8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

is investment linked medical insurance a scam?

Boomwick
post Sep 12 2022, 11:39 PM

1,004 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 12 2022, 09:45 PM)
My sister's family, whole family claim (I dunno why, their diet or what, everybody sickly and they are a young family, eldest kid 11yrs old only), can pay for premiums for next 20 yrs d . I dunno consider lucky or not lucky.
Well if in that case..
U see nobody want to get sick.. if given a chance.. all want to be healthy..

But if one is sick and without any hedging tools for the lose of monetary value to cure the sickness.. that is very bad..

So your sister family is consider as unlucky punya lucky..

Unlucky because sick
But lucky because got inso cover..

Just imagine thosr unlucky sick.. and no inso need to pay cash or wait 3 4 5 6 mths at government hospital
Angry Clerk
post Sep 12 2022, 11:41 PM

253 posts

QUOTE(Angelic Layer @ Sep 12 2022, 09:39 PM)
this already proved that you don't have one or you are not claiming. diuniasing
Boomwick
post Sep 12 2022, 11:44 PM

1,004 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Sep 12 2022, 09:46 PM)
Well, the final say is from the insurance companies. If you are willing to, slowly increase your savings and reduce your premiums. At a certain point, you may have enough to forgo insurance completely.

Is it possible to "tipu" yourself when paying for any medical expenses from out of your own pocket?
Very hard to say one la..
Of course if small little issue, then you are right in the sense of save up and can pay when needed..

But if u kena jackpot sickness.. then how ?
The big C... can grow anywhere from head to toe..
Then heart problem.. artery clog
Or kidney failure..

If you are referring to those common ones like flu.. cold.. of course normal saving is better because a cold or flu usually does not need admission into hospital unless it is mutated into pnemonia stage 3 with breathing difficulty.

Your body, your bet.. if no kena. Of course is the best..
If you are scaredy cat.. kok ji gia.. then better get one
loserguy
post Sep 12 2022, 11:50 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(Boomwick @ Sep 12 2022, 11:44 PM)
Very hard to say one la..
Of course if small little issue, then you are right in the sense of save up and can pay when needed..

But if u kena jackpot sickness.. then how ?
The big C... can grow anywhere from head to toe..
Then heart problem.. artery clog
Or kidney failure..

If you are referring to those common ones like flu.. cold.. of course normal saving is better because a cold or flu usually does not need admission into hospital unless it is mutated into pnemonia stage 3 with breathing difficulty.

Your body, your bet.. if no kena. Of course is the best..
If you are scaredy cat.. kok ji gia.. then better get one
Well, you should at least know how much your insurance is going to payout. There are "unlimited" plans nowadays, but realistically how much can you claim? Can try working towards that number if you want.
Boomwick
post Sep 12 2022, 11:52 PM

1,004 posts

QUOTE(loserguy @ Sep 12 2022, 11:50 PM)
Well, you should at least know how much your insurance is going to payout. There are "unlimited" plans nowadays, but realistically how much can you claim? Can try working towards that number if you want.
Depends on what you buy one la..

I dunno about latest..
But i think now plan are usually yearly capping 100k
Lifetime no limit

How much can u claim depends on what you do one ma..

If u complain say u stomach ache, stomach problem intestine issue..
Then a gastro specialist will do a scope from mouth and anus lo ..
If day care then will be below rm10k.. usually is 7 8k ( pantai hospital )

If found out got issue, bacteria /fungus infection, then ask u ward for 5 days.. then mah 20k lo.. (pantai hospital)

If your body got lesion..(small bump head) and you want to operate it..
1 lesion is rm400 / 500.. then got other charges add up around 2 3k lo.. you can opt for day care admission to claim inso..

Sometimes u play sport injured kaki.. knee cap damage.. also can do scanning MRI.. then they will maybe do some minor invasive surgery to remove fluid and pump some gel inside knee cap.. that one will be around 20 to 30k ( include 3 mth follow up cost)

Dengue also can claim.. around 6 to 10k depends how long u stay

So u think not fast use?

This post has been edited by Boomwick: Sep 12 2022, 11:58 PM
AbbyCom
post Sep 13 2022, 12:21 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(Knnbuccb @ Sep 12 2022, 11:08 PM)
Show us the proof that standalone get more commission.
Aiya, kena dig it up la, will try, but no promises... If can't find maybe I ask my agent friend to send product write-up (the documents that agents refer to)
AbbyCom
post Sep 13 2022, 01:33 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 13 2022, 12:21 AM)
Aiya, kena dig it up la, will try, but no promises... If can't find maybe I ask my agent friend to send product write-up (the documents that agents refer to)
Hope I don't get LOD....

The Smart series are Investment linked (160% comm max over 6 yrs). The Great series are Standalone (171% comm).

This post has been edited by AbbyCom: Sep 13 2022, 01:34 AM

MrBaba
post Sep 13 2022, 02:10 AM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 13 2022, 01:33 AM)
Hope I don't get LOD....

The Smart series are Investment linked (160% comm max over 6 yrs). The Great series are Standalone (171% comm).
Topkek investment link one price way higher then standalone end up investment link one still make more.
AbbyCom
post Sep 13 2022, 07:54 AM

457 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Sep 13 2022, 02:10 AM)
Topkek investment link one price way higher then standalone end up investment link one still make more.
Lol, have you checked the actual cost of insurance for investment-linked plan vs standalone plan?

Anyway, you do you if your mindset is fixed that way.
SUSSunwhite
post Sep 13 2022, 07:57 AM

22 posts

I bought investment and medical separately for all.my family members ...

Investment as gift when they marry
Medical as protection ...
poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 13 2022, 09:00 AM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(AbbyCom @ Sep 13 2022, 01:33 AM)
Hope I don't get LOD....

My relative is a GE agent. When I asked him any medical plan without IL, he said nowadays all medical plans are ILP.

Kek.
TStheberry
post Sep 13 2022, 09:20 AM

OK!
3,514 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 13 2022, 09:00 AM)
My relative is a GE agent. When I asked him any medical plan without IL, he said nowadays all medical plans are ILP.

Kek.
Lonpac offer non ILP
kelvinfixx
post Sep 13 2022, 09:23 AM

1,590 posts

Depend, when you need it, it is not scam, if you are healthy you will say its scam.
mushigen
post Sep 13 2022, 09:39 AM

4,954 posts

Scam or not, medical insurance offers a peace of mind.

As #53 says, when you need it, it's not a scam but a lifesaver.

If you don't have medical insurance and you think you cannot afford medical treatment, you will delay seeing a doctor or camp at gomen hospital if something happens.

la bella
post Sep 13 2022, 10:09 AM

962 posts

I bought GE investment link + medical card for 12 years already, when I bought that time I was a fresh grad, paying RM150/m.

Now i'm 30+ y.o. paying RM170/m. Increase RM20 only.

Ok la not scam I think.
cmk96
post Sep 13 2022, 10:12 AM

2,096 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Sep 13 2022, 10:09 AM)
I bought GE investment link + medical card for 12 years already, when I bought that time I was a fresh grad, paying RM150/m.

Now i'm 30+ y.o. paying RM170/m. Increase RM20 only.

Ok la not scam I think.
I believe your old plan coverage very little...not enough to cover medical bills nowadays.

Just like mine... bought 16 yrs ago...coverage only 60k.

Bough new plan last year.... coverage 500k.
tungfunglaw
post Sep 13 2022, 10:19 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Sep 13 2022, 02:10 AM)
already proved that you're wrong then u move the goalpost laugh.gif

la bella
post Sep 13 2022, 10:21 AM

962 posts

QUOTE(cmk96 @ Sep 13 2022, 10:12 AM)
I believe your old plan coverage very little...not enough to cover medical bills nowadays.

Just like mine... bought 16 yrs ago...coverage only 60k.

Bough new plan last year.... coverage 500k.
my agent told me my current RM170/m IL+medical cover

medical
-daily room and board RM200
-Annual limit 120k
-lifetime 1.2million

death 30k

permanent disablement 30k

I think it is reasonable for RM170/m
Ray2021
post Sep 13 2022, 10:27 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 13 2022, 09:00 AM)

Kek.
He is lying.
TStheberry
post Sep 13 2022, 10:28 AM

OK!
3,514 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Sep 13 2022, 10:21 AM)
my agent told me my current RM170/m IL+medical cover

medical
-daily room and board RM200
-Annual limit 120k
-lifetime 1.2million

death 30k

permanent disablement 30k

I think it is reasonable for RM170/m
unless u wanna share room with others lah
lately single room oredi >rm300++

and did he tell u if u use >20% of your limit, u need to borne some charges after that?

This post has been edited by theberry: Sep 13 2022, 10:28 AM

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0237sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 12:51 AM