Ride to Thailand discussion thread, ...sabai sabai...

jaycee1
post Dec 27 2024, 04:15 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(Voopoo @ Dec 27 2024, 01:27 PM)
Planning to ride to koh lanta solo ride from kl, first time doing such long distance ride. furthest i rode is hatyai
will be doing a stopover at hatyai for a night before continuing my journey

will be bringing zip ties, tyre cacing, air pump, torque wrench (should i?) as emergency repair kit , chain lube
any other essentials that i need to bring aside from those mentioned above?
any tips for the journey is appreciated as well
Ko Lanta isn't a very long ride.

Normally I would just pack the following
Tool kit (mine is customized to the sizes I use) + some spare bolts, zip ties
Pump + cacing + tyre screws

I usually dont carry chain lube, as I usually lube my chain with 75w90 gear oil before the trip. They tend to last longer than the spray on stuff. if a long trip, i just fill a small bottle and a toothbrush

Clutch cable is good to have a spare. I had a trip where my cable nearly snapped. held on by 4 wire strands by the time i made it back.

If you are going off road, bring a spare shift lever and clutch lever. Foot pegs , usually you can use/swap the rear ones in a pinch.

Ultimately, it depends on how much storage you have.

Buy Bike warrior coverage. 160 buys you a lot of peace of mind.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Dec 27 2024, 04:17 PM
mADmAN
post Jan 13 2025, 09:10 PM

10,530 posts

boys... anyone rode their bike onto koh phangan before?

thinking of doing kl - koh phangan - koh samui - kl

which ferry to take from donsak to phangan? and from phangan to samui?

if samui i know can take raja or seatran.

mind sharing some links on where to go etc?
Voopoo
post Jan 20 2025, 01:19 PM

69 posts

For purchasing insurance travelling to thailand, want to purchase extension 101, voluntary insurance and travel insurance. for bikes, if im insured with allianz i suppose i can only purchase it from allianz right?

and can i just purchase it from the outlets before kayu hitam instead of contacting the underwriter from the place i bought the bike from?
mADmAN
post Jan 20 2025, 02:54 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(Voopoo @ Jan 20 2025, 01:19 PM)
For purchasing insurance travelling to thailand, want to purchase extension 101, voluntary insurance and travel insurance. for bikes, if im insured with allianz i suppose i can only purchase it from allianz right?

and can i just purchase it from the outlets before kayu hitam instead of contacting the underwriter from the place i bought the bike from?
Yes, can only buy from ur insurance provider...tried before to get from a diff provider n cannot. N u have to buy directly from allianz so buy in advance.

But since ur allianz, u can contact ANF insurance (search fb) for all other thai insurances n they can also help buy 101 from allianz for a fee. It will take some time but definitely can be done as i did it before with them. But u still have to buy in advance.

Make sure to specify where u want to collect the documents. They have office in cheras (which i collected from) along with changlun n some other bordering towns.

If ur going thru a border that still requires a white card, they can do for u too...theyre like a 1.stop.shop.for all thailand related insurance... (101+CI+VI+TI)

Their after sales support is also pretty damn good n many.ppl who has had accidents in thailand swear by them...so u get that peace of mind.

Can check their fb for more.info

Remember to buy travel insurance as well for more peace of mind

This post has been edited by mADmAN: Jan 20 2025, 02:56 PM
jaycee1
post Jan 21 2025, 03:52 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

Any tried bike warrior support from Thailand? Ie breakdown etc? Any good?
ThE DaReDeViL
post Aug 26 2025, 10:25 PM

Anyone rode from KL to Golok before? Which route is the best to take? Specifically on holiday 13/9 - 15/9..
Might want to try explore there.. Or anyone interested? 😜
jaycee1
post Aug 28 2025, 04:01 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Aug 26 2025, 10:25 PM)
Anyone rode from KL to Golok before? Which route is the best to take? Specifically on holiday 13/9 - 15/9..
Might want to try explore there.. Or anyone interested? 😜
I would try to avoid Golok for now. Been some recent bombings.

Not sure if the Gua musang road is done or has a bypass made. Was seriously landslide damaged sometime back.
mADmAN
post Aug 28 2025, 04:31 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 21 2025, 03:52 PM)
Any tried bike warrior support from Thailand? Ie breakdown etc? Any good?
afaik bikewarrior doesnt cover thailand even with ext 101...

ur gonna have to get ur own tow to the border then only can get bike warrior.

i may be wrong about this but i remember someone telling me last time.

ANF Insurance has towing services for their customers. not sure about non customers.
ThE DaReDeViL
post Aug 28 2025, 11:34 PM

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 28 2025, 04:01 PM)
I would try to avoid Golok for now. Been some recent bombings.

Not sure if the Gua musang road is done or has a bypass made. Was seriously landslide damaged sometime back.
Bombing again? 😅 Thank you, will try search for the news first..
Anyway, so Gua Musang is the best route? It's still recommended by Google and show no obstruction..
TSWH4CockcooBird
post Aug 28 2025, 11:50 PM

194 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Aug 28 2025, 11:34 PM)
Bombing again? 😅 Thank you, will try search for the news first..
Anyway, so Gua Musang is the best route? It's still recommended by Google and show no obstruction..
If you have time, then take LPT to Kuantan and follow coastal road all the way to Rantau Panjang

icon_idea.gif
jaycee1
post Aug 29 2025, 11:39 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 28 2025, 04:31 PM)

ANF Insurance has towing services for their customers. not sure about non customers.
is it? maybe I need to read the fine print again. I always though they covered
ThE DaReDeViL
post Aug 29 2025, 01:37 PM

QUOTE(WH4CockcooBird @ Aug 28 2025, 11:50 PM)
If you have time, then take LPT to Kuantan and follow coastal road all the way to Rantau Panjang

icon_idea.gif
That's way too far bro.. More than 200km difference.. Was comparing

KL - Gua Musang - Bukit Bunga
KL - Ipoh - Gua Musang - Bukit Bunga (This route is the landslide route I think, so can skip)
KL - Kuala Kangsar - Baling - Bukit Bunga

Anyway, as another bro told there bombing In Narathiwat, might just cancel the trip.. cry.gif
It is not exactly in Golok anyway.. Might reconsider again.. Still got time.. 😅

jaycee1
post Aug 29 2025, 02:02 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 28 2025, 04:31 PM)

Ok here it is what it says.

Free towing service is provided to nearest Allianz authorized workshop.

I suppose still have to pay out of pocket for towing to border. After border can get free towing back to KL (out of your remaining 600km annual allocation). Anyway, still well worth the money.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Aug 29 2025, 02:05 PM
paskal
post Sep 2 2025, 10:55 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Aug 29 2025, 01:37 PM)
That's way too far bro.. More than 200km difference.. Was comparing

KL - Gua Musang - Bukit Bunga
KL - Ipoh - Gua Musang - Bukit Bunga (This route is the landslide route I think, so can skip)
KL - Kuala Kangsar - Baling - Bukit Bunga

Anyway, as another bro told there bombing In Narathiwat, might just cancel the trip..  cry.gif
It is not exactly in Golok anyway.. Might reconsider again.. Still got time.. 😅
If you wanna go to Golok, then just cross over at Rantau Panjang. but i don't think there's anything interesting in Golok.
Betong is better.

The most scenic route for bike i think is to take Karak, then exit to Bentong.
then to Raub, to Sungai Koyan.
from there i'd take the road to Ringlet, to Cameron Highland, to Lojing Highlang.
head to Pos Blau then to Gua Musang.
from Gua Musang you can take the road to Dabong, then Jeli
or you can take the normal Gua Musang to Kuala Krai, Machang then Rantau Panjang.

i'd take the long, scenic way if i'm on the bike.
ThE DaReDeViL
post Sep 2 2025, 09:43 PM

QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 2 2025, 10:55 AM)
If you wanna go to Golok, then just cross over at Rantau Panjang. but i don't think there's anything interesting in Golok.
Betong is better.

from there i'd take the road to Ringlet, to Cameron Highland, to Lojing Highlang.
or you can take the normal Gua Musang to Kuala Krai, Machang then Rantau Panjang.

I've been to Betong 1-2 times / month for the past 3 years because my partner is from there.. But now back to single already, so thinking of exploring new places which is not too far for this coming long weekend..
Ya I think Karak exit Bentong is the closest route.. But the plan currently on hold due to some risk of safety.. Maybe decide again by then when the date is near..

This post has been edited by ThE DaReDeViL: Sep 2 2025, 09:44 PM
mADmAN
post Sep 3 2025, 02:06 AM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(paskal @ Sep 2 2025, 10:55 AM)
Betong is better.

Damn...how long is the ride on that route?

paskal
post Sep 3 2025, 08:24 AM

armchair commando couch potato
2,801 posts

QUOTE(ThE DaReDeViL @ Sep 2 2025, 09:43 PM)
I've been to Betong 1-2 times / month for the past 3 years because my partner is from there.. But now back to single already, so thinking of exploring new places which is not too far for this coming long weekend..
Ya I think Karak exit Bentong is the closest route.. But the plan currently on hold due to some risk of safety.. Maybe decide again by then when the date is near..
can cross over at wang kelian and head to pak bara. or take the coastal road to krabi or phuket.
otherwise don't cross over to golok je. stay at kota bharu then ride back through coastal road to terengganu, pahang to karak.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 3 2025, 02:06 AM)
extra 100km only.

the road from sungai koyan to ringlet is one of the best riding road in malaysia IMO.
i would purposely go up to cameron highway through simpang pulai or tapah just to take the road to KL.

start after subuh, have early lunch at cameron then arrive at KB in the evening just nice to check in hotel.
jaycee1
post Sep 3 2025, 09:40 AM

AFK
2,484 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 3 2025, 02:06 AM)
Doable in a day. But would be a long day. But don't do it in the weekend. Ringlet to Kg baru is jammed solid on route to Gua musang Because you need to pass through the madness at Tanah Rata and Brinchang.

The shorter and much faster route albeit less scenic is NSE simpang pulai to blue mountain on route to Gua Musang and Rantau Panjang. Can probably get through to overnight at Golok.

Just a warning, there are quite a few big dips on the Sg Koyan road that can throw you off if you are not careful. Just watch for darker spots on the road.

Sg koyan road is one of my favourites. I recently did a solo Malaysia 1000 corner ride starting from Simpang Pulai -> Camerons -> Sg Koyan -> Raub -> Frasers Hill -> KKB -> Batang Kali -> Genting -> and back down via Karak to KL. about 6hrs excluding stops.

This post has been edited by jaycee1: Sep 3 2025, 09:50 AM
mADmAN
post Sep 3 2025, 10:41 PM

10,530 posts

Doable in a day... But only 1 way right? To balik kl will be another day la..

But at 509km one way...with all the twisties etc...would have been a great route to break in a new bike lol

Yeah i used to looooovee sg koyan as well...was on that road once a month before covid.

After covid mcm semangat died off edi n somemore cameron is insane lately with humans n traffic so potong stim

15 Pages « < 13 14 15Top

0.0186sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 07:05 AM