Is there any easy-to-maintain downlights?

mushigen
post Sep 12 2023, 10:44 PM

4,954 posts

Isn't E27 bulb available almost everywhere? The only issue with such downlight, IMO, is due to the poor light throw (dark).

Those recessed downlight, on the other hand, are brighter but chap ayam type don't last long. To replace them without damaging plaster ceiling takes some practice but very possible.

I normally pull out a bit, look for one of the clips and push the housing towards the other clip.This gives me space to insert a finger into the other clip to force it up and release one side. Once a side is released, you can slide it out without damaging the plaster ceiling.
mushigen
post Sep 16 2023, 01:39 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Sep 13 2023, 01:43 PM)
not that hard lah

First time memang a bit tricky, I accidentally took out a small chunk of plaster doing so. It gets easier the next time.

I'd say the most "difficult" part is connecting the electrical cables especially if the ladder is not tall enough.
mushigen
post Sep 22 2023, 04:53 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Sep 20 2023, 12:35 PM)
am using this from FEEL-LITE since MCO.

the light comes in 2 parts, a bracket and then the light itself. the bracket that attaches itself to the plaster ceiling is permanent and then the light slots in. for replacement, you just need to slide out the light itself only leaving the bracket untouched. Zero risks in damaging the plaster ceiling.
The replacement light, must we use back the same brand in order to fit the bracket?
mushigen
post Sep 22 2023, 08:21 PM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Sep 22 2023, 05:24 PM)
Not sure about this as I have only bought back the same product for replacement, figured it would be too much of a hassle and a waste of time to try and find from a 3rd party or OEM manufacturer that would fit the bracket - all for the purpose of saving a few ringgit  sweat.gif

My best guess would be yes as I noticed that there are grooves on the bracket and then 4 metal pins on the sides of the light housing which i supposed they are the right fit.
I see. The reason I asked about 3rd party replacement isn't just about saving money. Proprietary replacement is usually more difficult to source and product lifespan (EOL) may be shorter.

0.0511sec    1.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 08:18 AM