So that's what the apps does, wei. When i was on Celcom, the "E" icon was present on top left on the status bar, but remain greyed out. Only turn blue when i went on DiGi.
OT - Wei, itchy for Leopard. Bila keluar? Macbook is calling!
And oh, peace.
Hardware iPhone club v2.0, read post #1 for details...
Oct 8 2007, 08:12 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Reports on Hackint0sh states that some waaayyy out of nowhere stores , like in Utah or upstate New York near Jersey may still hold 1.0.2 iPhones. Just a matter of hunting for them.
So that's what the apps does, wei. When i was on Celcom, the "E" icon was present on top left on the status bar, but remain greyed out. Only turn blue when i went on DiGi. OT - Wei, itchy for Leopard. Bila keluar? Macbook is calling! And oh, peace. |
Oct 8 2007, 08:49 PM
@ Wei,
sigh......i hope they dont delay it the second time. |
Oct 8 2007, 09:30 PM
You dont have your EDGE turned on when you were talking on the phone do you?
The nature of these things, if EDGE is used, your cell network goes offline, and vice versa. If you have your EDGE turned on, and set your Mail or other apps to retrieve updates on selected intervals, it may have prompted the iPhone to switch EDGE on, and disconnects you off the cell network. That's how i understand EDGE works on the iPhone. Which is why EDGE downloads the data you need in packets, so that you dont get disconnected off your cell network for too long. For longer data sessions, you need to go Wifi. This i recall from posts in HAckint0sh, which i cannot verify whether it is true or not. Feel free to correct me if im wrong. |
Oct 8 2007, 09:36 PM
Great info there, i suggest moving this to the first post.
Although the info on the production week is mostly correct, there was, and still is, a thread going on in Hacknt0sh about trying to identify firmware version with serial numbers. Even if you feel despaired that week 39 iPhones are going to 1.1.1, there are reported cases that some week 39 iPhones are still 1.0.2. Anything beyond week 39, is almost certainly 1.1.1. Mine's week 30 btw. |
Oct 8 2007, 09:57 PM
Cant really say what apps uses data download via EDGE in automatic fashion, but i had Mail coming in "when it comes" into the mailbox, although i've set the setting in the Mail pane as "Manual" . Other apps like Weather, or Google Mapsonly uses the connection when it is accessed upon. 3rd party apps are mostly the culprit here, i have forgotten to log off Apollo Im with my two MSN logins, and it kept the line on , and alive before i realized and turned it off.
So for Mail at least, if you dont want the iPhone getting your mails without you knowing it, you can set it to "Manual" on the Mail pane in Settings. Otherwise, you have the option to set it to look up your mailbox every 15 minutes, 30 minutes or every 1 hour. Just remember, Installer.app too uses data connection. I have not seen it anymore now since i've changed how the default icon of Installer.app looks, but if i recall correctly, if there are new apps, or new updates for existing apps on Installer, it will display a numbered circle on top left of the Installer icon, stating that there is a new update. That may be the case of earlier versions of Installer.app, i have not seen this on latest Installer versions. Or i may have discarded this ability altogether since im im using a different icon (from a theme i installed) for Installer and it may not display this "numbered circle" thingy. |
Oct 8 2007, 10:08 PM
QUOTE(keeekeee @ Oct 8 2007, 09:49 PM) You need to get the stock code for this. First thing, try input the name of the company in the search field. If it does not return any results, then you have to scour the net for its stock code. If the company is small and unknown, it may not be listed, or searchable using the search field in the iPhone.I tried Malaysia Airlines, DiGi and Tenaga Nasional, those are there. Surprisingly, Petronas is not searchable or listed....i may need to look for its specific stock code. |
Oct 8 2007, 10:18 PM
I left those fields empty, limyusiong. What did it say on yours?
Oct 8 2007, 10:46 PM
Yup, very cool! Need to find stock numbers for the companies im interested in. Any idea where to find them, wei?
Oct 8 2007, 11:08 PM
QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 8 2007, 10:47 PM) QUOTE(wei @ Oct 8 2007, 10:56 PM) Anyone wanna try out Apollo Im on iPhone, add me in on MSN. It's mdnadzri@streamyx.com . Currently trying to figure out Limyusiong's problem, he cant access Apollo Im via his MSN. |
Oct 8 2007, 11:14 PM
Oct 8 2007, 11:20 PM
One curious point i'd like to bring up, which is currently plaguing Limyusiong and his ApolloIM.
Have any of you guys have your installation of applications, unable to uninstall because the app does not appear under the "Uninstall" tab in Installer? I got into this fix a few times, particularly with my Summerboard. Had to uninstall via iBrickr to do a clean slate and reinstall from there. Limyusiong had the same problem here, and im asking him to clear his Apollo IM installation via iBirckr and start over. He cannot seem to get online with his Apollo IM, and when he could, he cant seem to talk to his buddies on MSN. Anybody else had any issues on Apollo IM, particularly on MSN network? Mine works fine, i just had to supply the login name and password and got in without any issue. Manage to see those on the list, as well. I cant see why Limyusiong should be facing any problem whether he logs in via his notebook or iPhone, since i did it myself, and it automatically logs off from the messenger on my laptop and goes into Apollo IM login. Weird...... |
Oct 8 2007, 11:34 PM
The forecast works fine by me. Mainly use it to determine if i need to carry winter clothing or not. Frankfurt's pretty chilly at 5C now, but i could get away with a denim jacket for tomorrow's work trip.
Limyusiong just solved his problem with Apollo IM on iPhone, he should be here later with his findings. Added on October 8, 2007, 11:34 pmHah, speak of the little devil! Congratulations, Limyusiong! Glad i can help. This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 8 2007, 11:34 PM |
Oct 9 2007, 12:28 AM
Oct 9 2007, 12:54 AM
Oct 15 2007, 01:35 AM
Phew...finally able to got off the Raya festivities and get back here to see what's happening on the iPhone front.
Went to Epicenter Pavilion, not too shabby. In fact, they are the only store i know that carry iPhone cases, made by iSkin. Not my kind of case though, but others may like to give them a look. ![]() Here's my current look on my iPhone. Turned off the icon labels, turned off the theme wallpaper and add my own. That way, any uninformed user will not be able to determine what icon does what, so i can somewhat avoid users from abusing my iPhone. And trust me, there are many who are keen to see what's on my Summerboard, this way, i'll keep the mechanics of my iPhone Summerboard to myself. The iPhone now resides on the Video iPod cradle , charging happily via USB. I cant use the old cradle that comes with the iPhone, since i've introduced the clear case/holster on it. |
Oct 15 2007, 04:16 AM
Modding the Summer/Springboard? Easy as pie!
Download your favourite theme from AppTapp/Installer.app , then you can customise it within Summerboard preferences. Or do it like what wei does, make your own Springboard backgrouns and icons! Use an app called "Customise" and fire away with your own homemade icons. Preliminary report on my current attempt on jailbreaking the iPod Touch? Success!!! Used the TIFF exploit, and it's a one shot deal from there. |
Oct 15 2007, 02:50 PM
Oct 15 2007, 03:16 PM
Oct 15 2007, 04:10 PM
Yup, let others guess what's what. Kinda keep things personal to yourself in my opinion.
Oct 15 2007, 08:31 PM
Looks like sooner or later , i'd have to get myself into creating custom icons for my apps. It's freaking untidy to have all other icons in-sync with the theme, and stray apps bearing default icons. But my lazy ass is still against doing this. Litho sorta makes every other stray icons looks llike it belonged in the theme, which is why i picked it. I had the Halo Theme and Wii V2 Theme by Optic which is phenomenal........provided all other icons stay within the theme design.
Added on October 15, 2007, 8:46 pmHere are my favourites:- ![]() Original Prado ![]() Halo 3 ![]() Wii V2 ![]() Vintage ![]() Freaking cool Halo 3 theme! Again, all this coolness are ruined by stray icons not staying within the theme design. It's sickening to see ApolloIM or SMBPref or iShare icon at default destroying the beauty of these themes..........sigh This post has been edited by stringfellow: Oct 15 2007, 08:46 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0313sec
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 04:06 AM |