6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Chat The best Aglio Olio Pasta in Malaysia

cikalakacikaci
post Sep 7 2022, 04:36 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(Mixo Mania @ Sep 7 2022, 04:33 PM)
Unless it's squid ink I rarely order pasta at Italian restaurant. I rather order risotto which is way tougher to make
Risotto tougher to make? Aiyaaaa y olang aa
SSJBen
post Sep 7 2022, 04:43 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 7 2022, 04:19 PM)
thanks to halal
Not sure why there can't be a non-halal Italian restaurant. Maybe I bukak one.

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Sep 7 2022, 04:27 PM)
If market 95% fake, Restaurant gonna be like 99.99% fake lol
You mean 100%? You ingat bangla cook can differentiate vegetable oil, olive oil and EVOO ka?

QUOTE(Mixo Mania @ Sep 7 2022, 04:33 PM)
Unless it's squid ink I rarely order pasta at Italian restaurant. I rather order risotto which is way tougher to make
I've stopped eating pasta outside for years. I make my own now almost every week.
ZeneticX
post Sep 7 2022, 04:49 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 7 2022, 04:43 PM)
i think a lot of the higher priced Italian restaurants are essentially non-halal, since they almost always use and serve alcohol together with their cooking, although they will claim to be pork free

Luce Osteria is one that I know serves pork. Good pastas as well but really I only go there for special occasion, basic pasta like aglio olio still better done at home

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Sep 7 2022, 04:49 PM
bill11
post Sep 7 2022, 04:49 PM

303 posts

maria steakhouse bangsar - you can tell them your spiciness. Wouldnt say the best but quite ok among others.

Most of the time is good, just that maybe chef not in mood or different chef then meh..
zero5177
post Sep 7 2022, 04:51 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 7 2022, 04:43 PM)
You mean 100%? You ingat bangla cook can differentiate vegetable oil, olive oil and EVOO ka?
I've stopped eating pasta outside for years. I make my own now almost every week.
Janganlah camtu, pakai 100% nanti kena kecam, kena 99.99% like those Hand Sanitizer indicating its ability to kill bacteria.

Mana tau ada Bangla yang salah terbeli/terpakai olive oil yang authentic.

But what tips to identify True OVOO? If they were fake, what kind of fake we are speaking of? Not Virgin enough? Or It is completely different oil blend?
ZeneticX
post Sep 7 2022, 04:53 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

dont cheap out if you want to get real Italian food outside. The real ingredients itself are not cheap so don't expect the food to be cheap

Luce Osteria
Sassorosso
Aposto

just to name a few
Fantasia
post Sep 7 2022, 04:56 PM

5,493 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 7 2022, 04:09 PM)
Who ask you use bertoli?

Real EVOO in MY only few brands. I use Colavita cold pressed. This one I can assure and personally confirm that it's real EVOO.
Hey, do you mind to share what are the other brands we can look for?
ketiak_masyam
post Sep 7 2022, 05:01 PM

142 posts

upstairs cafe..
SSJBen
post Sep 7 2022, 05:10 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 7 2022, 04:49 PM)
i think a lot of the higher priced Italian restaurants are essentially non-halal, since they almost always use and serve alcohol together with their cooking, although they will claim to be pork free

Luce Osteria is one that I know serves pork. Good pastas as well but really I only go there for special occasion, basic pasta like aglio olio still better done at home
Luce I only go there for their wood oven pizza, which is not bad. But they already started to cheap out on the pizza dough since few years ago. They don't allow the pizza dough to rest more than 24 hours anymore, taking shortcuts and not allowing it rest and rise.

Thanks for reminding they do serve pork though.

QUOTE(zero5177 @ Sep 7 2022, 04:51 PM)
Janganlah camtu, pakai 100% nanti kena kecam, kena 99.99% like those Hand Sanitizer indicating its ability to kill bacteria.

Mana tau ada Bangla yang salah terbeli/terpakai olive oil yang authentic.

But what tips to identify True OVOO? If they were fake, what kind of fake we are speaking of? Not Virgin enough? Or It is completely different oil blend?
At the grocery, usually check for:

1. A "pressed on" date. Real EVOO usually has that label somewhere.
2. I also check the bottle, real EVOO needs to be in very dark green GLASS bottle. This is because EVOO should not be exposed to sunlight, the dark green bottle helps shield UV little bit.
3. Certification seal, usually real EVOO manufactures got balls to get certified. If they have that, it's real.
4. Price, yea it's one of the rare exceptions where "expensive = good". Real EVOO is NOT cheap yo. But of course a lot of EVOO manufacturers purposely price their fake oils sky high to trick customers, which has been a practice since the 19th century.

The fake EVOOs are usually made with a combination of other oils like canola or sunflower. Some VERY bad ones will be harvested from rotten olives, where the oil is very thin. If you put this fake EVOO in the fridge over night, you will see the oil will look like water the next morning. Real EVOO will thicken up in cold temperatures.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Sep 7 2022, 04:53 PM)
dont cheap out if you want to get real Italian food outside. The real ingredients itself are not cheap so don't expect the food to be cheap

Luce Osteria
Sassorosso
Aposto

just to name a few
I'd add LaBottega to the list if this was still few years ago. But recently, the boss there started to cheap out on his ingredients. Already diu kao him a few times, stop taking customers for a ride.
-mystery-
post Sep 7 2022, 05:11 PM

2,725 posts

QUOTE(Intel Core i7 @ Sep 7 2022, 03:02 PM)
Basil Pasta House
overrated, at least rm30 one plate lol
icemanfx
post Sep 7 2022, 05:12 PM

21,457 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 7 2022, 03:19 PM)
Finding real pasta in Malaysia is like finding real Mexican food.

Ownself make la. Don't be one of those million bodo sohais who pays RM40 for a plate of aglio e olio, when the basic pasta isn't even cooked correctly (water not salted enough, always either overcooked or undercooked, instead of al dente).

Also, on the note of pastas MY - why does EVERY idiot self proclaimed pasta restaurant use CREAM in carbonara? The beef bacon fine, gotta appease you halal peeps. But fucking cream? Seriously?
QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 7 2022, 04:11 PM)
People also pay to eat carbonara and bolognese. The 2 most popular pasta dishes in any circle jerk cafes and restaurants.

Carbonara in MY = use cream, use beef bacon, use parmesan cheese. Lmao. Fucking bodo.  doh.gif

Bolognese in MY = use beef, use local tomato, no pasata, no puree, no sofrito (onions, celery, carrots).  mega_shok.gif
Rakyat MY banyak bodo.
Maluhsian are happy to substitute butter with margarine.

-mystery-
post Sep 7 2022, 05:12 PM

2,725 posts

QUOTE(k_yagami @ Sep 7 2022, 03:22 PM)
Cook yourself la, cheaper than outside, and taste better too
Outside ones either too dry, too spicy, or too oily
few years ago i ate at jusco
rm7.50 not bad
blanket84
post Sep 7 2022, 05:13 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 7 2022, 05:10 PM)
Luce I only go there for their wood oven pizza, which is not bad. But they already started to cheap out on the pizza dough since few years ago. They don't allow the pizza dough to rest more than 24 hours anymore, taking shortcuts and not allowing it rest and rise.

Thanks for reminding they do serve pork though.
At the grocery, usually check for:

1. A "pressed on" date. Real EVOO usually has that label somewhere.
2. I also check the bottle, real EVOO needs to be in very dark green GLASS bottle. This is because EVOO should not be exposed to sunlight, the dark green bottle helps shield UV little bit.
3. Certification seal, usually real EVOO manufactures got balls to get certified. If they have that, it's real.
4. Price, yea it's one of the rare exceptions where "expensive = good". Real EVOO is NOT cheap yo. But of course a lot of EVOO manufacturers purposely price their fake oils sky high to trick customers, which has been a practice since the 19th century.

The fake EVOOs are usually made with a combination of other oils like canola or sunflower. Some VERY bad ones will be harvested from rotten olives, where the oil is very thin. If you put this fake EVOO in the fridge over night, you will see the oil will look like water the next morning. Real EVOO will thicken up in cold temperatures.
I'd add LaBottega to the list if this was still few years ago. But recently, the boss there started to cheap out on his ingredients. Already diu kao him a few times, stop taking customers for a ride.
Colvita real or fake? Price not that expensive.
SSJBen
post Sep 7 2022, 05:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Sep 7 2022, 04:56 PM)
Hey, do you mind to share what are the other brands we can look for?
Lorenzo and Calogiuri if you want premium. This is about the best you can get in MY, not available in your typical grocer stores though.

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Sep 7 2022, 05:13 PM)
Colvita real or fake? Price not that expensive.
Colavita COLD PRODUCTION is real, they have a harvest date and is CERMET certified. Do not buy the other versions.
blanket84
post Sep 7 2022, 05:21 PM

1,521 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 7 2022, 05:20 PM)
Lorenzo and Calogiuri if you want premium. This is about the best you can get in MY, not available in your typical grocer stores though.
Colavita COLD PRODUCTION is real, they have a harvest date and is CERMET certified. Do not buy the other versions.
So other version is fake?
Afterburner1.0
post Sep 7 2022, 05:21 PM

771 posts

best ones are with truffle oil and beef slices.... not gonna tell u guys later sure packed n sold out....
berzerk
post Sep 7 2022, 05:25 PM

706 posts

mine is the best. but i'm not inviting a stranger to sup at my house
SSJBen
post Sep 7 2022, 05:26 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,523 posts

QUOTE(blanket84 @ Sep 7 2022, 05:21 PM)
So other version is fake?
Not fake, but misleading. Like this one: https://colavita.com.my/products/premium-selection/

They say it's EVOO but "first cold production 100% premium selection". No harvest date, no CERMET seal, bottle is not dark green enough. I've also tasted it, it's not peppery and bitter unlike the other one I linked. Instead it's got a mild fruity flavor to it, which means it is definitely mixed with other oil.
lopo90
post Sep 7 2022, 05:27 PM

695 posts

QUOTE(Afterburner1.0 @ Sep 7 2022, 05:21 PM)
best ones are with truffle oil and beef slices.... not gonna tell u guys later sure packed n sold out....
Might as well don't tell then
Fantasia
post Sep 7 2022, 05:28 PM

5,493 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 7 2022, 05:20 PM)
Thanks a lot man! I recently purchased a pack of premium spaghetti, will try to make aglio olio with your suggestion 😁

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0209sec    0.69    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 11:41 AM