-Link, if required patching, so be it.

let say DPN-FX3060V A1 has completed OpenWRT Build, still can't update firmware via WebGUI, need flash directly into NAND
Do both Zyxel and D-Link has the same mtdblock layout?
If yes then it should be just re-use the "dtb" and "kimage" from D-Link.
Replace all the kernel module in Zyxel "rootfs" with D-Link and it should just boot?

Maybe copy over those OEM config from D-Link too, as it contains the hardcoded mesh key, VoIP config, etc?
TSAnime4000
post Feb 21 2025, 02:52 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(kwss @ Feb 21 2025, 01:24 PM)
Do both Zyxel and D-Link has the same mtdblock layout?
If yes then it should be just re-use the "dtb" and "kimage" from D-Link.
Replace all the kernel module in Zyxel "rootfs" with D-Link and it should just boot?

Maybe copy over those OEM config from D-Link too, as it contains the hardcoded mesh key, VoIP config, etc?
since both use UBI underlying MTD, and Zyxel ONR can't login root yet, so MTD layout is unknown.

in group said, is possible just copy Zyxel to D-Link as is, they theories it will boot
hsbb
post Feb 23 2025, 10:13 AM

447 posts

ZTE F620 also use same Micron 256MB NAND ic (0x2c24) like DPN-FX3060V A1.
TSAnime4000
post Feb 23 2025, 03:38 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(hsbb @ Feb 23 2025, 10:13 AM)
ZTE F620 also use same Micron 256MB NAND ic (0x2c24) like DPN-FX3060V A1.
How about SoC, it is ZTE own ARM CPU ?
hsbb
post Feb 23 2025, 04:11 PM

447 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Feb 23 2025, 03:38 PM)
How about SoC, it is ZTE own ARM CPU ?
Don't know.. TM standalone ONU before combo. Can get also on shopee.
pennzoil
post Feb 27 2025, 09:25 AM

492 posts

Hi, my package upgraded to Unifi Biz 2Gbps and obtain this Dlink,
currently set it to bridge mode and use TP-Link ER707-M2 as router.
I had experience random speed drop to 100-300mbps with this Dlink
so i revert back to old ZTE Onu and limited to 1Gbps but no speed drop issue

After I flash the provided firmware, so far no speed drop for 20 hours rclxms.gif
Will check it from time to time

PS: i dont have proper 2.5Gbe equipment to test max speed but can get around 1.4Gbps thru Wi-Fi 7 + iPhone

roythen
post Mar 10 2025, 03:00 PM

151 posts

Hi, I has been given the fx3060v black, can it set to be use for other isp? I am using allo..
TSAnime4000
post Mar 10 2025, 03:54 PM

2,399 posts

QUOTE(roythen @ Mar 10 2025, 03:00 PM)
Hi, I has been given the fx3060v black, can it set to be use for other isp? I am using allo..
Need flash different firmware for Allo
What current firmware do you have?
roythen
post Mar 10 2025, 06:20 PM

151 posts

QUOTE(Anime4000 @ Mar 10 2025, 03:54 PM)
Need flash different firmware for Allo
What current firmware do you have?
As shown is tm firmware v2.0.2
jiaen0509
post Apr 18 2025, 01:58 PM

3,305 posts

I randomly facing the drop speed issue. Can I know what is the best version for the fireware? Got guide on how to upgrade? Haha
eugenecctan
post May 25 2025, 10:20 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Sifus, if I use the DLINK 3060 as Modem Router (PPPOE setup in DLINK) and connect LAN for WIFI router AP mode compare to use DLINK as pure modem and another Wifi router login As PPPOE. As pros n cons? Thanks.
eugenecctan
post May 26 2025, 05:02 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ May 25 2025, 10:20 PM)
Sifus, if I use the DLINK 3060 as Modem Router (PPPOE setup in DLINK) and connect LAN for WIFI router AP mode compare to use DLINK as pure modem and another Wifi router login As PPPOE. As pros n cons? Thanks.
Any update? Currently I turn on 5Ghz using 160Mhz and on diff channel. And I name it Gaming just like some router with specific network for Gaming only. And I am connecting using LAN AP with another router and mesh it. Thanks.
eugenecctan
post May 27 2025, 02:17 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

Tried to connect the only 2.5G port to another 2.5G port as AP. But not working. Only 1G port is working. Any idea?
eugenecctan
post May 27 2025, 06:24 PM

Wee Wang Wang
1,058 posts

QUOTE(eugenecctan @ May 27 2025, 02:17 PM)
Tried to connect the only 2.5G port to another 2.5G port as AP. But not working. Only 1G port is working. Any idea?
Found the solution myself. For 2.5g need to assign static IP. Thanks.
Growtopia Jaw P
post May 28 2025, 10:17 PM

Probation

Not sure why the output page like this but works fine with command in cli. Currently running in GPON bridge mode.

CODE

# omcicli mib get 131
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
OltG
=================================
EntityId: 0x00
OltVendorId: 0x48575443
EquipId:                    
Version: 10
ToDInfo:
Sequence number of GEM superframe: 0x0
Timestamp: secs 0, nanosecs 0

CODE

# omcicli mib get 84
VlanTagFilterData
EntityID: 0x06
FilterTbl[0]: PRI 0,CFI 0, VID 500
FwdOp:  0x10
NumOfEntries: 1
EntityID: 0x07
FilterTbl[0]: PRI 0,CFI 0, VID 400
EntityID: 0x08
FilterTbl[0]: PRI 0,CFI 0, VID 600
EntityID: 0x09
FilterTbl[0]: PRI 0,CFI 0, VID 209

Growtopia Jaw P
post May 28 2025, 10:24 PM

Probation

QUOTE(Growtopia Jaw @ May 28 2025, 10:17 PM)
Not sure why the output page like this but works fine with command in cli. Currently running in GPON bridge mode.

CODE

# omcicli mib get 131
OltG
EntityId: 0x00
OltVendorId: 0x48575443
EquipId:                    
Version: 10
ToDInfo:
Sequence number of GEM superframe: 0x0
Timestamp: secs 0, nanosecs 0

CODE

# omcicli mib get 84
VlanTagFilterData
EntityID: 0x06
FilterTbl[0]: PRI 0,CFI 0, VID 500
EntityID: 0x07
FilterTbl[0]: PRI 0,CFI 0, VID 400
EntityID: 0x08
FilterTbl[0]: PRI 0,CFI 0, VID 600
EntityID: 0x09
FilterTbl[0]: PRI 0,CFI 0, VID 209

Add additional info

CODE

# omcicli mib get 256
Ontg
EntityID: 0x00
VID: DLNK
Version: B1
SerialNum: DLKIXXXXXXXX
TraffMgtOpt: 2
AtmCCOpt: 0
BatteryBack: 1
AdminState: 0
OpState: 0
OnuSurvivalTime: 0
LogicalOnuID: XXXXXXXXX
LogicalPassword: XXXXXX
CredentialsStatus: 0
ExtendedTcLayerOptions: 0x0
OntState: 1

CODE

# omcicli mib get 171
ExtVlanTagOperCfgData
EntityId: 0x01
AssociationType: 2
ReceivedFrameVlanTagOperTableMaxSize: 0
InputTPID: 0x8100
OutputTPID: 0x8100
DsMode: 0
ReceivedFrameVlanTaggingOperTable
INDEX 0
Filter Outer   : PRI 15,VID 4096, TPID 0
Filter Inner   : PRI 15,VID 4096, TPID 0, EthType 0x00
Treatment Outer   : PRI 15,VID 4096, TPID 0, RemoveTags 0
Treatment Inner   : PRI 0,VID 1, TPID 4
INDEX 1
Filter Inner   : PRI 8,VID 600, TPID 0, EthType 0x00
Treatment Outer   : PRI 15,VID 0, TPID 0, RemoveTags 1
Treatment Inner   : PRI 8,VID 600, TPID 0
INDEX 2
Filter Inner   : PRI 8,VID 500, TPID 0, EthType 0x00
Treatment Inner   : PRI 8,VID 500, TPID 0
INDEX 3
Filter Inner   : PRI 8,VID 400, TPID 0, EthType 0x00
Treatment Inner   : PRI 8,VID 400, TPID 0
INDEX 4
Filter Inner   : PRI 8,VID 209, TPID 0, EthType 0x00
Treatment Inner   : PRI 8,VID 209, TPID 0
INDEX 5
Filter Outer   : PRI 14,VID 4096, TPID 0
Filter Inner   : PRI 14,VID 4096, TPID 0, EthType 0x00
Treatment Outer   : PRI 15,VID 0, TPID 0, RemoveTags 3
Treatment Inner   : PRI 15,VID 0, TPID 0
INDEX 6
AssociatedMePoint: 0x101
DscpToPbitMapping:
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
EntityId: 0x02
INDEX 0
INDEX 1
INDEX 2
AssociatedMePoint: 0x102
DscpToPbitMapping:
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
EntityId: 0x03
INDEX 0
INDEX 1
INDEX 2
AssociatedMePoint: 0x103
DscpToPbitMapping:
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
EntityId: 0x04
INDEX 0
INDEX 1
INDEX 2
AssociatedMePoint: 0x104
DscpToPbitMapping:
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
EntityId: 0x05
AssociationType: 10
INDEX 0
Filter Inner   : PRI 8,VID 400, TPID 0, EthType 0x00
Treatment Inner   : PRI 8,VID 400, TPID 0
INDEX 1
Filter Inner   : PRI 8,VID 209, TPID 0, EthType 0x00
Treatment Inner   : PRI 8,VID 209, TPID 0
INDEX 2
INDEX 3
AssociatedMePoint: 0xe01
DscpToPbitMapping:
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000
0x000000

DeepMemory
post May 29 2025, 12:21 PM

1,805 posts

Currently on 1gbps plan with this gpon connected to Asus BQ16 router. Was getting 1gbps speed in Asus router internal speedtest but now dropping to 300mbps. Any idea whats the issue?
Growtopia Jaw P
post May 29 2025, 04:00 PM

Probation

QUOTE(DeepMemory @ May 29 2025, 12:21 PM)
Currently on 1gbps plan with this gpon connected to Asus BQ16 router. Was getting 1gbps speed in Asus router internal speedtest but now dropping to 300mbps. Any idea whats the issue?
Either fiber loss or overheating. You upgraded from <=1G plan or just subscribed? If upgraded, try test with old ONU see got issue or not.

My office upgraded from 800Mbps unifibiz plan and the first week after the upgrade performance was terrible. We initially thought the ONR was overheating cuz idle ping was like 30 and sometimes jumping to 100+. Did speedtest also very bad, 300Mbps then after that drop until below 100. Upload cannot test because timeout. When doing speedtest, ping jumped from 100 to around 10-30k and after that timeout.

We change back to old Huawei HG8240w ONU and did speedtest, 900Mbps down and 500Mbps up no problem. Ping while doing seedtest also not affected at all. 8-9ms normal. Luckily they didn't take old ONU back.

After that I just remembered we have mesh unit. Exact same ONR. I changed serial number and PLOAM password then plug fiber. Did speedtest and get 900Mbps up and 500Mbps down and ping not affected during speedtest like old ONU.

So yeah, we got a defective unit as the main unit.

0.0605sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:12 PM