39 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

Hobbies Rubik's thread, Hello new here

fariq
post Nov 16 2008, 08:39 PM

hi i'm new here and i want to know if someone can solve the cube less than 30 second...i've been playing the cube for for a few month but my personal best is just 38 sec.....

Added on November 16, 2008, 8:43 pm
QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 15 2008, 06:19 PM)
Hi guys. Started cubing juz last week. Bought the Rm24.90 one from Toys'R'Us. Definitely better than the RM5 ones at pasar malam or Rm13 ones at Popular Book Stores.

Average time so far is 3 minutes. Occasionally breaking the 2 minute barrier. I can never train myself to look ahead... It feels so intuitive to solve the steps I'm doin at the moment before moving on.
hi i'm just trying to help so.....you should try the fridrich intuitive F2L it helps to cut off about 30 second if memorize all 7 cases...

Added on November 16, 2008, 8:56 pmum...where can i buy odd puzzle such as the megaminx or pyraminx?

This post has been edited by fariq: Nov 16 2008, 08:56 PM
SUSadvocado
post Nov 16 2008, 09:12 PM

2,948 posts

I saw a rubic Clock in Action City dunno if can play with it or just display purpose. It looks like it has only 3x3.

This post has been edited by advocado: Nov 16 2008, 09:13 PM
MorningBoyz
post Nov 17 2008, 11:06 AM

1,458 posts

halo i m new here biggrin.gif
just got a 3x3x3 cube from nTHtoSEy average time 3 minute XD
goin on to play 4x4x4 or 5x5x5 cube so looking around for a good 1 biggrin.gif
adeas
post Nov 17 2008, 04:44 PM

460 posts

im having my best cube right now...haha...
DJFoo000
post Nov 17 2008, 06:12 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

QUOTE(fariq @ Nov 16 2008, 08:39 PM)
hi i'm just trying to help so.....you should try the fridrich intuitive F2L it helps to cut off about 30 second if memorize all 7 cases...
LOL. I learnt to solve it from a friend. After happily learning it from her (yea after gettin used to the algorithms) den only know it's the fridrich method. Yea started off wit cross den F2L den yellow cross den corner pieces. Not exactly sure if the steps are exactly fridrich or not but those are the few stages I went thru in solving a cube. Cross and F2L I solve it w/o any algo juz logic and finger tricks.

Any tips like doin finger weightlifting (I ain't serious)? Or some special type of lube. Coz I been usin the same steps ppl on youtube are usin but still can hardly go under 60 secs.

This post has been edited by DJFoo000: Nov 17 2008, 06:21 PM
fariq
post Nov 17 2008, 06:32 PM

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 17 2008, 06:12 PM)
Any tips like doin finger weightlifting (I ain't serious)? Or some special type of lube. Coz I been usin the same steps ppl on youtube are usin but still can hardly go under 60 secs.
If you want to go under 60 seconds....try lubing your cube with silicon lubricant CRC brands works best but it smells a bit when you first use it but after it dry's and break in it's fine and your cube turn's nicely....I've personally tried vaseline or petroluem jelly it's quite good but you need to relube it after a month or it with damage your cube(i've been in this situation and is my first cube that's been damage sad.gif )....for pll you should visit www.cubewhiz.com and take alook at the pll page... wats your best time...
DJFoo000
post Nov 17 2008, 06:43 PM

Really? That's the best reply you can come up with?
3,000 posts

lol so far 1:09 skipping a few of the last permutations. Lucky la maybe didn't scramble enough. But on average 1:30 to 2:30. Noob time LOL.

Strangely my last steps weren't to get one full yellow side. I get a cross den orientate the cross den permute the corners and commutate the corners.
fariq
post Nov 17 2008, 06:55 PM

QUOTE(DJFoo000 @ Nov 17 2008, 06:43 PM)
lol so far 1:09 skipping a few of the last permutations. Lucky la maybe didn't scramble enough. But on average 1:30 to 2:30. Noob time LOL.

Strangely my last steps weren't to get one full yellow side. I get a cross den orientate the cross den permute the corners and commutate the corners.
i've used that method before my best time with that method is 1 min 03 seconds can't get faster than that thou...i've just swith from that method a month a go and it improved my time much....you can check at youtube for beginer oll and pll it's easy to understand if it's the right video.....

Added on November 17, 2008, 6:58 pmdoes anyone here use petrus method..if there is can you teach me the last step....the 4a and 4b...i don't understand how it work's

This post has been edited by fariq: Nov 17 2008, 06:58 PM
lunuwueju
post Nov 17 2008, 07:16 PM

same as me noob rubik player,just only know make all to "T" then dun know how to done it le tongue.gif
latias93
post Nov 17 2008, 08:04 PM

Peminat Setia Exists
1,270 posts

Lol a few months ago got Rubiks Cube craze in my school, during rehat, during class, during perhimpunan people trying to solve hard xD

In the end the impose new rule "Rubiks Cube atau permainan yang sama dengannya tidak dibenarkan di kawasan sekolah"

They had to drop the rule, because the ones playing it are the smarty pengawas LOL!
fariq
post Nov 17 2008, 09:18 PM

QUOTE(latias93 @ Nov 17 2008, 08:04 PM)
Lol a few months ago got Rubiks Cube craze in my school, during rehat, during class, during perhimpunan people trying to solve hard xD

In the end the impose new rule "Rubiks Cube atau permainan yang sama dengannya tidak dibenarkan di kawasan sekolah"

They had to drop the rule, because the ones playing it are the smarty pengawas LOL!
It's the same thing at my school......first was my friend then he stop playing a week....i thought it would be cool to be able to solve it so i asked him...he said one word...youtube...so when i bought a eastsheen cube and solved it during recess someone saw me and weeks later my friend started playing again and many have joined...it was like crazy ...event a teacher that teaches me borrow my cube and play it...
fireace123
post Nov 18 2008, 12:50 AM

QUOTE(fariq @ Nov 17 2008, 06:55 PM)

does anyone here use petrus method..if there is can you teach me the last step....the 4a and 4b...i don't understand how it work's
4a and 4b?
The F2L?

It's just F2L!

It's almost the same as Fridrich's F2L, the only difference is that, in Petrus, you can only turn the two sides that will not destroy the 2x2x3 block.

For example, if you are building your block at the FLB side, you can only turn R and U to complete the F2L.

I am not sure is there any "usual" way of doing it, but, for me, I will place the bottom edge first, ie, the BR edge. Then proceed with the 2 pairs of F2L.
This step itself is actually not having any algorithms, you can complete the F2L intuitively.

The examples in Petrus' site are different with my way though. Probably it's because I am actually Fridrich user, I am more familiar to forming the cross first, by placing the BR piece, I am actually completing the cross.
laliloo
post Nov 18 2008, 06:21 AM

aloha achiko walalalala~
678 posts

QUOTE(adeas @ Nov 17 2008, 04:44 PM)
im having my best cube right now...haha...
by that which cube u mean?
Teegy
post Nov 18 2008, 11:19 AM

is anyone playing megaminx here?i found less ppl play it...
fariq
post Nov 18 2008, 12:10 PM

QUOTE(fireace123 @ Nov 18 2008, 12:50 AM)
4a and 4b?
The F2L?

It's just F2L!
It's almost the same as Fridrich's F2L, the only difference is that, in Petrus, you can only turn the two sides that will not destroy the 2x2x3 block.

For example, if you are building your block at the FLB side, you can only turn R and U to complete the F2L.

I am not sure is there any "usual" way of doing it, but, for me, I will place the bottom edge first, ie, the BR edge. Then proceed with the 2 pairs of F2L.
This step itself is actually not having any algorithms, you can complete the F2L intuitively.
The examples in Petrus' site are different with my way though. Probably it's because I am actually Fridrich user, I am more familiar to forming the cross first, by placing the BR piece, I am actually completing the cross.
I know it's just f2l but if i use fridrich f2l there wouldn't be a cross at the top when i finished the f2l....i saw someone use the petrus and everytime he he finished the f2l there would be a cross formed on top....i want to learn it as i'am to lazy to memorize all 57 algorithm for the oll..

Added on November 18, 2008, 12:17 pm
QUOTE(Teegy @ Nov 18 2008, 11:19 AM)
is anyone playing megaminx here?i found less ppl play it...
Where did you bought you megaminx and pyraminx i want to buy one...

This post has been edited by fariq: Nov 18 2008, 12:17 PM
adeas
post Nov 18 2008, 12:56 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(laliloo @ Nov 18 2008, 06:21 AM)
by that which cube u mean?
diy type d + type-a core + cubesmith tiles + crc silicon lube inside...but still can't get below 50 s..lol
userdoubleo
post Nov 18 2008, 02:49 PM

QUOTE(slacker @ Aug 19 2008, 04:07 AM)
Hi, just to intro myself here. Newbie to rubik's cube. Now can solve by LBL method. I'm looking into Human Thistlethwaite Algorithm in Heise website. Anyone can guide me on that? Don't understand the instruction there and the youtube link provided don't help much at all.
Um, yeah. Neither the videos on youtube or that guy really made much sense to me either... but I finally figured it out and can solve with the Human-Thistlethwaite. Here is a page with what I figured out, I really hope it helps.
http://sim314.s5.com/Solve/Solve.html

This post has been edited by userdoubleo: Nov 18 2008, 02:50 PM
fireace123
post Nov 18 2008, 07:21 PM

QUOTE(fariq @ Nov 18 2008, 12:10 PM)
I know it's just f2l but if i use fridrich f2l there wouldn't be a cross at the top when i finished  the f2l....i saw someone use the petrus and everytime he he finished the f2l there would be a cross formed on top....i want to learn it as i'am to lazy to memorize all 57 algorithm for the oll..
ahh, it seems that the problem you face is on the third step, twisting bad edges, that's exactly where I faced difficulties while learning Petrus too.

It's actually not that hard, just that I was too lazy to read all description in detail.

Here's the idea, fixing the "bad edges", so that after completing F2L, top cross is automatically formed.
The point here is "bad edges".

It's a bit difficult on how to define this term,
take a look at all the animated diagram in Petrus' site, you should be able to understand.
fariq
post Nov 18 2008, 07:45 PM

QUOTE(fireace123 @ Nov 18 2008, 07:21 PM)
ahh, it seems that the problem you face is on the third step, twisting bad edges, that's exactly where I faced difficulties while learning Petrus too.

It's actually not that hard, just that I was too lazy to read all description in detail.
Here's the idea, fixing the "bad edges", so that after completing F2L, top cross is automatically formed.
The point here is "bad edges".

It's a bit difficult on how to define this term,
take a look at all the animated diagram in Petrus' site, you should be able to understand.
thanks smile.gif but i've already visit that site month earlier and i still can't understand it...... rclxub.gif
fireace123
post Nov 18 2008, 07:54 PM

erm...
for instance, take white as R and green as U,
the white sticker of the edges should be all facing R, the green sticker should be facing U, that's called "correct edges", anything apart from that, it's a bad ones.

If the white edges aren't in R face, you can make some U and R moves to see whether it's correct or not, same applies to green ones.

Hope it helps.

39 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 09:37 AM