Maid issue, Maid started to use phone

TSfuruku89
post Oct 20 2023, 02:54 AM, updated 3y ago

172 posts

3 months ago I hired a new maid, everything is very satisfy as my wife and I treat her best possible like our own family. The only thing she needs to do is to take care our newborn 6 months baby as priority, and house chore can do it later which she did well.

Now the issue is, according to the agency she agree and allow to use phone once a week during weekend. One day we saw the CCTV she curi curi take out the phone to use and never put back.

The question is are we suppose to give her use all the time or ignore and act like I never know or dont let her use? I would like to hear some expert here.
SUStolongking
post Oct 20 2023, 02:56 AM

20 posts

use phone only... no big deal. not happy just send her back la. you know how repetitive house chores are or not? it doesn't hurt to take a break once a while as long as performance not affected

happy worker = productive worker

tell me you follow her and breathe down her neck. i'm sure you do
Seager
post Oct 20 2023, 02:57 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

You really wouldn't wanna fuck around with the person that looks after your baby.
whoopa
post Oct 20 2023, 02:59 AM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

who phone is that? and why only can allow use phone once a week?
how many hours have to work 24hours work for you?

weird stipulation where can use phone 1 time je
Phoenix_KL
post Oct 20 2023, 03:02 AM

156 posts

sound like prisoner phone rights.
cdspins
post Oct 20 2023, 03:16 AM

2,714 posts

If you don't allow maid to use phone, at first, you should keep phone and only pass to the maid during her off time and collect back after usage. If the maid keep her phone herself then it is difficult to restrict phone usage. Lastly, you left your 6 month old children with the maid only, there is no other senior or adults around?
urnicksux2
post Oct 20 2023, 03:21 AM

78 posts

buy her new phone install with spy app
TSfuruku89
post Oct 20 2023, 03:33 AM

172 posts

QUOTE(whoopa @ Oct 20 2023, 02:59 AM)
who phone is that? and why only can allow use phone once a week?
how many hours have to work 24hours work for you?

weird stipulation where can use phone 1 time je
She work from 6am to 8-9pm, but there are times she sleep with my baby if we back home late and ask her not to wait us and bring the baby sleep with her.

Nowadays agency set rules that only allow once a week, afraid they keep use phone will affect their productivity.

QUOTE(cdspins @ Oct 20 2023, 03:16 AM)
If you don't allow maid to use phone, at first, you should keep phone and only pass to the maid during her off time and collect back after usage. If the maid keep her phone herself then it is difficult to restrict phone usage. Lastly, you left your 6 month old children with the maid only, there is no other senior or adults around?
We kept the phone and she knows where is it, but we didn’t expect she will curi curi take. Yes, both of us working adults. There are some days we are not at home. As far as what we monitored, she has been doing good and treating my daughter like my own daughter.

After discussion with my wife, I think we let her use phone from 9pm to 11pm daily, on sunday we let her use whole day. I think is much better compare to other maid outside. I know majority outside doesn’t allow any phone usage unless weekend or only few hours on weekend.

This post has been edited by furuku89: Oct 20 2023, 03:40 AM
stevenryl86
post Oct 20 2023, 05:29 AM

1,769 posts

Both of you should not come back late. Don’t leave your responsibility
ctwice
post Oct 20 2023, 05:37 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(tolongking @ Oct 20 2023, 02:56 AM)
use phone only... no big deal. not happy just send her back la. you know how repetitive house chores are or not? it doesn't hurt to take a break once a while as long as performance not affected

happy worker = productive worker

tell me you follow her and breathe down her neck. i'm sure you do
This sounds great in theory but totally impractical in actual case scenario. All maids that I've dealt with before including those of my friends, we've all noticed significant drop in performance once a phone is introduced within the household. The worst ones I've seen have included negligence. This is how you get maids bringing back their boyfriend and have sex at the back of your house when you're not at home.

QUOTE(stevenryl86 @ Oct 20 2023, 05:29 AM)
Both of you should not come back late. Don’t leave your responsibility
This is probably for the best. You can have a maid but don't expect them to do everything. Having a maid doesn't mean you get to delegate your responsibilities as parents.

This post has been edited by ctwice: Oct 20 2023, 05:39 AM
GTA5
post Oct 20 2023, 05:41 AM

1,412 posts

Maid is still human

Treat her like one

Yes, contract is contract

But human, deal with empathy and understanding
WinkyJr
post Oct 20 2023, 05:50 AM

433 posts

If she do her job/task well, I don't see a problem here.
3Tree
post Oct 20 2023, 05:51 AM

14 posts

Crazy la you, expect people work like robot.

As long as the baby is well taken care off and house is clean she's done her job.

This post has been edited by 3Tree: Oct 20 2023, 05:51 AM
CRaX
post Oct 20 2023, 05:51 AM

QUOTE(furuku89 @ Oct 20 2023, 02:54 AM)
3 months ago I hired a new maid, everything is very satisfy as my wife and I treat her best possible like our own family. The only thing she needs to do is to take care our newborn 6 months baby as priority, and house chore can do it later which she did well.

Now the issue is, according to the agency she agree and allow to use phone once a week during weekend. One day we saw the CCTV she curi curi take out the phone to use and never put back.

The question is are we suppose to give her use all the time or ignore and act like I never know or dont let her use? I would like to hear some expert here.
Let me tell you what happened to me.

I went to my business partner house for a week visit. They have a maid.

The first day of my arrival the maid started vent out to me. The very first thing the maid told me, her employer didn't allow her to even use a phone.

I don't even know such crazy rule even exist.. This was when mobile international call super expensive..

She didn't ask for a phone. I simply gave my phone and ask her to use, without even knowing what she will do.

She just make a phone call to her family, i know it is international number. Her call is very short, afraid my business partner to hear. After the call she is super happy, and treat me very well for the rest of the week.

Phone is a very basic needs nowadays.

Since your maid is looking after your baby, the choice is very clear one.
Roadwarrior1337
post Oct 20 2023, 06:15 AM

979 posts

Give and take. As long she do her chores and take care of your baby as if it’s her own, let her know she is appreciate its best for you both

She is taking care of your baby mate. What she can do to your baby as revenge is something you don’t want to bear witness
cdspins
post Oct 20 2023, 06:16 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(furuku89 @ Oct 20 2023, 03:33 AM)
She work from 6am to 8-9pm, but there are times she sleep with my baby if we back home late and ask her not to wait us and bring the baby sleep with her.

Nowadays agency set rules that only allow once a week, afraid they keep use phone will affect their productivity.
We kept the phone and she knows where is it, but we didn’t expect she will curi curi take. Yes, both of us working adults. There are some days we are not at home. As far as what we monitored, she has been doing good and treating my daughter like my own daughter.

After discussion with my wife, I think we let her use phone from 9pm to 11pm daily, on sunday we let her use whole day. I think is much better compare to other maid outside. I know majority outside doesn’t allow any phone usage unless weekend or only few hours on weekend.
Maybe should considered locking it so that the maid cannot take it.

For my case, I set router to blacklist the phone MAC address and only allow WIFI 3 hours a days and on weekends. See what is convenient to implement for you.
cdspins
post Oct 20 2023, 06:23 AM

2,714 posts

TS, just an advise, maybe is applicable for you maybe is not. If possible try not to leave babies with maid for long hours. Maybe you and your wife need to stagger or arrange work so that one WFH or take turns to be at home or have relatives overseer or maybe baby day care. If possible don't leave babies with maid more than 3 to 4 hours. The maid maybe very good but still baby cannot talk and anything happens, you will not known as baby cannot tell you parents.
Jv8888
post Oct 20 2023, 06:39 AM

82 posts

Damn dangerous leaving your baby with maid...also, why the maid stole the phone and nvr put back, this will only cause you to find out later...usually ppl will steal to use and then put back. Maybe she purposely did it to show that she don't give a fuck about the contract rules.

This post has been edited by Jv8888: Oct 20 2023, 06:53 AM
p4n6
post Oct 20 2023, 06:41 AM

5,974 posts

Imagine when i go to office my boss confiscates my phone said only can use phone during lunch time …
PATAR
post Oct 20 2023, 06:48 AM

197 posts

How many times you check your phone daily?
pls treat maid like you would like to be treated.
tampinmy
post Oct 20 2023, 06:54 AM

268 posts

Why do some think a domestic worker is a slave?? What's wrong with them using the phone after completing their tasks??

You fix a cctv to view your baby when you're away, so I believe your access it during your working hours, so how would you feel if your employer restrict your access and you're not able to view the cctv??

Same goes to the maid, she has a family or child even back at home, nothing wrong making a call just to hear them. You can always set the rules not to use any other unproductive apps during work hours.

End of the day, keep your employee happy and you'll gain the most
Jv8888
post Oct 20 2023, 06:56 AM

82 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Oct 20 2023, 06:41 AM)
Imagine when i go to office my boss confiscates my phone said only can use phone during lunch time …
It depends, bcos TS maid already knew the rules and regulations in the contract. Same like when you work in a company, there is rules and regulations need to be follow. So, the maid at fault here for broken the rules, but why? TS need to talk her maid and find out. Why would the maid steal the phone and keep it, rather than just use it and then put back.
Lada Putih
post Oct 20 2023, 06:58 AM

214 posts

id rather just give her the phone and use only
please dont treat your maid like a slave
mcchin
post Oct 20 2023, 07:04 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(Jv8888 @ Oct 20 2023, 06:56 AM)
It depends, bcos TS maid already knew the rules and regulations in the contract. Same like when you work in a company, there is rules and regulations need to be follow. So, the maid at fault here for broken the rules, but why? TS need to talk her maid and find out. Why would the maid steal the phone and keep it, rather than just use it and then put back.
Those that agree with the ruling, well
You guys never been away from home for an extended time
Even with phone and comes, the feeling is different with NOT able be back home at the end of the day

1 time usage per week?
Kek, every night comm back home also cannot tahan for some of you guys
ahchun
post Oct 20 2023, 07:06 AM

MiddleAge
1,147 posts

allow after work hour and sunday
pisidoubleu
post Oct 20 2023, 07:06 AM

74 posts

she broke rule once will prolly be negligence and broke another...safer to switch another maid...maybe can be lenient allow when youre both home ady...
billylks
post Oct 20 2023, 07:12 AM

180 posts

Let her use the phone. Tell her she must make sure the phone usage won't affect her work.

Initially you cakap you both treat her like a family member. That way you call a treatment to a family member ka?
blanket84
post Oct 20 2023, 07:12 AM

1,520 posts

Slavery is real..
feekle
post Oct 20 2023, 07:14 AM

Bibo ergo sum!
1,922 posts

How about both of u take care of your own offspring? Learn the responsibility of being actual parent.
homicidal85
post Oct 20 2023, 07:21 AM

295 posts

why did you have such a dumb rule in the first place?

i allowed my previous maid to use phone whenever she wants as long as it doesnt interfere with her work.
she is not a slave. she is a person with friends and family.

no matter how well you treat her, access to communication and entertainment is necessary to keep her sane. can you imagine living with an employer 24/7 without being able to contact your family? it wont work dude.
dregatar
post Oct 20 2023, 07:32 AM

23 posts

I assume she is a Filipino maid??
My maid agency had the same rule..
Frankly I think it's a dumb rule but as a parent and employer u don't want any issues to arise when ur not at home

I did give her a 3310 phone with prepaid line with cheaper idd.
I let her use the smartphone on Saturday - Sunday when we're home.
3310 top up is beared by her.

This is at the beginning 5 years ago.. Now my kids grown I just let her keep the smartphone. She pandai pandai manage her time..

samftrmd
post Oct 20 2023, 07:35 AM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

Why can only use phone once a week? You hired a slave or a maid? You use phone once a week only can or not?
pobox
post Oct 20 2023, 07:36 AM

551 posts

It's ok one. Nowadays all maids are getting it
stanck
post Oct 20 2023, 07:37 AM

81 posts

With a phone, some maid may plan to runaway. That's the biggest issue with Indo maid at the moment. The agency is just trying to make sure the maid don't have modes to plan her runaway.

2nd, it's all about trust. Does a phone makes a maid productivity drop? Yes. Always based on what I see.
But lay down ur rules. Talk to her nicely that you have said the phone is being place at a certain area so that she can use during emergency but it's not for her to keep.

At a certain point of work years, you may relax it and let her keep it. It's like a reward system based on trust.

Not all maid are the same. Some have pretty good education background like they study until Form5. You need to know your maid more, like how's the family and etc. Understand what's their needs and not just yours.
Indonesian maid now are not like 20 years ago (unless you are getting from really kampung area).

Remember your priority - take care of baby. The last thing you want is baby masuk hospital because of long term feeding bad stuff.
For me, productivity is 2nd priority if maid is home alone with baby.

My maid was with me for 8 years before she when back after the 1st MCO. We had stealing incidents after 6mths of working. Shouting incidents in between my wife and her due to house chores. Bad attitude after 1 years plus. Each time, we deal with it immediately (not punish yeah). But the difference is my maid was educated (can even read basic English).
Once trust is establish - u can go dating with your wife again and starts to enjoy ur own hobby.

Trust your gut instinct.

kons
post Oct 20 2023, 07:41 AM

Конс
6,181 posts

we dont limit their phone usage but they should use it only to pass the time. if other task is still pending, they would have to finish those first
Doomsday
post Oct 20 2023, 07:43 AM

keluarpattern dupe slayer
2,491 posts

Any reason phone is like a contraband device in the house?

Like already against human rights ye.
Sha91
post Oct 20 2023, 07:46 AM

236 posts

In case of emergency, she needs to make a call but how? Do you have home phone?

Give her the phone, maybe ask her to update every few hours about the baby?

Wait how do you communicate with your maid about your baby? Through CCTV? Only?

This post has been edited by Sha91: Oct 20 2023, 07:48 AM
alexandersuk
post Oct 20 2023, 07:47 AM

177 posts

Is she working in army camp? Why cant use phone?
SUSKaya Butter Toast
post Oct 20 2023, 07:47 AM

325 posts

Lol, OP is a slave master.
ameliorate
post Oct 20 2023, 07:55 AM

370 posts

I don't like live in maids and still don't. Especially with a baby. This is the time you have to spend more time with them. Both me and wife are working with kids and we still manage without maid. When there's a will there's a way.

Joker123
post Oct 20 2023, 08:00 AM

do people restrict others using phone ? as long not excessive should be fine. The maid also got family and friends and emergency do happen

i mean even your boss dont restrict your phone use
loui
post Oct 20 2023, 08:00 AM

795 posts

Communicate with her

Listen to her side of story and come up with compromise which suit both of you

latte36
post Oct 20 2023, 08:05 AM

Lejen
2,748 posts

Chill out la. She is also human right.

Some ppl hire maid think hire robot.

Better send her back before unwanted things happen..
s-works
post Oct 20 2023, 08:10 AM

45 posts

then you go work and surf /k is ok?
karazure
post Oct 20 2023, 08:29 AM

70 posts

hiring maid to look after baby?

big red flag there, unker maid only incharge of cleaning..nothing else
flyingturtle77
post Oct 20 2023, 08:37 AM

89 posts

being a newborn father myself and i have few subordinates, understand ur concern and worry

what u can do is, monitor the maid output and performance, as most of the /k here reply, as long as the maid can perform well and ur bb is well taken care of, house no issue

just let the maid have some freedom, but u do need to set some rules with the maid
both party must have common ground, after all, we all are only human

if her performance deteriorate, talk to her and give chance(provided everything is okay)
else, consult back with agency and change maid
ThirdSon
post Oct 20 2023, 08:40 AM

84 posts

She work from 6am to 8-9pm

wow!
hoonanoo
post Oct 20 2023, 08:49 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Oct 20 2023, 06:23 AM)
TS, just an advise, maybe is applicable for you maybe is not. If possible try not to leave babies with maid for long hours. Maybe you and your wife need to stagger or arrange work so that one WFH or take turns to be at home or have relatives overseer or maybe baby day care. If possible don't leave babies with maid more than 3 to 4 hours. The maid maybe very good but still baby cannot talk and anything happens, you will not known as baby cannot tell you parents.
this one I agree.
hoonanoo
post Oct 20 2023, 08:52 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(karazure @ Oct 20 2023, 08:29 AM)
hiring maid to look after baby?

big red flag there, unker maid only incharge of cleaning..nothing else
I sleep with my baby last time.

Sleepless nights, but it was a good experience.

My baby bonded with me and my waifu quite well. I have to say MCO gave me the change to raise my kid, 2 years of working from home. So I was fortunate not to hire a maid.

TS, is missing the biggest experience of his life, leaving the maid to be "mother" to his kid. I mean, that's not very good in bonding. I understand you and wife r working, but the sleeping with baby part, you should do it.

And maid is human, unless she stare on the phone so often until baby drop down or choking don't care, that is serious case.

But like some posters here say, TS - you wouldn't want to piss off your maid or make her angry, but reprimanding her. After all, most of the time the maid is with baby, and TS you wouldn't even know what she is doing.

Suggest TS, put in more CCTV and nanny cams in the house.

This post has been edited by hoonanoo: Oct 20 2023, 08:52 AM
Don't Troll me!
post Oct 20 2023, 08:54 AM

201 posts

What is wrong with you? Please, idiot. Treat everyone equally. Respect them, they also have parents and family.

What if your boss doesn't allow you to use your phone during your working time? What would you feel? Think about how people feel. Stop being ignorant.

A typical idiot thinks he is above any human being. Knnccb. Pukimak.
SUSandylyc
post Oct 20 2023, 08:55 AM

27 posts

Make sure your wife watch her closely when the maid taking care of your baby. Use telephone is a small matter but your baby's safety is your main concern.
omara86
post Oct 20 2023, 08:58 AM

0mg nicotine juice
707 posts

if she didnt neglect her duty, just let her be, but from time to time just talk about it just to remind her of her duty and dont let the phone distract her.

stay at 1 place cant come out, day & night, ppl can get crazy u know. if the phone can help her mental health stable, just let her
karazure
post Oct 20 2023, 08:58 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Oct 20 2023, 08:52 AM)
I sleep with my baby last time.

Sleepless nights, but it was a good experience.

My baby bonded with me and my waifu quite well. I have to say MCO gave me the change to raise my kid, 2 years of working from home. So I was fortunate not to hire a maid.

TS, is missing the biggest experience of his life, leaving the maid to be "mother" to his kid. I mean, that's not very good in bonding. I understand you and wife r working, but the sleeping with baby part, you should do it.

And maid is human, unless she stare on the phone so often until baby drop down or choking don't care, that is serious case.

But like some posters here say, TS - you wouldn't want to piss off your maid or make her angry, but reprimanding her. After all, most of the time the maid is with baby, and TS you wouldn't even know what she is doing.

Suggest TS, put in more CCTV and nanny cams in the house.
what TS should do is to hire a qualify baby sitter during the absence of work.

Maid are not baby sitter.
RT8081
post Oct 20 2023, 09:00 AM

355 posts

Give and take la, hadui

Btw why wanna use maid ? Even we didn't use maid to raise our child, don't want our kid to grow with maid's love
zeese

Warning Level
1,818 posts

my maid stayed with me for over 10 years, mainly for taking care of a baby, until the baby is 10 years old already. Yeah, I let her to have a phone. She did her job just fine..
mushigen

4,954 posts

TS trusts his maid to take care of the baby but doesn't trust her with a phone?
afie98120
post Oct 20 2023, 09:14 AM

275 posts

MAFAKA KERJA 6am to 9pm? can we report this guy
pembantu rumah + jaga bayi you pay her double ah? dua kerja summore punde cibai ts lah
phone once a week macam duduk dalam penjara

cloudwan0
post Oct 20 2023, 09:16 AM

236 posts

not sure about msia, in SG need to give them daily after work...
but i always give her the phone, just that i limit the wifi time she can go internet

as long as she work the min requirement i give, im fine
iazmin
post Oct 20 2023, 09:18 AM

Think this way. you like if your boss, your company disallow you to use handphone at work? Have empathy...
acbc
post Oct 20 2023, 09:20 AM

9,048 posts

Treat your maid right or she may rob u next time. Remember, her friends living here got many ways to steal or break into your house.
amboi_asamboi
post Oct 20 2023, 09:24 AM

226 posts

I let my maid use her phone at night after she is discharged from her duties.

Ur only worry is when she is too engrossed with her hp she neglects ur baby

Or when she started to get to know men

Some will run away with the men

hoonanoo
post Oct 20 2023, 09:32 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(karazure @ Oct 20 2023, 08:58 AM)
what TS should do is to hire a qualify baby sitter during the absence of work.

Maid are not baby sitter.
not easy to find.

i not sure about Msia.

Is there such thing, that Ministry bother to certify qualified baby sitter?

even the baby died in kota damansara, because baby sitter put on stomach for 1 hour, the ministry blame care center unregistered.

but if registered, so what? do they even provide qualification and training to get the cert ?
IpohGuyz
post Oct 20 2023, 09:41 AM

160 posts

You say you want treat maid as family. But phone once a week? Prisoner ka.

Unless you say you want treat her as worker, then nothing say.

You try go without phone for a day also cannot la. Some forumer raised issue if they got phone. That is another problem to tackle. Basic rule, happy worker happy productivity
MADReaLJL
post Oct 20 2023, 09:43 AM

4,050 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Oct 20 2023, 07:12 AM)
Slavery is real..
I believe TS is real psycho who does not have common sense
SUSrtk74
post Oct 20 2023, 09:44 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

RtK even boughted and pay for the topup for my maid
No change in responsibility.

haturaya
post Oct 20 2023, 09:46 AM

2,554 posts

TS, remember, you're allowing someone you do not know in person into the safety of your house and she's looking after your baby... be extra carefull.

Happy maid - safe house
Unhappy maid - god forbid....
silverhawk
post Oct 20 2023, 09:55 AM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

We let ours use, as we also use whatsapp as a means of communication.

However we've set a rule that no social media or entertainment usage during work hours. During break or after working hours is ok.

GiganticBird
post Oct 20 2023, 09:59 AM

99 posts

lol only allow to use phone once a week, what era ald really stupid ass agency set stupid ass rules, thats the reason why maid go and dera children and keep running away

good thing is that you n your waifu r open minded n understanding dint follow tht even after found out your maid curi curi use phone, 9pm to 11pm daily and sunday use whole day is a good attempt, maybe dont go beyond tht yet as sometime they might take it for granted

This post has been edited by GiganticBird: Oct 20 2023, 10:01 AM
mushigen
post Oct 20 2023, 10:00 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Oct 20 2023, 09:44 AM)
RtK even boughted and pay for the topup for my maid
No change in responsibility.
Who says Malaysians are poor when even B40 can have maid.
mac_mac21
post Oct 20 2023, 10:01 AM

189 posts

Kesian....

beranak tapi tak boleh jaga anak sendiri

You and your wife need to discuss or throw dice if have to , to sacrifice for your daughter, find a fix 9-5 job and send her to nursery

Leaving her with non immediate family member within a long period is 50-50 gamble
Dr Jan Itor
post Oct 20 2023, 10:01 AM

82 posts

So from what time to what time do you allow the maid to come out of her cage?
The_Rock
post Oct 20 2023, 10:02 AM

451 posts

Hired pretty one. And show your D for dominance
netflix2019
post Oct 20 2023, 10:07 AM

416 posts

"Don't leave baby with maid"

At the same time maternity leave only 6 months.

Conclusion is yo quit the job for 2 years if u want baby?
ycs
post Oct 20 2023, 10:10 AM

4,233 posts

she will do a runner soon enough
SUScurly22
post Oct 20 2023, 10:19 AM

13 posts

Just let her use but closely monitor she use for what purpose. I hope your maid is married d so she not itchy go chit chat with abang security then starting to develop feelings. You don't wanna deal with maid drama, I heard alot weird story regarding it.
halglory
post Oct 20 2023, 10:24 AM

NEEDS MOAR OF IT
995 posts

give and take
your rub her back she rubs yours
tell her don't complain when you seggs her
SUSAmeiN
post Oct 20 2023, 10:27 AM

★★★★★★★
4,735 posts

lepas waktu bekerja biaq p la dia nak guna, hang jaga la anak pulak.

kongkek pandai, anak tak erti jaga
zstan
post Oct 20 2023, 10:28 AM

15,856 posts

you want to breed but no time to jaga and leave everything to your maid. you claim you treat her like family but dont even let her use phone like slave. kek.
Gendude
post Oct 20 2023, 10:59 AM

Kalau x bagi nanti orang cakap x perikemanusiaan

Kalau bagi karang mula cari jantan lepas tu blah camtu ja
SUSjoe_star
post Oct 20 2023, 11:02 AM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Oct 20 2023, 10:07 AM)
"Don't leave baby with maid"

At the same time maternity leave only 6 months.

Conclusion is yo quit the job for 2 years if u want baby?
As per foreveralone no kids rm20k earning /K/, yes
ameliorate
post Oct 20 2023, 11:03 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(Gendude @ Oct 20 2023, 10:59 AM)
Kalau x bagi nanti orang cakap x perikemanusiaan

Kalau bagi karang mula cari jantan lepas tu blah camtu ja
That's why don't have full time maid. Staff di company only 8 hours a day also banyak pattern, apatah this one 24/7.

Matchy
post Oct 20 2023, 11:04 AM

1,327 posts

only use phone once a week? even kids nowadays got more phone time than this.
dagnarus
post Oct 20 2023, 11:05 AM

328 posts

QUOTE(Seager @ Oct 20 2023, 02:57 AM)
You really wouldn't wanna fuck around with the person that looks after your baby.
ah what a conundrum.

You wouldn't wanna fuck around with the person that looks after your baby
You also wouldn't want the person that looks after your baby to fuck around because of the phone.

So what now? Got refund policy?
Saitama
post Oct 20 2023, 11:07 AM

308 posts

kek bodo siot budak2 sekarang. common sense things like this also need to open thread and ask. wtf are we at? singapore?

"treat her as family" kek. yeah family mcm unwanted punya anak tiri kot
AnythingK
post Oct 20 2023, 11:09 AM

223 posts

2023 and only can use phone once a week, this is like modern day slavery already wtf.
sam378
post Oct 20 2023, 11:11 AM

308 posts

apa punya majikan
elgan
post Oct 20 2023, 11:13 AM

166 posts

You can trust your maid with your baby, but not a phone?!

Please lah. She is human too. Treat her like one.
JungWoo
post Oct 20 2023, 11:18 AM

1,043 posts

stop reading at treat her as family

sounds so wrong

no one need u treat as family she has her own. everyone just need be treat as human

This post has been edited by JungWoo: Oct 20 2023, 11:19 AM
Seager
post Oct 20 2023, 11:18 AM

Sick my duck
1,514 posts

QUOTE(dagnarus @ Oct 20 2023, 11:05 AM)
ah what a conundrum.

You wouldn't wanna fuck around with the person that looks after your baby
You also wouldn't want the person that looks after your baby to fuck around because of the phone.

So what now? Got refund policy?
Well... Fuck around and find out then?
bonedragon
post Oct 20 2023, 11:26 AM

351 posts

Pretty sure even Bosku, a convicted felon, get more phone rights than TS's maid who he 'treats like family' LOL
dennis008
post Oct 20 2023, 11:28 AM

545 posts

she is not your slave or prisoner., basic human rights need to give la.
keong_boy
post Oct 20 2023, 11:43 AM

165 posts

Without a doubt, phone is an entertainment, and having phone can distract one's attention from their work. Since a baby is involve, the maid cannot be distracted.
But do explain to the maid your concern, if you trust her to care for your baby she should understand, if not, you have bigger concern than the phone issue.

And ya, phone is a basic neccessity, and she is away from her family, maybe she just wants to talk to somebody from home.

If no baby is involve, and she plays phone outside the allowed time, just allow it. If she is efficient and effective, don't punish her by giving her more work. maids are human too.

party
post Oct 20 2023, 11:44 AM

816 posts

QUOTE(dennis008 @ Oct 20 2023, 11:28 AM)
she is not your slave or prisoner., basic human rights need to give la.
Ktards if kena on themselves if employer do the same will mogok n shout kill employer
JavierC1995
post Oct 20 2023, 01:51 PM

71 posts

remember this involving nanny/maid ?

1. Nanny play phone when going inside lif, while the kid got sent to another floor inside the lif, and jumped out a window
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HxlTSaElvho

2. Maid don know doing what, kid got run over by pickup truck, becos phone probably

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=5398673&hl=

emburrar
post Oct 20 2023, 03:42 PM

14 posts

Dah mcm sekolah
lopo90
post Oct 20 2023, 03:53 PM

695 posts

How much did it cost to hire a maid? Including agent fees
TSfuruku89
post Oct 20 2023, 05:34 PM

172 posts

Just an update ya,

After reading all the good replies, we have decided to give her the phone after working hours which is may be after 8pm-12am. She has to wake up the usual 6am time. Sunday is allowed to use phone for whole day.

Just for your info, I am not trying to make my maid as slavery here. I am trying to get opinion what should I do.

I treat my maid like my own family, I buy alot of imported fruits like thai, indon and pakistan mango, chocolate like pepero, cake or anything which is expensive to make her happy. I know I have to treat her the best in order to expect good things treated back to my daughter. Once in a week or two will bring her out eat buffet like HDL or some chinese restaurant. I even order crab from FeiFeiCrab via grab knowing she likes to eat crab.

Many things I didnt expect her to do. The only cooking she need is for herself, usually if i at home I will call grabfood and also will order her portion too.

My main priority for her is taking care my baby and last priority is housechore.

Monday to wed usually i at home, my wife sat and sunday will be at home. So usually thu to friday my daughter will be with my maid for 6-8 hours with maid. But there are times both of us went out night club up to morning only back home then only the baby have sleep with maid.

This post has been edited by furuku89: Oct 20 2023, 05:51 PM
Jasonist
post Oct 20 2023, 05:35 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

u should be grateful now.. dont one day ur maid throw ur kid into washing machine u baru tahu
Raddus
post Oct 20 2023, 05:40 PM

239 posts

if she use phone but still get work done then ok lah

you during work hours open lowyat also

if im boss do you want me to restrict you?

Raddus
post Oct 20 2023, 05:42 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(Phoenix_KL @ Oct 20 2023, 03:02 AM)
sound like prisoner phone rights.
ts treatment of maid is like those Israel treating Palestine
zerorating
post Oct 20 2023, 05:45 PM

Miskin Adab
975 posts

treat her like family, my ass!
Inc. 100
post Oct 20 2023, 05:51 PM

72 posts

Communication is a basic need. Look at all the communication apps. Look at you coming on to lowyat.net, opening a thread about your maid, ranting about how difficult your life is, that you are working adults and that you have no time and directing your maid to sleep with your newborn child, coming onto lowyat trying to justify your actions, even though all she did was such a tiny infraction and inconsequential to her work. Now imagine how your maid, coming to a new country and place, away from her family feels, without anyone to speak to

Raddus
post Oct 20 2023, 05:54 PM

239 posts

QUOTE(dregatar @ Oct 20 2023, 07:32 AM)
I assume she is a Filipino maid??
My maid agency had the same rule..
Frankly I think it's a dumb rule but as a parent and employer u don't want any issues to arise when ur not at home

I did give her a 3310 phone with prepaid line with cheaper idd.
I let her use the smartphone on Saturday - Sunday when we're home.
3310 top up is beared by her.

This is at the beginning 5 years ago.. Now my kids grown I just let her keep the smartphone. She pandai pandai manage her time..
imho in my experience my sister gave her maid a basic smartphone

with the smartphone given to maid my sister can video call the maid any time of the day, ask for updates from maid etc maid have to update status on whatsapp etc

treat it like the phone is for work purpose like how company give a work phone or laptop. can be used for work related and some instances like contact family

anakkk
post Oct 20 2023, 05:54 PM

2,115 posts

filipin? good luck
vhs
post Oct 20 2023, 07:37 PM

90 posts

Teach her to use facebook and ask her family to use facebook to communicate with each other. What? Know how to use phone but not use facebook? What age is this 1990s?

0.0346sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:42 PM