Did TNB just screwed Solar users?

koja6049
post Aug 9 2023, 07:05 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:24 PM)
But look at the bill, even if you use during daytime, it still feeds off the grid, the energy generated is only to contra to the grid no?
that's where your misconception lies. The grid does not have a battery to store your solar power, it just being used by someone else. Whatever that is not used is lost.

The electricity that you use during night time has ZERO solar power as it all comes from fossil fuels. So whatever you "import" is really dirty energy and thus should be charged icpt smile.gif
Kytz
post Aug 9 2023, 07:05 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Jv8888 @ Aug 9 2023, 06:59 PM)
you need to think from customer side and not tnb side, because the one that installing and paying the price for the solar will be the customer..so those customer of cos think of their own benefits rather that benefits other ppl right? Those rich ppl with big bungalow paying few thousand ringgit of electric bill per mth, thought that by installing solar panel, their bill will be cheaper...
I'm a customer of TNB too, of course I got think from that side.
But it doesn't matter what I think. It's what Govt/TNB thinks that matters.

And the problem now is that those customers are expecting Govt/TNB to think from their side.
Do you think that makes sense?
gtfan
post Aug 9 2023, 07:10 PM

932 posts

Solar generated during the day doesn't offset the day use. Jesus....so many folks here still don't get it. Whatever you generated will only be offset from the total import (usage) during the monthly bill cycle.

Indirectly tnb is screwing those who jump into solar panel installation as they didn't charge the icpt on import minus export but on total import usage. So to ask ts to only use during day time to offset the kwh generated, it doesn't count as the inverter is direct feed to the grid.
Hobbez
post Aug 9 2023, 07:10 PM

1,235 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Aug 9 2023, 04:54 PM)
Thought use EV safe from world petrol fluctuatuon prices….

Manatau switch to EV TNB woso tazabar mau suprise buttseck EV users woso 😅😅😓
All these "green" solutions are scams lah. If you don't believe me now, perhaps in time you shall.

dry.gif
bee88
post Aug 9 2023, 07:11 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Aug 9 2023, 06:59 PM)
your friend didnt tell the whole story. im pretty sure he use more electricity after solar installation (e.g aircond only operate 8hours/day before solar, after solar 24hours/day)
Usage same. We suspect the the old meter was slower.
Kytz
post Aug 9 2023, 07:18 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Hobbez @ Aug 9 2023, 07:10 PM)
All these "green" solutions are scams lah. If you don't believe me now, perhaps in time you shall.

dry.gif
People just don't want to see the ugly side. They believe the marketing who of course will only focus on the good parts.

For example, most people thought that recycling works. Actually, industries will only use recycled materials if they are cheaper than non-recycled materials.
Take plastic as an example. Everytime plastic is recycled it's degraded, so most places do not want recycled plastic. Unless it's for PR stunts to appease green loving consumers.

The truth is alot of plastic still ends up in landfills so if you really want to save the environment, reduce and reuse is the way. But of course no business (and marketing) will encourage or advertise that, because no one buys more products if people reduce or reuse.

Disclaimer : I don't mean don't recycle plastics, metals, etc. Recycling helps of course, but reduce and reuse is far better than recycling.

This post has been edited by Kytz: Aug 9 2023, 07:19 PM
SUSBrookLes
post Aug 9 2023, 07:21 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(prdkancil @ Aug 9 2023, 05:07 PM)
The simple explanation is  , what ever u use in kWh (import ) it wont direct deduct from what u generate from solar which is  kWh(export) .

Mean if  u use 1700kWh and generate Solar 400kWh :
>TNB will still charge u base on 1700kWh and thn baru count 400kWh resell bck to them = final TNB fees .

It is not 1700kWh-400kWh = 1300kWh to count ur usage bill .
Tats y still will kena ICPT charges of 10c/kWh for any usage above 1500kWh becoz use 1700kWh
Thx understood
SUSifourtos
post Aug 9 2023, 07:23 PM

2,256 posts

only people failed math and law dont understand how it works

subsidy removal based on total kwh usage
more than 1500kwh

solar generation profit is cashback on total export amount.

cant understand?
gogocan

486 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Aug 9 2023, 05:55 PM)
Its easier to generate more energy than to conserve energy.
Same like spending. Easier to make money than to save money.
Then you need to use battery to keep the energy generated from solar to use at night. Its more expensive and requires maintenance compared to the on-grid solar system that is linked to tnb meter.
I guess that is why people are complaining.
The solar generated goes to tnb during the day when people go to work, and then at night, homes draw electricity from tnb. But seems that tnb will charge ICPT for both tnb and solar energy. That don't seem fair.
How it is unfair? TNB charge solar user based on prorata rates starting from the lowest block RM 0.2180 up to 0.571 but they buy back at highest rates of 0.571.

This post has been edited by gogocan: Aug 9 2023, 07:24 PM
bee88

303 posts

QUOTE(gtfan @ Aug 9 2023, 07:10 PM)
Solar generated during the day doesn't offset the day use. Jesus....so many folks here still don't get it. Whatever you generated will only be offset from the total import (usage) during the monthly bill cycle.

Indirectly tnb is screwing those who jump into solar panel installation as they didn't charge the icpt on import minus export but on total import usage. So to ask ts to only use during day time to offset the kwh generated, it doesn't count as the inverter is direct feed to the grid.
Yes. It does. Morning use is from solar. Unless during rainy day then it will draw from grid.

For my case
My import meter doesn’t move every morning except on rainy days.

max_cavalera
post Aug 9 2023, 07:24 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

QUOTE(un.deux.trois @ Aug 9 2023, 07:48 PM)
To put simply, this new surcharge tariff is designed to tax the rich. Madani government already announced months ago that T10 should not enjoy any subsidy. This is one way to make them pay.
Ts anak Megah Holding woso sakit hati now…

BMX really clever….

Bait T20 change EV car….

Then suprise buttseck them with additional premium tariff by TNB 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
SUSBrookLes

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 05:27 PM)

See description in image

This one very kesian. Last time with solar pay around rm30+ only per month. Suddenly ICPT charges kena rm200+ per month

How to gain back ROI from installing 40k+ solar like this
That's why you needed to be the first to do it.
Hobbez

1,235 posts

QUOTE(Kytz @ Aug 9 2023, 07:18 PM)
People just don't want to see the ugly side. They believe the marketing who of course will only focus on the good parts.

For example, most people thought that recycling works. Actually, industries will only use recycled materials if they are cheaper than non-recycled materials.
Take plastic as an example. Everytime plastic is recycled it's degraded, so most places do not want recycled plastic. Unless it's for PR stunts to appease green loving consumers.

The truth is alot of plastic still ends up in landfills so if you really want to save the environment, reduce and reuse is the way. But of course no business (and marketing) will encourage or advertise that, because no one buys more products if people reduce or reuse.

Disclaimer : I don't mean don't recycle plastics, metals, etc. Recycling helps of course, but reduce and reuse is far better than recycling.
And CCP promoting EV cars while their coal usage goes up 6X even more. And they dumped millions of EV cars into the fields, just like that.

Over here in Malaysia, everywhere going paperless, and digital. Kononnya to save the environment. But there are plans to chop down forest larger than whole Perak state just to make more money.... wink.gif

Something is not right wink.gif

This post has been edited by Hobbez: Aug 9 2023, 07:28 PM
SUSredic
post Aug 9 2023, 07:26 PM

330 posts

nothing wrong

apa kecoh
daijoubu
post Aug 9 2023, 07:27 PM

Love Many. Trust Few. Do Wrong to None.
5,193 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 04:58 PM)
Its easy to exceed if you use EV. Especially later we will have a surge of cheap BYD dolphins on the road.

As i said tnb don't care if u have solar or not.
If you generate and resell back, you earn money.

That is a separate matter than purchasing, if you purchase it will be calculated separately, to be fair to those that do not do solar.

If you don't want to calculate separately, then use the generated solar for your own use and offset your total usage la.

And of course la electricity is not cheap, with EV pushing even more load onto the grid dont you think high usage people will need to pay more for additional load? In the end this is how the lower usage band people get subsidies.

zerorating
post Aug 9 2023, 07:28 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(bee88 @ Aug 9 2023, 07:23 PM)
Yes. It does.  Morning use is from solar.  Unless during rainy day then it will draw from grid. 

For my case
My import meter doesn’t move every morning except on rainy days.
sound like it is inverter dependent.
must be cheepo inverter that decide production of energy only goes one way(to the grid)
TSBoy96
post Aug 9 2023, 07:33 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(daijoubu @ Aug 9 2023, 07:27 PM)

And of course la electricity is not cheap, with EV pushing even more load onto the grid dont you think high usage people will need to pay more for additional load? In the end this is how the lower usage band people get subsidies.
Feel like the gov is doing a half assed job in this. Want to promote EV adoption yet suddenly start charging this and that for electricity.

Compared to neighbouring countries they really go all the way in pushing EV adoption, even subsidizing EV owners home electricity bill.. Thai does that, indonesia also does that, europe countries with energy crisis also still does that.. also they have multiple energy providers.. we are stuck with one

This post has been edited by Boy96: Aug 9 2023, 07:37 PM
bee88
post Aug 9 2023, 07:37 PM

303 posts

QUOTE(zerorating @ Aug 9 2023, 07:28 PM)
sound like it is inverter dependent.
must be cheepo inverter that decide production of energy only goes one way(to the grid)
Nonla. Don’t listen to those who never pasang. And just simply say

They connect the electricity to your db. So it ur device draw power from the solar. But morning sun strong so u generate more than u use. So the extra got pushed back to the grid. That’s why import not moving. Only export moving in the morning. Unless raining.
Kytz
post Aug 9 2023, 07:37 PM

572 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 07:33 PM)
Feel like the gov is doing a half assed job in this. Want to promote EV adoption yet suddenly start charging this and that for electricity.

Compared to neighbouring countries they really go all the way in pushing EV adoption, even subsidizing EV owners home electricity bill.. Thai does that, indonesia also does that, europe countries with energy crisis also still does that..
I don't think govt is big on EV actually, they're just half assing it as you said just for looks only.
Malaysia exports petrol, so why would we want to support EV? We're also a developing country, we have no capital or time to worry about the environment, unlike first world countries.
I think they just want to attract EV makers as FDI. That's all.
zerorating
post Aug 9 2023, 07:41 PM

Miskin Adab
977 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 07:33 PM)

Compared to neighbouring countries they really go all the way in pushing EV adoption, even subsidizing EV owners home electricity bill.. Thai does that, indonesia also does that, europe countries with energy crisis also still does that.. also they have multiple energy providers.. we are stuck with one
but gomen never promote using more electricity. did PM ever said "marilah sama2 kita guna elektrik lebih supaya kita menjadi negara maju lebih pantas?"

even gomen building AC target temperature cap at 25c or something

This post has been edited by zerorating: Aug 9 2023, 07:42 PM

25 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0238sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:41 AM