people with eczema come in, what changes do you make to avoid trigge

technosakai
post Jun 1 2023, 02:28 PM

546 posts

hello fellow eczema comrade biggrin.gif
I also got eczema since sec school till now.
It really just comes and goes.
You can try going to Sime Darby Medical Centre to get a test to see what you're allergic to, I think they have a base package from RM 200? Then subsequent any specific item you wanna add for testing is RM 30/60. Can't remember.
Best to check out their website or call their info counter

The thing is different people have different triggering points, some could be food, some could be stress, environment, weather, temperature
I think my triggering point could be food. Most probably milk and tuna.
Lately trying to lose weight and build muscle, so tried to have a protein heavy diet. Had tuna and boom.. flared up like mad. Stopped eating and it goes away a few days later.
milk - cut down since long time ago. so can't really confirm is it a cause.
stress also used to be one of my triggering cause.. up to the point where i can barely walk cuz of the infected wounds behind my knees. Had to get a jab of steroid for quick action for it to subside.
apart from that.. i don't really bother anymore with lotion or certain soaps. cuz i don't think they really matter to me..
In fact, I've tried cetaphill lotion, it made me itch more. so I avoided all lotions.

The best was when I was in korea for a 7 day trip. Totally nice skin, smooth smooth.. never had that kind of texture in years. haha
it was end of march during my trip. Cold temperatures in korea. unlike here hot af nowadays.. which made my skin worse again due to the constant sweating and wet clothes. (from sweat)

EDIT: Do you guys scratch in your sleep? even with AC on.

This post has been edited by technosakai: Jun 1 2023, 02:32 PM
RallyNight
post Jun 1 2023, 03:59 PM

1,141 posts

QUOTE(daisiesdontdoit92 @ Jun 1 2023, 01:14 AM)
you can do a blood test to test your allergy, and you may be surprised at what you are allergic at, some people are allergic to certain plants, or pets hair, etc.
This, my parent thinks im allergic to beef like the rest of their sibling, turnout is dust, ask here no use, ask doctor and tested you get result better.
Twins10
post Jun 1 2023, 05:02 PM

919 posts

My remedy Is vinegar. Shower gel buy Johnson 5.5 buts it's hard to find. Keep bottle of vinegar. Apply where you have itches. Burn like hell. Thank me in 1 month. No steroid cream.
creep
post Jun 1 2023, 08:34 PM

531 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 1 2023, 08:15 AM)
any more information about this blood test? where can i do one?
My 2 kids did their blood test at pantai hospital bangsar abt 4 years ago … dr amir hamzah (Allergy & Immunology) quite good

daisiesdontdoit92
post Jun 1 2023, 11:00 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Jun 1 2023, 08:15 AM)
any more information about this blood test? where can i do one?
Talk with your doctor, ask about allergy test or blood test for allergy.
leftycall9
post Jun 1 2023, 11:46 PM

Left of leftist
1,046 posts

QUOTE(Twins10 @ Jun 1 2023, 05:02 PM)
My remedy Is vinegar.  Shower gel buy Johnson 5.5 buts it's hard to find.  Keep bottle of vinegar. Apply where you have itches.  Burn like hell.  Thank me in 1 month.  No steroid cream.
You use cheap regular vinegar or apple cider vinegar? I've heard about this tip before but not mentioned what kind of vinegar you need.
abegagoh
post Jun 2 2023, 09:56 AM

TS, you should find something that trigger the eczema. Short term, fobancort is good to prevent your skin become worse.
Darkshining
post Sep 23 2023, 04:59 PM

36 posts

I have ezcema since i was a kid, condition worsened when I got COVID. The doctor i was seeing said takin Pfizer vaccine can make ezcema worse, but just speculation, still under researching.

Did an allergy test recently, found out I'm allergic to almost all kinds of dust & mites, sea food and dog dander. Doctor recommended wet wrap which can reduce itchiness very effectively, havent tried it out myself though.

Wanna ask if air purifier is good for eczema? Since air purifier can reduce dust in the air. If air purifier helps which brand is the best?
Pikichu
post Sep 23 2023, 05:35 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(Darkshining @ Sep 23 2023, 04:59 PM)
I have ezcema since i was a kid, condition worsened when I got COVID. The doctor i was seeing said takin Pfizer vaccine can make ezcema worse, but just speculation, still under researching.

Did an allergy test recently, found out I'm allergic to almost all kinds of dust & mites, sea food and dog dander. Doctor recommended wet wrap which can reduce itchiness very effectively, havent tried it out myself though.

Wanna ask if air purifier is good for eczema? Since air purifier can reduce dust in the air. If air purifier helps which brand is the best?
Unless you are breathing in virus like COVID, air purifier does nothing for eczema. If doctor or healthcare professional tells you otherwise, ask them for the reason and evidence.
mcdonald13
post Sep 23 2023, 05:46 PM

224 posts

these two helps
Darkshining
post Sep 23 2023, 05:57 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Sep 23 2023, 05:35 PM)
Unless you are breathing in virus like COVID, air purifier does nothing for eczema. If doctor or healthcare professional tells you otherwise, ask them for the reason and evidence.
No la my doctor never say air purifier can ease eczema, just my own speculation since I thought it can reduce dust in the air and I'm allergic to dust
Pikichu
post Sep 23 2023, 06:10 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(Darkshining @ Sep 23 2023, 05:57 PM)
No la my doctor never say air purifier can ease eczema, just my own speculation since I thought it can reduce dust in the air and I'm allergic to dust
Since you are allergic to dust then it will benefit your breathing.
(why ask in eczema topic .... I dont understand. If you want to treat eczema, you can PM your location and I may recommend a specialist, but not cheap, not easy to do, and not easily available, although the result can last a lifetime, at least for me.)

This post has been edited by Pikichu: Sep 23 2023, 06:29 PM
kurangak
post Sep 23 2023, 06:12 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ May 31 2023, 04:25 PM)
what changes do you make to avoid triggers?

can share things that you use , or things that work like soaps/laundry soapsetc? I'm not sure which one is causing it. But I heard those with fragrances is causing the eczema.

I do use dermaveen lotion to hydrate my skin daily. works quite OK
my trigger is bread. so i avoid eating bread
Darkshining
post Sep 23 2023, 06:26 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Sep 23 2023, 06:10 PM)
Since you are allergic to dust then it will benefit your breathing.
(why ask in eczema topic .... I dont understand. If you want to treat eczema, you can PM your location and I may recommend specialist, but not cheap, not easy to do, and not easily available.)
I saw someone asked about air purifier here so I thought I can ask too hahahaha
Pikichu
post Sep 23 2023, 06:32 PM

2,278 posts

QUOTE(Darkshining @ Sep 23 2023, 06:26 PM)
I saw someone asked about air purifier here so I thought I can ask too hahahaha
Yes, you can ask.
The problem is you rely on an assumption that people buy half a dozen of air purifier brands, to tell you which one is best.
Anyway, I let others comment on that. I updated my previous comment.
Darkshining
post Sep 23 2023, 06:48 PM

36 posts

QUOTE(Pikichu @ Sep 23 2023, 06:32 PM)
Yes, you can ask.
The problem is you rely on an assumption that people buy half a dozen of air purifier brands, to tell you which one is best.
Anyway, I let others comment on that. I updated my previous comment.
I'm sorry if I caused some misunderstanding, I believe I chose my words wrongly. I was hoping someone who has eczema and used a certain brand of air purifier that is beneficial to their condition to share their experience. I am not assuming somebody would has like a database and then recommend me the best one, I was simply expecting some opinions of many people over here. But then again you mentioned air purifier doesn't help so no point asking anymore hahaha

Again, sorry for the misunderstanding.
SUSsmallydupe
post Sep 23 2023, 07:45 PM

125 posts

QUOTE(hantu1911 @ May 31 2023, 04:30 PM)
no stress=no sick
This is the truest
h@ksam
post Sep 23 2023, 08:41 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

lack of sleep
stress
sugar
dairy

try contain these four see if got improvement
BOTAK_WAI
post Sep 23 2023, 10:26 PM

Blow Water First Class
4,166 posts

QUOTE(Darkshining @ Sep 23 2023, 04:59 PM)

not vaccine make eczema worse, but vacinne might cause your immune system become more sensitive and easy to trigger when kena allergy.

how's your eczema condition now?

i never have eczema in my life before until 2 months after the booster shot. i went to private clinic doctor gave me various type of ointments also not working and until the 3rd consultation, the doctor prescribed an antibiotic called augmentin 625mg and finally it was under controlled.

fast forward 6 months later, it comes back slowly. i went to klinik kesihatan and the doctor straight away issued me letter to go klinik dermatologi hospital kl. 3 months treatment using glycerine cream and 0.05% betamethasone cream. it works to surpress but not working when the eczema flare up even the doctor increased the dosage to 0.1% betamethasone for the flare. i can't tahan the flare and i went to another private clinic and the doctor agreed to prescribe the same antibiotic for me and the flare gone. i don't know how long it can last but at least i have an option to get rid the flare in short time.

i accept the fact that there will be no completely cure for eczema and it will come back to haunt me again and again, but i will try my best to fight it so that the eczema won't serious until affect my mental health.
Blofeld
post Sep 24 2023, 09:26 AM

4,704 posts

my trigger is anything milk-based, cheese, and soya, so i avoid all that.

there's an allergy doc expert in Quora, he tembak those ppl who like to say u need to eat those trigger everyday to rid of the allergy. Like those who like encourage their kids to play in the dirty garden to strengthen their immune system. It shouldn't be that way doh.gif .

To rid of the allergy, u need to avoid the trigger for a long long long long long time probably decades. That's what he said. He said something along these lines then after a few decades, your immune system may have 'forgotten' what is the trigger.

So find the trigger first, then avoid it for a long long time.

This post has been edited by Blofeld: Sep 24 2023, 09:28 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0247sec    0.97    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 04:25 AM