101 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Bottom

USD/MYR and SGD/MYR

Wedchar2912
post Nov 12 2025, 09:04 PM

3,658 posts

QUOTE(HolyCooler @ Nov 12 2025, 05:27 PM)
I was lucky i converted quite some money back to MYR when usd 1=  myr 4.7.

Imagine for every usd 100k would get myr 470k last time, now only can get 41xk. almost myr 60k lost for every usd 100k  cry.gif

I was expecting myr would fall to usd 1 = myr 5, didn't expect it can go so strong back to 4.1x now.  blink.gif
What did you end up doing with the ringgit after converting it? That's been a bit of a dilemma for me for quite a few years now…

Now that you mentioned it ... myr has already strengthened almost 9% this year. Anyone holding usd denom assets suffered a translation hit (less against AUD or SGD, maybe around 5%).
my only saving grace is that overseas equities have been performing well… though it still stings to see the stronger ringgit shave off a good chunk of returns.
if someone had bought usd/aud/sgd bonds, the myr rebound could easily eat up the yield... unless, of course, those yields compressed and the bond prices had mtm gains.

So the old question resurface again for the original headache... should we convert back to ringgit now? and then what to do with the ringgit after that? EPF topup isn't an option anymore.... headache...

SUSipohps3
post Nov 12 2025, 09:07 PM

1,974 posts

I was expecting myr would fall to usd 1 = myr 5, didn't expect it can go so strong back to 4.1x now.  blink.gif
you do know Trump 2nd term agenda right?
Hansel
post Nov 12 2025, 11:15 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 12 2025, 02:58 PM)
Convert out. I will never convert money back until the time I really need it.
I was lucky i converted quite some money back to MYR when usd 1=  myr 4.7.

Imagine for every usd 100k would get myr 470k last time, now only can get 41xk. almost myr 60k lost for every usd 100k  cry.gif

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 12 2025, 09:04 PM)
What did you end up doing with the ringgit after converting it? That's been a bit of a dilemma for me for quite a few years now…

Now that you mentioned it ... myr has already strengthened almost 9% this year. Anyone holding usd denom assets suffered a translation hit (less against AUD or SGD, maybe around 5%).
my only saving grace is that overseas equities have been performing well… though it still stings to see the stronger ringgit shave off a good chunk of returns.
if someone had bought usd/aud/sgd bonds, the myr rebound could easily eat up the yield... unless, of course, those yields compressed and the bond prices had mtm gains.

So the old question resurface again for the original headache... should we convert back to ringgit now? and then what to do with the ringgit after that? EPF topup isn't an option anymore.... headache...
Bros,... pls be aware that starting from 2027 onwards, any foreign currency converted back to the MYR is classified as remitted back and becomes taxable according to a formula.

Hence, I would suggest that for local usages, use your local income to support the expenses. Leave the foreign income outside of Msia.
Ramjade
post Nov 12 2025, 11:49 PM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 12 2025, 11:15 PM)
Bros,... pls be aware that starting from 2027 onwards, any foreign currency converted back to the MYR is classified as remitted back and becomes taxable according to a formula.

Hence, I would suggest that for local usages, use your local income to support the expenses. Leave the foreign income outside of Msia.
Thanks for head up. Nothing in the budget about it?🤔
Hansel
post Nov 12 2025, 11:55 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 12 2025, 11:49 PM)
Really ?...

Apologies for being ignorant,... when the budget was announced, I was struggling to start my car in Montenegro,.... biggrin.gif... Emm, perhaps they will launch this initiative as per announced earlier, no need to talk abt it anymore.

Bro,... I'm surprised you don't know abt this. Of all people,........ sad.gif
Wedchar2912
post Nov 12 2025, 11:56 PM

3,658 posts

Thanks for the reminder...

luckily the gov extended the implementation to 2036... so we don't have to bother about this (individual taxpayers only) for a while....

plus, who knows what will happen during these 10 years... ie gov changes???

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/730798

"The government has extended the exemption from individual income tax for foreign-sourced income for 10 years until Dec 31, 2036, as part of a slew of income tax exemptions and reliefs for individuals, Prime Minister and Finance Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim announced in his Budget 2025 speech on Friday"

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 12 2025, 11:15 PM)

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 12 2025, 11:49 PM)
Wedchar2912
post Nov 12 2025, 11:58 PM

3,658 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 12 2025, 11:55 PM)
Really ?...

Apologies for being ignorant,... when the budget was announced, I was struggling to start my car in Montenegro,.... biggrin.gif... Emm, perhaps they will launch this initiative as per announced earlier, no need to talk abt it anymore.

now I am confused... the current 2026 budget mentioned this again?

oh yeah, you still in europe? man, been like 3 months travelling? notworthy.gif
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2025, 12:52 AM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 12 2025, 11:55 PM)
Really ?...

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 12 2025, 11:56 PM)

luckily the gov extended the implementation to 2036... so we don't have to bother about this (individual taxpayers only) for a while....

"The government has extended the exemption from individual income tax for foreign-sourced income for 10 years until Dec 31, 2036, as part of a slew of income tax exemptions and reliefs for individuals, Prime Minister and Finance Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim announced in his Budget 2025 speech on Friday"
If you mean the old dividend tax, have been postponed. Nothing about foreign source income being tax yet in latest budget.
HolyCooler
post Nov 13 2025, 05:57 AM

439 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 12 2025, 09:04 PM)

I just put them into EPF/FD/ASM/ASN/etc.

I still have some money in USD, current saving in USD and upcoming USD (if have any) won't be switching to MYR. Those will be my diversification in case MYR going to hell one day.

I foresee i won't be leaving Malaysia and will be here until i leave this world, the current setup / diversification seems quite good for me.

QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Nov 12 2025, 09:07 PM)
you do know Trump 2nd term agenda right?
I somehow heard he wanted to make USD weaker?

This post has been edited by HolyCooler: Nov 13 2025, 06:00 AM
frankliew
post Nov 13 2025, 09:31 AM

663 posts

Maybank Global Access RM4.17 = $1.01
murah tak
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2025, 09:58 AM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(frankliew @ Nov 13 2025, 09:31 AM)
Maybank Global Access RM4.17 = $1.01
murah tak
Nope. Sunway money only 4.14
frankliew
post Nov 13 2025, 10:15 AM

663 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 13 2025, 09:58 AM)
Nope. Sunway money only 4.14
$1.01 wo not $1
Cubalagi
post Nov 13 2025, 11:50 AM

4,493 posts

Now can target to hit 1 million in EPF in USD 😆
Hansel
post Nov 13 2025, 12:12 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 12 2025, 11:58 PM)
now I am confused... the current 2026 budget mentioned this again?

oh yeah, you still in europe? man, been like 3 months travelling?  notworthy.gif
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 13 2025, 12:52 AM)
If you mean the old dividend tax, have been postponed. Nothing about foreign source income being tax yet in latest budget.
I've been back in SG for a week-plus.

Emm,... I know what the PM said in the Budget Ann't in 2024 (your article in The Edge was dated Oct 2024), BUT there was a U-Turn at year-end in 2024. I had a long discussion on this somewhere in this forum. So,....... if nothing has been said in this year's Budget, then that U-Turn would be law come next year.

I stand corrected, forummers,... pls counter if possible,....
Wedchar2912
post Nov 13 2025, 01:12 PM

3,658 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 13 2025, 12:12 PM)

Emm,... I know what the PM said in the Budget Ann't in 2024 (your article in The Edge was dated Oct 2024), BUT there was a U-Turn at year-end in 2024. I had a long discussion on this somewhere in this forum. So,....... if nothing has been said in this year's Budget, then that U-Turn would be law come next year.

are you sure bro?

the standard should be whatever announced remained valid until new announcement. If what you claimed came after that, then only can it be consider to be accurate. (too many fake news and expert discussions... and the public tends to be too trusting without verifying). I completely am not aware of any uturn and did not find any articles after Oct 2024 to indicate the uturn did happen.

Would you mind pointing to where the u-turn was announced?

google returned nothing on the u-turn at all.

edit: btw, the dividend tax mentioned by ramjade is a separate matter right? that one is coming next year filing... 2% on any above 100K.

This post has been edited by Wedchar2912: Nov 13 2025, 01:42 PM
Ramjade
post Nov 13 2025, 03:23 PM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 13 2025, 12:12 PM)

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 13 2025, 01:12 PM)
are you sure bro?

the standard should be whatever announced remained valid until new announcement. If what you claimed came after that, then only can it be consider to be accurate. (too many fake news and expert discussions... and the public tends to be too trusting without verifying). I completely am not aware of any uturn and did not find any articles after Oct 2024 to indicate the uturn did happen.

edit: btw, the dividend tax mentioned by ramjade is a separate matter right? that one is coming next year filing... 2% on any above 100K.
https://www.pwc.com/my/en/publications/mtb/...t-from-tax.html

Yes that's for dividend in Malaysia above 100k
Hansel
post Nov 13 2025, 05:35 PM

9,361 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 13 2025, 01:12 PM)
are you sure bro?

Managed to find the discussion. It's in the 'SGX Counters' thread : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3727515/+6460
Wedchar2912
post Nov 13 2025, 06:36 PM

3,658 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Nov 13 2025, 05:35 PM)
Managed to find the discussion. It's in the 'SGX Counters' thread : https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3727515/+6460
ah.... ok... browsed through the discussion... doesn't seem to indicate anything has changed since the extension granted as theedge article: https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/730798
(the discussion was in April onwards of 2025, this year).

So the extension by gov to 2036 remains valid... unless there are new announcement. (budget 2026 announcement already over rite?)

We only need to worry closer to 2036. nod.gif

Ramjade
post Nov 13 2025, 06:52 PM

24,382 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 13 2025, 06:36 PM)
ah.... ok... browsed through the discussion... doesn't seem to indicate anything has changed since the extension granted as theedge article: https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/730798
(the discussion was in April onwards of 2025, this year).

So the extension by gov to 2036 remains valid... unless there are new announcement. (budget 2026 announcement already over rite?)

We only need to worry closer to 2036.  nod.gif
There was nothing in budget 2026 as far as I know la.
jasontoh
post Nov 14 2025, 08:23 AM

8,440 posts

QUOTE(Wedchar2912 @ Nov 12 2025, 11:56 PM)

The extension was done by Tengku Zafrul, if not mistaken. Wonder this type of extension can suddenly be claw back, though I have no intention to move back the money, will only rely the local currency for local spending and foreign currencies for travel and hedging purposes.

101 Pages « < 95 96 97 98 99 > » Top

0.0174sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 08:31 PM