post Jan 26 2023, 08:01 PM

6,358 posts

Why not used Mazda 2?
axsatr
post Jan 26 2023, 08:09 PM

185 posts

This is always the most difficult question since 10 people will have 10 different answers

Go and test drive, and pick what you want
In the end not me paying, and using everyday
It is you, so better get something you like

Side note: if budget is tight prefer get something new, because of warranty

My remarks
Saga: actually pretty decent, if not slightly underpower. Reliability also okok because nothing fancy, so not much to go wrong
Myvi: good all rounder, with terrible build quality. Lots of rattling typically but won’t break down
Persona: Much better build quality, but sacrifice on fuel consumption and might have some reliability concerns
City: depends on who used before, maybe time for some wear and tear parts replacement - steering rack is frequent rosak, and CVT if always ram ram the car might have issues too
Bezza: It is an economical boat. fuel efficient but terrible to drive. Very reliable though

This post has been edited by axsatr: Jan 26 2023, 08:10 PM
h0riz0nLine
post Jan 26 2023, 08:20 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Jan 26 2023, 07:25 PM)
The problem with 1.3Litre is out of breath really easily. once reach 90kmh, feel out of power already and need to press deep if want to overtake with breeze.

My opinion is, why not just get newer persona lipas. its got more powerful 1.6L and newer with zero wear and tear. 1.3L is too weak owh. and it still under ur rm60k budget.
Persona lipas wow that funny

TSaneppp
post Jan 26 2023, 08:21 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(DS51 @ Jan 26 2023, 07:25 PM)
The problem with 1.3Litre is out of breath really easily. once reach 90kmh, feel out of power already and need to press deep if want to overtake with breeze.

My opinion is, why not just get newer persona lipas. its got more powerful 1.6L and newer with zero wear and tear. 1.3L is too weak owh. and it still under ur rm60k budget.
will put persona under my list also. thanks for the input
TSaneppp
post Jan 26 2023, 08:23 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Jan 26 2023, 08:01 PM)
Why not used Mazda 2?
im afraid i kenot tahan with the maintenance
TSaneppp
post Jan 26 2023, 08:25 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(axsatr @ Jan 26 2023, 08:09 PM)
This is always the most difficult question since 10 people will have 10 different answers

Go and test drive, and pick what you want
In the end not me paying, and using everyday
It is you, so better get something you like

Side note: if budget is tight prefer get something new, because of warranty

My remarks
Saga: actually pretty decent, if not slightly underpower. Reliability also okok because nothing fancy, so not much to go wrong
Myvi: good all rounder, with terrible build quality. Lots of rattling typically but won’t break down
Persona: Much better build quality,  but sacrifice on fuel consumption and might have some reliability concerns
City: depends on who used before, maybe time for some wear and tear parts replacement - steering rack is frequent rosak, and CVT if always ram ram the car might have issues too
Bezza: It is an economical boat. fuel efficient but terrible to drive. Very reliable though
thanks for your opinion. very much appriciated
pcdoctor_my
post Jan 26 2023, 08:46 PM

Shift Xtreme
808 posts

QUOTE(aneppp @ Jan 26 2023, 04:31 PM)
...my max budget is around 60k. this will be my first car since i started working for 3 years.

my main priority is easy to maintain, reliable in the long run, not a fuel guzzler and comfort. i will be using the car maybe just for the weekend and once a month going back to kedah from selangor.most of the time i will drive alone. weekday i will ride motor to work.

.. i gonna get married by next year so it will be my family car.

...if i take the saga i can make the installment shorter to 7 years and if i choose city maybe 7 years installment kinda hard for me and opt for 9 years

I'm not like the rest of the forumers or even /k tards which will advice you based on what they feel like. I'm gonna be blunt and straight-forward.

The moment I see these words like:
i) Max budget 60k
ii) Installments up to 9 years
iii) Have been working for 3 years

Clearly you are on a very tight budget but trying to biar papa asal bergaya. doh.gif
Yeah I know - Look good in front of future in-laws. "Wow...menantu dpt kete baru tu".. bisik ibu mertua.
Especially when you're gonna get married and that alone is like "buying another car" expenditure.

Wait, did you just said you worked for 3 years and yet you need to stretch your installments till 7years? If just started working 3-6 months I could understand but after 3 years of working?
If I were you, I would try to get a decent used ride. Something which can be paid in cash.
When i first dated with my wife until I got married - I tell you whats my 1st ride - Proton Wira hatchback. But of course thats the past.

For those new car warranty worshippers of course they would scream - "Buy new, peace of mind for 100 years during warranty" . You wont have a peace of mind when it comes to paying monthly installments for the next 108 months couple with your other monthly expenses.

But if you're gonna say - Screw the used cars advice, I'm still gonna get myself a new car. Okay fine, then go the Saga.

This post has been edited by pcdoctor_my: Jan 26 2023, 08:46 PM
TSaneppp
post Jan 26 2023, 09:13 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(pcdoctor_my @ Jan 26 2023, 08:46 PM)
I'm not like the rest of the forumers or even /k tards which will advice you based on what they feel like. I'm gonna be blunt and straight-forward.

The moment I see these words like:
i) Max budget 60k
ii) Installments up to 9 years
iii) Have been working for 3 years

Clearly you are on a very tight budget but trying to biar papa asal bergayadoh.gif
Yeah I know - Look good in front of future in-laws. "Wow...menantu dpt kete baru tu".. bisik ibu mertua. 
Especially when you're gonna get married and that alone is like "buying another car" expenditure.

Wait, did you just said you worked for 3 years and yet you need to stretch your installments till 7years? If just started working 3-6 months I could understand but after 3 years of working?
If I were you, I would try to get a decent used ride. Something which can be paid in cash.
When i first dated with my wife until I got married - I tell you whats my 1st ride - Proton Wira hatchback. But of course thats the past.

For those new car warranty worshippers of course they would scream - "Buy new, peace of mind for 100 years during warranty" . You wont have a peace of mind when it comes to paying monthly installments for the next 108 months couple with your other monthly expenses.

But if you're gonna say - Screw the used cars advice, I'm still gonna get myself a new car. Okay fine, then go the Saga.
wow thanks for the prompt reply. appreciate that 😄

nope im not the type that biar papa asal bergaya. im allocated that budget after minus my expenses, saving and other miscellaneous thing.

ive been dating my gf for the past two years until now just using my kapcai and public transport

not gonna elaborate further but thanks for your opinion and i will consider that too 😃
dogbert_chew
post Jan 26 2023, 10:48 PM

1,569 posts

If you're not in a hurry, can test drive the new Axia launching next month, lowest variant should be slightly above 30K.

Then can decide vs Saga.
cempedaklife
post Jan 26 2023, 10:55 PM

Master Decoy
4,361 posts

Based on your finance, saga.
City is good. At least mine, 12 years now. Still driving as main car. From bf gf to marry to 2 kids.

But really, saga suit you better now. Ain’t no shame.
Colinlim75
post Jan 26 2023, 10:59 PM

891 posts

Get the perodua alza, RM68K...

Good family car.

Can fetch your wife and parents together for dinner...

you won't regret.
wawasan2200
post Jan 27 2023, 12:08 AM

190 posts

axia
ghostcommand
post Jan 27 2023, 12:48 AM

671 posts

Just go with the new Saga, 2nd most expensive one. I think it's the Premium version. For RM40k it can't be beaten.

Think of it as a more budget version than Honda City.

1.3L is great for city driving. Cruising at highway 120km/h also no issue

This post has been edited by ghostcommand: Jan 27 2023, 12:48 AM
TSaneppp
post Jan 27 2023, 01:21 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(dogbert_chew @ Jan 26 2023, 10:48 PM)
If you're not in a hurry, can test drive the new Axia launching next month, lowest variant should be slightly above 30K.

Then can decide vs Saga.
QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Jan 26 2023, 10:55 PM)
Based on your finance, saga.
City is good. At least mine, 12 years now. Still driving as main car. From bf gf to marry to 2 kids.

But really, saga suit you better now. Ain’t no shame.
QUOTE(ghostcommand @ Jan 27 2023, 12:48 AM)
Just go with the new Saga, 2nd most expensive one. I think it's the Premium version. For RM40k it can't be beaten.

Think of it as a more budget version than Honda City.

1.3L is great for city driving. Cruising at highway 120km/h also no issue
thanks guys. saga is the best buck for now
keyser soze
post Jan 27 2023, 01:36 AM

571 posts

Go for saga, 2nd hand car interest is higher. If 9 years installment end up more expensive.
Of course if comfort and relative view is important after married then go for Honda.
Best is go for 2 years old 2nd hand Saga which still under warranty and you don't need to buy new car park at home most of the time. Some relative will look for you if they know you have under utilise car at home.
2nd hand car really need expert to help you check is the car no major accident or flooded car.

This post has been edited by keyser soze: Jan 27 2023, 01:37 AM
TSaneppp
post Jan 27 2023, 01:44 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Jan 27 2023, 01:36 AM)
Go for saga, 2nd hand car interest is higher. If 9 years installment end up more expensive.
Of course if comfort and relative view is important after married then go for Honda.
Best is go for 2 years old 2nd hand Saga which still under warranty and you don't need to buy new car park at home most of the time. Some relative will look for you if they know you have under utilise car at home.
2nd hand car really need expert to help you check is the car  no major accident or flooded car.
i dont care about my relative view, what matter to me is it didnt hurt my wallet. for now i will stick to saga and go for test drive soon.
thank for your opinion
DSV4600
post Jan 27 2023, 01:45 AM

432 posts

Extreme suggestion here:
1) Go for a Saga full-spec. Either new / 2nd hand one with full service records (mileage below 25,000).
2) Take a loan tenure that you can easily pay off in 3-5 years.
3) At the same time, buy Geely shares on HKEX on monthly basis (same repayment amount as your car loan) & DCA (dollar cost average).

5-years down the road, take profit from the shares & use it to buy a new car, and repeat the process all over again.
TSaneppp
post Jan 27 2023, 01:53 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(DSV4600 @ Jan 27 2023, 01:45 AM)
Extreme suggestion here:
1) Go for a Saga full-spec. Either new / 2nd hand one with full service records (mileage below 25,000).
2) Take a loan tenure that you can easily pay off in 3-5 years.
3) At the same time, buy Geely shares on HKEX on monthly basis (same repayment amount as your car loan) & DCA (dollar cost average).

5-years down the road, take profit from the shares & use it to buy a new car, and repeat the process all over again.
im not good at trading but thanks for the suggestion
keyser soze
post Jan 27 2023, 01:54 AM

571 posts

QUOTE(aneppp @ Jan 27 2023, 01:44 AM)
i dont care about my relative view, what matter to me is it didnt hurt my wallet. for now i will stick to saga and go for test drive soon.
thank for your opinion
When married, wife relatives also your relatives. Must get the best wife.
TSaneppp
post Jan 27 2023, 01:56 AM

61 posts

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Jan 27 2023, 01:54 AM)
When married, wife relatives also your relatives. Must get the best wife.
haha thanks for the advise. my relationship so far so good

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0198sec    1.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:39 PM