Is there any easy-to-maintain downlights?

TSGoodMorningMY
post Sep 12 2023, 10:19 PM, updated 3y ago

34 posts

Like those LED Recessed ES27 Fitting Downlight suits All E27 LED Bulb but seems like very difficult to find nowadays.

All pakai those downlights need to korek when need to change the bulb. When you korek, some plaster fall down.
mushigen
post Sep 12 2023, 10:44 PM

4,954 posts

Isn't E27 bulb available almost everywhere? The only issue with such downlight, IMO, is due to the poor light throw (dark).

Those recessed downlight, on the other hand, are brighter but chap ayam type don't last long. To replace them without damaging plaster ceiling takes some practice but very possible.

I normally pull out a bit, look for one of the clips and push the housing towards the other clip.This gives me space to insert a finger into the other clip to force it up and release one side. Once a side is released, you can slide it out without damaging the plaster ceiling.
tvcat
post Sep 12 2023, 10:44 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,920 posts

This? I think many shop still selling. Just get the housing with E27 socket.
RootOfJesse
post Sep 12 2023, 11:41 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Sep 12 2023, 10:44 PM)
this type has many dark spots if spaced more than 2m... not recommended although maintenance is easier.
SUSceo684
post Sep 13 2023, 07:41 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

Just get good ones (Philips/Osram) and hook up with Wago 221-412/ 221-413.
ktek
post Sep 13 2023, 07:47 AM

小喇叭
13,209 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 13 2023, 07:41 AM)
Just get good ones (Philips/Osram) and hook up with Wago 221-412/ 221-413.
wago connector.. 識貨wor 大家姐
tvcat
post Sep 13 2023, 09:02 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,920 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 12 2023, 11:41 PM)
this type has many dark spots if spaced more than 2m... not recommended although maintenance is easier.
There are many size available and you can increase the number and a better reflector and a better placement. Way easier to change, you don't even need to climb a stair.

This post has been edited by tvcat: Sep 13 2023, 09:04 AM
dest9116
post Sep 13 2023, 09:32 AM

495 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Sep 12 2023, 10:44 PM)
My house all install this. Still available, it's very easy to change the bulbs la, get osram or Philips brand bulbs, will last quite long. Use 6" one not 4", bigger reflector will spread the lights wider area. Those saying 2m got gap are talking nonsense.

N9484640
post Sep 13 2023, 09:45 AM

Chasing Electric
1,294 posts

now the in thing is magnetic tracks. where got people still use downlights? magnetic tracks no need for plaster ceiling
loserguy
post Sep 13 2023, 09:46 AM

500 posts

I go for the E27 sockets. The rest will likely damage the plaster ceiling when you need to replace.

Another option is the rails/track lights. Install then only change the individual track light when rosak.
Jenn77
post Sep 13 2023, 09:49 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(N9484640 @ Sep 13 2023, 09:45 AM)
now the in thing is magnetic tracks. where got people still use downlights? magnetic tracks no need for plaster ceiling
QUOTE(loserguy @ Sep 13 2023, 09:46 AM)
I go for the E27 sockets. The rest will likely damage the plaster ceiling when you need to replace.

Another option is the rails/track lights. Install then only change the individual track light when rosak.
Track lights are more for wall washing isnt it?
loserguy
post Sep 13 2023, 09:49 AM

500 posts

old house, u want me to take down everything just to install the current in thing meh tongue.gif
loserguy
post Sep 13 2023, 09:52 AM

500 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Sep 13 2023, 09:49 AM)
depends on your house, if new/empty house easier to fit in. just look for an empty wall to direct the lights, or worst case point to ceiling lor tongue.gif

for older house, full of furniture and sampah type like mine laugh.gif just use E27 la
N9484640
post Sep 13 2023, 09:52 AM

Chasing Electric
1,294 posts

QUOTE(Jenn77 @ Sep 13 2023, 09:49 AM)
got many different fixtures, even pendants
ozak
post Sep 13 2023, 10:57 AM

17,021 posts

QUOTE(GoodMorningMY @ Sep 12 2023, 10:19 PM)

Like those  LED Recessed ES27 Fitting Downlight suits All E27 LED Bulb but seems like very difficult to find nowadays.

All pakai those downlights need to korek when need to change the bulb. When you korek, some plaster fall down.
Open your eyes.

E27 LED Bulb is everywhere.
Jenn77
post Sep 13 2023, 11:32 AM

Look Ma' Im Flyin! Gee~
3,121 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Sep 13 2023, 09:52 AM)
depends on your house, if new/empty house easier to fit in. just look for an empty wall to direct the lights, or worst case point to ceiling lor tongue.gif

for older house, full of furniture and sampah type like mine laugh.gif just use E27 la
QUOTE(N9484640 @ Sep 13 2023, 09:52 AM)
got many different fixtures, even pendants
I'm using GU10 for the main lightings and track spotlights, just to enhance the attention. My experience with the round LED lights, no very pleasant even using phillips type. Flicker, dimming.. some of the problems after 1 year ++. sad.gif But I cannot deny, E27 still the best and most easy to handle for layman (like me!) biggrin.gif
JimbeamofNRT
post Sep 13 2023, 01:43 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(GoodMorningMY @ Sep 12 2023, 10:19 PM)

Like those  LED Recessed ES27 Fitting Downlight suits All E27 LED Bulb but seems like very difficult to find nowadays.

not that hard lah

RootOfJesse
post Sep 13 2023, 08:24 PM

241 posts

QUOTE(dest9116 @ Sep 13 2023, 09:32 AM)
My house all install this. Still available, it's very easy to change the bulbs la, get osram or Philips brand bulbs, will last quite long. Use 6" one not 4", bigger reflector will spread the lights wider area. Those saying 2m got gap are talking nonsense.
https://www.takethreelighting.com/layout-do...ts-general.html

you don't know the rule of thumb?

U need to divide ceiling height by half to get the spacing of downlight. say 3m headroom needs 1.5m downlight spacing maximum.
hksgmy
post Sep 14 2023, 07:08 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(RootOfJesse @ Sep 13 2023, 08:24 PM)
https://www.takethreelighting.com/layout-do...ts-general.html

you don't know the rule of thumb?

U need to divide ceiling height by half to get the spacing of downlight. say 3m headroom needs 1.5m downlight spacing maximum.
Oh! Thank you for sharing, I leaned something today.
TSGoodMorningMY
post Sep 15 2023, 03:34 PM

34 posts

wow, very nice, first time I heard about this magnetic tracks, seems cheap too selling in shopee.

btw, I already got plaster ceiling (developer already kasi), so still can install this?

I wonder is maintenance is a lot easy?

0.0257sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:23 AM