8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

is investment linked medical insurance a scam?

poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 13 2022, 10:28 AM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Sep 13 2022, 10:21 AM)
my agent told me my current RM170/m IL+medical cover

medical
-daily room and board RM200
-Annual limit 120k
-lifetime 1.2million

death 30k

permanent disablement 30k

I think it is reasonable for RM170/m
I had a similar plan like yours previously. There's a coinsurance where you need to pay certain percentage of the bill.

Also I think there should be a revision to increase your premium but you didn't opt in/give consent.
bai1101
post Sep 13 2022, 10:29 AM

I am Pervert
1,613 posts

QUOTE(la bella @ Sep 13 2022, 10:21 AM)
my agent told me my current RM170/m IL+medical cover

medical
-daily room and board RM200
-Annual limit 120k
-lifetime 1.2million

death 30k

permanent disablement 30k

I think it is reasonable for RM170/m
if affordable

u should find something had higher death and permanent cover

30k a bit too low for auch case
poweredbydiscuz
post Sep 13 2022, 10:29 AM

3,835 posts

QUOTE(Ray2021 @ Sep 13 2022, 10:27 AM)
He is lying.
I know.
lifebalance
post Sep 13 2022, 10:30 AM

Licensed Financial Planner & Financial Adviser's Rep.
10,162 posts

Hari hari open insurance thread
hellkvr
post Sep 13 2022, 10:32 AM

395 posts

buy medical card without any rider attached. simple
supsupsui
post Sep 13 2022, 10:35 AM

76 posts

based on my actuarial science degree from google.com, best package is no investment thingy attached.
SUSsinkiebaharu
post Sep 13 2022, 10:37 AM

74 posts

Just get term insurance. For RM200 monthly you can get 1M or more coverage which actually makes a difference if you get to claim but then you try to bundle investment link then ended up RM200 can't even get RM200k

This post has been edited by sinkiebaharu: Sep 13 2022, 10:37 AM
MrBaba
post Sep 13 2022, 02:05 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(poweredbydiscuz @ Sep 13 2022, 09:00 AM)
My relative is a GE agent. When I asked him any medical plan without IL, he said nowadays all medical plans are ILP.

Kek.
Msig got stand alone one , cheaper by 2-3 time if compare to investment link one.

QUOTE(tungfunglaw @ Sep 13 2022, 10:19 AM)
already proved that you're wrong then u move the goalpost  laugh.gif
I give no flying fuck how u want spend yr money
exsea
post Sep 13 2022, 02:08 PM

656 posts

you need insurance if you dont have savings.

even with savings, insurance can be a better bet.

finding a good insurance is the issue
tungfunglaw
post Sep 13 2022, 06:24 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(MrBaba @ Sep 13 2022, 02:05 PM)

I give no flying fuck how u want spend yr money

noob kia got no point to argue brows.gif

ati radeon
post Sep 13 2022, 07:45 PM

454 posts

Understand what is insurance vs assurance

Also ask the agent to send u the whole disclosure sheet, I know for sure some agents will snap parts of here and there to hide the part of commission payout. We knew its a commissioned sales, just don't understand why they so sked and stupid

From there you can see the breakdown of charges.

And why investment link? I rather pay the fixed amount from month 1 till month xx when I die or policy mature rather than the term or standalone traditional type where it increases every year.

That is where the investment part covers and hedge the premium.

Just go read the quotation and disclosure sheet
TStheberry
post Oct 24 2022, 09:24 AM

OK!
3,514 posts

up
LuckyBai
post Oct 24 2022, 09:26 AM

426 posts

Insurance is obviously a scam .. Been paying mine since 2017 and never once i use itbur the insurer write to me that there will be a hike in premium payments because others are using it casing the pool to shrink ..

What mather faaker reason!

This post has been edited by LuckyBai: Oct 24 2022, 09:27 AM
anakMY
post Oct 24 2022, 09:27 AM

1,450 posts

QUOTE(theberry @ Oct 24 2022, 09:24 AM)
up
Any conclusion whether or not nvestment linked is or standalone medical card which is better?
LuckyBai
post Oct 24 2022, 09:28 AM

426 posts

QUOTE(ati radeon @ Sep 13 2022, 07:45 PM)
Understand what is insurance vs assurance

Also ask the agent to send u the whole disclosure sheet, I know for sure some agents will snap parts of here and there to hide the part of commission payout. We knew its a commissioned sales, just don't understand why they so sked and stupid

From there you can see the breakdown of charges.

And why investment link? I rather pay the fixed amount from month 1 till month xx when I die or policy mature rather than the term or standalone traditional type where it increases every year.

That is where the investment part covers and hedge the premium.

Just go read the quotation and disclosure sheet
Don't expect the agent know everything and every clauses or every situation

What is in their mind was just money and commission by convincing you to sign the policy with them

soul78
post Oct 24 2022, 09:38 AM

935 posts

The only thing you need most is your medical card... and insured against the standard critical illness.

Don't every mix investment with health insurance... coZ by experience you will get the worst deals of both sides from smealyz investment gains and poor payout and coverage from insurance upon any confirmed illness...

Used to believe in insurance.. but to me it's just a load of scams... cashing out also it's soo hard for them to give you a payout... and they make it really hard for you to get that pot of money. Insurance company will ASK up till 4 previous employments on your health and mc records which you gottan obtain.

If they find a single spec or issue with your health that they can use as a loop hole as to not payout... they will definitely do that and go down that path as to not pay you. Unless you are super clean and dont drink and dont smoke and eat healthy or organic..and in a health industry by profession.. which gives them no excuse not to payout then you should be in a good position. This is also if payout is a 7 figure sum... all depends also on how good is your Insurance AGENT... to present the case in the directors meeting as they need to evaluate your case for payout.

If your AGENT is pandan and soi boy and dunno how to defend your case properly and is dumfuk... directors would not be convinced to release the money and end of the day you are also farked...

So choose your agents properly and dun simply sign up with any tom dic and harry agents just becoz of friends or they want to earn your commission.

Thats my 200cents of advice and all above is my opinion solely based on what i've experienced or someone close to me went throguh...

TStheberry
post Oct 24 2022, 09:58 AM

OK!
3,514 posts

QUOTE(anakMY @ Oct 24 2022, 09:27 AM)
Any conclusion whether or not nvestment linked is or standalone medical card which is better?
annual management fee charged to investment fund whistling.gif
Ray2021
post Oct 24 2022, 10:02 AM

324 posts

QUOTE(hafiez @ Sep 12 2022, 09:28 PM)
ini benda orang tak paham

stupid i must say. only know to komplen instead of finding out.

the product not scam, but some agent [u mean most insurance company] didnt do proper explanation.

if scam, BNM already at fire since all products are approved by them.
Haha ... BNM already "fired" the insurers and forced them to set out more realistic numbers for ILPs due to outright misleading information provided by the company to the agent !

Just goggle for the BNM directive ... jangan malas
umboy
post Oct 24 2022, 10:50 AM

226 posts

Yes it is a scam
An example is HSBC Universal Treasure Plus
The bank agent will earn high commission selling you the product
In return you will lose a huge amount of money

cms
post Oct 24 2022, 11:13 AM

763 posts

QUOTE(LuckyBai @ Oct 24 2022, 09:26 AM)
Insurance is obviously a scam .. Been paying mine since 2017 and never once i use itbur the insurer write to me that there will be a hike in premium payments because others are using it casing the pool to shrink ..

What mather faaker reason!
Why not cancel it straight jer?

Many of my friends and relatives cancelled their policy straight after COVID.

8 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0253sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:17 AM