saga or honda city

littlefire
post Feb 7 2023, 04:25 PM

2,736 posts

QUOTE(THE CLASS OF 13 @ Feb 7 2023, 01:21 PM)
sorry for new locally grown perodua like myvi g3 axia alza and bezza(except ativa) some point are not applicable anymore especially the half cut parts luls.
due the fact that myvi g3 is locally developed with the help of daihatsu only powertrain and suspension component maybe available in used or halfcut market.. if you said for myvi icon or the older myvi then its accurate..
it is not as robust as older myvi...but still reliable..the headlamp for myvi g3 are not cheap..and the windscreen too..all those sensors etc only available as new and maybe need to order for few weeks..

more or less its the same as proton locally developed car but only with better japanese power train and spare parts availability. Other than that i dont think any other perks of latest perodua that are better than proton..

availability of aftermarket parts maybe is shopee motorsport right.
like tiktokers bezza and myvi..this one not entirely true previously you could use japanese aftermarket for older myvi..but now its the same parts from taiwan and malaysia especially those absorbers..ecu from thailand and etc..which is not much difference than proton aftermarket parts also..lol

1st point and 2nd point i agree but the other two points meh...
Newer range is still shared across, like Daihatsu Ayla/Toyota Agya/Wigo = Perodua Axia
Bezza is just an extented Axia, if want to mod the whole bodykit over it can be done for front face, but only special is the rear boot which is unique to us.
Perodua Alza = old model Daihatsu Boon Luminas/Toyota Passo Sette, New model shared with Toyota Avanza/Daihatsu Xenia/Veloz
New Myvi still using old chassis, but with so much advancement for local model not worth for half-cut. Engine & gearbox still usable across even half-cut from Japan & still consider affordable.

FYI, local half-cut shop can get from many other source like Singapore, Australia. Even Japan dont have similar model, they can get from other countries and even i heard before some rare half-cut even from UK, middle east & Africa also can ship in Malaysia. So with such common models across the globe, Proton Saga will be hard to win Perodua in term of spare parts flexibility.

Another nail to the coffin is the maintenance cost of Proton Campro engine againts Perodua. Just the timing belt change and the intake manifold whole plastic part (guarantee to fail or leak air after few years) how much need to add in those hidden cost?

That why i always want Proton to replace those ancient Campro engine and improve overall safety features. Just imagine if Proton Saga/Persona all fitted with the 1.5T engine, even no need turbo N/A version also should be more advance compare to Campro and at least better playing ground/terms when compare with perodua offerings.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Feb 7 2023, 04:37 PM
DenshaOtoko
post Aug 29 2024, 07:04 AM

130 posts

[quote=pcdoctor_my,Jan 26 2023, 08:46 PM]

Yeah I know - Look good in front of future in-laws. "Wow...menantu dpt kete baru tu".. bisik ibu mertua.
Especially when you're gonna get married and that alone is like "buying another car" expenditure.

When I was first met my mother in-law many years ago, I drove used Kelisa and still she approved her daughter to married me. 😄😄

A good mother/father in-laws will not judge you based on materialistic things, if you have a steady job and not a drug dealer, it should be fine.
MegaCanonF
post Aug 30 2024, 10:25 AM

880 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Jan 27 2023, 03:25 PM)
If you just want a car to go from point A - B
The peredua's will do the trick

If you wanted to experience fine handling
Proton saga is the way the way to go

If you want something to make yourself look good in the eye of others
Used city but advisable if you do some advance research on the model you want to buy so that you know what going on and not kena chop by mechanic.

If you want super bajet
Used myvi would be a good idea since it is common and parts are available, the again just do some research on the model before purchase.

Whatever you choose just make sure you can afford the repayment, no point driving something you like but worry about paying off your bill at the end of the day.
does handling matter in sub 50k cars really?
Quazacolt
post Aug 30 2024, 10:58 AM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 30 2024, 10:25 AM)
I personally think it does

Go test drive latest Iriz or Persona
If you get it, you'll love it. If you don't, it'll be just another "cheap" proton
Autocountstick
post Aug 30 2024, 11:04 AM

678 posts

used myvi/saga since 1st car and less driving skill
dwRK
post Aug 30 2024, 11:25 AM

the consummate chartist
6,251 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Aug 30 2024, 10:58 AM)
I personally think it does

Go test drive latest Iriz or Persona
If you get it, you'll love it. If you don't, it'll be just another "cheap" proton
Depends highly on ppl...

iirc... iriz manual very nice handling... had a kelisa drove it like go kart... still keeping my 19 yrs old low powered swift... biggrin.gif

minizian
post Aug 30 2024, 11:46 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(MegaCanonF @ Aug 30 2024, 10:25 AM)
Yes for me it does.
Why? Cos that what I am looking for so that I can enjoy my wee hour drive at Gohtong/ulu yam/Bkt Tinggi or Sepang Circuit.
Not really interested on post purchase modifications, hence was looking something that I can enjoy box stock apart from better tire/wheel combo.
For 50K new there only few choices and proton came on top that suit my criteria (part of my budget I have allocated to spares and consumables since I expect myself to use more than regular joes due to my driving pattern)

And for me usp is proton tend to tune those pre-geely cars to be have more sporty handling which got overshadowed by other issues.

No idea if they still do it for geely models but to be honest I doubt.

Well, if it doesn't matter to you so be it since all of have different needs and wants

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 30 2024, 11:52 PM

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0202sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 05:03 AM