Kerplunk
post Aug 11 2023, 03:36 PM

802 posts

QUOTE(Lahaha @ Aug 11 2023, 12:47 PM)
Part of me wants Boehly to splash the cash and win the bid for Caicedo, buy Lavia AND Kudus.

But a better part of me wants to be rational. Chelsea has to come to an end with all the overbidding.

Many said Chelsea should have just give 100m from the start but whose to know if Liverpool has always been in the background and in contact with Brighton after Macalister sale, that they will ready to counteroffer with a higher bid for Caicedo, using Lavia as a smokescreen that they cannot afford Caicedo. Liverpool also offloaded a number of midfielders to Saudi, they are thin, desperate and Caicedo + Macalister combi makes sense for the premium price for instant chemistry.

Just that Chelsea really played it late until now that the season is about to start and Liverpool cannot wait anymore and shown themselves from the shadows.

Either way, I am okay if Chelsea matches Liverpool's current bid and let Caicedo choose but I am also okay if we walk away and let Liverpool take the cake at 110m.

Caicedo at most is only worth 70-80m. Fans are still too used to Roman empire days where we had oil money being pumped out from the ground to splash.

100m is too much for a one season wonder. Imagine we win the bid from the start by offering 100m as requested, I am sure Brighton will come up with some crap and argue with our payment structure. And imagine if 100m Caicedo underperforms like Potter and Cucu. Fooled me once, shame on you. Fooled me twice, shame on me. Fooled me thrice? We might as well be labelled as Brighton's blue b**** because we enjoyed being f by them AT the ridiculous prices.

Just walk away. 100m for a 21 years old who so far performed well for a season is already ridiculous. There maybe better findings at better less inflated prices. Get Lavia and Kudus in now. Now we have spare cash to get another striker (and maybe another GK)

One thing I hope the management learn is not to waste time twerking for so long if the price is beyond what we value the player.
100% this. In no way, shape or form is caicedo a £100+ million player, these numbers are reserved for super talents who can grab the game by the scruff of the neck and win you matches, like hazard, neymar, and mbappe. 1 great season and he's suddenly at their level? No way. I'm surprised pool blew their budget on him, they could've used that in their pursuit of bellingham, but instead chose to panic buy a DM. Our payment terms were never going to be accepted by brighton, as we were always going to spread it out and include a bunch of add ons. We were already burned by cucurella. Good on the ownership to learn from that lesson. It's been a crazy and drawn out saga, but if we're going with adams and (possibly) lavia for less than £80 million, I'll take it.

It's up to poch now to make things click and judging from our pre season, there are great signs he can get the best from our players. It's so refreshing to finally see a cohesive system in place, instead of huge abnormal gaps in midfield, or slow, turgid build up in every single attack. I'm more upset with nkunku's injury rather than missing out having to grossly overpay on a transfer target tbh. But I'm still looking forward to the new season 💪💪
Lahaha
post Aug 11 2023, 03:57 PM

219 posts

QUOTE(Kerplunk @ Aug 11 2023, 03:36 PM)
100% this. In no way, shape or form is caicedo a £100+ million player, these numbers are reserved for super talents who can grab the game by the scruff of the neck and win you matches, like hazard, neymar, and mbappe. 1 great season and he's suddenly at their level? No way. I'm surprised pool blew their budget on him, they could've used that in their pursuit of bellingham, but instead chose to panic buy a DM. Our payment terms were never going to be accepted by brighton, as we were always going to spread it out and include a bunch of add ons. We were already burned by cucurella. Good on the ownership to learn from that lesson. It's been a crazy and drawn out saga, but if we're going with adams and (possibly) lavia for less than £80 million, I'll take it.

It's up to poch now to make things click and judging from our pre season, there are great signs he can get the best from our players. It's so refreshing to finally see a cohesive system in place, instead of huge abnormal gaps in midfield, or slow, turgid build up in every single attack. I'm more upset with nkunku's injury rather than missing out having to grossly overpay on a transfer target tbh. But I'm still looking forward to the new season 💪💪
Fans be like why don't want to spend another 5-10m more?
When you value a player like Caicedo at best, 60-70m......by bidding 90m, you're already stretching and overpaying by 20-30m. That "just another 5-10m" is stretching it to overpaying by 30-40m. Overpay is one thing. To overpay to Brighton, lagi cannot accept. Maybe thats why Liverpool manage to get World Cup winning Macalister so cheap, because they were always going to come for Caicedo or at least going to help Brighton to push the price up. I keep finding it strange why Brighton sold Macalister so cheaply, tak masuk akal.

Cannot imagine the stress and pressure to perform at 21 yo as the British record transfer. Don't get me wrong, I like him but not that price.
Remember the feeling we had when Nico Jackson surprised us (considering his price) and how Lukaku/Morata disappointed us.

I hope we don't try to outbid Liverpool and use that money for Lavia, Kudus and Olise. Or Amrabat?

Jurgen Klopp on Man Utd signing Pogba for €100m in 2016:
"The day that this is football, then I'm not in a job anymore.
"Other clubs can spend more money and collect top players. I want to do it differently. I would even do it differently if I had that money."
Today, Klopp has signed Caicedo for £110m (€127m).

Welcome Jurgen.

This post has been edited by Lahaha: Aug 11 2023, 04:03 PM
dennis008
post Aug 11 2023, 04:14 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(Lahaha @ Aug 11 2023, 03:57 PM)
When you value a player like Caicedo at best, 60-70m......by bidding 90m, you're already stretching and overpaying by 20-30m. That "just another 5-10m" is stretching it to overpaying by 30-40m. Overpay is one thing. To overpay to Brighton, lagi cannot accept. Maybe thats why Liverpool manage to get World Cup winning Macalister so cheap, because they were always going to come for Caicedo or at least going to help Brighton to push the price up. I keep finding it strange why Brighton sold Macalister so cheaply, tak masuk akal.

Cannot imagine the stress and pressure to perform at 21 yo as the British record transfer. Don't get me wrong, I like him but not that price.
Remember the feeling we had when Nico Jackson surprised us (considering his price) and how Lukaku/Morata disappointed us.

I hope we don't try to outbid Liverpool and use that money for Lavia, Kudus and Olise. Or Amrabat?
"Other clubs can spend more money and collect top players. I want to do it differently. I would even do it differently if I had that money."

Welcome Jurgen.
saw sources mention 111m with sell on clause

brighton is really greedy. fair play to them
GravityFi3ld
post Aug 11 2023, 04:25 PM

Nick Fury's Night Fury
912 posts

QUOTE(dennis008 @ Aug 11 2023, 04:14 PM)

legit business model thumbsup.gif buy cheap, sell high, rinse and repeat whilst staying in EPL and pushing for EU Qualification spots laugh.gif
Iceman74
post Aug 11 2023, 04:34 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(dennis008 @ Aug 11 2023, 04:14 PM)

haha... if he really preforms in Liverpool. Will tell everyone, the next player will be much better and expensive laugh.gif
If not, tough luck. It your playing style problems while they counting those money like mafia bossess brows.gif
zoidx_chung
post Aug 11 2023, 04:43 PM

道可道,非常道!
791 posts

QUOTE(Lahaha @ Aug 11 2023, 03:57 PM)

Welcome Jurgen.
Macalister got release clause, caicedo tiada
Akmall540
post Aug 11 2023, 04:47 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(zoidx_chung @ Aug 11 2023, 04:43 PM)
Macalister got release clause, caicedo tiada
Alexis Mc Allister camp really knew how things works and Caicedo camp is very amatuer like liga super Malaysia level.
DerpVader
post Aug 11 2023, 04:48 PM

QUOTE(Akmall540 @ Aug 11 2023, 03:19 PM)
after reading a lot of the comments on the internet regarding this caicedo transfer saga i feel like todd boehly did the right thing not to bulge on BHA demands
if they want to deal business with us the deal would go smoothly (see sanchez deal).

so, let us hope that boehly will let this go and if really want to buy for the sake of buying better buy lavia. cheaper.

i would say liverpool is just starting to hit the panic buying button. i would say not all liverpool fans agree with this move too.

why? because on april klopp said liverpool dont have financial power to complete the deal of bellingham which is just 5m more than caicedo 110m deal.

ask any liverpool fans which one they would choose between bellingham and caicedo i believe they will answer (most of them anyway) bellingham. why? because bellingham is better player, all rounder.

liverpool got caicedo with the same amount of money that real madrid paid to bvb09 to buy bellingham.

let that sink in.
Dey, don't just look at the transfer fees je. You have to factor in the wages, bonuses, sign on fees, agent fees etc also. Once you factor in the whole overall package you think belllingham is only gonna cost 5m more than Caicedo ke.

zoidx_chung
post Aug 11 2023, 04:53 PM

道可道,非常道!
791 posts

QUOTE(Akmall540 @ Aug 11 2023, 04:47 PM)
Alexis Mc Allister camp really knew how things works and Caicedo camp is very amatuer like liga super Malaysia level.
rumor said his father was minister of sport
gaeria84
post Aug 11 2023, 04:55 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(Akmall540 @ Aug 11 2023, 03:19 PM)
after reading a lot of the comments on the internet regarding this caicedo transfer saga i feel like todd boehly did the right thing not to bulge on BHA demands
if they want to deal business with us the deal would go smoothly (see sanchez deal).

so, let us hope that boehly will let this go and if really want to buy for the sake of buying better buy lavia. cheaper.

i would say liverpool is just starting to hit the panic buying button. i would say not all liverpool fans agree with this move too.

why? because on april klopp said liverpool dont have financial power to complete the deal of bellingham which is just 5m more than caicedo 110m deal.

ask any liverpool fans which one they would choose between bellingham and caicedo i believe they will answer (most of them anyway) bellingham. why? because bellingham is better player, all rounder.

liverpool got caicedo with the same amount of money that real madrid paid to bvb09 to buy bellingham.

let that sink in.
Lowballed brighton for months, didn't want to pay 100m for months. And yet submit a 100m bid when liverpool came into the mix? Now we know boehly desperate to sign caicedo

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Aug 11 2023, 05:09 PM
Akmall540
post Aug 11 2023, 05:03 PM

197 posts

QUOTE(DerpVader @ Aug 11 2023, 04:48 PM)
Dey, don't just look at the transfer fees je. You have to factor in the wages, bonuses, sign on fees, agent fees etc also. Once you factor in the whole overall package you think belllingham is only gonna cost 5m more than Caicedo ke.
im not talking without any details.

Real Madrid have finalised a deal to buy Jude Bellingham from Borussia Dortmund for €103m (£88.5m) plus add-ons that could reach about another €30m. The England midfielder will have a medical before sealing the transfer on a six-year contract.

133m euro = 115m pount sterling.

which one is better deal?
Alexdino
post Aug 11 2023, 05:05 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(GravityFi3ld @ Aug 11 2023, 04:25 PM)
legit business model  thumbsup.gif buy cheap, sell high, rinse and repeat whilst staying in EPL and pushing for EU Qualification spots laugh.gif
hope other player join them will insist on release clause
Alexdino
post Aug 11 2023, 05:08 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Aug 11 2023, 04:55 PM)
Lowballed brighton for months, didn't want to pay 100m for months. And yet submit a 100m bid when liverpool came into the mix? Now we know boehly desperate to sign caicedo
the problem is Brighton told Caicedo is 80m in the summer when he sign the new contract, but rice transfer just inflates the price and brighton switches the goal post....
gaeria84
post Aug 11 2023, 05:10 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Aug 11 2023, 05:08 PM)
the problem is Brighton told Caicedo is 80m in the summer when he sign the new contract, but rice transfer just inflates the price and brighton switches the goal post....
Should've walked away from that deal months ago and try for rice/ugarte, at least walked away with integrity in tact. Yet try to get on brighton's good side by buying their third choice gk at a not-so-competitive price, in the hopes of getting caicedo at our asking price

Even if revenge bid and get caicedo in the end, it's just pyrrhic victory at this point

Yeah lol, tony bloom is laughing at boehly on the way to bank right now
Iceman74
post Aug 11 2023, 05:37 PM

1,407 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Aug 11 2023, 05:08 PM)
We shouldn’t go kacau lavia Liverpool negotiating without concluding Caicedo transfer deal first.
Imagine we go overbid more than 50m for lavia. Liverpool need to top it up until dunno how much since got price wars.
They are also desperately in need of midfielders too.
Might as well use the price war top up plus extra players sales they got, go in and straight grab Caicedo.
Even we try outbidding Liverpool now and managed grab back Caicedo, the extra damage had been done.
They can lowball go for lavia since there is no others buyer pushing the price afterwards.
Brighton can go for the other player that we target as well.

Now we need to fight Brighton for whatever left options.
I think Brighton will act fast bring in their choice replacements.
Even we go price war with Brighton now for 2nd option, we also overpay on this transfer to wins it.
And we red face get what we deserved

Damn.. all those previous deal like Beras and Bellingham look like bargains now.

This post has been edited by Iceman74: Aug 11 2023, 05:42 PM
gaeria84
post Aug 11 2023, 06:17 PM

837 posts

Kek, three months ago not worth 100m? laugh.gif

Dah dah, let liverpool have him, just take the L

It's not a win anymore if u kowtow even more to brighton, let brighton cook liverpool

Somewhere boehly is redfaced watching this while munching down several glazed donuts

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Aug 11 2023, 06:18 PM
Alexdino
post Aug 11 2023, 06:18 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(Iceman74 @ Aug 11 2023, 05:37 PM)
We shouldn’t go kacau lavia Liverpool negotiating without concluding Caicedo transfer deal first.
no, I think we go for Lavia when we are aware of Liverpool's interest. Remember weeks ago brighten said some club in EPL ask about Caicedo, I bet is Liverpool.
gaeria84
post Aug 11 2023, 06:20 PM

837 posts

QUOTE(Alexdino @ Aug 11 2023, 06:18 PM)
no, I think we go for Lavia when we are aware of Liverpool's interest. Remember weeks ago brighten said some club in EPL ask about Caicedo, I bet is Liverpool.
After getting that 110m, brighton gonna bid for lavia

Another price war lol
gaeria84
post Aug 11 2023, 06:24 PM

837 posts

Our top transfer target kena hijacked kek

Rice become porridge d, save that 100m buy lavia + kudus/olise la

Salah sendiri, wasted three months asskissing brighton

This post has been edited by gaeria84: Aug 11 2023, 06:25 PM
Alexdino
post Aug 11 2023, 06:30 PM

2,006 posts

QUOTE(gaeria84 @ Aug 11 2023, 06:24 PM)

Our top transfer target kena hijacked kek

Rice become porridge d, save that 100m buy lavia + kudus/olise la

Salah sendiri, wasted three months asskissing brighton
overprice, but adding him to Liverpool or Chelsea, one of the club will automatically become the top 4 candidates...

131 Pages « < 16 17 18 19 20 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 07:22 AM