How to deal with medical insurance repricing?

ronnie
post Oct 19 2024, 05:47 PM

Not enough stars
21,313 posts

QUOTE(p0wer2003 @ Oct 18 2024, 11:30 PM)
Today another price hike in Preudential premium
IT seem to be yearly affair now.... brace yourself.
SUSprecsmo
post Nov 18 2024, 03:14 AM

301 posts

My insurance has become quite expensive this year, that's why I decided to change it.

I went to a broker who helped me choose a good insurance at an affordable price. If you need it, you can find more information here: https://premierpmi.co.uk/self-employed-health-insurance/

This post has been edited by precsmo: Nov 19 2024, 10:39 PM
Cisne
post Nov 19 2024, 12:35 PM

67 posts

Hahaha, I doubt if the insurance companies, when they increased the premium, the consumer have the power to say no. It just similar like the Apple's IOS or Android IOS, whenever there is an update to the software, we still have to select "agree" to update or else, we will not be enjoying the enhance / security features.

Use the insurance as the contingency plan. Lead a healthy & active lifestyle more important. If we already leading an active & healthy lifestyle but the misfortune or illnesses still managed to find their way to our doorstep, we got it covered by insurance within our affordability. If the misfortune or illness cannot be covered by the insurance, that's probably fate arrangement.

Alternatively, public healthcare not that bad as perceived by the public. Start making friends with the ppl from the healthcare sector, you may not know when you may need their help in future, lol.
porkchop
post Dec 9 2024, 10:55 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

just got the repricing for my parent. Just bought it 2 years ago, now gotten the letter for repricing and its 50% increase. Below screenshot top is the repricing letter, bottom is the quotation premium projection signed on day 1.

This is a standalone medical plan, maybe if we have bought ILP it could have cushioned the increase?

edit: oh sry add more info bought at age 58, now is age 60 until next Nov 2025 become (61)

This post has been edited by porkchop: Dec 9 2024, 11:08 PM
MUM
post Dec 9 2024, 11:01 PM

14,920 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Dec 9 2024, 10:55 PM)
just got the repricing for my parent. Just bought it 2 years ago, now gotten the letter for repricing and its 50% increase. Below screenshot top is the repricing letter, bottom is the quotation premium projection signed on day 1.

This is a standalone medical plan, maybe if we have bought ILP it could have cushioned the increase?

Mind asking, they are in what age grouping?
If now is 61, ...at almost 5k, the next age group of 62 maybe 8k liao.

This post has been edited by MUM: Dec 9 2024, 11:05 PM
porkchop
post Dec 9 2024, 11:07 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Dec 9 2024, 11:01 PM)
Mind asking, they are in what age grouping?
If now is 61, ...at almost 5k, the next age group of 62 maybe 8k liao.
oh sry add more info bought at age 58, now is age 60 until next Nov 2025 only become 61. But before this age, still below the RM6k range in initial projection, but somehow it already shoot straight up.

This post has been edited by porkchop: Dec 10 2024, 01:03 AM
Ramjade
post Dec 10 2024, 12:09 AM

24,375 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Dec 9 2024, 10:55 PM)

edit: oh sry add more info bought at age 58, now is age 60 until next Nov 2025 become (61)

No. It's age gap. The older you are the more expensive the insurance. ILP or standalone same thing. This thing cannot run away (older you are, the price increases)

Use EPF instead of ILP to cushion the blow as EPF returns> ILP majority of the time for like annualised 10.years reurem.

14 Pages « < 12 13 14Top

0.0189sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 04:18 PM