2023 Motorola Razr 40 Series Discussion, Flip The Script
wolf1991
Nov 9 2023, 02:25 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 9 2023, 02:06 PM) So are the security updates are prompt to come by and up to date? As per my observation in their global and cn forum, their security updates also slow especially for those old device although they promise bi monthly etc etc.... Below are the link of their forum. You will be surprised how many ppl complaining slow update and poor software experience 😂 https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Motorola-Commu...torolaCommunityhttps://mclub.lenovo.com.cn/motoSome hardcore supporter will always defend moto in their own way and label those comment they don't like as a hater ðŸ¤. For hardcopy supporter moto is the best brand. Don't listen to me or anyone. Browse through the forum and judge for yourself better. This post has been edited by wolf1991: Nov 9 2023, 02:43 PM
TOMEI-R
Nov 9 2023, 02:58 PM
QUOTE(wolf1991 @ Nov 9 2023, 02:25 PM) As per my observation in their global and cn forum, their security updates also slow especially for those old device although they promise bi monthly etc etc.... Below are the link of their forum. You will be surprised how many ppl complaining slow update and poor software experience 😂 https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Motorola-Commu...torolaCommunityhttps://mclub.lenovo.com.cn/motoSome hardcore supporter will always defend moto in their own way and label those comment they don't like as a hater ðŸ¤. For hardcopy supporter moto is the best brand. Don't listen to me or anyone. Browse through the forum and judge for yourself better. When the device is nearing is EOL, it is quite common for manufacturers to delay or slow down their updates. That is how they try to make you upgrade your phones.
wolf1991
Nov 9 2023, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 9 2023, 02:58 PM) When the device is nearing is EOL, it is quite common for manufacturers to delay or slow down their updates. That is how they try to make you upgrade your phones.  The case with moto is those relatively new phone that is not under eol also gotten very slow update compared to the peer. Lol look through the forum then you will know 😂
cruzzmz
Nov 9 2023, 09:14 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 9 2023, 02:06 PM) So are the security updates are prompt to come by and up to date? Nope my last RAZR 2022 security update was last at May when I got it was alredy August 🫢 Also the a13 come a year late hahaha As for other CN brand afaik only Mi have issue of late notification but as far as I'm on Oppo now there is no late notification .. I'm on global Rom though
wolf1991
Nov 9 2023, 09:54 PM
QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Nov 9 2023, 09:14 PM) Nope my last RAZR 2022 security update was last at May when I got it was alredy August 🫢 Also the a13 come a year late hahaha As for other CN brand afaik only Mi have issue of late notification but as far as I'm on Oppo now there is no late notification .. I'm on global Rom though No comment on oppo. I am having xiaomi and previously Huawei, never once I face any late notification issue. Quite a surprise suddenly heard ppl saying only moto no issue but other android brand all got late notification issue 😅 Mine and those around me are using local set, no comment for those imported cn set. This post has been edited by wolf1991: Nov 9 2023, 09:54 PM
upcars
Nov 9 2023, 09:56 PM

anyone saw any good deals for razr 40 for 11.11 ?cheapest i found is still 2640 shopee seller. unknown if global or cn rom. my guess is cn rom.
wolf1991
Nov 9 2023, 10:16 PM
QUOTE(upcars @ Nov 9 2023, 09:56 PM) anyone saw any good deals for razr 40 for 11.11 ?cheapest i found is still 2640 shopee seller. unknown if global or cn rom. my guess is cn rom. If you don't mind older generation phone, then flip 4 seem like a better choice. The price is just slightly higher and with local support. All aspect of flip 4 is better than razr 40 except mp of camera. Think twice b4 join to moto. If you don't mind of poor software support and just wanna get something cheap for hardware then can consider. Software claim near stock but it's not that great. If you look at cn forum, razr 2022 that launched around end of 2022 only gotten a13 around end of last month but then apparently the update stop according to the forum due to a lot of bug reported....... Not mentioning on late update but then it's first come first serve somemore. Plenty of time given for update yet that's what user get at the end 😂 https://mclub.lenovo.com.cn/thread-7912275-1-1.html
upcars
Nov 9 2023, 10:48 PM

is still hanging around 2600+ for the basic razr40 (not ultra, dun need big screen) but because 11.11, z flip 5 promo until 3000 bucks. which makes me think twice liao. so was wondering if anyone spotted any good deals for the basic razr 40 or not. for 400 bucks diff, i rather just get a flip 5
wolf1991
Nov 9 2023, 11:03 PM
QUOTE(upcars @ Nov 9 2023, 10:48 PM) is still hanging around 2600+ for the basic razr40 (not ultra, dun need big screen) but because 11.11, z flip 5 promo until 3000 bucks. which makes me think twice liao. so was wondering if anyone spotted any good deals for the basic razr 40 or not. for 400 bucks diff, i rather just get a flip 5 Get flip 5. Just a few hundred and all aspect is better than moto. Moto is only worth considering for their mid to low range. Those range got faster update than their flagship and much better value. My opinion is never consider their flagship 🥲 A14 is coming and if you don't mind getting it end of 2024 or even later then go ahead. Their razr 2022 just gotten a13 and not like late mean get a stable update. Apparently the update was stopped due to a lot of issue based on feedback from their cn forum
ijuanp03
Nov 10 2023, 08:43 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 9 2023, 02:06 PM) So are the security updates are prompt to come by and up to date? My x30 Pro and Edge 40 both have September 2023 security update including bug fixes and new features on both phones. Unlike Samsung where they update monthly, Motorola's update policy is bi-monthly OR quarterly depending on the device model. Android 14 is nowhere in sight and I'm sure the earliest they can provide update is maybe around 2nd quarter of next year.
ijuanp03
Nov 10 2023, 08:45 AM
QUOTE(upcars @ Nov 9 2023, 10:48 PM) is still hanging around 2600+ for the basic razr40 (not ultra, dun need big screen) but because 11.11, z flip 5 promo until 3000 bucks. which makes me think twice liao. so was wondering if anyone spotted any good deals for the basic razr 40 or not. for 400 bucks diff, i rather just get a flip 5 Moto razr40 256gb is only RM2363 from Fasttech.
upcars
Nov 10 2023, 09:20 AM

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Nov 10 2023, 08:45 AM) Moto razr40 256gb is only RM2363 from Fasttech. thanks for the headsup. that price is walk in or online link ?
ijuanp03
Nov 10 2023, 10:46 AM
QUOTE(upcars @ Nov 10 2023, 09:20 AM) thanks for the headsup. that price is walk in or online link ? Direct bank transfer/walk in payment to their physical store. Do note you need to wait for 5-6 days to get the phone as they need to ship it from supplier. All their items have sealed box.
TOMEI-R
Nov 15 2023, 02:27 PM
QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Nov 10 2023, 10:46 AM) Direct bank transfer/walk in payment to their physical store. Do note you need to wait for 5-6 days to get the phone as they need to ship it from supplier. All their items have sealed box. Yup. They rarely have ready stocks. All need to pre-order.
freddie
Dec 19 2023, 12:46 AM
I just bought a used unit from lazada. razr+ 2023 usa at&t unit. phone only. 8/256 black. for just under 2k on 12/12 Lazada sales.
received the phone yesterday, so far so good. however there will be some app I couldn't install from play store because it says incompatible.
haven't really switched to it yet. but the external display is really good.
compare to flip5, the main display is better as flip5 main display is kinda wavy.
can't say more for now.
This post has been edited by freddie: Dec 19 2023, 12:48 AM
freddie
Dec 19 2023, 12:54 AM
oh ya. the back button for the Navi bar is on the left and not configurable to right, which I dislike.
freddie
Dec 21 2023, 11:54 AM
flashed with the latest US retail version T2TZ33.18-75-9 (still android 13) and got rid of at&t start up logo. also supported external screen rotation.
ijuanp03
Dec 27 2023, 10:18 AM
QUOTE(freddie @ Dec 21 2023, 11:54 AM) flashed with the latest US retail version T2TZ33.18-75-9 (still android 13) and got rid of at&t start up logo. also supported external screen rotation. After flashing, are you able to unroot and lock the bootloader?
freddie
Jan 2 2024, 02:51 PM
QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Dec 27 2023, 10:18 AM) After flashing, are you able to unroot and lock the bootloader? it was unlocked to use any telco, nothing changed. just new firmware. but not rooted, which is fine for me. oh oh oh... and the darn AT&T logo is still there during bootup. sad. hahaha. This post has been edited by freddie: Jan 2 2024, 02:52 PM
busyman
Feb 5 2024, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(freddie @ Jan 2 2024, 02:51 PM) it was unlocked to use any telco, nothing changed. just new firmware. but not rooted, which is fine for me. oh oh oh... and the darn AT&T logo is still there during bootup. sad. hahaha. Wondering do you have dual app option on your US set? Saw some china review mentioned dual app function available but couldn’t find it on my US set