2023 Motorola Razr 40 Series Discussion, Flip The Script

wolf1991
post Jul 13 2023, 01:44 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jul 13 2023, 11:59 AM)
Any idea on how long that Motorola will support the OS and security updates for this phonem
Ignore whatever they promised. Look back at their edge series flagship, the update speed & schedule was terrible, no timeline whatsoever and seem like some bug never fix.

If os and security update is important to u then look somewhere else. Currently the update speed as per my understanding are as follow for Android:

Pixel > Sammy > bbk phone > xiaomi n many many else. The worst among flagship in term of updating is moto although they claim is stock bla bla bla.

Moto basically are selling u a cheap phone but then it come with tradeoff of poor support even for flagship range. Think twice before u pull the trigger.

This post has been edited by wolf1991: Jul 13 2023, 01:45 PM
wolf1991
post Jul 13 2023, 08:46 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Jul 13 2023, 08:04 PM)
security update is a must
u never know there are a lot of holes

but as said eventually the update will come whistling.gif

in moto forum int people are complaining about this and the moto rep even have the ball to ask the customer to show proof of the timeline that they so called promiseย  sweat.gifย  whistling.gif
Fan will defend regardless of whatever reason. The support is basically none for moto, the price indeed was cheap for the hardware but the software part really.....

Anyhow everyone can just buy anything based on their own preference. Funny thing is, you will notice both moto china forum and global forum give consistent message on poor support, never fix bug, late update and some even complaint poor photo post processing despite the good hardware spec.

I personally think don't ever buy their flagship, their mid and low range even update faster than the flagship. Quite ridiculous but then their base for mid and low range is much bigger and hence that's the result from business perspective.

Moto was a good brand before but go down the hill once Lenovo take over. Lenovo just come to sell the device and not providing support. Basically what you pay is what you get ๐Ÿ˜‚

Funny thing is you will notice it's same group of ppl that keep on promoting moto. Sometimes I wonder is a marketing company or not, look back at edge 30 ultra/x30 pro section in lowyat. It's basically death with low user base and poor support ๐Ÿฅฒ

This post has been edited by wolf1991: Jul 13 2023, 08:47 PM
wolf1991
post Jul 15 2023, 05:06 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Jul 14 2023, 01:40 PM)
True. I think we are all able to think and use our common sense when buying devices. Nobody can say that it's right or wrong because it's our own money ๐Ÿ˜›

Some people suddenly entered this thread to put negativity and hatred when we are all enjoying our phones ๐Ÿ˜›
Lol. I wonder which part is put negativity. I am just sharing the pros and cons of the device only. It's just that everyone perception is different.

For fan, they might think I am saying is negativity. For neutral people, they will look at the pros and cons and decide for themselves whether a particular product suite them or not.

Anyway you are right on one point, it's own money and feel free to buy whatever you guys prefer. If you are happy then it's totally fine.
wolf1991
post Jul 15 2023, 05:13 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Jul 14 2023, 10:58 AM)
The bi monthly might only apply to global Rom .. not china one .. even the 2022 which said to have 3 yrs upgrade still stuck with A12 and A14 is just around the block

Anyway when u invested in a phone that is not official need to be aware of the support ๐Ÿ˜…

Usually google do a increment update drop every quarter and security every month and it back to the manufacturer to release the update
Just a sharing, they promised bi monthly even to the previous edge 30 ultra/x30 pro but at the end they not able to deliver.

Some people might thinking what I am sharing is not up to their liking but that's the undeniable truth. Moto is the worst among all popular brand when it come to support although they claim it's stock android.

Those potential buyer please be aware of what they might be getting and make their own judgement. If don't mind poor support and want to get good hardware spec at cheap then can go ahead.

Don't just simply affected by some comment even myself, the best is do own research and look at their cn and global forum. I just find it's very fastinating those ppl that keep on telling you it's a good device basically is a same group of people ๐Ÿ˜‚

wolf1991
post Jul 16 2023, 08:43 AM

848 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Jul 15 2023, 07:59 PM)
As my nth Motorola CN phone, I've done my research very well and even helped others how to configure their phones.

I don't need to brag that I'm a software engineer by profession so don't worry about me, I know what I'm talking about ๐Ÿคก

I find it ironic that those who are complaining are the ones who don't even own Moto CN phone ๐Ÿ˜‚
Most important thing is you happy with your purchase. That's all that matter, what profession didn't really affect whether a phone is good or bad ๐Ÿ˜‚

A millionaires will brag they are using a newest iphone special edition bla bla bla but that doesn't really matter as everyone perception is different.

The ironic part I find is there will be always someone that think sharing of pros and cons as a complaining ๐Ÿคญ.

Seem like you really happy with moto, have been seeming you from edge 20 to edge 20 pro, x30 pro and even here. If you are not part of moto or associated with marketing etc etc then I guess moto really give you highest satisfaction โ˜บ๏ธ

This post has been edited by wolf1991: Jul 16 2023, 08:43 AM
wolf1991
post Jul 16 2023, 12:00 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Jul 16 2023, 11:15 AM)
Yes, I only buy Motorola phones these days with my hard-earned money.

Yeah nothing to do with my profession but you always insinuate that I am associated with Motorola so there is a need to disclose it because you want people to believe your lies ๐Ÿคก
Lol. Now you are saying I am lying? I wonder which part that I lie, kindly enlighten me ๐Ÿ˜‚

I find it hilarious to deal with people like you, saying I am troll now, all thing I shared is a fact. What I am trying to do is also helping others to understand more on the device.

Those interested buyer will come to have a look at the forum to understand more before purchase a certain device. It's their right to know the pros and cons in advance.

All the while what I am saying is moto they have cheap price for the spec but poor and lack of support especially in Malaysia. Again the purpose of forum is to share the opinion, not for someone like you to classify those opinion you don't like as a troll or lie.

Just a piece of advise, I am not trying to brag I am engineer basically is an act of brag ๐Ÿคญ. Like what you mention, it really doesn't matter what profession are you to make your opinion valid or not (I wonder why you bring this up in the first place)

Anyway I guess you are super happy with moto, that's why you own all their device. It's totally fine as it is your money ๐Ÿคญ

This post has been edited by wolf1991: Jul 16 2023, 12:05 PM
wolf1991
post Jul 16 2023, 12:04 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jul 16 2023, 11:01 AM)
Dude

I miss the show

Should have stand by my popcorn earlier laugh.gif laugh.gif

Lol. Basically it's a simple matter only. Just sharing opinion, that's all. Me myself also wonder why someone trying so hard to defend a brand. Being deniable doesn't mean an issue doesn't exist.

Whether the thing is good or not, consumer will decide by themselves and somehow reflected by how many user are there. The rest is just simply chit chat

wolf1991
post Jul 16 2023, 12:40 PM

848 posts

Btw for those who interested to understand more on the brand and device, hereby is the link for global moto official and cn forum:

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Motorola-Commu...torolaCommunity

https://mclub.lenovo.com.cn/moto/

Those are the best way to get the feedback from real user and judge for yourself whether it's something that you want to buy or not.

wolf1991
post Jul 17 2023, 12:51 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(silencer @ Jul 17 2023, 01:44 AM)
Bila..bila...bila...I'm not a moto fanboy and I'm a first time moto user, but so far, in really satisfied with it ...and I believe u have explained enough about Motorola phone.. points well taken ..no need to keep repeating and flame other people here ......learn to respect other people ...
Ok noted. It's good that you are happy with your device. Lol anyway just for clarification ,since when I frame other people here and learn to respect other people?? ๐Ÿ˜ฎโ€๐Ÿ’จ

I wonder why suddenly become my fault pulak. All I did was sharing info only and then someone was framing me lying out of sudden without any proof.

Anyway it's just a simple matter. Point taken and happy with purchase then it's totally fine ๐Ÿ˜‚
wolf1991
post Nov 3 2023, 08:52 AM

848 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 2 2023, 10:26 PM)
Haha.. Still prefer Moto because of its near stock android os.
Moto so called near stock os is just a gimmick. Moto android got quite a bad reputation of unsolved bug, sub par camera post processing as compared to other flagship, terrible update speed and non existent Malaysia support ๐Ÿ˜ฎโ€๐Ÿ’จ

The true stock android with much better software experience is indeed pixel series. A lot of ppl even critic moto software experience worst compared to non stock competitor.

The only series they are good at are mid to low range and this is the area where their software support is better because of larger user base. Flagship range just doesn't nail it.

I think most probably another round of complaint will coming because of android 14 soon. All the while they are the last to get the latest Android and apparently their razr 2022 still in a12 for many countries..... Not sure for this razr 2023 in a12 or a13 currently through. I saw someone asking but not sure why his message got ignored.

Good luck for all moto flagship buyer. Hopefully this round moto flagship won't be the last to get latest Android again ๐Ÿ˜…. If don't mind on software experience and just want to get something cheap for the spec then can consider anyway.

This post has been edited by wolf1991: Nov 3 2023, 08:54 AM
wolf1991
post Nov 3 2023, 09:43 AM

848 posts

QUOTE(sanosizo @ Nov 3 2023, 09:37 AM)
if it is really near stock, updates should have been faster because less fixing and testing is needed. but in reality, lenovo/moto is among the slowest to update their phones.
That's what people always complaining on moto flagship. Funny thing is the update of moto mid and low range apparently faster then their flagship device.

It's like a slap on the face for those spend a lot buying their flagship. Moral of story, can only consider for their low and mid range. Never buy their flagship and curse later unless if they show a significant improvement over update speed.
wolf1991
post Nov 4 2023, 11:16 AM

848 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Nov 3 2023, 11:03 PM)
I got A13 on RAZR 2022 a week before .. not sure about a14
If do the math seems like moto update is like so long
I see. To be frank it was so slow ๐Ÿ˜ฎโ€๐Ÿ’จ. All flagship got a13 very long time already. For razr 2022 to just got it in Oct was kind of unacceptable ๐Ÿ˜…

Seeing how long it takes to get a13, I suppose a14 maybe two year later considering more new model will out. Moto usual practice is when new model out then old was totally ignored.
wolf1991
post Nov 9 2023, 07:28 AM

848 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Nov 8 2023, 10:45 PM)
agree
seems like the testing and bug fixes took them 1 yr to do ... maybe only like 2 engineers to do the test  sweat.gif
Lol ya. That's why their forum regardless of global or cn are full of complaint ๐Ÿ˜… They sell it at cheap price and never plan to provide a good software support although claim near stock android.

Last time I was tempted to buy their edge 30 ultra due to cheaper price for the spec. Luckily I didn't buy it at the end, if not I might be one of the unhappy user that complaining in their forum ๐Ÿ˜‚
wolf1991
post Nov 9 2023, 02:25 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 9 2023, 02:06 PM)
So are the security updates are prompt to come by and up to date?
As per my observation in their global and cn forum, their security updates also slow especially for those old device although they promise bi monthly etc etc....

Below are the link of their forum. You will be surprised how many ppl complaining slow update and poor software experience ๐Ÿ˜‚

https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Motorola-Commu...torolaCommunity

https://mclub.lenovo.com.cn/moto

Some hardcore supporter will always defend moto in their own way and label those comment they don't like as a hater ๐Ÿคญ. For hardcopy supporter moto is the best brand.

Don't listen to me or anyone. Browse through the forum and judge for yourself better.

This post has been edited by wolf1991: Nov 9 2023, 02:43 PM
wolf1991
post Nov 9 2023, 03:01 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 9 2023, 02:58 PM)
When the device is nearing is EOL, it is quite common for manufacturers to delay or slow down their updates. That is how they try to make you upgrade your phones.  laugh.gif
The case with moto is those relatively new phone that is not under eol also gotten very slow update compared to the peer. Lol look through the forum then you will know ๐Ÿ˜‚
wolf1991
post Nov 9 2023, 09:54 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Nov 9 2023, 09:14 PM)
Nope my last RAZR 2022 security update was last at May when I got it was alredy August ๐Ÿซข
Also the a13 come a year late hahaha

As for other CN brand afaik only Mi have issue of late notification but as far as I'm on Oppo now there is no late notification .. I'm on global Rom though
No comment on oppo. I am having xiaomi and previously Huawei, never once I face any late notification issue.

Quite a surprise suddenly heard ppl saying only moto no issue but other android brand all got late notification issue ๐Ÿ˜…

Mine and those around me are using local set, no comment for those imported cn set.

This post has been edited by wolf1991: Nov 9 2023, 09:54 PM
wolf1991
post Nov 9 2023, 10:16 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Nov 9 2023, 09:56 PM)
anyone saw any good deals for razr 40 for 11.11 ?cheapest i found is still 2640 shopee seller. unknown if global or cn rom. my guess is cn rom.
If you don't mind older generation phone, then flip 4 seem like a better choice. The price is just slightly higher and with local support.

All aspect of flip 4 is better than razr 40 except mp of camera. Think twice b4 join to moto.

If you don't mind of poor software support and just wanna get something cheap for hardware then can consider. Software claim near stock but it's not that great.

If you look at cn forum, razr 2022 that launched around end of 2022 only gotten a13 around end of last month but then apparently the update stop according to the forum due to a lot of bug reported.......

Not mentioning on late update but then it's first come first serve somemore. Plenty of time given for update yet that's what user get at the end ๐Ÿ˜‚

https://mclub.lenovo.com.cn/thread-7912275-1-1.html

wolf1991
post Nov 9 2023, 11:03 PM

848 posts

QUOTE(upcars @ Nov 9 2023, 10:48 PM)
is still hanging around 2600+ for the basic razr40 (not ultra, dun need big screen)
but because 11.11, z flip 5 promo until 3000 bucks. which makes me think twice liao. so was wondering if anyone spotted any good deals for the basic razr 40 or not. for 400 bucks diff, i rather just get a flip 5
Get flip 5. Just a few hundred and all aspect is better than moto. Moto is only worth considering for their mid to low range. Those range got faster update than their flagship and much better value. My opinion is never consider their flagship ๐Ÿฅฒ

A14 is coming and if you don't mind getting it end of 2024 or even later then go ahead. Their razr 2022 just gotten a13 and not like late mean get a stable update. Apparently the update was stopped due to a lot of issue based on feedback from their cn forum

0.0354sec    0.89    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:06 AM