QUOTE(noos @ Jun 19 2023, 04:59 PM)
Thailand gonna launch first, so expect end of year or early next year[AMA] Living with an EV for a month
[AMA] Living with an EV for a month
Jun 19 2023, 05:00 PM
3,848 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Ampang |
Jun 19 2023, 05:09 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(williamtan2020 @ Jun 19 2023, 05:02 PM) I think i need to install the kommuassist system, so that can enable totally hands off driving without the continuous put both hands on steering wheel alarmDefinitely not as refined as Tesla autopilot lah |
Jun 19 2023, 05:38 PM
QUOTE(dickybird @ Jun 19 2023, 05:22 PM) SUV la brader, some more china SUV without lotus handling tuning, memang not made to throw in cornerQUOTE(dudester @ Jun 19 2023, 05:23 PM) Thanks TS, for the honest feedback. Time will tell, but from what i feel is very solid, much better than Tesla. Maybe can say even better than BMW as no one in the owners group reported of any rattling noise compared to new bmw groupWhen I viewed the Ora Goodcat, I could not accept the plasticky interior, would say china is very good at mouding. Based on your past experience with Suprema, Fiesta and even BMW, how would you rate the build quality of the BYD interior? any potential in rattling noise? QUOTE(voscar @ Jun 19 2023, 05:27 PM) Boy96 I see you as car enthusiast, high tech features aside, will the driver feels like boring and missed driving those muscular Inline 6 higher CC car? Yes if u drive this BYD, its meant as a commuter car anyways, but no if u drive the Lotus Eletre, Tesla Plaid or Taycan Turbo S voscar liked this post
Jun 19 2023, 05:48 PM
Jun 19 2023, 08:40 PM
https://www.facebook.com/groups/myevoc/perm...mibextid=Nif5oz
Tip for someone buying an EV, make sure you get an EV with 400v or better yet 800v architecture, See this BMW iX1, cannot get the claimed 130kW charging speed from fast chargers in Malaysia due to it being fitted with an odd 350v architecture Also dont get Japan spec EV car because their connector is different than the rest of the world This post has been edited by Boy96: Jun 19 2023, 08:41 PM |
Jun 19 2023, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(blek @ Jun 19 2023, 09:49 PM) Yes theres a pilot project for this sort of thingBut you might never use it lah. Even if u somehow manage to drain all the battery, just call your insurance towtruck for a free tow back to your house or to a nearest fast charger |
Jun 20 2023, 10:40 AM
QUOTE(kembayang @ Jun 20 2023, 10:37 AM) Plugshare apphttps://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...atori.Plugshare kembayang liked this post
Jun 20 2023, 01:30 PM
QUOTE(kembayang @ Jun 20 2023, 12:56 PM) Thanks. Can if they provide the 3 pin charger for you.Looks like very limited points for free charging without stay in the hotel or parl in the hotel. Renault Zoe by Comos can use 3 pin AC charging? There is actually 3 locations that I know of that gives free DC fast charging, although there might be a queue to charge https://www.plugshare.com/location/131325 https://www.plugshare.com/location/405957 https://www.plugshare.com/location/360648 kembayang liked this post
Jun 20 2023, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(s-works @ Jun 20 2023, 01:42 PM) Plenty of issue from transmission to fueling/ engine. One of the reason i want to go ev.This post has been edited by Boy96: Jun 20 2023, 01:48 PM lowyard liked this post
Jun 21 2023, 11:52 AM
A note from my wallbox installer, Alvin, regarding safe charging. Before you decide to install your charger make sure you find out the cables sizes for your home: 1. Cable size from TNB to Fuse 2. Cable size from Fuse to Meter 3. Cable size from Meter to DB These Cable sizes affects what is the size of Fuse you can/should be using 16mm2 = max 32A Fuse 25mm2 = max 63A Fuse 35mm2 = max 100A Fuse Try not to let unlicensed electricians or unqualified technicians to blindly talk you into just changing into a bigger size Fuse just to prevent Fuse blowing ok? The Fuse is SUPPOSED TO BLOW before the circuits exceeds their maximum carrying capacity. It's a protection mechanism. Using a bigger Fuse that is greater than your home circuit's maximum current carrying capacity defeats the purpose of the Fuse and increasing the risk of fire caused by melting/burning wires. Pls ask if any clarifications are needed. mystvearn liked this post
Jul 3 2023, 03:04 AM
QUOTE(joeblow @ Jul 3 2023, 02:15 AM) Hi TS, 1. You mentioned can remote start the car via app. So the car comes with free sim and data? For how long? eg Proton X70 comes with free 3 or 5 years I think.Thank you for this thread. Appreciate if you can answer the below: FYI I am planning to change my car to EV sometime next year, waiting for BYD Seal, Tesla 3 and Volvo EX30. Again sorry for so many questions, I am from JB and no legit showroom here yet for me to ask the sales people. - 2GB of data every month, not sure until how long it will be free, will have to check later 2. For connectivity, can you use your phone internet via wireless connection for car data connectivity? Since car sim data might costs money once free period over. - yes 3. For insurance, is it like insuring normal ICE car to include flood? I fear for the battery if there's incident of flood. BTW does the battery warranty include this? ie water leaked into it and spoil it. - Insurance is normal like all other cars, and their panel also will include special perils for the first year 4. For the battery warranty of 8 years, does it cover degration? If so what's the % if you know. Refer here for warranty clause ![]() 5. Did you tint the car? I mean would it be hot driving under hot sun? I plan to buy the cover and use only when parking under hot sun. - Good tint is compulsory for this car, especially on the panoramic sunroof as the shade for the roof is not thick enough to fully block the heat 6. Your BYD supports Android Auto or Apple carplay now? - Apple Carplay is supported over wire, Android Auto wireless support is coming. But I dont use any of these, because the screen itself is an android tablet, so I hacked it to install all the available apps on Google Play Store 7. Does your car come with different charger head? - Not sure what this question means, but it comes with 3-pin charging adapter and a V2L socket 8. BYD Atto 3 comes with built in dashcam right? Front and back? - Yes, but front only, and it doesn't record audio 9. I find the yearly servicing a bit redundant considering Tesla does not require it. Seems like the local dealers' way to make more money. If we skip the servicing, will it void the warranty? - Unfortunately yes 10. Lastly can your BYD car use Tesla charging station when it is built in the future? - Tesla shares the same charging port connector, however its up to Tesla to allow or disallow other brands of EV to charge at their stations. Malaysia government has already setup a rule for Tesla to open a certain percentage (no need all) of their Tesla charging stations for other brands EV. And BYD has open showroom and service at Johor Showroom https://maps.app.goo.gl/SNGjgMc4y7p8e2gs6 Service https://maps.app.goo.gl/dYRjYUNKcCdVfcJN7 This post has been edited by Boy96: Jul 3 2023, 03:11 AM |
Jul 3 2023, 11:23 PM
Real world energy consumption
Trying out 𝐅𝐮𝐥𝐥 𝐭𝐨 𝐟𝐮𝐥𝐥 charging method. Arrived home at exactly 50% SOC. Had reset the trip computer previously when it was charged fully. At 50% battery, the car had travelled 164.5 km. Condition - 100% City drive - Aircon in comfort mode, temperature set to 24°C and fan speed at 2-3 - Regen mode in Standard, Driving mode Normal - Tyre pressure set to recommended 260kPa cold - Drive like setan like I usually do on my petrol car Upon full charge back to 100%, wallbox app indicates that the car had taken in 𝟑𝟓.𝟒𝟖 𝐤𝐖𝐡 . 164.5km ÷ 35.48 kWh = 4.636 km/kWh = 𝟐𝟏.𝟓𝟕 𝐤𝐖𝐡/𝟏𝟎𝟎𝐤𝐦. Due to energy loss during charging, hence why the BYD screen only shows 15.5kWh/100km. But cost wise, its better to calculate based on the full to full method since this is the amount we pay towards our TNB bill. If calculated in comparison to rm2.05 ron95 fuel, this is equivalent to 6 liters/100km or 16.6 KM/L. Unrelated Fun Fact: ChatGPT/Google Bard mentions that in 1 Liter of Petrol is roughly energy equivalent to 9 kWh of electricity . So to achieve a price parity of RM2.05/Liter, your electricity price should be RM0.23/kWh Conclusion: Just plug and charge, no need to worry about all these calculation lah 😅 ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by Boy96: Jul 3 2023, 11:24 PM |
Jul 11 2023, 11:20 AM
Jul 11 2023, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(mushigen @ Jul 11 2023, 12:27 PM) If calculated in comparison to rm2.05 ron95 fuel, this is equivalent to 6 liters/100km or 16.6 KM/L. If install solar roof panels, lagi worth it. However , an equivalent Jepunis car can get 10-15km/L without all the hassle of range anxiety and cost of installing 3 phase electrical wiring and wallbox. That's why EV for now remains out of the mind of many people. |
Jul 11 2023, 12:38 PM
Jul 12 2023, 11:48 AM
QUOTE(Chinoz @ Jul 12 2023, 09:00 AM) Nope, now i even set the ac to 25°c as its very cold at 24°c. Different cars have different coldness level despite what the temperature reading isFor conti cars i have to set the AC at 21°c to match the coldness of asian cars ac at 24°c |
Jul 31 2023, 08:52 PM
QUOTE(janszmatt @ Jul 31 2023, 08:34 PM) I have a preve Yup back in 2020 i did consider the x50. But the wait times back then was too long.. It feels abit smaller in space compared to the suprima thoughI love my preve as much as you love your suprima But we both know they’re are aging vehicles and you have sold off yours and I plan to sell off mine soon Is an atto a good replacement for the performance we had? Did you consider an x50? Because I am considering x50 due to the fact I need to travel to East Coast and the perkampungan at West Coast occasionally (balik kampung) As of now, there is no price that can match the performance of a suprima |
Jul 31 2023, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(ieatchickens @ Jul 31 2023, 10:46 PM) do you often check the battery cooling loop, is the coolant proprietory ? Those things are best left to be checked at the SC during the periodic service visitis it hackable ? are the terms "trust me bro" or else "warranty voided lolol" for the loop ? motor moving parts, how are the prices ? |
Aug 1 2023, 12:47 AM
QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Aug 1 2023, 12:39 AM) U using 3 pin charging also right? The portable charger come with the car or buy separately? What is the charging speed? No i dont use the 3pin charger. I use the home wallbox. The 3pin charger comes with the car and it would charge at a maximum amount of 10amps or 1.9kW |
Aug 1 2023, 12:50 AM
QUOTE(pwncake @ Aug 1 2023, 12:47 AM) For once got a useful tered in /k/ We will see how. Usually my family keeps our cars for 9-11 years. By then sure alot of outside specialist mechanicThank you OP Are you planning to keep the car beyond the warranty period? You sound like a man / woman of means, so perhaps resale value is less of a concern to you, but would there be sufficient after sales support after the warranty period? |
| Change to: | 0.0293sec
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:13 AM |