Are there any descendants of the Baba Nyonya here?, Discovering the Peranakan Heritage
O-haiyo
Nov 18 2023, 09:35 AM
peranakan here. and contrary to what most people believed, most of the peranakan never married a malay in the first place. it was more like assimilation of culture due to geographical factor.
In my case, my father's and mother's grandparent was from china. Landed here and lived in malay majority area.
I get this alot from my friend, peranakan is chinese or malay? lol
O-haiyo
Nov 18 2023, 09:37 AM
QUOTE(cablesguy @ Nov 18 2023, 12:31 AM) Miss eating babi pong teh, one of the best dishes I've tasted. Only Melaka Peranakan iinm, Penang Peranakan no such dish. i prefer ayam pong teh, but if buah keluak, have to be pork (small/big bone)
O-haiyo
Nov 18 2023, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 18 2023, 09:41 AM) https://malaysia.news.yahoo.com/mco-2-0-no-...pF0pznfuwPSErecPeter Yeoh, a sixth generation Baba from Penang, said that the pengat is similar to Bubur Cha Cha but the ingredients used for both desserts are not entirely the same. Unlike the Bubur Cha Cha which is available in dessert shops, the pengat is usually made in Penang Baba Nyonya homes or served for special occasions. “We will then serve the pengat to our deities by 12 noon,” he said. Must be 12 noon before? Are you also 6th generation Baba ? But your ancestor sure have at least 1 generation married malay right? Are you from melaka or penang? nope....nv married a malay. lol what special occasion? im melaka peranakan, we nv server pengat tu deities. it's a common dessert. my family pray to guan yin btw
O-haiyo
Nov 18 2023, 10:37 AM
also, there's one dish seldom mentioned by people. it's called sek bak (pork) or sek ak (duck). i prefer chicken + pork belly. one of the best dish, really underrated. go and try it
O-haiyo
Nov 18 2023, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Nov 18 2023, 10:54 AM) Chap Goh Mei, which is the Hokkien term for the 15th night of the lunar new year, is also known as Yuan Xiao Jie, or Lantern Festival. What are some famous desserts in Peranakan cuisine? Except chendol I want to know something that is rare tai bak. rare yes, special probably no. it's just cendol liked rice flour with iced sugar water. dun think outsiders will like it. also, on the pengat, we have pengat durian and pengat pisang. we normally eat it with apam kuah. google peranakan apam kuah This post has been edited by O-haiyo: Nov 18 2023, 11:12 AM