I am leaving Bold engine oil, Help me pick good local oil

JohnL77
post Aug 28 2024, 11:16 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Aug 28 2024, 11:10 PM)
Sprinta F900 and Motul 7100 both very smooth?
Sprinta F900 very smooth up to 2000km after that noticeably less smooth. Changed it around 2500km. 10W40 (from Petronas official store) and 10W50 (from VR Global) felt the same.

The Motul I bought from Hollywood Motosport that had the QR code was the H-Tech. This one was smooth all the way to 3000km.

Currently testing the Motul 7100 bought from VR Global (no QR code). If ester blend doesn't feel smooth up to 3000km, I'll go back to H-Tech.

But out of the 3, I feel 7100 gives the best acceleration. My 135LC has been flying.

This post has been edited by JohnL77: Aug 28 2024, 11:24 PM
andrekua2
post Aug 28 2024, 11:25 PM

13,460 posts

Too many fake oil in MY market especially those pricey one. Having bought and compare Syntium 3000E engine oil from Mesra and compare with the 2 that I bought from shopee/lazada, I think can confirm Mesra is new oil whereas others are recycled oil. It's actually quite easy to get recycled engine oil... hiap huat is one of them.
TSBalanced
post Aug 28 2024, 11:32 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Aug 28 2024, 11:16 PM)
Sprinta F900 very smooth up to 2000km after that noticeably less smooth. Changed it around 2500km. 10W40 (from Petronas official store) and 10W50 (from VR Global) felt the same.

The Motul I bought from Hollywood Motosport that had the QR code was the H-Tech. This one was smooth all the way to 3000km.

Currently testing the Motul 7100 bought from VR Global (no QR code). If ester blend doesn't feel smooth up to 3000km, I'll go back to H-Tech.

But out of the 3, I feel 7100 gives the best acceleration. My 135LC has been flying.
I see. I might try sprinta f900 then. Buy from petrol station very expensive?
JohnL77
post Aug 28 2024, 11:45 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Aug 28 2024, 11:32 PM)
I see. I might try sprinta f900 then. Buy from petrol station very expensive?
Price difference more than RM20.

Last time I bought Shell Power from petrol station because Grab gives discount to riders. Then Shell increased the price by RM20 so I started buying from Shopee. I've been using EO bought from Shopee for about 50,000km including your Bold EO. That day I thought your Bold EO broke my engine. Turns out the carburetor needed cleaning. After cleaning everything feels ok. Fingers crossed.
TSBalanced
post Aug 29 2024, 12:08 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Aug 28 2024, 11:45 PM)
Price difference more than RM20.

Last time I bought Shell Power from petrol station because Grab gives discount to riders. Then Shell increased the price by RM20 so I started buying from Shopee. I've been using EO bought from Shopee for about 50,000km including your Bold EO. That day I thought your Bold EO broke my engine. Turns out the carburetor needed cleaning. After cleaning everything feels ok. Fingers crossed.
Lol jangan la salahkan the Bold EO blush.gif

So how are u going to rate all the engine oil u tried? Or some couldnt feel any difference?
Can give me the link of the Sprinta F700 to buy?
JohnL77
post Aug 31 2024, 01:33 AM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Aug 29 2024, 12:08 AM)
Lol jangan la salahkan the Bold EO  blush.gif

So how are u going to rate all the engine oil u tried? Or some couldnt feel any difference?
Can give me the link of the Sprinta F700 to buy?
I still have 1L Bold 15w50. I guess I should give it another try since the dirty carburetor might have affected the performance. But the 10w40 really only smooth until 1000km and then starts feeling rough. I tried that one long before the carburetor needed cleaning.

Sprinta F900 and Shell Power seems to be OOS in their respective Shopee Official Stores. Go petrol station buy I guess.

Ratings:

Yamalube - Shiiiiieeeet... Sometimes smooth sometimes rough. Only reason I'm willing to use this oil until 2500km is because of the Yamaha brand. Used this oil for like my bike's first 40,000km then I realized Grab gave discount for Shell EO.

Bold - First 100km gear change from 2nd to 3rd felt rough after that ok. Engine feel smooth up to 1,000km then it starts to feel rough. I don't dare use past 1,500km. Quickly change it when hit 1,500km.

Shell Long Ride - Really smooth all the way to 3,000km like the back of the bottle promises. But acceleration is lacking. When I pull the throttle the bike doesn't respond immediately. I can feel the engine spinning up but it's not translating to acceleration.

Shell Power - the first EO that convinced me EO can make acceleration better. It's been a while since I used this because it got expensive so I decided to try other brands like Petronas and Motul.

Sprinta F900 - Smooth up to 2,000km then it starts feeling less smooth. Acceleration better than Shell Long Ride I guess.

Motul H-Tech - Smooth all the way to 3,000km and acceleration better than Shell Long Ride.

Motul 7100 - Currently testing. Already more than 1,000km. Smoothness started to feel inconsistent after 1,000km but I feel the acceleration is the best out of all the EO I've used.
TSBalanced
post Aug 31 2024, 02:40 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Aug 31 2024, 01:33 AM)
I still have 1L Bold 15w50. I guess I should give it another try since the dirty carburetor might have affected the performance. But the 10w40 really only smooth until 1000km and then starts feeling rough. I tried that one long before the carburetor needed cleaning.

Sprinta F900 and Shell Power seems to be OOS in their respective Shopee Official Stores. Go petrol station buy I guess.

Ratings:

Yamalube - Shiiiiieeeet... Sometimes smooth sometimes rough. Only reason I'm willing to use this oil until 2500km is because of the Yamaha brand. Used this oil for like my bike's first 40,000km then I realized Grab gave discount for Shell EO.

Bold - First 100km gear change from 2nd to 3rd felt rough after that ok. Engine feel smooth up to 1,000km then it starts to feel rough. I don't dare use past 1,500km. Quickly change it when hit 1,500km.

Shell Long Ride - Really smooth all the way to 3,000km like the back of the bottle promises. But acceleration is lacking. When I pull the throttle the bike doesn't respond immediately. I can feel the engine spinning up but it's not translating to acceleration.

Shell Power - the first EO that convinced me EO can make acceleration better. It's been a while since I used this because it got expensive so I decided to try other brands like Petronas and Motul.

Sprinta F900 - Smooth up to 2,000km then it starts feeling less smooth. Acceleration better than Shell Long Ride I guess.

Motul H-Tech - Smooth all the way to 3,000km and acceleration better than Shell Long Ride.

Motul 7100 - Currently testing. Already more than 1,000km. Smoothness started to feel inconsistent after 1,000km but I feel the acceleration is the best out of all the EO I've used.
I see I see.. After reading I wanted to try Shell Power next, but then I realized it doesn't have w40 weight sad.gif
I am using 10w40 oil for my kawasaki ninja 250. So far I used a few types of oils.

Sprinta F500 10w40 semi - smooth until I changed it at 2000km.

Kawasaki semi 10w40 - smooth until I changed it at 2000km. Top speed lesser, usually I can reach 165, with this oil 155 only.. hmm.gif I use this the most because I greedy bought a lot in 1 go.

Silkolene Pro 4 10w40 fully - smoother than sprinta and kawasaki semi. Changed at 2000km. Best so far.

Bold 10w40 fully - like u, gear change rough for I think first 60km? Very weird. Smooth until now but havent reach 2000km, but definitely over 1000km.

Actually I'm thinking of changing my oils to our local Malaysia brand Hipro.
I wanna try their best oil Hipro VeltorQ V9 5w40 ester + Pao oil for my civic type R
and their motoz M9 10w40 ester + Pao for my ninja.
Apparently their motor oil very well accepted in Bangladesh but not in Malaysia.

TSBalanced
post Aug 31 2024, 06:36 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Aug 28 2024, 11:25 PM)
Too many fake oil in MY market especially those pricey one. Having bought and compare Syntium 3000E engine oil from Mesra and compare with the 2 that I bought from shopee/lazada, I think can confirm Mesra is new oil whereas others are recycled oil. It's actually quite easy to get recycled engine oil... hiap huat is one of them.
May i know which 2 sellers selling u the fake oil?
andrekua2
post Aug 31 2024, 07:16 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Aug 31 2024, 06:36 PM)
May i know which 2 sellers selling u the fake oil?
One bought from Vanli (lazada) who insist theirs is grey import or something... another is in shopee...

Both seal dont have hologram whereas the one I bought prior from Mesra (3months or so earlier) has hologram.
TSBalanced
post Aug 31 2024, 08:35 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Aug 31 2024, 07:16 PM)
One bought from Vanli (lazada) who insist theirs is grey import or something... another is in shopee...

Both seal dont have hologram whereas the one I bought prior from Mesra (3months or so earlier) has hologram.
Vanli also fake ah? I thought a lot of ktards recommended vanli. How u received any fake ones from official seller? Because now the trend im buying any oil is going to official sellers only no matter the brand. Except maybe those at tesco, giant, lotus
ry8128
post Aug 31 2024, 08:39 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,632 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Aug 31 2024, 07:16 PM)

I am quite interested how u conclude its a recycle oil? Can share some info?
andrekua2
post Aug 31 2024, 08:43 PM

13,460 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Aug 31 2024, 08:35 PM)
Vanli also fake ah? I thought a lot of ktards recommended vanli. How u received any fake ones from official seller? Because now the trend im buying any oil is going to official sellers only no matter the brand. Except maybe those at tesco, giant, lotus
I dont know la if what they claimed is real or not. I have a bottle from Mesra like I explained. The seal has hologram and also the color+smell is also different. The shopee seller even show me a letter from a Petronas distributor claiming new batch no hologram seal but I dont accept their excuses. Also the bottle packaging from Mesra is hard plastic unlike the one from lazada and shopee which is really soft.

I bought it to try because my dad passed me a W212 which has some harden seals or what... consuming engine oil like shit. Fixed it lately so no more such problem. Maybe will buy from Mesra again...

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...ost&p=109068934

This post has been edited by andrekua2: Aug 31 2024, 08:46 PM
netflix2019
post Aug 31 2024, 09:40 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Aug 31 2024, 08:43 PM)
I dont know la if what they claimed is real or not. I have a bottle from Mesra like I explained. The seal has hologram and also the color+smell is also different. The shopee seller even show me a letter from a Petronas distributor claiming new batch no hologram seal but I dont accept their excuses. Also the bottle packaging from Mesra is hard plastic unlike the one from lazada and shopee which is really soft.

I bought it to try because my dad passed me a W212 which has some harden seals or what... consuming engine oil like shit. Fixed it lately so no more such problem. Maybe will buy from Mesra again...

I'm curious why u dont clarify directly with Petronas?
JohnL77
post Sep 1 2024, 04:51 PM

1,887 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Aug 31 2024, 02:40 AM)
Actually I'm thinking of changing my oils to our local Malaysia brand Hipro.
I wanna try their best oil Hipro VeltorQ V9 5w40 ester + Pao oil for my civic type R
and their motoz M9 10w40 ester + Pao for my ninja.
Apparently their motor oil very well accepted in Bangladesh but not in Malaysia.
Their 4T price same with Motul H-Tech sold by Hollywood Motorsports (got QR code). But Hipro promo buy 1 free 1 mineral oil lol.

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Aug 31 2024, 08:43 PM)

My mechanic said the Motul 7100 I bought from VR Global Trading looks and smells the same as original. Same color. I don't think color proves authenticity. It can be a difference in the dye.

VR Global Trading claims some got QR code some don't have depending on the country's distributor that they import from. Tak tau la.
TSBalanced
post Sep 2 2024, 04:44 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(JohnL77 @ Sep 1 2024, 04:51 PM)
Their 4T price same with Motul H-Tech sold by Hollywood Motorsports (got QR code). But Hipro promo buy 1 free 1 mineral oil lol.
My mechanic said the Motul 7100 I bought from VR Global Trading looks and smells the same as original. Same color. I don't think color proves authenticity. It can be a difference in the dye.

VR Global Trading claims some got QR code some don't have depending on the country's distributor that they import from. Tak tau la.
I will stick with official stores online or at lotus/giant oils during promo for now. Too many fake oils..
cempedaklife
post Nov 15 2024, 11:52 AM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

Damm ts. biggrin.gif

So I just changed to bold for the first time. Bought months earlier then ts say he abandoning bold.

But comparing with my 10k km old engine old that I replaced, bold is quite smooth. I can’t compare anything way earlier.

I actually when to another workshop for specialist advice and did a test drive and he was saying how smooth my old car is (not engine oil specifically per se but overall)
TSBalanced
post Nov 15 2024, 03:30 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 15 2024, 11:52 AM)
Damm ts. biggrin.gif

So I just changed to bold for the first time. Bought months earlier then ts say he abandoning bold.

But comparing with my 10k km old engine old that I replaced, bold is quite smooth. I can’t compare anything way earlier.

I actually when to another workshop for specialist advice and did a test drive and he was saying how smooth my old car is (not engine oil specifically per se but overall)
Ahahahaha. Yes bold is good and cheap actually. But i dont like their dodgy-ness in the address, trying to cheat ppl like that.

But horrrrr, i see their bold atas they changed the formula already. Last time is pao + ester. Now is pao + osp. Looks interesting.. at least they innovating for improvements if its true.

cempedaklife
post Nov 15 2024, 03:42 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Nov 15 2024, 03:30 PM)
Ahahahaha. Yes bold is good and cheap actually. But i dont like their dodgy-ness in the address, trying to cheat ppl like that.

But horrrrr, i see their bold atas they changed the formula already. Last time is pao + ester. Now is pao + osp. Looks interesting.. at least they innovating for improvements if its true.

I got another bottle of other brand engine oil. Which I bought before I bought the bold one. So it will be at least about 2 years from now before I need to bother what will be my next engine oil 😄
TSBalanced
post Nov 15 2024, 03:44 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 15 2024, 03:42 PM)
I got another bottle of other brand engine oil. Which I bought before I bought the bold one. So it will be at least about 2 years from now before I need to bother what will be my next engine oil 😄
U changed your engine oil once a year ah? Mileage? I changed mine every 3-4 months when it reaches 5000km.
cempedaklife
post Nov 15 2024, 05:13 PM

Master Decoy
4,350 posts

QUOTE(Balanced @ Nov 15 2024, 03:44 PM)
U changed your engine oil once a year ah? Mileage? I changed mine every 3-4 months when it reaches 5000km.
10k km lor. its about 10-11 months. but since first time bold, i will monitor closer after 5k.
its a 13 years old city. so far condition still good. i think now its 160k ++km

14 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0190sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 04:39 AM