11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Are there any descendants of the Baba Nyonya here?, Discovering the Peranakan Heritage

O-haiyo
post Nov 18 2023, 10:37 AM

857 posts

also, there's one dish seldom mentioned by people. it's called sek bak (pork) or sek ak (duck). i prefer chicken + pork belly.
one of the best dish, really underrated. go and try it
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 18 2023, 10:54 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Nov 18 2023, 10:28 AM)
nope....nv married a malay.
lol what special occasion? im melaka peranakan, we nv server pengat tu deities. it's a common dessert.
my family pray to guan yin btw
Chap Goh Mei, which is the Hokkien term for the 15th night of the lunar new year, is also known as Yuan Xiao Jie, or Lantern Festival.

What are some famous desserts in Peranakan cuisine?

Except chendol

I want to know something that is rare

O-haiyo
post Nov 18 2023, 11:12 AM

857 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 18 2023, 10:54 AM)
Chap Goh Mei, which is the Hokkien term for the 15th night of the lunar new year, is also known as Yuan Xiao Jie, or Lantern Festival.
What are some famous desserts in Peranakan cuisine?
Except chendol

I want to know something that is rare
tai bak. rare yes, special probably no. it's just cendol liked rice flour with iced sugar water.
dun think outsiders will like it.
also, on the pengat, we have pengat durian and pengat pisang. we normally eat it with apam kuah. google peranakan apam kuah

This post has been edited by O-haiyo: Nov 18 2023, 11:12 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 18 2023, 11:22 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Nov 18 2023, 11:12 AM)
tai bak. rare yes, special probably no. it's just cendol liked rice flour with iced sugar water.
dun think outsiders will like it.
also, on the pengat, we have pengat durian and pengat pisang. we normally eat it with apam kuah. google peranakan apam kuah
Thanks for sharing....

蘭花汁

This flower a bit rare right?
pgsiemkia
post Nov 18 2023, 11:24 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 18 2023, 11:22 AM)
Thanks for sharing....

蘭花汁
This flower a bit rare right?
Every hokkien living in the city has access to them, my neighbor grows it in abundance, I just ask her for the ones she dried if I’m making kuih.

Funny hearing nyonya auntie speaking in mandarin. Growing up in my grandma’s place, it’s either hokkien or malay plus Siamese (southern dialect). The whole row of houses at Melaka Str in Pg were mostly Peranakan chinese. Behind at Seang Teik rd was Jho Low’s hse and futher down was where Alleycats grew up.

This post has been edited by pgsiemkia: Nov 18 2023, 11:31 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Nov 23 2023, 09:03 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Nov 17 2023, 11:01 PM)
I like it in my laksa onli. My family like the banana flower heart, boiled and eat with sambal belacan.
not pahit?

pgsiemkia
post Nov 24 2023, 12:33 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 23 2023, 09:03 PM)
not pahit?
Boil with salt..

TSplouffle0789
post Nov 24 2023, 09:20 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Nov 24 2023, 12:33 AM)
Boil with salt..
Normally how long you boil the bunga pokok pisang with salt?
pgsiemkia
post Nov 24 2023, 10:21 AM

473 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 24 2023, 09:20 AM)
Normally how long you boil the bunga pokok pisang with salt?
Until lembut.

TSplouffle0789
post Nov 24 2023, 12:52 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Nov 24 2023, 10:21 AM)
Until lembut.

Like this right?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Nov 24 2023, 12:52 PM
pgsiemkia
post Nov 24 2023, 01:35 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 24 2023, 12:52 PM)
Like this right?
Pls cut up the flower vertically or long strips. I peel the outer skin and get the softer parts, nicer taste. Some people like the skin but I find it bitter.
Dun forget sambal belacan.

This post has been edited by pgsiemkia: Dec 16 2023, 03:16 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 16 2023, 02:21 AM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Nov 24 2023, 01:35 PM)
Pls cut up the flower vertically or long strips. I’m eel the outer skin and get the softer parts, nicer taste. Some people like the skin but I find it bitter.
Dun forget sambal belacan.
Do you know what is most important to make Kueh Salat?

Last time, my grandmother made it, and it was tasty, but it turned out too sticky.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 16 2023, 02:23 AM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 16 2023, 02:30 AM

1,836 posts

Recipe of Bubur Cha Cha (摩摩喳喳)

Yan and sweet potato must be cut into very small pieces.

Like outside dessert stall....

Ingredients Quantity
-------------------------------------------------------------
Yam (taro) 芋頭 , peeled and diced 150 gm
Golden sweet potato 黃肉番薯 150 gm
Purple sweet potato 紫番薯 150 gm
Black-eyed beans (black-eyed peas) 50 gm
Tapioca pearls (sago pearls) 50 gm
Boiling water 1 liter (plus more for beans and pearls)
Rock sugar or coconut sugar 120 gm (finely chopped, or to taste)
Coconut cream 1½ cup (or to taste)
Pandan leaves 3 (must tight a knot, do not just put inside pot) later easy to remove when finish cooked

**Step** **Instructions**
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
**1. Prepare Black-Eyed Beans** Rinse and drain black-eyed beans. Soak in boiling water, covered, for 15 to 20 minutes. Drain and boil in a large pot until softened (20-30 minutes). Set aside.
**2. Prepare Tapioca Pearls** Soak tapioca pearls for 10 minutes. Drain and cook in boiling water, covered, until it boils again. Remove from heat, keep the lid on, and let residual heat cook for 10 minutes. Drain through a fine sieve, rinse with cold water, and set aside.
**3. Steam Vegetables** Steam diced yam, golden, and purple sweet potatoes until softened (about 20 minutes).
**4. Prepare Coconut Milk Base** In a large pot, add 1 liter of boiling water and rock sugar. Bring to a boil. Add pandan leaves, reduce heat, and simmer for 10 minutes. Pour in coconut cream. Once it boils again, remove and discard pandan leaves.
**5. Combine Ingredients** Add sweet potatoes, black-eyed beans, and tapioca pearls to the pot. Ensure rock sugar is dissolved. Adjust sweetness if needed.
**6. Serve** Serve hot or chill in the fridge for a cold option.

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 16 2023, 02:38 AM
SUSNoComment222
post Dec 16 2023, 02:35 AM

310 posts

QUOTE(O-haiyo @ Nov 18 2023, 09:35 AM)
peranakan here. and contrary to what most people believed, most of the peranakan never married a malay in the first place. it was more like assimilation of culture due to geographical factor.

In my case, my father's and mother's grandparent was from china. Landed here and lived in malay majority area.

I get this alot from my friend, peranakan is chinese or malay? lol
For you to be called peranakan, must be someone who married a local i.e. Malay. I don't know how many generations down the road for you, but you are misinformed. The culture and dishes of peranakan is 50/50 malay+chinese. Why are you claiming differently, when the definition of Peranakan is already set in stone as mixed?
pgsiemkia
post Dec 16 2023, 03:25 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(NoComment222 @ Dec 16 2023, 02:35 AM)
For you to be called peranakan, must be someone who married a local i.e. Malay. I don't know how many generations down the road for you, but you are misinformed. The culture and dishes of peranakan is 50/50 malay+chinese. Why are you claiming differently, when the definition of Peranakan is already set in stone as mixed?
You are partly correct as many Chinese who married malays did not convert like my grandma’s neighbor in Pg and babas in Melaka. Most of my grandma’s neighbors and friends living along Macalister Rd used to meet up and made kuihs and esp b4 CNY made kueh kapit, kuih bankit and I had to fold them along with other kids.

It’s not chinese born and bred in the straits settlement that become Babas but culture assimilation through marriage and birth. Pg also had Serani/Eurasians that married chinese Babas and spoke local dialect while cooking local Baba cuisine while either practicing dual religions.

I went to school with Theseiras and Rozells and we cursed in hokkien more than English or Malay while being fluent in those languages and some in Portuguese too.

TSplouffle0789
post Dec 16 2023, 03:45 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Dec 16 2023, 03:25 PM)
You are partly correct as many Chinese who married malays did not convert like my grandma’s neighbor in Pg and babas in Melaka. Most of my grandma’s neighbors and friends living along Macalister Rd used to meet up and made kuihs and esp b4 CNY made kueh kapit, kuih bankit and I had to fold them along with other kids.

It’s not chinese born and bred in the straits settlement that become Babas but culture assimilation through marriage and birth. Pg also had Serani/Eurasians that married chinese Babas and spoke local dialect while cooking local Baba cuisine while either practicing dual religions.

I went to school with Theseiras and Rozells and we cursed in hokkien more than English or Malay while being fluent in those languages and some in Portuguese too.
May you review my Recipe of Bubur Cha Cha (摩摩喳喳)?

Above this reply
pgsiemkia
post Dec 16 2023, 06:49 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 16 2023, 03:45 PM)
May you review my Recipe of Bubur Cha Cha (摩摩喳喳)?
Above this reply
Saw it bruh..need to try and see..you forgot half tea spoon salt. Need to add a bit. **Top Secret

This post has been edited by pgsiemkia: Dec 16 2023, 06:51 PM
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 16 2023, 06:52 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Dec 16 2023, 06:49 PM)
Saw it bruh..need to try and see..
Why is it necessary to add half a teaspoon of salt?

Could you please specify when we should add salt?

Is it after adding yam, gold sweet potato, purple sweet potato, and sago to the soup?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 16 2023, 06:55 PM
pgsiemkia
post Dec 16 2023, 07:37 PM

473 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Dec 16 2023, 06:52 PM)
Why is it necessary to add half a teaspoon of salt?

Could you please specify when we should add salt?
Is it after adding yam, gold sweet potato, purple sweet potato, and sago to the soup?
Before and after you add santan. That brings up the taste of coconut milk. PM for kore details.
TSplouffle0789
post Dec 16 2023, 08:36 PM

1,836 posts

QUOTE(pgsiemkia @ Dec 16 2023, 07:37 PM)
Before and after you add santan. That brings up the taste of coconut milk. PM for kore details.

I just discover this food

**#** **Ingredient** **Quantity**
:-----::---------------------------------:---------------------
1 Rice Vermicelli 200g
2 Prawns (shelled and deveined) 12-14
3 Kaffir Lime Leaves ( 痳疯柑葉, 泰国柠檬葉) 6 leaves
4 Lemongrass (bottom white part) 3 stalks
5 Shallots 红葱头 12
6 Garlic 2 cloves
7 Torch Ginger Flower 玫瑰姜, 火炬姜, 瓷玫瑰(通常大馬華人叫Laksa花 ) 2
8 Freshly Grated Coconut 2/3 cup
9 Dried Shrimp 乾蝦米 1/4 cup
10 Salt (to taste) Pinch

**#** **Sambal Belacan Spice Blend**
:-----::----------------------------------:---------------------
11 Sambal Belacan 5 tbsp
12 Coconut Sugar 1 tbsp
13 Calamansi Lime Juice Juice of 8-10 limes

**#** **Garnishing**
14 Mint Leaves (sliced)
15 Red Chili Peppers (sliced)
16 Calamansi Lime (halved)
17 Roasted Unsalted Peanuts (optional) Coarsely ground
18 Fried Shallots (optional)

**#** **Method**
19 Prepare ingredients
20 Toast grated coconut
21 Soak and grind dried shrimps
22 Blanch rice vermicelli
23 Prepare sambal belacan blend
24 Cook prawns
25 Toss and garnish

**#** **Notes**
26 Tom Yam style Kerabu Mee Hoon
27 Serve cold if desired

## Method:

**Step #** **Instructions**
:----------::--------------------------------------------------------------------
1 Prepare kaffir lime leaves, lemongrass, shallots, garlic, and torch ginger flower. Combine in a large mixing bowl.
2 Toast grated coconut in a pan until browned, then add to the mixing bowl.
3 Soak dried shrimps for 10 minutes, drain, grind coarsely, and toast until fragrant. Transfer to the mixing bowl.
4 Blanch rice vermicelli, drain, and add to the mixing bowl.
5 Prepare the sambal belacan spice blend in a small bowl and set aside.
6 Pan-fry or boil prawns until cooked, then add to the mixing bowl.
7 Toss all ingredients well to combine. Add garnishings, then serve immediately.

## Notes:

**Note #** **Additional Information**
:----------::--------------------------------------------------------------------
1 Tom Yam style Kerabu Mee Hoon: Replace sambal belacan with instant tom yam paste and omit toasted coconut.
2 ******* Kerabu Bee Hoon can also be served cold****,,,,, so no need to heat leftovers.

*Enjoy your Nyonya Kerabu Bee Hoon!*

Laksa花炒米粉!!!

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Dec 16 2023, 08:44 PM

11 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0231sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 09:43 AM