10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

Automatic Gate, How much do you need to install one ?

jimmylim85
post Jun 19 2013, 11:43 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(Blackbird @ Jun 19 2013, 06:56 AM)
jimmylim85 and the nice ppl here,

What do u guys think of this brand Magtechnic NX-3( www.magtechnic.com ). Was quoted RM1388, 4yrs warranty. From the spec, it looks like OAE. Any comments? My gate will be 17feet, so should be no problem with this model right?
If they can promise 4 years warranty, go ahead. Usually manufacurer provide standard 1 year warranty. The balance probably from the installer itself.

Best pairing at the moment. OAE 333 + NX12 control panel which have built in receiver enabling 4 channel remote control meaning you can control both, left, right leaf and lastly pillar light (optional).
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 12:17 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 19 2013, 10:47 PM)
jimmylim85 oor anyone else, a bit of advice plz,err can casa asia/dcmoto/MAG gates have all the below?

user posted image adjustable hinges

user posted image3 point support wif strong arm

user posted imagewider gate opening
n why is there a need for adjustable hinges?
are there other trackless gate systems for sale besides unigate?i'm quite worried about the sinking tracks n d gate bearings jumping out

at d same time,can u also take some time to answer my prev questions -)
thanx
Above hinges and bearing adjustable. It can be done by any iron gate obtaining this type of bearing and hinges mount. Nothing to do with DCMoto or Casa Asia.

You shouldn't worry about track-guide folding gate sinking, you should be more worried that UniGate will sink cause is trackless and sole-dependent on the your pillar for weight support.

I will response to your question bit by bit. No worries biggrin.gif
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 12:26 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

Comparison of space required between OAE and DCMoto 925W

OAE space required.

GFM 925W space required

GFM 925W maximum opening gap

jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 12:33 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(lui @ Jun 19 2013, 05:30 PM)
After reading the professional comment and information from Jimmy, I will give DC a try if I'm allow to choose again.
Because i will extend my gate from now 10" to future 14", if the arm block the folding by 1" then i will remain 12" only after the gate open. Which i think is a main concern for me.
If your gate is 20" wide, then waste of 2" to you is nothing. But for my small house, 14" is the max i can give to my gate.
No worries, DCMoto 925W works well even 23' length gate.

Don't worry about the gap in folding gate. Good and excellent workmanship will have 8" gap the smallest possible. If they made in 10" still acceptable but the gap leaving 12-15" is total suck! I've install DCMoto with opening gap 16" doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif because of bad workmanship iron gate guys did.

GOLDEN RULE : DCMoto/CASA Asia have a maximum opening gap space 8" nothing more or less. If exceed then is the iron gate manufacture problem with skill or else you have a curb outside blocking the opening leaf gate.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 12:35 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Jun 19 2013, 07:13 PM)
Your gate in inches or feet? Arm or DC motor you still block. When I check few installer DC moto actually larger foot print than arm. Well at least for my case with oae is smaller footprint.
Here is your guide of the foot print https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/530387/+1220# biggrin.gif
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 12:42 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(zodd @ Jun 20 2013, 12:35 AM)
Is is true for OAE folding gate system, only have the function to open both gate at the same time and 1 side [either left or right] only? Even the control board install inside the house also only have 2 buttons.
Wrong!

Since 2011 OAE has a board manufacturer built a circuit board having the ability to operate either single leaf + both leaf + pillar light control. Using 4 button remote control and built in 4 channel receiver. The board model is NX12 and right now is being manufactured by OAE itself. Is a clone anyway. Chipset and parts placement remain the same. For new generation board made for OAE. THIS IS A TIP for users of OAE, you can operate single leaf operation from the same button that you operate your gate inside your house. STEP 1, depress and hold the button as long you can to desired degree of single leaf operation. If you just press and let go, it will just operate both leaf. I'm sure many doesn't know this function but it exist! rclxms.gif go give it a try and enjoy. It doesn't applies to DCMoto since GFM905 have 5 button keypad back in 2008. biggrin.gif

Those are still using 2 channel remote control is so so old days. Folding gate/Arm gate/ DCMoto/ Casa Asia has 4 button remote control. The first to commercially utilized 4 button remote control to control individual leaf and both leaf is DCMoto GFM905.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 12:48 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 12:39 AM)
lol right,but wad is d purpose of adjustable hinges?
so any gate supplier can use those 3 point bearings upon request?how much generally to do that?
Adjustable hinges, is only applied during initial installation of the gate. There is bound to have flaw in measurement from your gate or else pillar to pillar length. Your masonry contractor might built pillar to pillar length of example, 16' feet. But it will never be 100% precise right? Your gate will always be manufacture smaller than 16'. The reason for the adjustable hinges is to compensate the gap difference. Once is hooked up, is no more in use for the adjustable hinges blush.gif Simplified meaning, usefull during initial installation, afterward is useless.

Usually nobody uses 3 point hinges, it seems there is no bearing applied since is so small size. Ordinary folding gate uses bearing hinges to minimize wear and tear and gap-less for smooth swinging.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 12:50 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(zodd @ Jun 20 2013, 12:47 AM)
So, can set by the installer? strange coz when I ask the installer, he said only can choose right or left only. so he set to open both side and right side..no way to open left side only . The brand don't have that option he said.
If you're board is NX12 as I mention, then you just buy 4 channel remote control will do. Programmed into the motherboard and you can have the ability of controlling left, right, both and pillar light.

I will grab a picture on how the board look like.

And for weikee, whats the point of having two button remote able to control left and right but missing the pillar light control function.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 12:58 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(zodd @ Jun 20 2013, 12:56 AM)
Will try the method. thanks....as for the motherboard, not sure the series. Your picture might help a lot. thanks
Will snap the photo for you by tomorrow.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 01:04 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(lui @ Jun 19 2013, 04:10 PM)
Hi jimmylim85, if you respond to this thread before i install my auto gate system. I will choose DCMoto already, i am so headache on choosing one of them 2 weeks back.
A lot of installer here in KL still recommend arm type, and I try to survey around my taman and found no one is using DC or CASA type of system.
The information you provided here are very useful, as you are a installer.
A installer in KL here recommend wall mount system from OAE, is stainless steel made claim to be better than DC and CASA. Any review?
Stainless steel might look eye catching for lots of user, but it induce the most heat inside the tube. DCMoto and Casa Asia, uses cast aluminium alloy.

QUOTE(Maknusia @ Jun 19 2013, 04:34 PM)
It was my hubby's choice. and you are correct, the casing is plastic as in the picture.

http://casa-asia.com/s320h.php

our view was that, after sometime (the previous models installed at our relatives homes) the arm movement was not smooth, say after 5-10 years.

with the system that dc-moto and casa has, its gear system with oil filled, hence should withstand longer. we might be wrong, but that was our understanding.
OAE, DCMoto, Casa Asia and many other arm-type motor uses pre-filled grease inside their gearbox. There is no oil applied as it will leaked eventually.

Only sliding gate type either uses grease or else gearbox oil with gasket inside.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 01:09 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 01:01 AM)
lol owh i tot its some kinda extra feature,actually is not useful when using lol..3 point hige shud be safer kua since the arm is attached to two different panels..maybe more effort needed to pry the gate open..wad r bearing hinges?unigate advertise they got 24 bearings on the gate itself,i dont really understand it now that i think of it
juz now u mentioned of trackless might sink,but unigate got like some tiang in d pillar

so i think shud be able to bear weight kua...another problem with tracks is the wheels tend to jump oout wor...
Even they have the whole pillar attach with metal, it only adds more weight and stress to your cement/brick pillar. Safest is concrete pillar but is costly.

24 bearing is meaning the whole gate system requirement. Ordinary swing fold gate system have 16 bearings. Btw more than that bearings only bring more cost to replace them.

The reasons why the wheels tend to jump out of your track!

- bad workmanship on the track, didn't get a well-balanced track mounted on the floor.
- bad workmanship on cement flooring, sinking!
- having small particle like small tiny rocks stuck at your track, causing the wheel to jump out.

jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 01:11 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(zodd @ Jun 20 2013, 01:02 AM)
thanks...this DC moto keypad looks more techie. http://www.dcmoto.my/v3/technology/the-wireless-keypad/

however, I prefer simplicity like OAE
QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 01:05 AM)
i like the colours tho =)
Here you go.

jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 01:25 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 01:16 AM)
btw im asking in regards to folding gate,coz for 13 ft i think swing looks odd hehe

owh ok that kinda answer d track vs traackless issue for me so far =P but once the tracks sink,how to repair leh?

wad about the opening?can other autogate systems open to as wide as unigate is advertising?
Track sink, replace it or lifting it up again and weld it back.

Opening of DCMoto 925W. Look at the gap, is as close as UniGate does.

BTW i've mention a few times, UniGate is using DCMoto 905 motor system. Is 100% the truth. UniGate just manufacture the iron gate system where else DCMoto supplies the motor system. The arm length metal is been custom made to adapt UniGate gate design and requirement.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 01:51 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 01:47 AM)
yep u have mentioned..that brings another question to mind:
is dcmoto 925 'arm' as thick as unigate

actually i meant to ask is dcmoto 925W or any other autogate system able to open at an angle instead of straight?like below
the arm is as thick as unigate does. won't bent unless you bang your gate with your vehicle sad.gif

Opening angle, any folding gate with good workmanship can open as wide as unigate does. What limits the opening angle if your front pillar have sitting curb that obstruct the opening angle. If I have the chance, I'll snap shot the photo the meaning of having wide open angle.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 02:07 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 02:00 AM)
rclxms.gif Plz do =) wads ur take on the MAG Wing mentioned here?
http://www.magnet.com.my/products/Autogate..._id_WING303.htm

this one right?

First I look at their control panel.... IMHO yawn.gif yawn.gif yawn.gif

Looks big control panel, lack of features, and no 4 channel remote control operation (you can individual opening leaf on any side you want).

Direct copies OAE design, probably the internals too.

You're way better off settle with OAE 333 with NX12 circuit board if you want to be on budget and arm-type.

jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 10:58 AM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 02:15 AM)
owh yeah yeah in previous posts got mention the arm got OAE mark

ok thx for ur info thus far..prolly come back wif more questions..now i need to dream abt wad autogate to go for or whether i shud default on my unigate deposit lol
Well is your choice, what's the damage of your deposit?

One bad of having unique custom made iron gate such as UniGate is all the parts is customized and not commercially available. Everything had to refer back to UniGate and prepare to pay premium service price.

Just like BTE LEGATE system. Yearly fee rm 150. And if you missed out two years maintain-ace and on third year you wanted their service. You have to pay previous two years default fee and third year in order to obtain their service. Repair and parts is another fee being charged.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 12:05 PM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(lui @ Jun 20 2013, 11:17 AM)
Thx Jimmy...
But really hope you are active here before i choose the MAG Wing 303...
doh.gif

I have a question, one of my pillar does not wide enough to screw the entire bracket for the MAG arm. The Installer only manage to screw the 2 wall plug on the pillar, and he screw an additional metal on the floor then weld the metal with the arm bracket to support the arm.
After the install left, i found everytime i open or close my gate, the whole arm bracket and the additional metal screwed on the floor is shaking. Is it normal? I worry one day the whole arm will detach from the pillar, and it's happening on the right gate which I use it to open single side very frequent...
Please help to give some comment.
Seems like a shoddy job. It will break eventually. The arm requires firm hold from your pillar and ground. Push pull need lots stress to withstand.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 08:57 PM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 08:48 PM)
impulsive..went n put 3k deposit =( but i wondering if i can convert it to use on the window n sliding door grilles
if they haven't fabricate your main gate perhaps you can talk to them.

QUOTE(petlu28 @ Jun 20 2013, 08:53 PM)
My gate just below 10 feet only don't know DC Moto suitable or not.
Certainly suitable. DCMoto only consume max 7'' for each motor. Meaning it took 14'' off your 10' pillar to pillar space.

Doesn't matter any motor you install, it consume space the same length. If you worry of damage your DCMoto, most common is just split the main cover and can be easily glued using super glue. If you bang on your OAE or any arm type, most probably you have to replace one whole unit itself. I've seen my customer daughter drove VIOS and the tire landed right on OAE arm, broke into two pieces.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 10:42 PM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(rico87my @ Jun 20 2013, 08:58 PM)
Have anyone heard of Jackpro J9 model?
They offer me RM1700.

They said this gate come with additional security features such as auto close if you forget, siren if someone pull your gate, panic button, plus 5 years warranty.

Should I accept the offer? Anyone can advise me?

Jimmy, need your pro advise  biggrin.gif
Sometimes having 5 years warranty is eye catching but what does the 5 years cover? parts & labour fees?

Auto-close not an good idea. Do it manually cause auto-close without sensor beam can be dangerous.

That's why DCMoto 925W had all this features provided by the control panel but not usable without the right accessories especially sensor beam. DCMoto intelligently preset the system not to be use with auto-close if you did NOT install sensor beam.

Panic buttom, GFM925W has piezo siren built in. Just to scare those theft off. You're better off with home alarm system.
jimmylim85
post Jun 20 2013, 10:43 PM

iPhone world....
7,824 posts

QUOTE(~Curious~ @ Jun 20 2013, 09:06 PM)
jimmylim85 juz paid less than a week ago..wad do u mean damage dcmoto? got photo of d vios thing..oh n d gate opening angle thing got pic too?i wanna open gate wide wide coz drivers in my home not that skilled lol..
so u mentioned install dcmoto 925 is arnd rm1.5k +wrought iron gate rm3k + stainless steel track rm200. then wad additional cost if i ask installer to use 3 point bearing,sensor,n mmore anchoring screws at d pillar?

means petlu's 10 ft gate become slightly more than 9 ft opening?
damage the DCMoto, that was referring to petlu28 regarding to tight space pillar to pillar.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0224sec    0.96    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:56 AM