28 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Bottom

2023 Motorola Razr 40 Series Discussion, Flip The Script

ijuanp03
post Aug 20 2023, 09:40 AM

1,064 posts

So I pulled the gun and purchased the Z Flip5 as well.
Here are my thoughts comparing to the RAZR 40 Ultra.

Z Flip5
- has "smoother" hinge when closing and opening. It feels similar to the old Moto RAZR 5G (2020).
- Bigger and more useful cover display widgets.
- Relatively better battery life - but not by much. It just lasts longer.
- Samsung One UI is better if you are into customization.

RAZR 40 Ultra
- Slimmer even with the case. The Flip5 is too bulky even without the case to begin with.
- Better display in the cover screen. The Flip5's cover display screen looks like a cheap version. You can literally see the pixels.
- BETTER camera. Yes, it's a personal preference but the RAZR takes brighter shots. Not oversaturated but brighter since it has f1.5 aperture.

And the most important one..
- SNAPPIER software overall. It's difficult to describe but when I navigate through the menus, apps, etc, the razr seems faster.
- Flip5's reaction time to my tap is slow like I need to wait for an animation/transition to complete before I can tap the display. It won't react to my touch if the animation isn't complete. To be fair, Samsung One UI is NEVER laggy. No stuttering whatsoever. It's just like an iPhone where they have fluid and SLOW animation so the phone has the time to complete a specific process in the background.

fjoru103
post Aug 20 2023, 11:41 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Aug 20 2023, 09:40 AM)
So I pulled the gun and purchased the Z Flip5 as well.
Here are my thoughts comparing to the RAZR 40 Ultra.

Z Flip5
- has "smoother" hinge when closing and opening. It feels similar to the old Moto RAZR 5G (2020).
- Bigger and more useful cover display widgets.
- Relatively better battery life - but not by much. It just lasts longer.
- Samsung One UI is better if you are into customization.

RAZR 40 Ultra
- Slimmer even with the case. The Flip5 is too bulky even without the case to begin with.
- Better display in the cover screen. The Flip5's cover display screen looks like a cheap version. You can literally see the pixels.
- BETTER camera. Yes, it's a personal preference but the RAZR takes brighter shots. Not oversaturated but brighter since it has f1.5 aperture.

And the most important one..
- SNAPPIER software overall. It's difficult to describe but when I navigate through the menus, apps, etc, the razr seems faster.
- Flip5's reaction time to my tap is slow like I need to wait for an animation/transition to complete before I can tap the display. It won't react to my touch if the animation isn't complete. To be fair, Samsung One UI is NEVER laggy. No stuttering whatsoever. It's just like an iPhone where they have fluid and SLOW animation so the phone has the time to complete a specific process in the background.
So moto is slimmer but is moto "wider"?
I only compare from website , still unable to make decision..

silencer
post Aug 20 2023, 12:43 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(bahjan_2000 @ Aug 19 2023, 03:05 PM)
My unit is perhaps.. a week away but I've heard how CN Rom phones cant share location thru Whatsapp?

Uh oh
My CN unit can share location through WhatsApp without any problem
ijuanp03
post Aug 20 2023, 12:50 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Aug 20 2023, 11:41 AM)
So moto is slimmer but is moto "wider"?
I only compare from website , still unable to make decision..
It's wider because it has a bigger screen - 6.9inches vs 6.7inches.

It all depends on your preference. Both are similar even I am unable to choose the winner. It's more of a draw.

Flip 5 pre-order "double storage" promo is over btw so Moto is actually cheaper.
fjoru103
post Aug 21 2023, 11:19 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Aug 20 2023, 12:50 PM)
It's wider because it has a bigger screen - 6.9inches vs 6.7inches.

It all depends on your preference. Both are similar even I am unable to choose the winner. It's more of a draw.

Flip 5 pre-order "double storage" promo is over btw so Moto is actually cheaper.
I hold and play around the flip5, it fits just nice on my palm haha,
am also looking not too big phone as in just fit nice on my hand/palm.
Flip5 ya the promo over, i still can get the epp anyway

Let see if really pulling trigger then maybe ask for people who has it for yamca session, let me touch n feel it a bit tongue.gif

This post has been edited by fjoru103: Aug 21 2023, 11:19 AM
TOMEI-R
post Aug 21 2023, 05:45 PM

Extraordinaire
24,227 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Aug 21 2023, 11:19 AM)
I hold and play around the flip5, it fits just nice on my palm haha,
am also looking not too big phone as in just fit nice on my hand/palm.
Flip5 ya the promo over, i still can get the epp anyway

Let see if really pulling trigger then maybe ask for people who has it for yamca session, let me touch n feel it a bit tongue.gif
Just go to any Samsung store or HN and you can play with it all day if you want. laugh.gif
fjoru103
post Aug 22 2023, 01:14 AM

645 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Aug 21 2023, 05:45 PM)
Just go to any Samsung store or HN and you can play with it all day if you want.  laugh.gif
Try liao ma lol maybe if decide Sammy then play more
Just need try moto punya
ijuanp03
post Aug 22 2023, 09:53 AM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(fjoru103 @ Aug 22 2023, 01:14 AM)
Try liao ma lol maybe if decide Sammy then play more
Just need try moto punya
I purchased aramid case from AliExpress for my RAZR (~RM100 including shipping).
In-hand feel is 10x better. Very grippy and slim.
cruzzmz
post Aug 22 2023, 10:11 AM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Aug 22 2023, 09:53 AM)
I purchased aramid case from AliExpress for my RAZR (~RM100 including shipping).
In-hand feel is 10x better. Very grippy and slim.
Yes it is a good case .. slim but not sure about the protection 🤔

bahjan_2000
post Aug 25 2023, 11:40 AM

454 posts

So I got my unit like 5 days back or so, and have been using it since. Many thanks for bro ijuanp03 for his guide on CN rom, really helped me stumble along the setup process! I still need to tweak a few things, but so far all my regular apps are installed, and works okay (except for Android Auto)

Yep, I like white

Bought an Imak case off Shopee, fits okay, has felt material inside to prevent slipping I guess.. and it has a lanyard loop which I like.

So in my couple days of usage - I like the screen, it's.. nice, vivid and brighter, it seems, compared to my old Edge 30 Pro, at comparable levels. Yes the crease is there, of course, although barely noticeable when the screen is lit but still visible when you look at an angle. Refresh rate is great, seems smoother than my E30P too. Although I find.. the taller but less wide screen not too much to my liking, somewhat. Reminds me of those slim Sony Xperia phones.. I prefer wider screens, to the point of I buy a separate tablet for use at home after work, because.. I feel like I'm getting old and need bigger screen to focus on things lol.

Yes the folding mechanism is smooth, I guess? Although I have nothing to compare to. I recall flipping my old Razr V3 one handed haha, being young and rough I am. No issues there, but I do find myself being veery careful in folding/unfolding it and moving around. But taking it out and flipping it open in front of people? The 'ooohhhh' is priceless indeed biggrin.gif

For the hardware power, I suppose the limitation in lower tier soc and storage speed is prevalent when installing apps, and snapping pictures..? On my E30P I can download/install apps while keep using the phone and feel nothing - it stutters a bit on the Razr40, and snapping pics takes a good second or so to save on the 40 at times. But for normal use - either it surfing/browsing/banking/shopping, it's smooth with no hiccups, and I don't game, either, in fact I prefer the Razr40 for browsing due to how smooth it feels compared to the E30P. For battery life, I guess more usage/test is needed, but it feels roughly the same to me, despite the huge battery capacity difference, I got home every evening with roughly 30%+- battery left under my usual normal usage, on both - plus, I always have access to a reasonably high power GAN charger at office, and I usually plug in during lunchtime (I don't go out for lunch), and a wireless charger in my car. But yea, the 65W charging on the E30P feels faster - I can plug in, have a quick bite/bath etc and get a good chunk of % charged.

On usability - I was somewhat expecting it, but I kind of miss using my E30P - the phone with the Spigen case is nice to hold, just fine in my hands, and slips in my side pocket just nice, and while both have the Moto action wiggle/chop for cameras/flashlight, I find its easier to use on the E30P, yea, I can use it with the Razr unfolded too, it just feels.. odd - I can whip out my E30P and immeadiately do whatee And the feeling that I need to be extra careful with the Razr keeps me.. on the edge at all times. I use my phone as an additional work tool, and perhaps the form factor of the Razr40 is unsuited for that, I feel - which is somewhat surprising.

And while I'm no professional, in fact I'm very bad with cameras/taking pictures (a stark contrast from my brother which is our family's designated photographer), still, here you go for some comparison - although I keep which pictures were taken with which phone a secret, till.. the end picture.

This.. potted plant of my wife's that I have no idea what the name is

The unimpressive .. vegetation shrub behind my house

My Primaris Dark Angel, on vigil for any trespassing.. cats

My beloved 4 year old, taken in my room, right after he wakes up and went straight for his favorite dinosaur videos on my PC. I suppose this can be categorized as low light, being in my room with only light from the monitor..?

Please note this were all taken snap shots - no setting or adjustment whatever, and taken as-is, and I didn't bother with zoom/macro shots or what not.

And to my untrained noob eyes.. there doesn't seem to be a big noticeable difference between my old E30P, which are pictures on the left, compared to the Razr40, which are on the right, plus the extra 'Hi-Res' mode on the third Astartes picture. Good enough for daily picture snap, I suppose. Although at times, I miss my previous Pixel 4A.. I do feel the pics taken on it, even with how unimpressive the hardware being - nicer to my eyes nod.gif

That all said.. I'll probably will use the Razr 40 for a couple more days, and pass it on to my wife, which depends if she doesn't like it, I guess I'll sell it off, lol? Yea it's cool, solidly build, and gets a lot of attention from my colleagues and such, as well as scratches that nostalgia Razer V3 itch I have - but in the end, at least for the moment, I appreciate being able to whip out my candybar E30P and straight away search stuff/reply messages/open flashlight/quick snap pictures without having to flip it open. Some might say purchasing the Ultra, I might be able to do some of these on the cover, but like I mentioned - I feel like I'm having problems on small-ish screens lately, to the point of where I purchased a tablet for home use, and upgrading my workstation to 34". I'm getting old, that's .. for sure lol. And my current life is quite hectic either at work, or at home, so having a phone that I need to be extra careful with doesn't feel right. Maybe when I retire perhaps laugh.gif

In fact this test makes me considering of getting the X40 - till I realized it has on-screen FP, and not the side-mount like the E30P and Razr40 which I oh so-like. And if not due to the battery life/charging speed of the current Pixels, I'd consider those too. While something like the S23U would be far out of my budget, I tried out my collegue's unit and found it quite.. unwieldy for me

So I guess for now, I'll probably stick with my E30P, for the time being hmm.gif But I'm open to questions and what not! And thanks to those that read this!

And sorry for the picture alignments.. quite sure I arranged them right.. if anyone can advise on how to rotate them properly, please feel to do so 😅

This post has been edited by bahjan_2000: Aug 25 2023, 12:35 PM
ijuanp03
post Aug 25 2023, 12:34 PM

1,064 posts

Good that your enjoying your phone.
Btw, why aren't you using the phone case included in the box? I am asking because 3rd party cases like iMak will prevent the hinge from fully closing. It's like your phone is "almost closed" but you can't see it due to the case being to thick that you think it is fully closed.

The reason is that all 3rd party cases (except for the thin aramid case) have a "lip" on top of razr's main 6.9 inches display.

I'm having a hard time explaining but this is BAD for the phone.
Because when you fold it, you are preventing the phone to fully close and also has a risk for the hinge mechanism to malfunction/break.

Just something you should take note of.

This post has been edited by ijuanp03: Aug 25 2023, 12:40 PM
bahjan_2000
post Aug 25 2023, 12:57 PM

454 posts

QUOTE(ijuanp03 @ Aug 25 2023, 12:34 PM)
Good that your enjoying your phone.
Btw, why aren't you using the phone case included in the box? I am asking because 3rd party cases like iMak will prevent the hinge from fully closing. It's like your phone is "almost closed" but you can't see it due to the case being to thick that you think it is fully closed.

The reason is that all 3rd party cases (except for the thin aramid case) have a "lip" on top of razr's main 6.9 inches display.

I'm having a hard time explaining but this is BAD for the phone.
Because when you fold it, you are preventing the phone to fully close and also has a risk for the hinge mechanism to malfunction/break.

Just something you should take note of.
I see. Thanks, but I'm quite sure there is no case included with the phone, and reading around, I think only the Ultra unit has a free case included. But so far it seems.. like there's no pronounced lip, around the display, on the Imak case?
skylinelover
post Aug 25 2023, 03:01 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Aug 21 2023, 05:45 PM)
Just go to any Samsung store or HN and you can play with it all day if you want.  laugh.gif
And make sure the sales folks dont kept annoying you by standing behind your back laugh.gif

I know its part of their job but if they stalk like this its already over the line intrusive rclxub.gif
cruzzmz
post Aug 25 2023, 03:24 PM

uh weeee !!!!
6,904 posts

QUOTE(bahjan_2000 @ Aug 25 2023, 11:40 AM)

That all said.. I'll probably will use the Razr 40 for a couple more days, and pass it on to my wife, which depends if she doesn't like it, I guess I'll sell it off, lol? Yea it's cool, solidly build, and gets a lot of attention from my colleagues and such, as well as scratches that nostalgia Razer V3 itch I have - but in the end, at least for the moment, I appreciate being able to whip out my candybar E30P and straight away search stuff/reply messages/open flashlight/quick snap pictures without having to flip it open. Some might say purchasing the Ultra,  I might be able to do some of these on the cover, but like I mentioned - I feel like I'm having problems on small-ish screens lately, to the point of where I purchased a tablet for home use, and upgrading my workstation to 34". I'm getting old, that's .. for sure lol. And my current life is quite hectic either at work, or at home, so having a phone that I need to be extra careful with doesn't feel right. Maybe when I retire perhaps  laugh.gif

In fact this test makes me considering of getting the X40 - till I realized it has on-screen FP, and not the side-mount like the E30P and Razr40 which I oh so-like. And if not due to the battery life/charging speed of the current Pixels, I'd consider those too. While something like the S23U would be far out of my budget, I tried out my collegue's unit and found it quite.. unwieldy for me

nice review ... since we are getting old ... me too whistling.gif well might as well ventured to the folding one sweat.gif
waiting for one plus open to come and give it a try

yes agree candy bar is fast but we do need a bigger screen sometimes and i think folding will help a bit lah whistling.gif
ijuanp03
post Aug 25 2023, 04:06 PM

1,064 posts

QUOTE(bahjan_2000 @ Aug 25 2023, 12:57 PM)
I see. Thanks, but I'm quite sure there is no case included with the phone, and reading around, I think only the Ultra unit has a free case included. But so far it seems.. like there's no pronounced lip, around the display, on the Imak case?
Unfold your phone and look at the side frame. If the imak case protudes/overlaps/ not the same level as the display (even for a few millimeters) then it is already obstructing the phone from closing properly.

Anyway I've seen unboxing videos of Razr 40 with the included matte/frosted plastic case in the box together with the leaflets.

This post has been edited by ijuanp03: Aug 25 2023, 04:07 PM
silencer
post Aug 25 2023, 06:37 PM

AnyThiN GoEs
1,846 posts

QUOTE(bahjan_2000 @ Aug 25 2023, 11:40 AM)
So I got my unit like 5 days back or so, and have been using it since. Many thanks for bro ijuanp03 for his guide on CN rom, really helped me stumble along the setup process! I still need to tweak a few things, but so far all my regular apps are installed, and works okay (except for Android Auto)

Yep, I like white

Bought an Imak case off Shopee, fits okay, has felt material inside to prevent slipping I guess.. and it has a lanyard loop which I like.

So in my couple days of usage - I like the screen, it's.. nice, vivid and brighter, it seems, compared to my old Edge 30 Pro, at comparable levels. Yes the crease is there, of course, although barely noticeable when the screen is lit but still visible when you look at an angle. Refresh rate is great, seems smoother than my E30P too. Although I find.. the taller but less wide screen not too much to my liking, somewhat. Reminds me of those slim Sony Xperia phones.. I prefer wider screens, to the point of I buy a separate tablet for use at home after work, because.. I feel like I'm getting old and need bigger screen to focus on things lol.

Yes the folding mechanism is smooth, I guess? Although I have nothing to compare to. I recall flipping my old Razr V3 one handed haha, being young and rough I am. No issues there, but I do find myself being veery careful in folding/unfolding it and moving around. But taking it out and flipping it open in front of people? The 'ooohhhh' is priceless indeed  biggrin.gif

For the hardware power, I suppose the limitation in lower tier soc and storage speed is prevalent when installing apps, and snapping pictures..? On my E30P I can download/install apps while keep using the phone and feel nothing - it stutters a bit on the Razr40, and snapping pics takes a good second or so to save on the 40 at times. But for normal use - either it surfing/browsing/banking/shopping, it's smooth with no hiccups, and I don't game, either, in fact I prefer the Razr40 for browsing due to how smooth it feels compared to the E30P. For battery life, I guess more usage/test is needed, but it feels roughly the same to me, despite the huge battery capacity difference, I got home every evening with roughly 30%+- battery left under my usual normal usage, on both - plus, I always have access to a reasonably high power GAN charger at office, and I usually plug in during lunchtime (I don't go out for lunch), and a wireless charger in my car. But yea, the 65W charging on the E30P feels faster - I can plug in, have a quick bite/bath etc and get a good chunk of % charged.

On usability - I was somewhat expecting it, but I kind of miss using my E30P - the phone with the Spigen case is nice to hold, just fine in my hands, and slips in my side pocket just nice, and while both have the Moto action wiggle/chop for cameras/flashlight, I find its easier to use on the E30P, yea, I can use it with the Razr unfolded too, it just feels.. odd - I can whip out my E30P and immeadiately do whatee And the feeling that I need to be extra careful with the Razr keeps me.. on the edge at all times. I use my phone as an additional work tool, and perhaps the form factor of the Razr40 is unsuited for that, I feel - which is somewhat surprising.

And while I'm no professional, in fact I'm very bad with cameras/taking pictures (a stark contrast from my brother which is our family's designated photographer), still, here you go for some comparison - although I keep which pictures were taken with which phone a secret, till.. the end picture.

This.. potted plant of my wife's that I have no idea what the name is

The unimpressive .. vegetation shrub behind my house

My Primaris Dark Angel, on vigil for any trespassing.. cats

My beloved 4 year old, taken in my room, right after he wakes up and went straight for his favorite dinosaur videos on my PC. I suppose this can be categorized as low light, being in my room with only light from the monitor..?

Please note this were all taken snap shots - no setting or adjustment whatever, and taken as-is, and I didn't bother with zoom/macro shots or what not.

And to my untrained noob eyes.. there doesn't seem to be a big noticeable difference between my old E30P, which are pictures on the left, compared to the Razr40, which are on the right, plus the extra 'Hi-Res' mode on the third Astartes picture. Good enough for daily picture snap, I suppose. Although at times, I miss my previous Pixel 4A.. I do feel the pics taken on it, even with how unimpressive the hardware being - nicer to my eyes  nod.gif

That all said.. I'll probably will use the Razr 40 for a couple more days, and pass it on to my wife, which depends if she doesn't like it, I guess I'll sell it off, lol? Yea it's cool, solidly build, and gets a lot of attention from my colleagues and such, as well as scratches that nostalgia Razer V3 itch I have - but in the end, at least for the moment, I appreciate being able to whip out my candybar E30P and straight away search stuff/reply messages/open flashlight/quick snap pictures without having to flip it open. Some might say purchasing the Ultra,  I might be able to do some of these on the cover, but like I mentioned - I feel like I'm having problems on small-ish screens lately, to the point of where I purchased a tablet for home use, and upgrading my workstation to 34". I'm getting old, that's .. for sure lol. And my current life is quite hectic either at work, or at home, so having a phone that I need to be extra careful with doesn't feel right. Maybe when I retire perhaps  laugh.gif

So I guess for now, I'll probably stick with my E30P, for the time being  hmm.gif But I'm  open to questions and what not! And thanks to those that read this!

And sorry for the picture alignments.. quite sure I arranged them right.. if anyone can advise on how to rotate them properly, please feel to do so 😅
We r in the same boat ...I guess my next phone will be the new iPhone model ....just for the sake on trying different things
ijuanp03
post Aug 28 2023, 09:21 AM

1,064 posts

@bahjan_2000

Do you have this behavior with your Razr 40?
1. Fold your razr
2. Click on the volume buttons

Can you feel the phone wiggle a bit? Like the 2 halves rubbing each other.

Btw, since I have the Flip5 now, the reason that it does not wiggle because there are 2 tiny rubber stoppers at the corners of the Flip5. Something the new RAZR doesn't have BUT the old 1st and 2nd gen have.

Razr 2022 does not need rubber stoppers because the border itself is made with matte plastic/rubber. The razr 40 series have this shiny glossy plastic surrounding the display which is similar to Samsung's.

Not sure why Moto designers overlooked this.

This post has been edited by ijuanp03: Aug 28 2023, 09:26 AM
bahjan_2000
post Aug 29 2023, 04:57 PM

454 posts

If you mean from side to side at the top when folded, yes. Just a little, but its there. Not that.. I want to try out how much it wiggles anyway
ijuanp03
post Aug 31 2023, 11:46 AM

1,064 posts

This is a typical 3rd party case which is "slightly raised" than the display. This is good IF it is not a flip phone.

The reason it's bad for the razr is because you are preventing the phone to shut close completely. The 2 halves that are touching are the case and not the phone itself.

Of course case manufacturers think they are doing a goodwill but didn't realize this can cause damage to the hinge.

This post has been edited by ijuanp03: Aug 31 2023, 11:47 AM
skylinelover
post Aug 31 2023, 03:08 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Aug 25 2023, 03:24 PM)
nice review ... since we are getting old ... me too  whistling.gif well might as well ventured to the folding one  sweat.gif
waiting for one plus open to come and give it a try

yes agree candy bar is fast but we do need a bigger screen sometimes and i think folding will help a bit lah  whistling.gif
Haha

The fold is still too bricky for my use laugh.gif

Further lighter as light as s20 ultra i buy instantly

Hoho rclxms.gif

28 Pages « < 21 22 23 24 25 > » Top

0.0348sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:21 AM