Home solar 4 months in.

Avangelice
post Jun 1 2024, 01:17 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 1 2024, 12:11 PM)
Avangelice... saw your old question in other tered about ev charging but didn't see any satisfying reply... tot i'd share my views here...

option 2 will be most flexible as a dedicated system... you connect power source (panels/tnb/or battery) to the inverter, and charge your ev through the inverter... you then configure supply priority, solar 1st then either tnb or battery for 2nd and 3rd priority... this way if solar power is not enough, it will supplement from tnb/battery... also when you can charge (day/night) is crucial

the remaining question is then balancing/optimizing the capacity/cost... if big might as well just go full nem... if too small then roi no good...
Hi thanks for the reply and yes this was the answer I was looking for. So you can configure in system to give priority what to charge via the solar generation. Very nice. Thank u
dwRK
post Jun 4 2024, 11:21 AM

the consummate chartist
6,243 posts

my simple estimates... keep here for my use... biggrin.gif

but feel free to comment thumbsup.gif
ev charging
- max = 2.3kw (granny limit)
- min = 1.4kw (car limit)

panel
- 410w x 6ea = 2.46kw
- 410w x 4ea = 1.64kw

inverter
- for max = 3kw
- for min = 2kw

klang valley sun
- 2.46kw x 3.5hr = 8.61kwh
- 1.64kw x 3.5hr = 5.74kwh

mileage
- 8.61kwh / (12.5kwh/100km) = 68.88km
- 5.74kwh / (12.5kwh/100km) = 45.92km

sun hours could use 3.3, but if not hitting mileage should be ok i think...

adamw
post Jun 4 2024, 12:05 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 4 2024, 11:21 AM)
my simple estimates... keep here for my use... biggrin.gif

but feel free to comment  thumbsup.gif

sun hours could use 3.3, but if not hitting mileage should be ok i think...
No battery?
alucard89
post Jun 4 2024, 12:21 PM

4,454 posts

Hi, does it have like an open api where you can fetch all the enegy measurement to something like homeassistant?
dwRK
post Jun 4 2024, 01:06 PM

the consummate chartist
6,243 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jun 4 2024, 12:05 PM)
No battery?
no. car is at home all day, used mostly in early morning n evening... car is the battery smile.gif

bee88
post Jun 4 2024, 01:08 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 4 2024, 01:06 PM)
no. car is at home all day, used mostly in early morning n evening... car is the battery smile.gif
It doesn’t work this way.

Wha you are calculating is dc. So u will need a dc gun. For charging.

Meanwhile , the usual gun we have at home it ac. So u can’t purely use solar to charge.
adamw
post Jun 4 2024, 01:17 PM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Jun 4 2024, 01:08 PM)

Wha you are calculating is dc. So u will need a dc gun.  For charging.

Meanwhile , the usual gun we have at home it ac.  So u can’t purely use solar to charge.
buy this brows.gif
DC to DC
dwRK
post Jun 4 2024, 01:41 PM

the consummate chartist
6,243 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Jun 4 2024, 01:08 PM)

Wha you are calculating is dc. So u will need a dc gun.  For charging.

Meanwhile , the usual gun we have at home it ac.  So u can’t purely use solar to charge.
am doing a quick energy/power balance... there are ac/dc conversion losses and cable losses that i didn't include... pv supply just needs to overcome these...

so example, if 410w pv not enough, can try 430w or add extra panel...

also car will charge at whatever power it can get, if not enough it will just takes longer

dwRK
post Jun 4 2024, 01:48 PM

the consummate chartist
6,243 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jun 4 2024, 01:17 PM)
buy this brows.gif
DC to DC
thanks ... i know about this new costly device

been looking around for mode 4 evse circuit... in the usa, ppl buys used phev/bev batteries and hook them up to their solar but they have different circuits...

bee88
post Jun 4 2024, 02:05 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 4 2024, 01:41 PM)
am doing a quick energy/power balance... there are ac/dc conversion losses and cable losses that i didn't include... pv supply just needs to overcome these...

so example, if 410w pv not enough, can try 430w or add extra panel...

also car will charge at whatever power it can get, if not enough it will just takes longer

Just go for nem. U can cover not only ur home usage but charging completely.
dwRK
post Jun 4 2024, 02:22 PM

the consummate chartist
6,243 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Jun 4 2024, 02:05 PM)
Just go for nem.  U can cover not only ur home usage but charging completely.
thanks... nem is probably what i will do...

just keeping the old brain cells active biggrin.gif

sihamsedap
post Jun 4 2024, 02:39 PM

94 posts

shit man

may i bantai aircon je, almost 3-4 biji on whole day

main sampai 1522kw, kena penalty icpt (around 150 ccb)... my solar pun x cover all..

got to pay rm500

normal days around 20-50 only... kns...
etan26
post Jun 4 2024, 02:56 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Jun 4 2024, 02:39 PM)
shit man

main sampai 1522kw, kena penalty icpt (around 150 ccb)... my solar pun x cover all..

got to pay rm500

Should have monitor your daily usage, mine last 3 months all 148x and 149x ... really hot weather issue.
adamw
post Jun 4 2024, 04:37 PM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(sihamsedap @ Jun 4 2024, 02:39 PM)
shit man

got to pay rm500

Pay rm50 for GET, no ICPT upto 1500kW.
TSnetflix2019
post Jun 4 2024, 05:43 PM

416 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jun 4 2024, 04:37 PM)
Pay rm50 for GET, no ICPT upto 1500kW.
I thought will increase price for energy unit? Enough to offset the icpt ?
adamw
post Jun 4 2024, 06:29 PM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Jun 4 2024, 05:43 PM)
I thought will increase price for energy unit? Enough to offset the icpt ?
Share by this FB user below:-
FB

IrIwish
post Jun 7 2024, 11:20 AM

18 posts

Anybody do carport before and can share their experience?

I am planning to extend by carporch for one more car. Instead of building the porch then solar on top, I am thinking a solar roof/carport would be a better choice?

The current porch roof gets sunlight pretry much all year round without shading.

Looking for some insights and sharing from other

Ivan113
post Jun 7 2024, 02:05 PM

925 posts

hey guys, my house db box is in the middle ( under stair ), if connect the wire from inverter, they usually just do trunking to cover up the cable. Are there cases where the wall is hack to conceal the wire instead?
john72
post Jun 7 2024, 02:16 PM

62 posts

Anyone from Sabah installed solar ?
Can't find any info regarding SESB and solar
Jingle91
post Jun 7 2024, 02:21 PM

682 posts

QUOTE(Ivan113 @ Jun 7 2024, 02:05 PM)
hey guys, my house db box is in the middle ( under stair ), if connect the wire from inverter, they usually just do trunking to cover up the cable. Are there cases where the wall is hack to conceal the wire instead?
My house is strata landed, so the trunking pipe at the back yard wall have to be concealed, can't fix it on the wall surface

This post has been edited by Jingle91: Jun 7 2024, 02:21 PM

255 Pages « < 54 55 56 57 58 > » Top

0.3838sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:39 PM