15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Singapore PR Application on May 2023, Already 12 months

malz89
post May 15 2024, 03:01 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 15 2024, 02:34 PM)
I edited my reply.

Now longer.

Sorry bro.Just think a few points....

You may see it again...
Just edited my reply after seeing it.

The success rate of getting PR is about 10% per year. No one knows exactly how they decide, and what we speculate is definitely not exhaustive. The likelihood of getting is higher if you show your tendency or commitment to stay in singapore, example picking up some community work, etc.

If you tick most of the check box, you should be able to get it; just the matter of time.

Definitely it would be cheaper to stay in malaysia and work in Singapore. If everyone does that, who is paying for the taxes? How government going to gain their capital? They need work force but they don't need leech. If they give PR to everyone who works in Singapore, their citizen definitely gonna be furious. That's what happened before 2010. Many of them hated Malaysians back then, that's why alot "ma lao" or "jhk". But these are hardly heard nowadays because they are more focused on "ceca" and "prcs".

malz89
post May 15 2024, 06:43 PM

1,116 posts

Seems to be the case, if you're not residing in sg you may have concerns renewing your PR. Do note you have to update your residential address within 28 days. I am not sure would they allow you to update a place in malaysia instead.

Please note that you may have difficulty renewing your Re-Entry Permit (REP) when the time comes if you have not been an actual resident of Singapore before applying for renewal. If you are physically outside Singapore when your REP expires, or if you leave Singapore without a valid REP, your PR status is lost. You will continue to pay MediShield Life premiums for as long as you hold PR status, so there is an ongoing cost to hang onto PR.

malz89
post May 15 2024, 07:19 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 15 2024, 06:52 PM)
My colleague is 52 years old.

He received Singaporean permanent citizenship in 2004.

He has a house, a wife, and children in Johor Bahru. He commutes daily to work in Singapore.

I think malaysians can update his Johor address in the Singapore system. There are no issue with his PR renewal.

He had never rented a house in Singapore before. However, due to the COVID-19 lockdown, he rented one room for around 2 year. It was a special situation.
Are all of your colleagues or friends, who are Malaysian citizens but also Singapore permanent residents, staying in Singapore?
Or do some of them live in Johor and commute daily to work in Singapore?
I'm basically the only Malaysian here without a PR. Most of them either converted or married to a Singaporean. None of us commute daily, so I have no idea. PR stands for permanent resident, so if you're not staying in singapore, why should they offer you a PR? So a resident that stays in malaysia? Else why it's harder to get REP nowadays? So just a thought you should consider if you're shifting out in the future. You will never know.
malz89
post May 15 2024, 07:23 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 15 2024, 06:53 PM)
Is it because some workplaces in Singapore now have more PRCs (People's Republic of China citizens) than Malaysian citizens?
I would say the place I'm working is filled with 90% PRCs. So, I would say most of them are rich, they bought their way here. Imagine you're competing against them, but fortunately they are placed below us Malaysians. Despite getting paid the same salary, my colleagues from PRCs were only given s-pass, which I think to limit them from applying for a PR.
malz89
post May 15 2024, 08:39 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 15 2024, 07:31 PM)
What I read from a Facebook group is that some women go back to Johor or Malaysia to give birth and then work from home in Johor. They do not enter Singapore or work in the office.

Or some staff, due to Covid-19, their company allows them to work in Johor. So, the ICA officers are not happy.
So, if they commute daily into and out of Singapore for work, it should not be a problem, right?

Those motorcycles or cars that commute daily back and forth have many Singapore-registered license plates; many are Singapore PRs but Malaysian citizens.
For now, I can say that commuting daily in and out is not an issue for renewing the REP (Re-entry Permit).

Because if they really need a Singapore address to renew the REP, there are now many rental rooms available in Singapore.

Previously, agents had many people wanting to find rooms to rent.
They used to get booked quickly (a real case, not marketing tactics). But now, if you ask an agent, they will reply, 'I have at least 8 to 10 rooms. Which one do you want to view?'
But I know Singapore can impose some special laws.
Maybe in 5 years time,PR really need to have a residential address to renew REP.

Like cigarettes must be sold in a sealed cabinet and cannot be displayed in transparent glass in front of it.
Singapore was the first country to impose such laws.

If the Singaporean government indeed stated that Malaysians must have a residential address in Singapore to renew their REP, surely there would be a lot of discussion on Facebook. For now, it seems that some people forget to renew due to working in countries other than Singapore.

Some companies send them to Hong Kong, Taiwan, or Australia.
Sorry.Reply too long...

But you give a good reminder.
You're right on the renting. But how many of those were actually PR? I doubt 10% of them are. Most wouldn't travel in and out nowadays, but yes back then. You have to see, how many riding malaysian motor vs Singapore motor in the morning. You should have your answer there. For those who drive, how many of them actually stay in malaysia? Do they have a relative where they can actually register themselves there? There are loopholes for sure, but just be aware of such things. Once they revoke your PR, you may not get to work in Singapore too. I feel that Singapore is too strict, law by law, unlike malaysia.

Those being sent out to work, they will review case by case and usually a year extension. I think @hksgmy feels the same, when he retires somewhere else in the future.

Anyway, just wait ba. Once you get, you will only face it 5 years later. Maybe by then u decide to stay inside sg
malz89
post May 15 2024, 08:40 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 15 2024, 07:35 PM)
How can your company have 90 percent PRC employees?

What I know is that the construction sector has many quotas for foreigners. But you work at the office, right?
I work in a sch. So quota literally doesn't exist here. Money comes into play. Haha
malz89
post May 17 2024, 11:50 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 17 2024, 10:30 PM)
Data Source: Singapore Department of Statistics
The reason Singapore does not disclose the breakdown of PR population by nationality is due to sensitivity concerns.

However, the Minister also stated that many of Singapore's PRs come from neighboring countries due to historical factors.
According to netizens' analysis, the neighboring country mentioned is undoubtedly Malaysia.
Although the Minister did not reveal the countries from which

Singapore's approved PRs come, he disclosed that about 60% of the approved PRs in 2019 and 2020 came from Southeast Asian countries, about 34% came from other Asian countries,
So, 60% of 30,000 is 18,000.

Indonesia, Thailand, Malaysia,Brunei, Philipines, Vietnam,Myanmar
7 countries shares this 18,000 PR successful approval.
No. Asean 11 Country          
1   Indonesia        
2   Thailand         
3   Malaysia         
4   Brunei           
5   Vietnam          
6   Philippines         
7   Cambodia          
8         Myanmar       
9       Laos   
10  Singapore        
11) Timor-Leste (total population is around 1.34 million only)
**************and the remaining 6% came from other countries.**************************

So, 6% of 30,000 is 1,800....
So less....

Not much ang moh apply?
It is believed that the majority of the 60% from Southeast Asian countries are from Malaysia, and the percentage from China among the 34% from other Asian countries is definitely not small.
No. 20 strong economies in Asia, excluding Southeast Asian countries ( Southeast Asian countries means = Asean Countries)                     
1   China        
2      Republic of China,Taiwan   
3       Hong Kong SAR,China 
4   Macau SAR,China  
5       Japan       
6   South Korea 
7           India        
8   Saudi Arabia                
9   United Arab Emirates (UAE)  
10  Qatar     
11       Pakistan                  
12    Israel                 
13    Bangladesh                       
14        Turkey               
15         Iran            
16  Sri Lanka       
17  Mongolia                    
18  Azerbaijan                  
19  Uzbekistan           
20  Turkmenistan                
Singapore's PR Numbers Over the Years
Have remained at around 500,000
The Minister stated that Singapore's immigration policy has been carefully adjusted, and over the years, the PR population has been kept stable at around 500,000.
Luckily we are malaysian...

Still got 60 percent chance...
Probability is not counted that way la .. haha ..

You have to account on the number applicants .. let's assume 300k per year, about 20% malaysian? That is about 60k >> assuming 15k of us will be granted. The chance is about 25%, which is the best case scenario because I excluded other SEA countries. If you were to assume about 5k for malaysian. That's about 8%.

This post has been edited by malz89: May 17 2024, 11:52 PM
malz89
post May 18 2024, 10:37 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 18 2024, 09:29 AM)
Some good employees who had been with them for many years couldn't switch to the new company due to the sg work pass issues.
They never applied for Singapore Permanent Residency after obtaining an S Pass?
Actually, Malaysians need to compete with Indian citizens, People's Republic of China (PRC) citizens, Myanmar citizens, and Filipino citizens in the maintenance sector.

These 4 countries citizens need an S Pass to become technician.
Malaysians only need a work permit to become technicians.

I know some small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) in sg that hire Malaysians with only a secondary school education or ITE graduates , but their technical skills are extremely strong (15 years plus).

However, they only receive a work permit but work as an engineer.
S-Pass/EP comes with age, that's the unfortunate truth. Although you have gained the experience over the years, you age too. So you will need promotion, but not increment. If a person who works 15 years but has never been promoted, likely to be placed under WP. Working for SME, they will squeeze you like crazy. Likewise, for PR application.

Since your S-Pass is only for 2 years, there's a lower likelihood of acceptance. So you may have to renew your pass once to increase your chances. So hopefully you get to renew by then. All the best.
malz89
post May 18 2024, 12:31 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 18 2024, 11:57 AM)
When I apply PR, my S pass still left 1 and half years.....

I nevet expect need more than 12 months....

And now almost gonna renew S Pass also
Oh you applied exactly 6 months? But you have been working for 9 years in singapore, likely they will take that into consideration ba. Why didn't your company issue you a longer pass? Is 2 years the most for s pass holders? Mine has always been 5 years ..
malz89
post May 18 2024, 07:02 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 18 2024, 06:35 PM)
That one is EP right?
I think S Pass 2nd time renew can use 3 years
Yes, it's EP. But some EP holders have shorter life span .. usually 2 years. Usually from PRC. But surprised even S Pass for malaysian has a short life span.
malz89
post May 18 2024, 07:03 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(niceit198 @ May 18 2024, 06:41 PM)
Try the best for the company not downgrade yours pass.

My fren s pass then downgrade wp like within 1 week then reject pr
Damm .. he must have been devastated. Why the downgrade? How long did he wait?
malz89
post May 18 2024, 08:56 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 18 2024, 08:34 PM)
S Pass renew can be 3 years......

If I not wrong,depends company and your passport lifespan also

Boss want to submit 2 years or 3 years?

Some company scare you get PR then run away,so they renew 2 years...
So stay loyal to them, haha. If they can't offer you an s pass, why would they have a quota for wp? How does it actually work? Wp no quota?
malz89
post May 18 2024, 09:46 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 18 2024, 09:09 PM)
https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/s...ta-requirements
https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/w...gn-worker-quota
The company has a certain quota for S Pass and Work Permit (WP) holders.
As far as I know, there is no quota for a company to hire Employment Pass (EP) holders.

However, the company cannot hire only EP holders.
If only the boss is Singaporean and all other staff are EP holders, this is not allowed.
Calculate foreign employee quota
Use the quota calculator to plan how many Work Permit and S Pass holders your company can hire. For your company’s current workforce and quota, you should always check Work Permit Online.
But if that's the case, why would they downgrade you? Unless they have a reason to do so, example, more quota for wp over spass. Both seems to be the same, aside from applying PR.
malz89
post May 18 2024, 09:56 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(blackie19 @ May 18 2024, 09:10 PM)
Wanna ask a question here:

My job is fully remote now and I WFH everyday from my house in JB. i get paid in SGD and I make contribution to CPF and Income tax as required. However, I don't really travel to SG anymore (maybe once every 2 months?).

Would this affect my REP renewal?
Shouldn't be a problem last time, but not sure now. It seems they are rather strict post covid. While you're contributing to CPF and taxes, yet not staying in sg. You may have to stay in sg for certain amount of days, iinm. Not sure commuting is accounted for this. Rather a grey area nowadays.

The reason why PR is more likely to be offered to us Malaysians because we are more likely to convert. So its a win-win situation for both parties. Singapore gain talents, and citizen, and us malaysian work our ass off for them.
malz89
post May 20 2024, 01:02 PM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(Lescotesco @ May 20 2024, 11:44 AM)
update:

my PR was approved few days ago. i submitted my application last year aug.

i follow up with them about 2 months ago by email and have no issue using the BM version of my birth cert.

phew now dont need to renew my EP anymore as i might not get it due to the min salary requirement for my age.
it is so hard to get EP now and even harder for next year

I think EP doesn't work that way. Salary is just part of it. I wouldn't have gotten my EP last year, had it followed as shown.

Anyway, grats, maybe we will meet each other at ica lol.
malz89
post May 24 2024, 09:52 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 24 2024, 01:16 AM)
I just send a enquiry email to ICA_PR@ica.gov.sg
Automated reply from them....

Before 22 may 2023 must inform by post

After the date is inform by email or post....
Continue to wait .. haha .. ica was quite empty .. but most approved PRs were family with kids ..
malz89
post May 24 2024, 10:37 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 24 2024, 10:26 AM)
When you go to ICA to collect your SG PR identity card, do you need to bring 3 photos, your work pass, IC, and passport?

So you've seen many parents bring their kids to get their SG PR identity card?
2 photos, your pass, passport, and other documents (education, etc). Like my case, I only needed to verify my marriage cert. They didn't bother to see my education. If you applied alone, you will have to show those.

Yes, mostly groups of family. Hardly individuals.
malz89
post May 24 2024, 11:34 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ May 24 2024, 10:54 AM)
Education cert must be original right?
They didn't request from me. But, it has to be the original.
malz89
post May 31 2024, 06:53 PM

1,116 posts

Sorry guys, just to check on the CPF contribution.

Wondering how does it work. My wife used to contribute gradually until it reached the max value. However, there's an option to go for full. The weird thing is now that my employer is offering to pay full while I pay gradually (if i understood correctly). How does that work? Option 3 sounds too good to be true lol ..

I would like to go for full, but paying 20% is a pain on my pocket too given that my monthly expenses is about 60%. I'm left with 20% for contingencies.
malz89
post Jun 1 2024, 09:38 AM

1,116 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ May 31 2024, 10:22 PM)
In my case, I opted for the slow and steady approach… (the same as your wife”s)
Ah OK, thanks

15 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:02 PM