5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

LYN Tennis lovers, Tennis Racquets & Courts in Klg Valley

artemis348
post Oct 23 2007, 10:46 AM

220 posts

I go to Ultimate Sports in Plaza Ampang. They've been in business for over 20 years, and have been in tennis for even longer, so do check them out. They have a shop in Tesco in Klang as well, so I overheard.

artemis348
post Oct 23 2007, 11:00 AM

220 posts

I didn't know they wanted to open a shop there, but it's just as well they didn't. I don't mind taking a train down one station from KLCC. But I'll say the dingy dodgy Plaza Ampang has more character.

artemis348
post Oct 23 2007, 11:11 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 23 2007, 11:02 AM)
You may see me there soon, because i will be working there for a while... =)
Really? Cool. Let me know when you start, and I'll pop by there sometime to busybody tongue.gif

Added on October 23, 2007, 11:14 amWell, they've got 2 shops in Plaza Ampang/Center Point place. The Plaza Ampang one is the tennis shop, and the other has other stuff.

I don't know if the one in Klang is tennis only or not. Last Friday, da boss was telling a customer about his shop in Tesco Klang and that he can get his racquet restringed there and no need to travel to the KL shop. So I deduce that the shop does tennis equipment. And I heard him saying something about a McDick's (McDonalds), something like opposite or near it. Go check it out, guys.

This post has been edited by artemis348: Oct 23 2007, 11:14 AM
artemis348
post Oct 23 2007, 02:59 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 23 2007, 02:49 PM)
Hey, a question for everyone... Anyone here still using 90 square inches headsize racquet?
I am! thumbup.gif

In fact, I was trying out the new strings on my K-Surge last Saturday... Turns out, I can't use that racquet properly anymore... Control quite bad. But when I switched to the K6-1, then everything was great. I guess the K-Surge not suitable for my swing anymore...

artemis348
post Oct 23 2007, 03:27 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 23 2007, 03:02 PM)
Small racquet head provides us with more control but less power... And its a better racquet for volleys too.
Hmmm... I didn't know the pro's were moving up in racquet head size. But some of the racquet sizes look big on tv even for the men. But for the women, I thought some of them are just small sized. But I noticed Golovin was using the [K]Factor K4. That's a big head. When I was checking out the nCode nTour Two, it didn't seem big to me, so I figured Justine Henin must be really really small...

Yeah, the smaller head provides better control for sure, but I have yet to confirm the effect on volleying. The few volleys that I've done, it does feel good. I string it with a lower tension, which I believe helps quite a bit with power and spin.

Added on October 23, 2007, 3:32 pm
QUOTE(pooh88 @ Oct 23 2007, 03:02 PM)
Bro,

Serious u can use so small size 90 inch,damn is difficult to hit the sweetspot notworthy.gif
I guess u mus be a pro player or advance player  icon_rolleyes.gif
Haha! No lah, I'm pass-able only lah brows.gif ... But as it turns out, I could use the size 90 head without problems. I was actually doubtful when I got the K6-1 coz all over the net people saying hard to use. But I was very surprised that I didn't have any trouble with it. Guess I was lucky I didn't waste my money tongue.gif But can confirm, that when you make a mistake, the ball is going into orbit or wherever else...

This post has been edited by artemis348: Oct 23 2007, 03:32 PM
artemis348
post Oct 24 2007, 01:09 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(lelucky @ Oct 23 2007, 08:31 PM)
Is sanjay is the owner or Manager for Ultimate sports in Ampang? Well I believe they open one branch at tesco Penang too. Been there just now for wilson Trainer balls. Less racquet but can order form Ampang for Ampang price.
If we're talking about the same place, then the boss/owner is Raymond. They have two stores in the joined buildings. I don't go to the non-tennis store, so I don't know if there's a Sanjay there...

Added on October 24, 2007, 1:13 am
QUOTE(celciuz @ Oct 23 2007, 11:33 PM)
Aiks, I tested my friend's Ksurge before my semester break. Very nice racquet actually, feels light but solid when hitting the ball.

If want let go at cheap price hor.. don't forget me  brows.gif  drool.gif
Oh, don't get me wrong, I think the K-Surge is a very nice/good racquet, which is why I was happy with it after I bought it. Very easy to use and feels good. It's just that since I started using the K6-1 Tour, my playing style didn't work so well with the K-Surge already... So, I have to change the way I play for the K-Surge to work well...

OK, I'll put you on the list... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by artemis348: Oct 24 2007, 01:13 AM
artemis348
post Oct 24 2007, 10:36 AM

220 posts

QUOTE(tracyjz @ Oct 24 2007, 02:54 AM)
sunway college there oso can play tennis lol
So, can Sunway College alumni play for free? brows.gif

artemis348
post Oct 25 2007, 03:54 PM

220 posts

Why not use natural gut? If it can still be found...

artemis348
post Oct 25 2007, 04:49 PM

220 posts

Say, anyone ever played 'Virtua Tennis 3' by Sega? Either in the video arcade or PC? Developed by the world famous AM2 famed for its 'Virtua Fighter' and 'Virtua On' series.

artemis348
post Oct 25 2007, 06:52 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 25 2007, 05:04 PM)
Lolz.. I do play this game  =) Favourite player to use is Hewitt...  tongue.gif  tongue.gif  tongue.gif

Top Spin 3 will be released next year.. Can't wait for this...
Cool! Man, it's like, the last to opponents in the arcade are so hard to beat regardless of who they are. One player I find real hard to beat in the final matches is Henman, but only when he serves and volleys. They just will NOT miss any shot at the net.

But I had fun playing the Career Mode in the PC version as well. The most challenging match is of course the 'King of Players' tournament in which you face Federer. The way the AI plays him there is so difficult to beat coz his tactics are good and he switches around. I nearly broke my computer the first time I played that tournament tongue.gif

artemis348
post Oct 25 2007, 07:06 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 25 2007, 07:03 PM)
Counter serve and volley? You have to hit the top spin shot short (add the backward arrow key) then hit to the sides..
I usually use Federer thumbup.gif

Haiyo, short topspin to the sides oso the AI can get. Most of the lobs also they can get. Seriously, at high settings, once the AI is at the net, it's almost 100% game over... So the S&V players drive me nuts. So my strategy is to reach the net before them! laugh.gif

artemis348
post Oct 25 2007, 11:37 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 25 2007, 07:29 PM)
Nolar, it can be countered.. You must observe the opponent, once you sense it moving forward, you must hit the ball short and nicely... =) The lob is useless in the game, don't use it at all...

I play the "Tournament" mode and "very hard" settings, get into the Wimbledon without losing a set... =P

Anyway, you can unlock secret players =P
Yeah, that's one reason I like the game, have to watch the opponent... Haha!

Wah, you must be damn good... 'Very Hard' and didn't drop a set... Wait, there is no set in the game... Unless you mean you didn't have to 'continue' tongue.gif

Hey, I didn't know can unlock secret players! So how do I do that? Win tournament in 'very hard'? Sheesh... sweat.gif
artemis348
post Oct 26 2007, 11:04 AM

220 posts

Ultimate Sports also sell Babolat, and Head tennis racquets. I was there last week and (unless I'm confused with another shop) saw the Aeropro and Pure drive. I never paid attention to the Head racquets.

artemis348
post Oct 27 2007, 11:46 PM

220 posts

No, the K6-1 95 is a bit lighter than the Tour. The frame is also different. The K6-1 Team is even lighter.

Added on October 27, 2007, 11:49 pm
QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 27 2007, 09:49 PM)
Tried Wilson K6-1 95 today... Man, this racquet provides no power at all.... Nice control but i don't think i'm good enough to use this racquet....
Are you still aiming for the K6-1 Tour US version? I'm looking at getting one of those.

Was talking with a guy who is using the n6-1 Tour. He said he also tried the K6-1 Tour (Asian version). He thinks I'd want to checkout the US version of the K6-1 Tour as he thinks the extra weight might work well for me.

This post has been edited by artemis348: Oct 27 2007, 11:49 PM
artemis348
post Oct 28 2007, 04:47 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 28 2007, 02:49 PM)
Artermis, i have changed my mind, can you check for me the prices of NBlade, Babolat Pure Drive and also nTour 2 95. Thanks =)
Haha! No problem. I'll try to get the numbers. But I remember that the nBlade is $375.

I shall be looking at getting the US version of the K6-1 Tour. I am quite sure the extra 0.7oz (from the Asian version) will help me with return shots, and would probably also give a more solid feel on my strokes. It's expensive as I recall when I saw it in Australia a month ago. A friend of mine will be coming back in December. Maybe I'll ask them to get it for me if I can't get it through here...

artemis348
post Oct 28 2007, 05:02 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Bepeon @ Oct 28 2007, 04:50 PM)
Try to ask for the cheapest price... RM375 seems to be quiet affordable, considering that its a great racquet. =) I don't think Pure Drive will be very expensive, its been released for quite long.
Haha! Well, I never bargain with them. Friend mah... I give them business, and I expect reasonable prices. But I suppose I can find out what they're letting them go for. You could go bargain with them in the end biggrin.gif

I scrapped the nBlade idea coz I think I might not be able to use it well. So going for the K6-1 US instead.

artemis348
post Oct 29 2007, 10:46 AM

220 posts

Yes, I know the price is expensive in Oz, checked them out a couple of times. But hey, if it's a simpler path for getting the racquet, I suppose I'll pay the extra. But still, would see if my friend can bring it in. If not, I'll have to have it bought there and brought back. Win some lose some... unsure.gif

artemis348
post Oct 29 2007, 06:48 PM

220 posts

Hey Bepeon,

Got some prices for you:

nBlade: $375
nTour Two: $395
Pure Drive: $450; (Cortex)$480

Oh, and apparently no direct way to get the K6-1 US version, according to the 'retailer'. Guess I'll have to find other ways...

artemis348
post Oct 30 2007, 11:28 PM

220 posts

Learn to make a bigger/longer & faster swing! And of course, you will then have not much choice but to learn to spin the ball well thumbup.gif

Make your own power!

artemis348
post Oct 31 2007, 01:11 AM

220 posts

The prices do not include stringing. Usually, I end up paying 20-something or 30 bucks for the stringing, I think. But honestly, I didn't really check, but it's somewhere around there. If you want to count that, you probably want to count your travel expenses as well, coz the savings you may get could be negated by the travel expenses.

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0552sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:20 PM