Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

stimix
post Mar 7 2012, 03:36 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha.. The hotel & Nikko trip already prepaid liao lor biggrin.gif ..now looking Hakone free pass onine ..probably this also prepaid later..more $$ to spend there.. Thinking of getting an ancient minolta 2nd hand lens there too brows.gif
http://translate.google.com.my/translate?h...%26prmd%3Dimvns

Probably my only purchase there for my NEX cam hmm.gif blush.gif
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 7 2012, 03:07 PM)
Stimix you won't go Japan with 86,000 Yen....This Saturday I will add another 36,000 Yen for you. 

IF really 60k for 3 person 7day 5 night ..you all need stay in capsule hotel.

BTW ...now Stimix already Jepun taikor....got people want to follow you already.
This Year December want go Akita + Morika + Amori with me?  Just 2 of US...2 man....bath Naked in hot spring....(cari some Jepun awek)
stimix
post Mar 7 2012, 04:50 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Walao eh...likedat you also wanna buy? Just bcos it's made in Nippon shocking.gif biggrin.gif
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 7 2012, 04:18 PM)
Same model in Malaysia it just Cost RM900.   but Made in Thailand

In Japan it will cost 36,000 Yen // RM1,400  But Made in Japan. 

same model but RM500 diffrent

Added on March 7, 2012, 4:52 pmEhhh..the Yen actually dropping for the past 1 mth dy.. Last mth it was ~ 40.20..Now only 37.6 (BNM) & probably ~ 38 Money changer rate as at Today biggrin.gif
QUOTE(swagmasta @ Mar 7 2012, 04:31 PM)
Seeing the rise of JPY is very frustrating (being a JP merchandise shopper myself). Back to few years ago the same retail pricing now cost hundreds more because of their Yens.

/annoyed
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 7 2012, 04:52 PM
stimix
post Mar 8 2012, 12:20 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Dunno why this delay of 15min appear in any Japanese forum ala kopitiam or not haha

Added on March 8, 2012, 7:14 amHmnnn Isn't the pass already covered the entrance ticket? That's the reason I bought the pass wor..
QUOTE(kookaaq @ Mar 7 2012, 05:58 PM)

i visited nikko with all nikko pass. went all the way up to yumoto onsen. really saves a lot of money. i believe you took another pass for the heritage site visit. personally i think the site was great but you dont have to visit all. just pay 1300yen for entrance to the main shrine which was great. and it was snowing heavily during my visit to nikko. too bad cant walk too far. thick snow on the ground was darn slippery.
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 8 2012, 07:14 AM
stimix
post Mar 8 2012, 09:41 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah I got the World Heritage Site. 3600Y for adult. According to the website:
The pass includes admission to the Nikko Tosho-gu Shrine (although passage beyond the "sleeping cat" requires a separate admission fee), Futarasan Shrine and Nikko san Rinno-ji Temple. Also included are discounts on admission to various rides and other attractions in the Nikko-Kinugawa areas.
So I think all the temples there are free except that "Sleeping cat"??

Added on March 8, 2012, 9:41 pmhttp://www.tobu.co.jp/foreign/pass/w_heritage_pass.html

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 8 2012, 09:41 PM
stimix
post Mar 9 2012, 08:27 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

When I saw the limit of 120/day, I decided not to visit that market liao. 1st bcos I kenot wake up to early, 2nd I hate queing & lastly, dun really feel interesting after watching so many time on documentary haha

BTW, I last time gila-gila waited for the limited ticket in KLCC...waited for almost 1.5 hrs...No thanks liao after that experience

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Mar 9 2012, 11:06 AM)
awww.. which means is mission impossibru for me then sad.gif
stimix
post Mar 9 2012, 10:38 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

haha.. 1st time heard this Odaiba Fuji TV station.. Hmnnn read in wiki..they got ppl rallies for showing to many Korean dramas haha.

Hmnn Odaiba seems to be an interesting place to visit too...Probably put this on my last day.. i'.e on my way travel back to Haneda haha
stimix
post Mar 9 2012, 10:54 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I told you that I hv yet to really research all Tokyo attractions except nikko & Hakone now haha...I only know Akibara/Akusa got one big temple, Meiji temple near Shinjuku, Roppingi, Ginza, Shibuya & that fames manhood fertility temple in Kawasaki area..Others- totally noob.. and probably will not be my itineraries...Now only seriously researching Tokyo..paiseh
stimix
post Mar 13 2012, 10:53 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The highland area such as Nikko still snowing right now icon_idea.gif

http://www.wunderground.com/q/zmw:00000.1.47690
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 12 2012, 08:52 AM)
Sakura blossom time hard to predict.  Now climate change.  Now already March but Japan still in cold and high humid. 

Last year sakura blossom time was End of April to May omly can saw Sakura around Tokyo area.
stimix
post Mar 14 2012, 12:13 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just arrived at my hotel on the dot @12.30pm or 11;30pm M'sian time. Everything so efficient here including the limousine bus departing on the dot at 11;15pm from Int terminal, 11.20pm from terminal 2 and 11;30pm from terminal 1 and reaching TCAT at 12;00midnite.. Walked for another 20min to my hotel wth temperature !6C now...shiok haha..BTW, the bus cost 800 yen
stimix
post Mar 14 2012, 06:28 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Just woke up where got drill? The only drill now is enjoicing this haha

Later after family mart bento/sushi breakfast/brunch.. probably visit akasuka temple, sky tree & akibahara haha.. Temperature now 4C outside.. Damn the semi-double bed more like our single bed.. imagine 3 sleeping on 1 single bed wth hanging legs..

Added on March 14, 2012, 6:36 ambut actual speeptest speed to M'sia/LYN only:

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 14 2012, 06:36 AM
stimix
post Mar 14 2012, 08:08 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Shit..Earthquake..My 1st time!!! Whole room shaking including the bed & the light..let me check how strong soon
stimix
post Mar 14 2012, 08:21 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

@BTW afiaqbar, Still early but no harm doing more research.. Currently staying at Horidome Villa at Nihonbashi. This area abit dead at nite.. only few eateries and nothing here at nite. But Hotel very near to TCAt or Tokyo Limousine bus Terminal & 2-3 Subways within walking distance. Got it for RM215/nite.. Super clean room but super tiny too

Added on March 14, 2012, 8:23 pmReally no joke..whole room shaking and almost wanna rush down but after a call to receptionist, he told me not to worry
Damn 6.1 Wow rclxms.gif

Regentcid sms-ed Yesterday that there will be daily EQ..and I though he is joking!
QUOTE(mat sputnik @ Mar 14 2012, 08:20 PM)
AWESOME, bro!

RT: @BreakingNews: More: Magnitude 6.1 earthquake hit Tokyo region - Japan Meteorological Agency
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 14 2012, 08:23 PM
stimix
post Mar 14 2012, 08:37 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes only RM215 but not the cheapest.. I saw one website offering ! RM210 on this hotel too. It's not far from Tokyo railway stn but just within 850M North of TCAt i.e the drop-off point for limousine bus in Tokyo. Only 800yen from Haneda airport or ! 35min travel direct from Haneda.

BTW, 3 of us in a room..but be warned the bed so tiny..The so called semi-double bed more like a Single bed!! And imagine we sleep 3 on this bed..Off Course 3 of us sleep wth the other way round and wth hanging legs or supported wth chairs haha

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 14 2012, 08:39 PM
stimix
post Mar 14 2012, 08:43 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha.. Lucky.. better touch wood liao..After thinking abit sked wor..sumore Today there were few more >5 EQ in Japan wth one small Tsunami.. The 9;06pm no doubt one of the strongest Today i.e at 6.1..~ 10 min later, another small one at 3.1 but this one, I just feel ground moving only when I made a call back M'sia ~ 9.15pm (BTW, M'sia minus 1 hr lah haha)
QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Mar 14 2012, 08:29 PM)
fulamak, why u so lucky go then can experience quake... i bet it was fun and nice experience rite

Added on March 14, 2012, 8:45 pmYes but I think there is surcharge. When I took the 11:15pm bus, That was one of the last one at 800yen
QUOTE(afiqasbar @ Mar 14 2012, 08:42 PM)
hahah..i also planning to share 3 person a room..  tongue.gif  does the limousine bus still operate at 12pm?? coz i will arrive at 11.30pm..
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 14 2012, 08:45 PM
stimix
post Mar 14 2012, 08:56 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

5 after shock of 3.1 till 3.7 since the last big one at 9;05pm...But dun really feel it..haha..
http://www.jma.go.jp/en/quake/quake_local_index.html

The last one 9.45pm just after my last post
stimix
post Mar 15 2012, 05:06 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

BTW the limousine buses not only goto TCAT (Tokyo City Air Terminal) but also YCAT (Yokohama, Shinjuku, & etc.. there are numerous locations too. You can either buy the ticket at the counter immediately after the arrival hall or walk down to the route bus and buy fromm the vending machines. Everything here using vending machine including restaurants. Talking bout restaurants.. I din see any Halal restaurants so far but I think they don't really serve pork as no pork in the menu? I took lunch at one of Akihabara restaurant. surprisingly cheap at avg 330yen to 380yen haha..Breakfast & Dinner, buying bento sets from Family Mart & Aeon supermarket (Family mart very expensive. Try 7-11 or AEON if piossible)

OK abit of drillzz Yesterday

Sky Tree - Well, Don't looks really high to me and infact I think Guangzhou Tower much higher - Suspect is the aerial kua??

Who say hv to wait till APr for Cherry Blossom? haha.. but only few @ Senjosi Temple Akasuka.

and first time seeing a white cherry blossom

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 15 2012, 05:17 AM
stimix
post Mar 16 2012, 05:21 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

My 3rd day ..ehh more like 2nd day Nikko trip drillz

Too bad not snowing that time. Just snow dropped from the giant oak trees.(?) around the World Heritage site.. Temperature still OK ~ 3C. Snow starting to melt

Wanna take Sky tree picture at nite but still not lighted up yet..sigh..
stimix
post Mar 16 2012, 10:54 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Those fear late, just take limousine buses. There should be buses to Asakusa/ Akibahara area as well but I'm not sure the terminal location. Just google or chk 1st page.

Today..Well.. I should buy the Odakyu Free pass but can't wait till the counter open at 8am so I just took the 8am train to Odawara>Hakone Yamoto>Gora. The cost of the train & local train from Hakone Yamoto till Gora is 1500yen so 2 way = 3000yen.. Thereafter hv to take the 1 cablecar (Similar to Penang hill tram), and 2 Ropeway (Like Genting cablecar ).. Be warned.. The price of return ticket from Gora to Owakudani Volcano crater & thereafter another ropeway to Togendai/Lake ashi is not cheap. It cost me 3150yen return and therefore, Total cost from Shinjuku stn till Togendai cost me >6000 yen. If I choose free pass, only 5000yen..sigh..Also, if possible end your trip at the volcano.. At Togendai, you hv to take the ferry to another area to see Fuji otherwise, useless & WASTE MONEY. You can seee mt Fuji from the Volcano Souvenirs shop

AND, those going there,,go early.. By noon, Mt Fuji will no longer be visible.. Even ~ 10 or 11am, it's hazy & slightly cloudy dy..

Abit of drilzz...
Mt Fuji from the Volcano area

And the famous black egg from the top of the volcano crater.. Boiled on the spot and sell on the spot - 500yen for 5. I ate wth the belief my age will prolong..hmnnnn

stimix
post Mar 17 2012, 06:09 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

NVM, it's a norm in all my trip- sure got one blunder wan blush.gif Lake Ashi so-so lah at togendai, Mt Fuji no longer visible after 1pm and no point taking another bus ride to the otherside of the lake or even the ferry ride bcos sure can't see mt Fuji- Abit hazy after 1pm. Even you see my photo above also blur abit sad.gif

BTW, Yesterday found the camera shop I wanted to go in Shinjuku and -damn.. 1st time seeing such a huge collection of ancient antique cameras & lenses.. Got my macro lens there and having my dinner nxt door i.e Sankofood http://translate.google.com.my/translate?h...%26prmd%3Dimvns

Damn dirt cheap!! After discount, 3 meals of 2 Udon wth tofu pok + one rice - All very nice only 860yen..Or avg < 300yen/pax.. Even my bento breakfast / dinner at Aeon/family mart or even 7-11 cost ~1200yen/ 3pax dy

Today - yeah jalan-jalan - probably start from Tokyo stn & heading to Shibuya side
[quote=RegentCid,Mar 16 2012, 11:53 PM]Mana Lake Ashi picture?

Already told you buy Pass.  you tak mau listen japan freak punya advise.

NVM...not enough cash.....time to used Credit card !!  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif
If not wrong tml plan was around Tokyo City with Yamanote Line....and shop shop shop right?

[/quote]

Added on March 17, 2012, 6:15 am[Nikko is nice esp during Spring & Autumn.. I think by winter, it will be bitterly Coldddzzz

More than enough if you dun buy anything except transport & makan. As at now.. on my last 2 days here, I'm still having 40,000yen wth me. AND Ithat's for 3 persons not 1! biggrin.gif quote=sfwong1,Mar 17 2012, 01:33 AM]
woahhh, look at the view... make me wanna go japan so much...
actually to be honest if to go japan for 10days is rm4k enough include everything except flight ticket

[/quote]

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 17 2012, 09:04 PM
stimix
post Mar 17 2012, 09:02 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Very long trip.. Let me recall...If I'm not mistaken, I started departing Togebdai via the ropeway & cablecar to Gora !_ 3.30pm (Slow trip) and thereafter from Gora to Hakone Yamoto stn by 5pm direct to Shinjuku..by 6:45pm. I spent few hours in Shinjuku for dinner & shopping for my camera accessories (Cheaper than M'sia but not the camera. Just the accessories)
QUOTE(mmyy @ Mar 17 2012, 04:37 PM)
@stimix how long did it take for you to complete the Hakone tour? or specifically, what time did you leave Hakone back to Tokyo?

btw nice pics! =D

13 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0439sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:48 PM