I wonder members here have their own Best of 2023 list?? So many things came out last year it's hard to follow.
[V33] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club
Jan 23 2024, 12:32 PM
3,396 posts Joined: Mar 2005 From: KL |
I wonder members here have their own Best of 2023 list?? So many things came out last year it's hard to follow.
Jan 24 2024, 10:28 AM
QUOTE(kurogane @ Jan 23 2024, 07:00 PM) I'm interested in GMK keycaps but the prices are kinda ridiculous. Is there somewhere in KL that might have GMK keycaps for display? Mecha KL and PCMOD have them on display with some high end keebs.QUOTE(horns @ Jan 23 2024, 09:30 PM) What's your preferred plate and mounting style?For me, I remember getting gmk67 start of the year and thought its my endgame for a while. Blink an eye and all sorts of products just keep pouring out LOL My highlight is probably modding my "first" mechanical keyboard Keychron V1. Stock with steel is too rigid, after installed alu plate, hmx swifts and loosen the innards a bit, its a fun typing machine now. |
Jan 24 2024, 11:37 AM
Jan 30 2024, 06:08 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Jan 24 2024, 12:30 PM) if i die die must pick one, a tuned tray-mount with aluminum plate. the truth is, i'm ok with all plate-mounting styles, because they have own strengths and weaknesses, in terms of overall typing experience and maintenance. all of them can be tuned to user's taste. Yeah my first is the Corsair too, MX reds K65 TKL. Great for gaming but I eventually hated it later because of how light and how error prone i am LOL.yes, all of us have our own first mkb, and it always has a special space in our mind haha mine is a full-size soldered prebuilt, corsair k70 rgb, with cherry mx red rgb. it's almost 10 years old now. many years after it retired, i bought few sets of corsair thick shine-through pbt double-shot keycaps, just to replace its stock but worn thin abs keycaps, and then put it back into storeroom hehe i also have a small collection of old prebuilts from filco, ikbc, varmilo, leopold, ducky, cooler master, etc. most of them are with cherry mx key switches, and few topre. after that i started to make own custom, and explore parts. back then, everything was scarce, limited, and hard to get. it's a good journey I only started dabble into modding late last year, but kind of amazed by how popular the hobby become. KL already have wut, 4 physical stores now? And also plenty of helpful and passionate sales/forumers/enthusiast around. Even for those not heavily into typing, I feel this is a simple yet rewarding hobby that just requires a bit of spare time and cheap tools to get you goin. |
Feb 2 2024, 05:28 PM
Can keycaps stem break easily?
I was reading the Noctua keycap reviews and was surprised to see people broke theirs! Even my capalang copy caps dont feel this fragile. |
Feb 19 2024, 03:02 PM
QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 14 2024, 10:56 AM) Anyways, just wanna ask all the sifu, what is the next step/improvements that i can do to my keyboards to improve the typing experience even more? Where do i start? Step by step please! Don't expect me to be a pro. I don't even have the right tools, looking for somewhere small to start that doesn't require crazy skills yet. For my Keychron V1, My main target is to make the board more fun to type, less rigid typing feel and more pronounce sounds. These are the mods i've done-Switches changed from stock blues to now HMX Hyacinths v2 (stock blues are yuck, while Hyacinths v2 are incredibly tight and very nice clear clack sounding -Plate changed from Steel to Aluminium (made the typing feel and sounds more lively and less dull, but causes board to be much lighter) -Took out the plate foam (usually I dislike foam so I took them out) -Added two layers of tape (usually I don't do this but it sounds better here) -The (plate) screws i loosely screwed them in, also added small pieces of foam in between for a less rigid type feel -I might have added tiny bit more lube in the stabs, dont rmb really After these mods I find the board much more fun to use now. I remember I used to dislike it during gaming or hard typing sessions because of how much the hard steel plate feedback to my fingers, now it's comfortable and sounds lovely. The only small con is the lighter weight but I don't mind it since I do bring it around a bit. |
Mar 22 2024, 11:21 AM
Lets see your Tomo!
Mar 22 2024, 04:37 PM
Could be the lighting but that's an olive green right? naisu
I wish I have a Olive green Jane hahaha |
Mar 22 2024, 06:20 PM
Checked out the Emerala, it also seem to have great color. Hows their keycap quality?
I actually have a green Neo80 TKL incoming, pretty stoked about it. |
Mar 25 2024, 10:03 AM
Nah...in moderation anything can be good Here's my Neo80! ![]() Moogle Stiltzkin, horns, and 1 other liked this post
Apr 1 2024, 12:32 PM
Anyone here likes clicky switches? Anything to recommend?
Apr 2 2024, 11:44 AM
QUOTE(kurogane @ Apr 1 2024, 06:37 PM) Nice, I tried a sample Jade and liked it too. Do you find it tiresome while gaming?I was thinking of swapping springs in case not used to it, but read that it is not as simple in clickys... QUOTE(LegendLee @ Apr 2 2024, 09:44 AM) If you like clickies, it’s worth checking out some tactile switch which are more clacky too. Any tactiles you can recommend?Combine a clacky switch such as the haimu benevolence with an aluminum plate and board and you’ll get a pretty clacky experience. |
Apr 3 2024, 10:31 AM
True. i'm using leftovers keychron blues that i used to hate venomously but after lubing i find like you i actually type and games better because of the honest feedback it gaves lol The whole rattles and high pitch sounds are just bonus nostalgia points, iciing on the cake.
Maybe im just OD on clacky linears and wanted a breathe of fresh air..lets see |
Apr 4 2024, 11:50 AM
To me they aint so bad after lubed.
Sometime they rang like chirstmas bell.. very festival mood i like... hahaha |
Apr 5 2024, 09:45 AM
lol I cant stand my 65% when paying BG3 too..
So far is GMK the brightest sounding caps? Anyone knows who manufactures keychron caps? Is it related to ePBT? |
Apr 5 2024, 11:37 AM
Apr 6 2024, 04:39 PM
If you like clack HMX linears are a must try. zzzz52 liked this post
Apr 12 2024, 09:55 AM
Yeah there's Monsgeek M2 and also a bunch of Keychron 100% models. Other than that I haven't seen many full size offerings. These days I feel there are many cheaper and better switches than Cherries MX, although "better" is a totally relative term form one guy to another lol Moogle Stiltzkin liked this post
Apr 22 2024, 06:25 PM
QUOTE(Ender @ Apr 22 2024, 10:26 AM) Hi newbie here need suggestion on new mechanical keyboard Can consider budget aluminium keyboard like thesebudget around rm3XX looking at Phantom 87+ elite rk royal kludge m75 i prefer to have a adjustable kickstand Leobog Hi75 Sugar65 Zuoya GMK81/87 non alu Keychron V are valid choice too This post has been edited by quarantined: Apr 22 2024, 06:40 PM |
Apr 23 2024, 12:27 PM
Nice, Post a review and some pics when arrived.
| Change to: | 0.0177sec
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 10:28 AM |