Play Badminton until collapse

blek
post Jun 30 2023, 01:28 PM

720 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2023, 12:36 PM)
I don't know badminton
I can intro you two former district players, kevinc and CoffeeDude.    Kev is famous for his no look jumping smash.
Anyway
I have one high grade yonex to give away. Free.
You want?
I want rclxm9.gif collect where?
I remember you from kedah pAS State

This post has been edited by blek: Jun 30 2023, 01:28 PM
SUSskyblu3
post Jun 30 2023, 01:29 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(blek @ Jun 30 2023, 01:28 PM)
I want rclxm9.gif collect where?
I remember you from kedah pAS State
I'll be back to SP next weekend

TheOnly
post Jun 30 2023, 01:31 PM

87 posts

Happens more frequent then someone would think.

I have one known friend in my badminton circle who same kes, just rest at side and never woke up, lips black and shit like that. Mati.

Then i so far known THREE case from our badminton circle group, not really friend, just badminton gang.

Oh and this was just from a short short period of 2years being semi-active in badminton, now already stop. Not because scared mati, but found there’s a much much better alternative then badminton for exercise
SUSTanahGagal
post Jun 30 2023, 01:32 PM

146 posts

Pfizered?

RIP

This post has been edited by TanahGagal: Jun 30 2023, 01:35 PM
SUSBrookLes
post Jun 30 2023, 01:44 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(9m2w @ Jun 30 2023, 12:25 PM)
I believe he is referring to pre vaccine days

But i had an ex colleague pass away from heart attack during swimming. 2010. Another not so close to him i heard collapse while hiking but survived before Covid
Swimming strenuous meh?
Revoz
post Jun 30 2023, 01:46 PM

679 posts

QUOTE(tomatotomatomy @ Jun 30 2023, 05:43 AM)
Actually no, my father died of a heart attack after a game of badminton too.

That was 15 years ago.

During that time I’ve heard of many cases where people just collapse on the court.

I think the game makes people push beyond their limit
Yah it does happened way before covid but not as often as during covid era.
Before covid is like less than 5 case a year.
After covid if i not mistaken last year only like more than 10 cases. Some member did update in our telegram channel. I need to scroll all way back to see and count. If no mistaken 5 or 6 are teachers and headmaster. The rest elder people like 50s above.
2021 also got few cases as far as i remember. Especially after badminton allowed to be play after MCO.

And not just in badminton, in cycling also got cyclist suddenly fell and died after covid.
Bicycle shop laku keras during covid. So many people buy mtb, roadbike during covid. Guess thats the only sport they can do much that time. Now like quiet already.

pisidoubleu
post Jun 30 2023, 01:47 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jun 30 2023, 01:29 PM)
I'll be back to SP next weekend
damnnnn...free racket...
SUSBrookLes
post Jun 30 2023, 01:48 PM

1,354 posts

QUOTE(Revoz @ Jun 30 2023, 01:46 PM)
After covid if i not mistaken last year only like more than 10 cases. Some member did update in our telegram channel. I need to scroll all way back to see and count. If no mistaken 5 or 6 are teachers and headmaster. The rest elder people like 50s above.
2021 also got few cases as far as i remember. Especially after badminton allowed to be play after MCO.

And not just in badminton, in cycling also got cyclist suddenly fell and died after covid.
Bicycle shop laku keras during covid. So many people buy mtb, roadbike during covid. Guess thats the only sport they can do much that time. Now like quiet already.
Can pm you?
You not cucuk right?
SUSBrookLes
post Jun 30 2023, 01:51 PM

1,354 posts

I still cannot understand how ppl can exert themselves like this especially if they are not playing badminton competitively.

Like that when I was 27 28 how. I played badminton but also Dota where I played until next 3am almost everyday.
CoffeeDude
post Jun 30 2023, 01:55 PM

1,609 posts

When it comes to exercise or sports, a lot people only do one type of sports.

Those who likes badminton, only play badminton, once or twice a week.

During covid MCO badminton courts was shut down.
All these badminton kakis didn't find other exercises to do.
Became lazy at home.

When they restart badminton, their fitness level already went down a lot.
Revoz
post Jun 30 2023, 01:55 PM

679 posts

QUOTE(bristlebb @ Jun 30 2023, 12:29 PM)
not true at all

before covid there's already cases like this happened, even marathon
Of cos la have happened even before covid. In 80s also got happen. But not as often during covid.

I follow quite alot of channel, news channel in telegram, always see they update anything new there. And even some do comparison cases before covid vs after covid. Graph group channel also got.
Boomwick
post Jun 30 2023, 01:56 PM

1,004 posts

All this low class badminton arena are recipe for disaster

Hot humid no ventilation and full of co2.

I went to sunway south quay badminton court also feel suffocated..

Shud had carry the fella out to fresh air area
CoffeeDude
post Jun 30 2023, 01:59 PM

1,609 posts

Badminton is a sport where you should train your fitness to play.
But most people only play badminton to get fit and didn't train their fitness.

Training fitness comes from running and strength training.
Running improves cardio and stamina.
Strength training conditions the muscles so that you will not get injured so easily.
SUSskyblu3
post Jun 30 2023, 01:59 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(sikongma @ Jun 30 2023, 12:01 PM)
Haven't see Dr. yet... maybe I should?  sweat.gif
well but neverthess anyway
you should. don't wait.
9m2w
post Jun 30 2023, 02:00 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jun 30 2023, 01:44 PM)
Swimming strenuous meh?
Didn't know how hard he pushed himself

But he was old and abit on the far side
SUSskyblu3
post Jun 30 2023, 02:02 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Jun 30 2023, 12:48 PM)
what series?
not sure
i just buy dulu dulu. didn't know much about badminton rackets. just buy and pay
hardly and seldom use since i don't play badminton. usage of this racket maybe 8 times only throughout these 10 years. lol.
darosha
post Jun 30 2023, 02:02 PM

470 posts

my first coach that get me to reduce weight before also collapse playing badminton, and passed away from that
Revoz
post Jun 30 2023, 02:06 PM

679 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Jun 30 2023, 12:47 PM)
actually b4 covid also quite common.
i actually lost couple of acquaintances & a fren through heart attack/cardiac arrest/stroke during badminton.
that's y i go take CPR course.
often time, they dint know sense it.
they said they needed a rest, lie there like resting, but nvr wake up again after we finished badminton.
some said need to go toilet, or go out catch some fresh air, again nvrm com bck & later found drop dead.
got 1 acquaintance, he was moving bck to retrieve a lift.
fall bck as he was moving backwards, then just froze & died.

such cases quite common in racket sport, cuz it's not only high tempo, it's burst tempo sport.
in the heat of rally, under all the excitement, ur body might giv u extra adrenaline to push past what your body is capable of.

rtthym sport like running, swimming, cycling, also can happen, but less likely as u're slowing pushing the tempo up, & your body usually can sense something is wrong b4 it goes past point of no return.
Yes u can say quite common this happen in badminton. It does happened before covid too. If u noticed it, like since 2010 and above quite many heart attack cases around. But after covid the case like explode become more. hmm.gif
Well since we from different state, might not aware what happen in other state. So far i see and heard in Sarawak only quite often ever since covid. Before covid also got but not as much.

they said they needed a rest, lie there like resting, but nvr wake up again after we finished badminton.
some said need to go toilet, or go out catch some fresh air, again nvrm com bck & later found drop dead.

Agree with this. If once u saw ur fren look damn tired and say, make sure keep an eyes on them. It can be bad sign. Especially when they said they wanna go outside court to take fresh air., keep checking on them. Unless they go out with 1 or 2 frens then ok.

During badminton game, if once u feel ur heart pumping too fast than usual, chest got tight feel and hard to breathe, best is to stop playing immediately, dont continue. While stop dont immediately sit down. Go outside court and take a walk, head up for better air intake, take deep breathe. Unless see star and feel wanna pengsan then have to sit down with body straight and head up.

darosha
post Jun 30 2023, 02:07 PM

470 posts

btw the guy already moving mouth and lips
why people still cpr him?
what did cpr coach teach him?
or did anyone besides hospital staff ever know how and when to do cpr?
SUSskyblu3
post Jun 30 2023, 02:07 PM

157 posts

QUOTE(BrookLes @ Jun 30 2023, 01:51 PM)
I still cannot understand how ppl can exert themselves like this especially if they are not playing badminton competitively.

Like that when I was 27 28 how. I played badminton but also Dota where I played until next 3am almost everyday.
it's the passion and love for the game lah.
used to play best of 5. now we play best of 3.
we just play within our tempo. but whenever i play with former semi pro or state players, that is where my heart beat will max out. fun but torturing. most important is to have fun.

15 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0245sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 01:46 AM