87 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Bottom

[V33] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

quarantined
post Feb 19 2024, 03:02 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 14 2024, 10:56 AM)
Anyways, just wanna ask all the sifu, what is the next step/improvements that i can do to my keyboards to improve the typing experience even more? Where do i start? Step by step please! Don't expect me to be a pro. I don't even have the right tools, looking for somewhere small to start that doesn't require crazy skills yet.
For my Keychron V1, My main target is to make the board more fun to type, less rigid typing feel and more pronounce sounds. These are the mods i've done

-Switches changed from stock blues to now HMX Hyacinths v2 (stock blues are yuck, while Hyacinths v2 are incredibly tight and very nice clear clack sounding
-Plate changed from Steel to Aluminium (made the typing feel and sounds more lively and less dull, but causes board to be much lighter)
-Took out the plate foam (usually I dislike foam so I took them out)
-Added two layers of tape (usually I don't do this but it sounds better here)
-The (plate) screws i loosely screwed them in, also added small pieces of foam in between for a less rigid type feel
-I might have added tiny bit more lube in the stabs, dont rmb really

After these mods I find the board much more fun to use now. I remember I used to dislike it during gaming or hard typing sessions because of how much the hard steel plate feedback to my fingers, now it's comfortable and sounds lovely. The only small con is the lighter weight but I don't mind it since I do bring it around a bit.
niakulah
post Feb 20 2024, 01:22 PM

Senior Artisan
1,275 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Feb 17 2024, 01:44 PM)
no idea.

i tried help but found nothing useful, e.g., using google image search, i found this ebay link, https://www.ebay.com.my/itm/142922652172
Ya I did the image search thing as well. Thanks for trying.

Oh well, I asked for a refund and Shopee ruled in my favour. Didn't have the ship the dang thing back to China.
horns
post Feb 20 2024, 06:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Feb 20 2024, 01:22 PM)
Ya I did the image search thing as well. Thanks for trying.

Oh well, I asked for a refund and Shopee ruled in my favour. Didn't have the ship the dang thing back to China.
it's a terrible experience for both you and the seller.

i usually skip sellers who cannot tell me more than 'ready stock', unless i already obtained information that i need to make the stuff works. it's just one of little things that i do to minimize disappointment.
scchan107
post Feb 22 2024, 08:02 AM

205 posts

QUOTE(niakulah @ Feb 16 2024, 03:11 PM)
Anyone have any idea where I can get the software in this screenshot?
[attachmentid=11491263]
I bought a cheap macropad from a Chinese dropshipper who barely speaks English and this is my only clue on how to program it. Lol.
Looks like ASCII 7 bit? (Sorry if I'm captain obvious here)

But I'm not familiar with any software that maps key based on ASCII and/or mouse input
horns
post Feb 24 2024, 02:03 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

if you had wired pcbs of tkd cycle7, you can use the code to make your own firmware.

the bootloader for these pcbs is uf2boot. to generate firmware in .uf2 format, you need to edit info.json:

1. find the line:
CODE
"bootloader": "stm32duino",

2. replace it with:
CODE
"bootloader": "uf2boot",
"board": "STM32_F103_STM32DUINO",

as of this writing, the same code can be used for hotswap and solderable wired pcbs. it's NOT meant for wireless pcbs.

thanks to Eason for the confirmations and helps. now cycle7 is good for even beginners to experiment and learn stuff. you can also find replacement pcb (different vendor, hence the code above will not work), and additional plate types at taobao.

edit: for fail-safe purpose, always keep the stock firmware (this can be downloaded from #tkd-news in discord). this is handy when shits happen.

This post has been edited by horns: Feb 24 2024, 09:31 AM
LegendLee
post Mar 12 2024, 11:06 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,718 posts

Recently purchased a Haute 42 keypad controller.
It's basically a much cheaper hitbox (for fighting games) at a fraction of the price.

It came with leobog graywood V4 which was a bit too light and clacky for me. Replaced it with Lichicx Goodbye Tactile Switches and it felt much better.

horns
post Mar 15 2024, 01:55 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

finally updated the firmware of tomo last night. for boards that are with a daugtherboard, make sure that the cable is installed correctly in terms of direction/orientation.

i did it wrongly, so previously i could still use the board, but couldn't update the firmware due to the wrong orientation.

for those who need ai03's replacement daughterboard (U1), https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?id=6582512...d=4755010677191 (tested; works fine)

quarantined
post Mar 22 2024, 11:21 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Lets see your Tomo!
horns
post Mar 22 2024, 03:04 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Mar 22 2024, 11:21 AM)
Lets see your Tomo!
currently with jwk jade rabbit, and jtk emerala haha

This post has been edited by horns: Mar 22 2024, 03:04 PM
quarantined
post Mar 22 2024, 04:37 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Could be the lighting but that's an olive green right? naisu

I wish I have a Olive green Jane hahaha
horns
post Mar 22 2024, 05:41 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Mar 22 2024, 04:37 PM)
Could be the lighting but that's an olive green right? naisu

I wish I have a Olive green Jane hahaha
yes it's olive green.

it's a good top-mount. the current combo is one of the few that i can type all day long without having the intention to swap haha

quarantined
post Mar 22 2024, 06:20 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Checked out the Emerala, it also seem to have great color. Hows their keycap quality?

I actually have a green Neo80 TKL incoming, pretty stoked about it.

horns
post Mar 22 2024, 07:37 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Mar 22 2024, 06:20 PM)
Checked out the Emerala, it also seem to have great color. Hows their keycap quality?

I actually have a green Neo80 TKL incoming, pretty stoked about it.
for cherry profile, jtk has improved compared to old days. it took them quite a while to catch up with gmk. it's not there yet, but it's getting better these days. (relatively speaking. jtk and domikey produce better quality cherry profile sets. however only few are with lesser flaws)

i will try out their hsa profile (half-sa) later. if it's like osa profile like what i suspected, then it's ok to get more lol

nice. in terms of tkl, i will wait for geon's glare tkl.

horns
post Mar 22 2024, 08:01 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

you reminded me that jtk ride is with me since few weeks ago. it's meant for cycle7. i will check it out later haha

edit: i bought stuff from time to time. this has become a habit that i still do not wanna let go.

the habit that i actually let go is posting pictures haha

it's a hobby of syok sendiri after all biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by horns: Mar 22 2024, 08:08 PM
quarantined
post Mar 25 2024, 10:03 AM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Nah...in moderation anything can be good biggrin.gif

Here's my Neo80!

zzzz52
post Mar 25 2024, 11:13 AM

Weeeeeeeeee
1,177 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Mar 22 2024, 07:37 PM)
for cherry profile, jtk has improved compared to old days. it took them quite a while to catch up with gmk. it's not there yet, but it's getting better these days. (relatively speaking. jtk and domikey produce better quality cherry profile sets. however only few are with lesser flaws)

i will try out their hsa profile (half-sa) later. if it's like osa profile like what i suspected, then it's ok to get more lol

nice. in terms of tkl, i will wait for geon's glare tkl.
I thought glare tkl was shipped previously? Are u purchasing direct from Geon?
I did want to buy one previously, but after calculating, it would cost more than RM3K total if I'm not mistaken, which I was reluctant to pull the trigger. haha
Does Domikey have official store in taobao?

I have a set of JTK 9009 and I'm using it on my cycle 7, what flaws are you referring to? With a sample size of 1, the JTK does not have any problems in my daily usage.

How do you find CRP sets?
horns
post Mar 25 2024, 12:21 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(zzzz52 @ Mar 25 2024, 11:13 AM)
I thought glare tkl was shipped previously? Are u purchasing direct from Geon?
I did want to buy one previously, but after calculating, it would cost more than RM3K total if I'm not mistaken, which I was reluctant to pull the trigger. haha
Does Domikey have official store in taobao?

I have a set of JTK 9009 and I'm using it on my cycle 7, what flaws are you referring to? With a sample size of 1, the JTK does not have any problems in my daily usage.

How do you find CRP sets?
good stuff, like glare tkl, usually have future iterations. i'm not sure how i purchase it yet. yes glare tkl is relatively expensive. however imo the price is fair.

domikey has a shop at taobao. try search for it.

back in the old days, there were flaws in jtk sets, like unbalanced/warped long keys, loosy stem holes, bad printings of legends, etc.. basically it's qc issues on certain keys. most keys in the set were ok. in this regard, note that even gmk screwed up sometimes. it's just that the frequencies that such flaws happen are relatively lower than jtk. domikey is mainly about failure to match colors with expected renders.

crp is good dyesub, with relatively better quality controls, compared to epbt.

horns
post Mar 30 2024, 09:53 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

jtk ride (base, russian alphas) at taobao is ok. (meaning no sign of defects for common long keys; 1u keys are usually fine)
quarantined
post Apr 1 2024, 12:32 PM

Create Not Imitate
3,396 posts

Anyone here likes clicky switches? Anything to recommend?
horns
post Apr 1 2024, 05:04 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(quarantined @ Apr 1 2024, 12:32 PM)
Anyone here likes clicky switches? Anything to recommend?
clicky key switches is not my cup of tea.

i have a b87 by winkeyless.kr with gateron blue. that's my one and only board with clicky key switches hehe

87 Pages « < 60 61 62 63 64 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.71    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:08 PM