Getting Charged RM1 for Debit Advice, What is it for?

TSwatabakiu
post Feb 2 2023, 10:19 PM, updated 3y ago

1,573 posts

This is weird. On 2nd of every month, my Maybank savings account gets charged RM1, and the description says Debit Advice. Whatever is it for?
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 2 2023, 10:41 PM

3,864 posts

Some auto debit scam. Curi 1 million account RM1 every month....easy money

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 2 2023, 10:42 PM
xander2k8
post Feb 3 2023, 04:09 AM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Feb 2 2023, 10:19 PM)
This is weird. On 2nd of every month, my Maybank savings account gets charged RM1, and the description says Debit Advice. Whatever is it for?
Check with Maybank and it looks like they overcharging you for some printed mail statements monthly πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 2 2023, 10:41 PM)
Some auto debit scam. Curi 1 million account RM1 every month....easy money
You watch too much TV πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 3 2023, 05:55 AM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 3 2023, 04:09 AM)
You watch too much TV πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
Nope. You better check your phone bill statements carefully. Some scammers secretly charge some SMS deduction for 10 / 20 cents to your account. I have made complaint and got my money back. At least they will think twice about scamming my account.

And have you heard of "Pencuri Satu Sen" back in the 90s? Stealing 1 cent from millions of bank ccounts.

I was actually involved in the new bank system to prevent this fraud after it was discovered.

So don't think it's only on TV. What you see on TV is only inspired by the real world.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 3 2023, 07:28 AM
HumbleBF
post Feb 3 2023, 12:06 PM

501 posts

I get charged Annual rm8 for the debit card which only use is to withdraw money, supposingly I can opt out for this, but the account I opened with Maybank was during when I was a teen, and thus unable to opt out

The only way is to close and reopen the account again which I prefer not to...so seems like I'm donating every year rm8 to Maybank..
xander2k8
post Feb 3 2023, 01:21 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 3 2023, 05:55 AM)
Nope. You better check your phone bill statements carefully. Some scammers secretly charge some SMS deduction for 10 / 20 cents to your account. I have made complaint and got my money back. At least they will think twice about scamming my account.

And have you heard of "Pencuri Satu Sen" back in the 90s? Stealing 1 cent from millions of bank ccounts.

I was actually involved in  the new bank system to prevent this fraud after it was discovered.

So don't think it's only on TV. What you see on TV is only inspired by the real world.
Not worried as my phone line is prepaid and data only so the scammers can steal anything from me whether SMS or not because the SMS is disabled out πŸ˜‚

It is cool back in the 90s you involved in that with such antiquated system now that the bank still uses πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
xander2k8
post Feb 3 2023, 01:22 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(HumbleBF @ Feb 3 2023, 12:06 PM)
I get charged Annual rm8 for the debit card which only use is to withdraw money, supposingly I can opt out for this, but the account I opened with Maybank was during when I was a teen, and thus unable to opt out

The only way is to close and reopen the account again which I prefer not to...so seems like I'm donating every year rm8 to Maybank..
It is one Maybank dirty tricks πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Report to BNM for their reference
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 3 2023, 02:33 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 3 2023, 01:21 PM)
Not worried as my phone line is prepaid and data only so the scammers can steal anything from me whether SMS or not because the SMS is disabled out πŸ˜‚

It is cool back in the 90s you involved in that with such antiquated system now that the bank still uses πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ
I think they don't use that system anymore. Not sure. Not involved in Bank projject since then.

You can disable to receive SMS meh? I also use prepaid and kena.

This post has been edited by CommodoreAmiga: Feb 3 2023, 02:34 PM
xander2k8
post Feb 3 2023, 02:50 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 3 2023, 02:33 PM)
I think they don't use that system anymore. Not sure. Not involved in Bank projject since then.

You can disable to receive SMS meh? I also use prepaid and kena.
Receive can but got back way to do it

The best is get a fresh prepaid and make sure no one knows the number or get a number difficult to remember even for you
hlyh1230
post Feb 5 2023, 08:54 PM

348 posts

I actually asked about this, said just need to go to the branch to switch debit card type...
HumbleBF
post Feb 6 2023, 12:51 AM

501 posts

QUOTE(hlyh1230 @ Feb 5 2023, 08:54 PM)
I actually asked about this, said just need to go to the branch to switch debit card type...
But I went to the branch and that's what they told me...may I ask what type debit card did you switch to?
Kadaj
post Feb 6 2023, 09:13 AM

586 posts

QUOTE(HumbleBF @ Feb 6 2023, 12:51 AM)
But I went to the branch and that's what they told me...may I ask what type debit card did you switch to?
Tell them you want to close saving account and open a basic saving account.

Saving account aka SA: Charge RM 8 annually, no limit on ATM withdrawal.
Basic saving account aka BSA: No annual fee RM 8, limit 4 times of ATM withdraw monthly.

Most people don't ask question when they open saving account, so banker choose to open SA instead of BSA for them so can charge the RM 8 annual fee.
contestchris
post Feb 6 2023, 09:38 AM

5,562 posts

Nonsense, I went to branch and changed. Why give away rm8 for life
xperiaDROID
post Feb 6 2023, 10:14 AM

K
3,966 posts

Same goes to Hong Leong, account opened during teenage days and they transitioned straight to savings account with fee without telling me there's a basic one without fees.

I was fine with it years ago but it's different now since I seldom withdraw cash nowadays and have been only using the card from the account for online and debit/e wallet payments.

Come to think of it, there's really no point to pay RM 8 yearly as I could have 2 meals with that money. laugh.gif
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 6 2023, 03:56 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Feb 6 2023, 10:14 AM)
Same goes to Hong Leong, account opened during teenage days and they transitioned straight to savings account with fee without telling me there's a basic one without fees.

I was fine with it years ago but it's different now since I seldom withdraw cash nowadays and have been only using the card from the account for online and debit/e wallet payments.

Come to think of it, there's really no point to pay RM 8 yearly as I could have 2 meals with that money. laugh.gif
RM8 can eat 2 meals? Roti Telur also RM5 at some places wei.
xperiaDROID
post Feb 6 2023, 04:26 PM

K
3,966 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 6 2023, 03:56 PM)
In my area still can find nasi lemak as breakfast for RM 1.5 and then nasi goreng biasa as lunch for RM 5.5, can add one more cup of air suam if needed, it's doable but can't really eat the same thing everyday lah, and to find similarly priced combos below RM 8 choices will be limited too. biggrin.gif
xander2k8
post Feb 6 2023, 06:46 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 6 2023, 03:56 PM)
Don’t use telur eat roti Bawang or plants instead cheaper πŸ˜‚

Possible two meals now vegeterian option and stay away from telur and chicken hence lower inflation πŸ‘
CommodoreAmiga
post Feb 6 2023, 07:03 PM

3,864 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Feb 6 2023, 06:46 PM)
Don’t use telur eat roti Bawang or plants instead cheaper πŸ˜‚

Possible two meals now vegeterian option and stay away from telur and chicken hence lower inflation πŸ‘
You order Telur Pisang from Original kayu is RM 6+. Roti Pisang normal Mamak also RM4 +
xander2k8
post Feb 6 2023, 10:46 PM

4,676 posts

QUOTE(CommodoreAmiga @ Feb 6 2023, 07:03 PM)
You order Telur Pisang from Original kayu is RM 6+. Roti Pisang normal Mamak also RM4 +
Don’t go Pisang at Kayu as they known for overpricing πŸ€¦β€β™€οΈ

Like I said roti Bawang if you’re lucky is at rm2 a piece now πŸ‘ or if not roti planta

littleprawnReborn
post Feb 7 2023, 08:30 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(watabakiu @ Feb 2 2023, 10:19 PM)
Did you apply for any auto monthly Debit payment from your account to make any payment for any expenses like insurance, etc
If yes, most likely that is the charges for i guess....

0.0172sec    0.44    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:06 PM