Travel Travel to Japan, Compiled info on pg1

stimix
post Mar 18 2012, 10:00 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Now at Haneda airport waiting room. No aero bridge just buses to the plane haha.

On the food pricing, yes expensive but if you go to those small alleys behind the main st, you can find cheap food. Well it will not cost 1000yen for sure but on avg, I ate at those restaurants offering 300-500yen soba,udon and even pork rice..so far all damn shook and nice. Even this afternoon in ginza, I also ate a 330yen udon with one squid tempura. Drinks are free and some restaurants given free green tea.

There are also vending machine selling can coffee at 80yen to my surprise. However avg coke 150yen. Even starbucks is 300yen only. Almost similar to kl. btw, I'm still having 30,000 yen with me at the end. And used up 56,000yen. However today I charged 14150yen spending at 12 stores uniglo newest store in ginza..damn my waifs & dotter really shopped till drop. Lotsa 50% discount due to opening 2 days ago.. Que...wow..at least 2 block of small alley away!
stimix
post Mar 19 2012, 08:27 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha, I'm also one knowing nuts about Japanese and yet still going there.. I only know Sayonara, Arigato and Kimochi only haha..and now Kudasai..(Horse shit? biggrin.gif )

Not to worry-lah.. Most hotel staff can speak English, Lotsa Akibahara shop assistance (Infact atleast few in a store can speak Chinese, English And to my surprise one of Akihabara IT shop staff can even speak Malay and can identify me from Malaysia!! ohmy.gif Most MRT station also in English or Chinese...ehhh more like Japanese Kanji but same meaning although pronounce differently in Japanese haha (Except few such as 大門 Diamon or big gate, also pronounce as Da-men in Chinese (Similar new project in USJ1 haha)

The only problem you will face is those restaurant staff and those MRT staff - They dunno how to speak english nor understand english!! - Darm so frustrating..esp my experience Yesterday at Hatchimatcho stn to take Monorail to haneda. I wanted to get my refund of my PASMO card and since that Monorail is under JR line or SUICA, I asked them whether I can get refund there.. darm..he answer me..yeh-yeh..plasmo can-can..So when I ask again I wanted refund..He keeps on repeating Pasmo can-can & showing me to the gate to the stn when I just wanna refund..darn.. damn susah..I hv to walk to Daimon stn 大門..To get my refund..Haizzzz.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 19 2012, 09:48 PM
stimix
post Mar 19 2012, 09:41 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yes both SUICA & PASMO also touch & Go system and both also can be used in almost all Metro lines in Tokyo even in Hakone Except the cable car.

Suica is by JR line & Pasmo by other subway operators such as Koei, Toei, Odakyu & etc.. Although you can use it in all the diff lines but when comes to refund..well..just see what happened to me Yesyerday haha.. I hv to go bck to Daimon - Akasuka line to get refund bcos the monorail stn only can refund on behalf of Suica but not pasmo. Lucky daimon stn is just nxt to the monorail stn.

Another problem with all the confusing private lines in Tokyo, If you switch from one line to another, it's another diff system and you need to go out from let say Ginza line to Asakusa line & although ypu are using the same pasmo/Suica card but you will be charged separately!& changing line in short distance is not cheap!..Certain line. switching only 1 stn will cost you 160 to 170yen! - I kena twice damnit..That's why, try to walk if the location is not far.. For eg.. I walked from Shibuya to Harujuku haha
stimix
post Mar 20 2012, 06:11 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Actually There are nothing interesting in Ropponggi except that Observatory. The Mall inside Mori Tower is luxury type and not really big. Nothing interesting surrounding that area. The ticket price to the Ropponggi Tower is 1500 if I'm not mistaken i.e similar to Tokyo Tower near Daimon stn. I visited the temple in front of the Tokyo Tower but it was rining one whole day that day. So the visibility was poor and Just snap few photos and took MRT to Ropponggi Hill..Well due to the rain & poor visibilty, I decided not to pay going up there too and stucked inside the tower mall for ~ 1-2 hrs doing nothing and watching people.. Thereafter, just braved the rain to Shibuya where I enjoy windows shopping & cheap lunch there b4 walking to Harujuku..for suvenir shopping & also kpop idol shopping by my daughter.

My advice.. Don't goto Ropponggi if visibility & raining..wasting your money. Those going after 22/5 (pls google..not so sure) please start booking to Skytree now.. Ticket price 3000yen.. Currently it's the new landmark for Tokyo

Photos drillzz Tonite
stimix
post Mar 20 2012, 08:04 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Nothing in that area lor.. Just the tower & surrounding area around the tower also nothing much to see.. probably due to the rain..i can't even walk outside that Hill.. Going to the tower also kena rain. and sumore, due to the bad weather, i dun even want to pay 1500yen going up till the observatory point & the art museum.. The shops inside the Mori tower also nothing interest me.. The only thing i hang around Starbucks enjoying 300yen coffee while waiting for the rain to stop.well it never stop on that day and I hv to run to the MRT stn to goto Shibuya bcos the stn below the tower is diff stn and to switch stn from that Tower, another 160yen...darmit..imagine we are complaining about our LRT ampang & Kelana Jaya not integrated..and now Tokyo..even worst.. switching to diff lines, for sure have to go out from one line & re-tap again..sigh..
QUOTE(RegentCid @ Mar 20 2012, 06:50 PM)
This mean you didn't do homework on roppongi. Can't believe you say nothing interest.
stimix
post Mar 20 2012, 09:47 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Hmnn Dunno leh, even the travel guide book I grabbed from my hotel only mentioned 6 attractions around Roppongi area i.e Ropponggi Hill, Tokyo Midtown, Haiyuza Teater, Arisugawanomiya park, Azabu Juban town & National Art Center.. Nothing else there wor.. I'm more interested on the old Azabu Juban but due to the rain, I can't walk there sad.gif
stimix
post Mar 20 2012, 10:17 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Still lazy to resize those photos lor..wait-lah.. BTW, interm of places of real interest, I will rate from my best till last:

1) Nikko
2) Hakone/Mt Fuji view esp from the Volcano crater
3) Emperor Palace ground - Nice Tokyo skyline, park & the palace itself
4) Asakusa - Sky tree/ & souvenir shopping - but pricey
5) Akihabara- It/Electronics city but actually nothing to buy there (for me-lah haha..except regentcid things haha)
6) Shibuya ?Harajuku - Dog statue & fashion city & at Harajuku- Oriental Bazzar & the idol st + Daiso haha
7) Ginza- Dirt cheap Uniglo - but I was lucky due to opening sales haha
8) Shinjuku - One bloody confusing city wth all railway itersection- anyway found what I want here..
9) Odaiba- The most expensive metro ride - Cost 310Yen to that Island.. Very nice view of rainbow bridge, Fuji TV stn & Statue of Liberty but the Aqua Mall is abit letdown and expensive food there.

For me, can skip Tokyo tower as you can view it from far at Daimon MRT/ Hamasucho stn.. Abit dead here & so do Roppongi (Well to me lah) haha..Inc the Nihonbashi area where I stayed.. I din visit iKebukuro & Ueno so can't comment on these two areas
stimix
post Mar 20 2012, 11:10 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

KL- 1.7Mil buit Greater KL- ~ 7million mah haha.. Anyway still small compare to greater Tokyo of ~ 34Mil.. Thus the crazy MRT lines.. really crazy esp Shinjuku haha

OK Posting drill now...

1) Tokyo Tower from Zozoji Temple.. Taken in the rain. Short walk from Daimon Asakusa Line stn

2) Shibuya famous human jam crossing haha. BTW, the food market inside Tokyu Mall is a must here.. shiok wth lotsa samples & food

3) Shinjuku - High rises district - Taken from the Double D ramp

4) Harajuku - Idol st - just in front of JR line Harujuku stn - Daiso is here. - Cheaper than M'sia bcos almost all items at 105yen or RM4.

5) Odaiba-

6) Palace ground:

7) Ginza Que to enter Uniglo Big opening..Uniglo is in yellow circle

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 20 2012, 11:34 PM
stimix
post Mar 20 2012, 11:32 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha That restaurant reminded me of the same restaurant I ate at Shibuya but not sushi..also damn shiok & cheap..Only 330yen nia for the nice porky rice.. BTW, u mean shubuya crossing right & not Shinjuku?

Too dark to goto Yoyogi park liao..dun forget that day raining none stop! ..lucky it was drizzlingwhen i walked from Shibuya to Harujuku..That night, leg pain like hell.. Nxt Morning continue walking from my Hotel in Nihonbashi to Emperor Palace ground & Ginza haha..That's ~ 3-4km walk.. blush.gif

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 20 2012, 11:42 PM
stimix
post Mar 21 2012, 12:28 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Crazy.. No way gonna pay for this.. My most expensive dinrar are those Wedding dinrar.. That also I paid RM100/pax liao blush.gif

BTW.. Just upload that fames Shibuya crossing. Taken from Shibuya stn

stimix
post Mar 21 2012, 10:32 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I snapped lotsa those cute maids for sure haha but once kena warned by one of them. Din visit any of the maid cafe bcos on budget. Unless got 300yen food there haha

Too late to visit the Toyota showroom. I was there ~ 5pm just b4 sunset and have to mak my way to Haneda airport by 7pm liao. Expensive Food court dinner at Aqua Mall.. Damn to the 680yen curry rice & 630yen Udon. If in Tokyo, can get ~300-500yen only sad.gif Anyway, still cheaper than the Nikko famous Soba beside Sinkyo that cost me 1050yen mad.gif biggrin.gif
QUOTE(deodorant @ Mar 21 2012, 08:45 AM)
Maid Cafe leh? lol.

You didn't go to the Toyota Mega Web? Can ride/drive car simulator & see like few dozen cars on display and sit inside a GT Toyota, for me I spent like more than half a day there lol.
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 21 2012, 10:33 AM
stimix
post Mar 21 2012, 11:29 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

BTW, those going within this few days, try to bring umbrellas or rain coats. Raining season now.. I also caught unprepared on my last 2 days. esp on last Saturday. Raining non stop since Friday night! Spoil my plan going up Tokyo tower / Roppongi Hill
stimix
post Mar 21 2012, 12:13 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Haha.. I din expect it will be such a long rain. Lucky not so heavy. One thing I noticed. Those Japanese shops well prepared for the rain. Almost all shops having umbrella holders/plastics + lotsa shops days earlier dun sell umbrellas suddenly selling..haha
stimix
post Mar 21 2012, 12:25 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For food, you kenot ask me because I go for the cheapest restaurants I can find on the street haha.. But so far, none of those cheapo restaurants dissapoint me. Most of them serving below 400 yen meals

These two nice & cheap food.. Do try them -Yummy.

For Noodles try this one in Shinjuku. Neaar Shinjuku Post Office & beside the Oval high rises district:
http://translate.google.com.my/translate?h...%26prmd%3Dimvns

For cheap rice, try this yummy rice..damn shiok thumbup.gif
http://www.sukiya.jp/
stimix
post Mar 21 2012, 12:54 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

If not kiamsiap..I will not be able to survive Tokyo for 7days wth only RM2,000 cash haha and that for 3 persons and not 1. (Brought in 86Kyen and still having 30K yen wth me)..

Ehh those want 10K yen do PM me hor haha.. 20Kyen reserved for Toa Cheng and still having 10K left
stimix
post Mar 21 2012, 03:39 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Tokyo Tower area i.e area surrounding Daimon stn is virtually dead! Atleast Ropponggi still having lively but boring shops lining the st within walking distance to Ropponggi hill but the road leading from Daimon stn to zozoji temple & Tokyo tower just like Nihonbashi area-dead except for family mart/7-11 haha

Added on March 21, 2012, 3:40 pmCherrr.. I thought what so unique.. Anyway in front of that red curvy bench is the twin tower.. Nothing special wor..

QUOTE(Ah WanG @ Mar 21 2012, 01:28 PM)

Added on March 21, 2012, 3:42 pmCrzy-kah that's already RM377 liao based on 2 days ago Money exchange rate hor..Min probably RM3.72 from me smile.gif if based on 3.77.. If 3.76, I sell RM3.71 rclxms.gif
QUOTE(Max_07s @ Mar 21 2012, 01:35 PM)
10k for free ka stimix? ehehheheh. how much u want for 10k? tongue.gif
This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 21 2012, 03:42 PM
stimix
post Mar 21 2012, 03:47 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Snap without their knowledge no problem but once they caught you taking their photo.. You can see how those sailor moon chiks re-act biggrin.gif ..Should hv invested in 300mm lens so can zoom in from far sad.gif
QUOTE(popcorn513 @ Mar 21 2012, 02:38 PM)
Snap maid also kena warn?
I thought I want to go snap those sailor fuku
stimix
post Mar 21 2012, 07:25 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah same location- Odaiba - Raibow bridge wth the statue of liberty replica.

QUOTE(stimix @ Mar 20 2012, 11:10 PM)

5) Odaiba-

stimix
post Mar 22 2012, 12:47 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

My best maid. Tht also curi-curi haha

More photos:
Nikko:

Mt Fuji

Sinkansen passing by Tokyo International Forum (Similar to our KLCC Convention Ctr)

This post has been edited by stimix: Mar 22 2012, 02:35 PM
stimix
post Mar 22 2012, 03:43 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Tnx but I'm very bad in taking street photography.. These Kimono ladies.. I not dare to take from the front and I hv to chase them from the back and those curious Japanese keep on laughing at me for chasing these ladies haha

From what I observed, lotsa Japanese ladies, like to wear Kimonos during weekend

13 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.1402sec    0.29    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:11 AM