Very few Malaysians can afford to reitre.. SAD!
mushigen
Mar 14 2024, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2024, 10:14 AM) If you cannot reach 900k, lower down your expenses. Get your butt out and work. You can get 6.1% from maybank. And even much more in another market. Learn and work harder to find. Not difficult. Kind of risky to put everything into one type of investment. Even riskier to put everything into one counter, kan?
Atrocious
Mar 14 2024, 10:20 AM

Yes. Better invest in a good quality hand trolley now, you WILL need it later on in life.
iGamer
Mar 14 2024, 10:22 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2024, 10:14 AM) If you cannot reach 900k, lower down your expenses. Get your butt out and work. You can get 6.1% from maybank. And even much more in another market. Learn and work harder to find. Not difficult. From EPF statistic, most will never get 900k even if they work till recommended retirement age. It's not about work harder, bottom level kuli worked hard, just not getting paid as much as equivalent kuli in more advanced country. That's just the economy reality of this country. Most low level white collar also not getting high pay, and with the advancement of AI, many white collar job will soon be displaced.
ListenToTheWind
Mar 14 2024, 10:23 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2024, 10:14 AM) If you cannot reach 900k, lower down your expenses. Get your butt out and work. You can get 6.1% from maybank. And even much more in another market. Learn and work harder to find. Not difficult. Unker don't have 900k sitting around. That's why unker plan to comtinue sell on shopee until the day I die lo
ListenToTheWind
Mar 14 2024, 10:25 AM
QUOTE(g5sim @ Mar 14 2024, 10:00 AM) Here people call male tree. Faster terbang n plant new one lololol Patut la! That tree been there for like 10 years jor. Just few months ago my mom went and terbang it because it's such an eye sore. Big, strong and tall but bear no fruit at all for 10 years.
gundamsp01
Mar 14 2024, 10:28 AM
10k saving? maybe around 1 month+ for my current lifestyle, 3 months if i live frugally
Boomwick
Mar 14 2024, 10:32 AM
QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Mar 14 2024, 10:23 AM) Unker don't have 900k sitting around. That's why unker plan to comtinue sell on shopee until the day I die lo  Hi unker.. u shoppee jual apa?
ozak
Mar 14 2024, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 14 2024, 10:18 AM) Kind of risky to put everything into one type of investment. Even riskier to put everything into one counter, kan? Maybank is already very reliable. Div % I get from pass 20yrs and estimate the future. Of course you can mix with epf and m2u with ratio. And if you are smarter, high yield and hold some share will even better.
ListenToTheWind
Mar 14 2024, 10:34 AM
QUOTE(Boomwick @ Mar 14 2024, 10:32 AM) Hi unker.. u shoppee jual apa? Anything I can jual I jual. Currently got sell some stationery, some small home appliances, consumable.
ozak
Mar 14 2024, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 14 2024, 10:22 AM) From EPF statistic, most will never get 900k even if they work till recommended retirement age. It's not about work harder, bottom level kuli worked hard, just not getting paid as much as equivalent kuli in more advanced country. That's just the economy reality of this country. Most low level white collar also not getting high pay, and with the advancement of AI, many white collar job will soon be displaced. If you want to think like B40, than just get your butt out and work. Think smarter if you want to achieve. EPF statistic is 1 whole lumsum. I don't believe what they write.
iGamer
Mar 14 2024, 10:39 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2024, 10:34 AM) Maybank is already very reliable. Div % I get from pass 20yrs and estimate the future. Of course you can mix with epf and m2u with ratio. And if you are smarter, high yield and hold some share will even better. u don't hold any foreign investment to hedge against MYR devaluation? All those syok sendiri EPF 5% dividend actually doesn't mean much when currency devaluation and effective inflation alone already wipe out the investment "growth" over time.
ozak
Mar 14 2024, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 14 2024, 10:39 AM) u don't hold any foreign investment to hedge against MYR devaluation? All those syok sendiri EPF 5% dividend actually doesn't mean much when currency devaluation and effective inflation alone already wipe out the investment "growth" over time. This is the foreign investment. " And if you are smarter, high yield and hold some share will even better." I thought you believe in EPF? This post has been edited by ozak: Mar 14 2024, 10:42 AM
iGamer
Mar 14 2024, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 14 2024, 10:42 AM) This is the foreign investment. " And if you are smarter, high yield and hold some share will even better." I thought you believe in EPF? I believe EPF is generally a decent forced retirement saving mechanism. But regrettably it has been hijacked by politicians hence EPF cannot give higher return than its potential. This post has been edited by iGamer: Mar 14 2024, 10:47 AM
Prometric
Mar 14 2024, 10:51 AM
Ok now i know im in that 4% bracket
xpole
Mar 14 2024, 10:57 AM
Why media/economist and other experts expects Malaysian will retired at 60 years old?
In other countries, especially in western countries, it's a normal thing for people age 60 years old and above still working as usual.
Heck even a lot of American still working until they reach 80 years old.
This post has been edited by xpole: Mar 14 2024, 10:58 AM
ozak
Mar 14 2024, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Mar 14 2024, 10:23 AM) Unker don't have 900k sitting around. That's why unker plan to comtinue sell on shopee until the day I die lo  I don't believe you. Your 3k expenses is already consider high. You capable of doing business. QUOTE(iGamer @ Mar 14 2024, 10:46 AM) I believe EPF is generally a decent forced retirement saving mechanism. But regrettably it has been hijacked by politicians hence EPF cannot give higher return than its potential. EPF here is not low. Average and even better then many country. You dissapoint because EPF revenue high but payout low. Take out some and invest. Don't waste the time.
cakoilembutgebu

Ever wonder why our government don't do shit about current obesity and obsession with potong kaki beverage and artery clogging food consumed by Malaysians? Because government secretly wants B40's to die early and not be a burden to KKM
g5sim
QUOTE(fongsk26 @ Mar 14 2024, 10:08 AM) I need advice on my buah Nona(apple custard) plant. Been planting on the ground for years and sprouted to a few plants now. But cannot bear fruits. Why? I feeds them with my kitchen waste and water daily. The plants seems to grow well but somehow cannot bear any fruits so far. It has been like 10 years already… Eh.. Got put baja bunga? Got flower before? Cannot ten years also no fruit.
ozak
Mar 14 2024, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(cakoilembutgebu @ Mar 14 2024, 11:01 AM) Ever wonder why our government don't do shit about current obesity and obsession with potong kaki beverage and artery clogging food consumed by Malaysians? Because government secretly wants B40's to die early and not be a burden to KKM Can you and the gov take away the Nasi Lemak?
iGamer
Mar 14 2024, 11:04 AM
QUOTE(cakoilembutgebu @ Mar 14 2024, 11:01 AM) Ever wonder why our government don't do shit about current obesity and obsession with potong kaki beverage and artery clogging food consumed by Malaysians? Because government secretly wants B40's to die early and not be a burden to KKM If true ayam support. Too bad those overly obese ppl will still suck up huge public health care expenditure b4 they gg.