https://www.gazzew.com/ would be the "official" place to look for distributors. I've bought from Pantheon twice with no problem. Aliexpress might be cheaper but be prepared to wait a month plus.
Oh and have a look at Bobagum too. It's their silent linear switch.
how about taobao? or shopee?
This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Oct 17 2022, 11:10 AM
https://www.gazzew.com/ would be the "official" place to look for distributors. I've bought from Pantheon twice with no problem. Aliexpress might be cheaper but be prepared to wait a month plus.
Oh and have a look at Bobagum too. It's their silent linear switch.
QUOTE(cruzzmz @ Oct 17 2022, 11:07 AM)
how about taobao? or shopee?
Thank you. I did search in Taobao/AliExpress/Shopee. They are either 68g, non clear case which my friend gave it to me or too expensive like RM6.xx a piece? U4T is much cheaper somehow...
Worst case any recommendations close to this? Silent tactile switch?
QUOTE(krayden @ Oct 17 2022, 01:02 PM)
I have 90 of both U4 and bobagum stock if you're interested.
Thank you. May I know how much are you selling for U4? And is it 62g clear case?
Thanks I saw this... Yes this is the cheapest among all... Almost perfect other than the RGB version...
Do you think I should have them mixed?
If you dun use rgb I dun think it'll sound any diff since the bottom housing is probably the same. If you do rgb, some parts of the board will be darker. It may or may not drive you crazy. Here's a crazy idea. Check if the upper housing of your cherry browns fit the U4 lower housing. If it does you can frankenswitch it. cherry upper, boba stem, boba lower. Unless your browns aren't rgb either then you're SOL. Maybe buy used switches with clear tops at dirt cheap prices. Like cherry blues. Other cheap switches like KTT Kang whites at rm0.50/each could be an option also. But please check compatibility before purchase.
I was thinking of giving you some of my Outemu whites with clear top housing for this but they have diff legs.
If you dun use rgb I dun think it'll sound any diff since the bottom housing is probably the same. If you do rgb, some parts of the board will be darker. It may or may not drive you crazy. Here's a crazy idea. Check if the upper housing of your cherry browns fit the U4 lower housing. If it does you can frankenswitch it. cherry upper, boba stem, boba lower. Unless your browns aren't rgb either then you're SOL. Maybe buy used switches with clear tops at dirt cheap prices. Like cherry blues. Other cheap switches like KTT Kang whites at rm0.50/each could be an option also. But please check compatibility before purchase.
I was thinking of giving you some of my Outemu whites with clear top housing for this but they have diff legs.
Yes maybe the above is the way ... heck better frankenswitch it all the way hahaha KTT kang white should fit as the top housing
This post has been edited by cruzzmz: Oct 17 2022, 09:06 PM
They still have 40pieces. You can have my 90 for rm300 COD if you want. PM me. Sorry not the RGB version. The pricing nowadays quiet crazy.
QUOTE(krayden @ Oct 18 2022, 01:44 AM)
Oh yeah. Dun buy the MT3 till Black Friday if you can wait. There was a BOGO sale sometime back for MT3. Black Friday Deal should be pretty good.
After considering for the whole night... I think I'll pass this deal. Just couldn't accept like half-half even though I know it's going to be covered by keycaps...
Thank you once again. I definitely can wait... Will keep checking for better deals
After considering for the whole night... I think I'll pass this deal. Just couldn't accept like half-half even though I know it's going to be covered by keycaps...
Thank you once again. I definitely can wait... Will keep checking for better deals
there will be but slight differences in typing feel and sound between the two variants, which you might ignore. of course i don't bother about rgb.
ohoooo do let us know what is the result later ... post some video too i only use the O ring mod
sorry but photo sharing is the best that i can do haha
yes, i will share my findings. if the outcomes are ok, i will continue testing with different coil springs as well, if i can find them. this will take a while.
so far, i prefer partial gummy-o-ring mod (with the least vibrations during typing) > o-ring mod > silicone covers for standoffs by kbdfans > stock tray-mount (stock is really not optimal to produce good typing experience)
Cherry’s new mechanical switch is based off an 11-year-old forum post
Cherry's MX Ergo Clear switches are like tactile Browns, but lighter.
For the happily obsessed mechanical keyboard enthusiast, there's no detail too minor on the journey to the perfect switch. Perfect key feel is worth poring over switch specs or even splicing parts from one mechanical switch with another to create the ideal Frankenswitch, as they've been named. One particular mod has attracted so much attention since being shared on a forum 11 years ago that Cherry turned it into a real product.
Cherry, the inventor of mechanical switches, announced the Cherry MX Ergo Clear this week, describing it as landing between tactile Brown and Clear switches. All three switches have 4 mm total travel and actuate at 2 mm, but the Ergo Clears require about 55 g of force to actuate, with that required force dropping to about 40 g at the switch's operating point. Clears, on the other hand, require 65 g before dropping to 55 g, while Browns require about 55 g and 45 g, respectively.
Cherry announced RGB and non-RGB versions of 3- and 5-pin MX Ergo Clears (four versions total).
DESCRIPTION Created as a modification by enthusiasts, the CHERRY MX Ergo Clear is a particularly tactile switch with no click. The community switch combines the tactile feedback of the MX Clear with a comparatively light actuation as well as a reduced bottom-out force and offers a smoother typing feel and more relaxed typing or gaming even over many hours.
this....sounds exactly like something i would prefer
What Cherry MX Browns SHOULD Have Been: Ergo Clears Review
out of these i only tried the red, brown and blue in this chart. but based on the description by youtuber, the mx brown tacility is barely noticeable compared to the ergo clear. i get that since mx browns are one of my favs, but if there is something with a bit more tacticility, sounds like something i would appreciate
maybe for gamers they don't care as much, since they rather just bottom out with linear switches like reds, e.g. spaming keys as fast as possible (starcraft gamer? )
Cherry announced its community-inspired MX Ergo Clear mechanical switches this week.
Availability True Ergo Clears are of course made by enthusiasts by combining parts from other switches.
Cherry had stated that they would actually produce Ergo Clears in a slider-colour of choice, with a minimum order of at least 750,000 switches.
the youtube explained this, but wasn't this initially inspired by some online board user? well now seems cherry themselves have made it official some info on the background of this switch https://deskthority.net/wiki/Cherry_MX_Ergo_Clear
This post has been edited by Moogle Stiltzkin: Oct 21 2022, 05:32 AM
out of these i only tried the red, brown and blue in this chart. but based on the description by youtuber, the mx brown tacility is barely noticeable compared to the ergo clear. i get that since mx browns are one of my favs, but if there is something with a bit more tacticility, sounds like something i would appreciate
maybe for gamers they don't care as much, since they rather just bottom out with linear switches like reds, e.g. spaming keys as fast as possible (starcraft gamer? )
the youtube explained this, but wasn't this initially inspired by some online board user? well now seems cherry themselves have made it official some info on the background of this switch https://deskthority.net/wiki/Cherry_MX_Ergo_Clear
cherry is still cherry. they live their own lives, and react to market demands at their own pace. it took them this long to do this.
maybe they did this intentionally. it's an 11-year anniversary official release
This post has been edited by horns: Oct 21 2022, 10:55 AM