Did TNB just screwed Solar users?
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 06:05 PM
The surcharge is for those with 1500 usage and above. As simple as that.
So it’s better to control usage even if u are on solar or not.
But for solar user, it help to push the limit higher especially if morning usage is high.
Meaning some user use around 2000 units , but because the solar help to cover the morning usage of 501 units. So Tnb will capture only 1499 unit, hence they don’t get charge the surcharge
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 06:19 PM
QUOTE(Kytz @ Aug 9 2023, 06:16 PM) I know what you mean but the way you put it is a little unclear. I'm sure people will get confused. What he's saying is that during the day the solar installation will reduce the usage detected from the meter because the solar installation already supplied that electricity so you don't need to draw it from tnb grid For example, during the day you generated 10 kWh, 6kWh of that is excess, while 4 kWh is used by your house, tnb will not detect that 4kWh used and it will not contribute to your 1500kWh cap. Yes. Exactly. One of my solar friend avoided the extra surcharge because of solar.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 06:22 PM
So wat I see is that with or without solar, the surcharge is there.
But there is one thing I don’t understand.
Since we are solar user, why are we still contributing to the kwtbb 1.6%
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 06:26 PM
Icpt is usually discount. Just that when u use more than 1500 it become surcharge. For commercial, it’s surcharge.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 06:33 PM
QUOTE(Doraku @ Aug 9 2023, 06:27 PM) Also for Icing on the cake, NEM 3.0 contract is only 10 years after that any energy you exported will not be compensated for, that's mean you will need to get battery later. Solar users kena scam kaw kaw. Actually solar no scam la. Whole thing is free. Plus saving after 10 years. Like myself. Pay 40k, get back 80k within 10 years. Easy money. 20% return. Rather than letting it sit in Fd. Only 5%.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 06:51 PM
Actually this policy is to ensure every household try to use lower than 1500. Solar can help to go over provided the excess are mostly morning time.
This surcharge doesn’t discriminate solar or non solar.
But this step could make ppl think solar is not worth it. In actual fact solar is still worth every penny.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 06:54 PM
One of my friend lagi kesian Before solar. - meter register below 1500 kWh Bill is around 500-600 ringgit After solar. Change meter Meter register 1800kwh Even with the generation. Bill is rm600++.
No change solar no problem.
This problem is because the old meter register not accurate usage. So he didn’t know his actual usage is way above 1500.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 06:55 PM
QUOTE(BrookLes @ Aug 9 2023, 06:54 PM) That was not the idea at the start. Ppl actually was thinking about profiting from it They pay an initial cost to install the solar panels and they expect to have their initial investment paid for in at most 10 years. Then the rest is bonus or free money. This is still the idea. At least for me. Coz my bill still rm3 from rm600 and I don’t get the icpt surcharge.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 07:11 PM
QUOTE(zerorating @ Aug 9 2023, 06:59 PM) your friend didnt tell the whole story. im pretty sure he use more electricity after solar installation (e.g aircond only operate 8hours/day before solar, after solar 24hours/day) Usage same. We suspect the the old meter was slower.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 07:23 PM
QUOTE(gtfan @ Aug 9 2023, 07:10 PM) Solar generated during the day doesn't offset the day use. Jesus....so many folks here still don't get it. Whatever you generated will only be offset from the total import (usage) during the monthly bill cycle. Indirectly tnb is screwing those who jump into solar panel installation as they didn't charge the icpt on import minus export but on total import usage. So to ask ts to only use during day time to offset the kwh generated, it doesn't count as the inverter is direct feed to the grid. Yes. It does. Morning use is from solar. Unless during rainy day then it will draw from grid. For my case My import meter doesn’t move every morning except on rainy days.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 07:37 PM
QUOTE(zerorating @ Aug 9 2023, 07:28 PM) sound like it is inverter dependent. must be cheepo inverter that decide production of energy only goes one way(to the grid) Nonla. Don’t listen to those who never pasang. And just simply say They connect the electricity to your db. So it ur device draw power from the solar. But morning sun strong so u generate more than u use. So the extra got pushed back to the grid. That’s why import not moving. Only export moving in the morning. Unless raining.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 07:41 PM
Tbh, those who has high bill and want honest opinion, get from the user itself. Don’t listen to ppl who never install and also don’t listen to the solar company 100%.
But even thst also some users also very naive one. As long can see bill reduction they happy jor.
If any Ktard want honest advice can pm me. I can guide u so that u will reap the benefit and don’t fall into the trap.
And you don’t need a big upfront too. There are ways to enjoy solar without coughing a big lump sum.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 07:44 PM
QUOTE(Boy96 @ Aug 9 2023, 07:33 PM) Feel like the gov is doing a half assed job in this. Want to promote EV adoption yet suddenly start charging this and that for electricity. Compared to neighbouring countries they really go all the way in pushing EV adoption, even subsidizing EV owners home electricity bill.. Thai does that, indonesia also does that, europe countries with energy crisis also still does that.. also they have multiple energy providers.. we are stuck with one Actually got one way to impose this but exclude solar user. They can just up 10 cent tariff acrosss the blocks once exceed 1500kwh. Like this, for those nem, their export tariff also will increase by 10 cent across board if they use more than 1500. Coz for nem, the tariff for imports and export remain the same. But I dunno why the govt go use this way to impose on everyone. Quite a backward move when they encourage e people to go solar.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 07:47 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 9 2023, 07:44 PM) Ah, a fellow compatriot. Zero export mode eh? No la. Nem 3.0 All installation mmg like that one. Generate for self use. Export excess. That’s nem policy.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 07:53 PM
QUOTE(JohnLai @ Aug 9 2023, 07:50 PM) Oh.....  Why bother zero export when now got nem?
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 07:58 PM
If those die die need to go over 1500 usage, they just need a small battery solution to avoid that charges. The battery can be recharge and use for night time to reduce a portion of their import.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 07:59 PM
Let’s say they need to pay 150 extra now. So 1 year already 1800. 5 years they will pay 9k. That 9k can be used to buy a small battery solution.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 11:04 PM
QUOTE(dickybird @ Aug 9 2023, 10:50 PM) I’m sure there will be a walk back for this Didn’t that idiot Rafizi announced that people can now earn money from renting their rooftops for RE generation. So fast already kantoi? Renting roof actually the cons is more like roof maintenance. If got problem with roof leaking few years down the road, who will fix? Also how to fix? Coz the panel is on top. Need to remove panel. But I don’t think u can simply just remove the panel. So the maintenance is more complicated than it seems.
bee88
Aug 9 2023, 11:46 PM
QUOTE(OldSchoolJoke @ Aug 9 2023, 11:44 PM) install solar got limit? like if i got bungalow with large roof. can install whole roof? Got. U need to install based on your actual usage. No point whole roof but later u generate too much extra. Wasted. And affect ur roi.