14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

I am leaving Bold engine oil, Help me pick good local oil

TSBalanced
post Nov 15 2024, 05:22 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 15 2024, 05:13 PM)
10k km lor. its about 10-11 months. but since first time bold, i will monitor closer after 5k.
its a 13 years old city. so far condition still good. i think now its 160k ++km
May i suggest u change the old every 7k km instead to maintain your engine's health?

Its been proven 10k km oil change, no matter the oil will slowly deteriorate the engine. Only thing the car manufacturer recommends 10k km oil change because it helps in promoting low maintenance cost on the cars they are selling and the car usually will be able to last till 9 years with 10k km oil change.

Note that most car manufacturers do not think oil consumption of 1L engine oil of every old change is considered a defect.
LastManStanding99
post Dec 27 2024, 08:23 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Apr 28 2024, 02:00 PM)
So imma going to stop using bold engine oil.
Although bold oil working great for me, but i dont like dishonest company as shown by another ktard. Repacking their oil is ok, but being dishonest i dont like.
1. Very sus address at kuwait.
2. Edit pictures and make it as bold employees

So i search for local blends. I got feoso engine oil and hipro. Hipro brands seems more advance and have better specifications.
Any other local brand engine oil ktards can recommend?
Motion lube (Singapore company, pack in Malaysia)
Bolt engine oil (Local company)
Myvi 2011 1.3 5w30 (motion 8k, Bolt 7k, semi) but normally 500km before will change it just to maintain long lifespan engine.
Use to use Bold , but getting expensive.
ry8128
post Dec 27 2024, 08:29 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Nov 15 2024, 05:22 PM)
May i suggest u change the old every 7k km instead to maintain your engine's health?

Its been proven 10k km oil change, no matter the oil will slowly deteriorate the engine. Only thing the car manufacturer recommends 10k km oil change because it helps in promoting low maintenance cost on the cars they are selling and the car usually will be able to last till 9 years with 10k km oil change.

Note that most car manufacturers do not think oil consumption of 1L engine oil of every old change is considered a defect.
Proven? Where's your data? My car has been servicing 10k km for more than a decade, no issue at all.
foofoosasa
post Dec 27 2024, 08:48 PM

3,482 posts

So many fake engine oil?
I am using motul, castrol and liquidmoly for my personal car, while shell for my company car. Don't tell me all these brand full of recycled repacked as well.

This post has been edited by foofoosasa: Dec 27 2024, 08:56 PM
TSBalanced
post Dec 27 2024, 08:55 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 27 2024, 08:29 PM)
Proven? Where's your data? My car has been servicing 10k km for more than a decade, no issue at all.
No scientific statistical data, but the data or proof that i got are from engine builders. Some engines came in with full servicing from SC with the recommended mileage intervals but when open up there are some sludge in critical parts of the engine and generally more wears compared to those that changes oil earliers. Not sayang your engine will rosak, just it will wear out faster.
Prime suspect is the carbon buildup around the piston rings and oil return galeries on the piston which finally will cause the rings to jammed and slowly wear out cylinder walls after few k kms.

Even world expert japan engine builders says so.

Again, if u wan to use your car for the manufacturers intended use timespan/ mileage, then no problem your car will last till then if u follow strictly their recommendations.

But if u wan to keep it longer and sayang your engine then change earlier.

-------

To add on, not all cars will experience the same wear. It fully depends on usage also like if the car always long distance and doesnt get stuck in traffic, these generally have the lowest wears.
However those with over 10k km oil changes will have higher risk of developing carbons even when the owners care for the car, as shown by many engine builders when they open up to inspect the engines.
5k km oil changes have no carbon build up issues if taken care of right.

This post has been edited by Balanced: Dec 27 2024, 09:00 PM
TSBalanced
post Dec 27 2024, 09:01 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(foofoosasa @ Dec 27 2024, 08:48 PM)
So many fake engine oil?
I am using motul, castrol and liquidmoly for my personal car, while shell for my company car. Don't tell me all these brand full of recycled repacked as well.
All of the brands u using have fakes.
Just buy from reputable official distributors safer.
ry8128
post Dec 27 2024, 09:48 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Dec 27 2024, 08:55 PM)
No scientific statistical data, but the data or proof that i got are from engine builders. Some engines came in with full servicing from SC with the recommended mileage intervals but when open up there are some sludge in critical parts of the engine and generally more wears compared to those that changes oil earliers. Not sayang your engine will rosak, just it will wear out faster.
Prime suspect is the carbon buildup around the piston rings and oil return galeries on the piston which finally will cause the rings to jammed and slowly wear out cylinder walls after few k kms.

Again, if u wan to use your car for the manufacturers intended use timespan/ mileage, then no problem your car will last till then if u follow strictly their recommendations.

-------

To add on, not all cars will experience the same wear. It fully depends on usage also like if the car always long distance and doesnt get stuck in traffic, these generally have the lowest wears.
However those with over 10k km oil changes will have higher risk of developing carbons even when the owners care for the car, as shown by many engine builders when they open up to inspect the engines.
In summary, no data la, just talk only.

Ok, i give you benefits of doubt, i assume what your engine builder say is true. So why change 5k? Why not 3k? 2k? Or even every 1k? Will it be better and helps the engine last longer compare to 5k?
SourLemons
post Dec 27 2024, 10:01 PM

223 posts

MINUMLAH BOLD
TSBalanced
post Dec 27 2024, 11:17 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(ry8128 @ Dec 27 2024, 09:48 PM)
In summary, no data la, just talk only.

Ok, i give you benefits of doubt, i assume what your engine builder say is true. So why change 5k? Why not 3k? 2k? Or even every 1k? Will it be better and helps the engine last longer compare to 5k?
They are showing it based on their experiences, in videos too.
So if u think those videos are fake then u dont have to follow. Its always your choice.

Why not 1km? U wont have to ask me this if u read.
Ok la since this is kopitiam, i repeat.
They recommend 5000km because 5000km is the inverval where there was 0 sludge detected in all those engines.

This post has been edited by Balanced: Dec 27 2024, 11:19 PM
ugakgedik
post Jan 2 2025, 07:02 PM

QUOTE(Balanced @ Dec 27 2024, 08:55 PM)

-------

Just follow this simple rule of thumb.

Oil/service is cheap.

Repairs are expensive tongue.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 2 2025, 07:22 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Dec 27 2024, 11:17 PM)
They are showing it based on their experiences, in videos too.
So if u think those videos are fake then u dont have to follow. Its always your choice.

Why not 1km? U wont have to ask me this if u read.
Ok la since this is kopitiam, i repeat.
They recommend 5000km because 5000km is the inverval where there was 0 sludge detected in all those engines.
I just bought a set yesterday cool2.gif
TSBalanced
post Jan 2 2025, 09:42 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 2 2025, 07:22 PM)
I just bought a set yesterday  cool2.gif
Dont tempt me lol
IamAHuman
post Jan 2 2025, 10:00 PM

350 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jan 2 2025, 09:42 PM)
Dont tempt me lol
Am still a loyal BOLD user. Happy with it so far for the past 3-4 years with multiple oil change on several of my cars.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 3 2025, 09:49 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jan 2 2025, 09:42 PM)
Dont tempt me lol
u really dont want to try this one kah?

very ngam with ur big vtec engine

BOLD ATAS 5w30

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 2 2025, 10:00 PM)
Am still a loyal BOLD user. Happy with it so far for the past 3-4 years with multiple oil change on several of my cars.
THIS

same here bro.

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Jan 3 2025, 09:56 AM
TSBalanced
post Jan 3 2025, 10:00 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 3 2025, 09:49 AM)
u really dont want to try this one kah?

very ngam with ur big vtec engine

BOLD ATAS 5w30

THIS

same here bro.
But the company tipuuu on their address and they copy paste pic. Then again many companies also do this la..even tourism malaysia curi my friends photo lol.
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 3 2025, 10:04 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jan 3 2025, 10:00 AM)
But the company tipuuu on their address and they copy paste pic. Then again many companies also do this la..even tourism malaysia curi my friends photo lol.
that one is kinda sus lah actually. can always rent the virtual office around KL, Menara Kek Seng in front of Pavi also got, imagine for Rm30 per month can get KL office address already.
TSBalanced
post Jan 3 2025, 10:06 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 3 2025, 10:04 AM)
that one is kinda sus lah actually. can always rent the virtual office around KL, Menara Kek Seng in front of Pavi also got, imagine for Rm30 per month can get KL office address already.
Yea... Also previously the black fs package, in the gold sticker got written spec a3-b4 also. Now only write api sp.
IamAHuman
post Jan 3 2025, 10:13 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Jan 3 2025, 10:06 AM)
Yea... Also previously the black fs package, in the gold sticker got written spec a3-b4 also. Now only write api sp.
well, you can't have it all. at least you know that it is not RECYCLED or FAKE EO.

For the price, you can change every 3k kms also!
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 3 2025, 10:31 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(IamAHuman @ Jan 3 2025, 10:13 AM)
well, you can't have it all. at least you know that it is not RECYCLED or FAKE EO.

For the price, you can change every 3k kms also!

if u have the space , time and willing to learn how to DIY, it is much easier actually. RM89 can get the oil extractor already these days

imagine changing engine oil at your own time. no need to take time off to send car to workshop just for basic thing like oil change.

Engine Oil Extractor Pump

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Jan 3 2025, 10:33 AM
IamAHuman
post Jan 3 2025, 10:35 AM

350 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 3 2025, 10:31 AM)
if u have the space , time and willing to learn how to DIY, it is much easier actually. RM89 can get the oil extractor already these days

imagine changing engine oil at your own time. no need to take time off to send car to workshop just for basic thing like oil change.

Engine Oil Extractor Pump

been using this for the longest time bro. Took my old oil to the workshop to dispose.

Best when driving contis, the oil filter is on top which is easily accessible unlike japs.

14 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0169sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 01:50 AM