11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Sarawak Laksa is actually just Curry MeeHoon

SUSskyblu3
post May 18 2023, 10:22 AM

157 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ May 18 2023, 09:57 AM)
If you ever wondered what's Sarawak Laksa, I tried at a few stalls in Kuching so that you don't have to.

It's actually just Curry Mee but they substitute Mee with MeeHoon.

So now you know  thumbsup.gif
not only that.
their curry spice is different. a bit heavy. I don't like this.

NataM

19 posts

nasi kandar = nasi putih + lauk pauk
blek

720 posts

QUOTE(nearlee @ May 18 2023, 09:59 AM)
>inb4 Ipoh curry mee bestest
owai-
Nearlee

Sweet curry mee. Ewwww!!
TSLembu Goreng

1,129 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ May 18 2023, 10:17 AM)

The one as per your description is actually the Johor's Laksa. Johor's laksa  = curry mee, don't know why Johorean called it laksa.
the johor laksa is same like penang laksa but the soup become thicker (gravy) and they use spaghetti as noodles

mrcg

235 posts

From Chatgpt:

Sarawak Laksa and Mee Hon Curry are both popular dishes in Malaysia, but they have distinct differences in terms of their flavors, ingredients, and preparation methods. Here's a breakdown of their unique characteristics:

Flavors:

Sarawak Laksa: Sarawak Laksa is a spicy noodle soup dish known for its complex flavors. It has a rich and aromatic broth made from a combination of spices, such as lemongrass, galangal, and sambal belacan (a spicy shrimp paste). The broth is typically creamy due to the addition of coconut milk. It has a tangy and slightly sour taste, often complemented with a mild sweetness.

Mee Hon Curry: Mee Hon Curry, also known as Curry Mee, is a noodle dish that features a flavorful curry broth. The curry is usually made with a combination of spices, such as turmeric, chili, and various herbs and spices. The broth is thick and creamy, with a slightly sweet and savory taste.

Ingredients:

Sarawak Laksa: The key ingredients of Sarawak Laksa include rice vermicelli noodles, shredded chicken, prawns, bean sprouts, omelet strips, and fresh coriander. It is also commonly garnished with lime wedges and sambal belacan for added spiciness.

Mee Hon Curry: Mee Hon Curry typically consists of yellow egg noodles or rice vermicelli noodles, along with ingredients like sliced chicken, shrimp, bean curd puffs, cockles, and bean sprouts. It is often garnished with fried shallots, chopped scallions, and sometimes fresh mint leaves.
Preparation:

Sarawak Laksa: The preparation of Sarawak Laksa involves cooking the broth with a blend of spices and then simmering it with prawn heads and shells to extract maximum flavor. The noodles are cooked separately and then added to the broth along with the other ingredients before serving.
Mee Hon Curry: In the case of Mee Hon Curry, the curry broth is typically prepared by cooking the spices and herbs together to form a fragrant curry paste. The noodles and other ingredients are then added to the broth and cooked until everything is well combined.
TSLembu Goreng
post May 18 2023, 10:23 AM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ May 18 2023, 10:22 AM)
not only that.
their curry spice is different.  a bit heavy.  I don't like this.
Also I think use MSG, uncle Roger would be proud

After I eated at every stall, sure thirsty like crazy

SUSskyblu3

157 posts

QUOTE(treblecase @ May 18 2023, 09:59 AM)
I dunno why Anthony Bourdain was crazy over it.
this chubro is more crazy over it

anyway i prefer sarawak mee kolok over this.
Ayer

206 posts

QUOTE(stupiak07 @ May 18 2023, 10:18 AM)
This is where youre wrong, curry doesnt mean you need curry powder/spices to make curry. Curry doesnt mean it need santan either.
What you describe is just broth. Curry is more narrowed down version and laksa Sarawak use santan, curry not all use. How?
pinkfoxlulu
post May 18 2023, 10:24 AM

159 posts

QUOTE(nearlee @ May 18 2023, 09:59 AM)
>inb4 Ipoh curry mee bestest
owai-
Nearlee

rclxm9.gif
real manchested heading to instabul bodo
Mika Letchumany
post May 18 2023, 10:24 AM

424 posts

Salawak got what? Jungle got la.
Food oso got what tarikan? Laugh die me.

Diferent with sabah. Sabah got islands n beautiful waters.
Kk side got mountain.

lahart
post May 18 2023, 10:25 AM

93 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ May 18 2023, 09:57 AM)
If you ever wondered what's Sarawak Laksa, I tried at a few stalls in Kuching so that you don't have to.

It's actually just Curry Mee but they substitute Mee with MeeHoon.

So now you know  :thumbsup:
Nice try to create drama
Obviously you never fly to kuching
Or ur kena cancer d lose ur taste bud
nihility
post May 18 2023, 10:25 AM

1,597 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ May 18 2023, 10:22 AM)
the johor laksa is same like penang laksa but the soup become thicker (gravy) and they use spaghetti as noodles
It was a curry mee la. I tried a few stalls, all actually were curry mee.

Penang laksa is the laksa we used to know growing up.
TSLembu Goreng
post May 18 2023, 10:26 AM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(Mika Letchumany @ May 18 2023, 10:24 AM)
Salawak got what? Jungle got la.
Food oso got what tarikan? Laugh die me.

Diferent with sabah. Sabah got islands n beautiful waters.
Kk side got mountain.
they will soon have Malaysia's tallest flag pole

https://www.theborneopost.com/2023/01/27/sa...ghest-flagpole/

TSLembu Goreng

1,129 posts

QUOTE(nihility @ May 18 2023, 10:25 AM)
It was a curry mee la. I tried a few stalls, all actually were curry mee.

Penang laksa is the laksa we used to know growing up.
oh well to each their own

Penang Laksa is damn gooding thumbsup.gif

Mika Letchumany

424 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ May 18 2023, 10:26 AM)
they will soon have Malaysia's tallest flag pole

https://www.theborneopost.com/2023/01/27/sa...ghest-flagpole/
🤣🤣🤣
WhatMan
post May 18 2023, 10:27 AM

1,623 posts

This Sarawak Laksa with pork also nice.

stupiak07
post May 18 2023, 10:27 AM

397 posts

QUOTE(Ayer @ May 18 2023, 10:23 AM)
What you describe is just broth. Curry is more narrowed down version and laksa Sarawak use santan, curry not all use. How?
Do you know what actual curry mean in native tamil?
It mean sauce

Narrow? Laksa is a one of curry

Curry has thousands kind out there

This post has been edited by stupiak07: May 18 2023, 10:28 AM
TSLembu Goreng
post May 18 2023, 10:28 AM

1,129 posts

QUOTE(lahart @ May 18 2023, 10:25 AM)
Nice try to create drama
Obviously you never fly to kuching
Or ur kena cancer d lose ur taste bud
Actually my travel companions (all KL people) agree with me also

sometimes it takes an outsider with a neutral point of view to discover what things actually are

anakkk
post May 18 2023, 10:32 AM

2,119 posts

penang ppl curry mee with beehoon mee oh, what's the problem? LOL
chinti
post May 18 2023, 10:33 AM

Tarak Drama, Kita Bikin Drama
1,653 posts

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ May 18 2023, 10:28 AM)
Actually my travel companions (all KL people) agree with me also

sometimes it takes an outsider with a neutral point of view to discover what things actually are
ah now it make sense, KL ppl tastebuds all something wrong punya. semakin jadi singaporeans mia tastebuds
conclusion TS and companions all got cancer, #prayforTS

11 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0244sec    1.03    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:03 PM