320 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

[2022] iPhone 14 Pro / 14 Pro Max Discussion, Welcome to Dynamic Island

Drinho22
post Sep 11 2022, 10:53 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 11 2022, 07:48 PM)
Most probably not, although Apple just indirectly rendered my current phone as obsolete with the new camera specs  doh.gif

Hoping for a USB-C iPhone next year, then we can finally move on from this wretched Lightning connector.
Sorry, currently which iPhone are you using?
dreamthief
post Sep 11 2022, 11:18 PM

Banned
2,643 posts

QUOTE(Nibba @ Sep 10 2022, 09:30 PM)
Thanks for the input

Yeah since I stick to my phone for years, Id prefer to wait for a major iphone refresh/upgrade
Iphone 14 is indeed not much of an upgrade, but I am tempted by 14 pro’s dynamic island
Anyhow will probably still try to wait for another year and hope for a major refresh, dont want to be the only one using lightning in a few years lol
honestly the dynamic island is gimmicky, reminds me of the Touch 3D.

Especially if you getting iphone 14 PM, the dynamic island is way up at the top, not really finger friendly. Interesting how Apple make prioritization at the top, while Android, Samsung, Google focusing more at the bottom part of the phone.

I might be proven wrong, but it feels like MacBook "Touchbar" of iPhone. Stop gap measure, intro something new as focus, to say something new for the sake of it.

MacBook TouchBar was stopgap until redesign, more ports, card slot became the "new feature". rclxub.gif
XeactorZ
post Sep 11 2022, 11:25 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(vez @ Sep 11 2022, 07:22 PM)
anyone know is 13 pro tempered glass can fit 14 pro sweat.gif

seems got bit bit size different right, but the speaker grille is identical right?
But 14 Pro Dynamic Island notch is different than 13 Pro laugh.gif
dikae
post Sep 12 2022, 12:00 AM

an apple a day
9,184 posts

QUOTE(dreamthief @ Sep 11 2022, 11:18 PM)
honestly the dynamic island is gimmicky, reminds me of the Touch 3D.

Especially if you getting iphone 14 PM, the dynamic island is way up at the top, not really finger friendly. Interesting how Apple make prioritization at the top, while Android, Samsung, Google focusing more at the bottom part of the phone.

I might be proven wrong, but it feels like MacBook "Touchbar" of iPhone. Stop gap measure, intro something new as focus, to say something new for the sake of it.

MacBook TouchBar was stopgap until redesign, more ports, card slot became the "new feature".  rclxub.gif
I kinda feel the same as you, not sure how often people actually use the functions on the notch, to me the pill shape is something new and I couldn't care much about other functions that comes with it.. biggrin.gif
Landmarkyap
post Sep 12 2022, 01:04 AM

3,608 posts

China 4 big telcos company announced iPhone USA purchase can't use at China country

https://www.facebook.com/110699089014688/po...mibextid=71jzmv

This post has been edited by Landmarkyap: Sep 12 2022, 01:05 AM
dattebayo
post Sep 12 2022, 01:05 AM

5,366 posts

QUOTE(d@odao @ Sep 10 2022, 11:12 PM)
That lightning port is basically income generator.
It could be no port at all just wireless charging.
😅
can't brain Apple's logic when they try to cramp in the "best" possible photography and videography tech onto iPhone Pro, with ProRes, 4K, and maybe even 8K video in the future, yet still stuck at USB2 transfer speed,

even with AirDrop, theoretically the best speed is nothing more than 1200 Mbps

really can't brain them when they are willing to come up with the top SKU with 1TB storage, with the industry leading NVME SSD even Samsung flagships can't beat, only to be castrated by the 480 Mbps interface which is almost 20 year old

Icehart
post Sep 12 2022, 07:56 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(dennis008 @ Sep 11 2022, 05:44 PM)
planning to preorder with switch/machine/itworld anyone have experience ? is it hard to get need to click immediately at 12.01am
While easy as it sounds, in reality it's actually hard to get a spot.
Last year during IP13PM pre-order, I only manage to confirm my order at 1.32 am, with Gold colour as my option (Wanted the blue but sold out).

Everyone refreshing their browser at 12am laugh.gif
Demand induced DDOS.

QUOTE(dattebayo @ Sep 12 2022, 01:05 AM)
can't brain Apple's logic when they try to cramp in the "best" possible photography and videography tech onto iPhone Pro, with ProRes, 4K, and maybe even 8K video in the future, yet still stuck at USB2 transfer speed,

even with AirDrop, theoretically the best speed is nothing more than 1200 Mbps

really can't brain them when they are willing to come up with the top SKU with 1TB storage, with the industry leading NVME SSD even Samsung flagships can't beat, only to be castrated by the 480 Mbps interface which is almost 20 year old
Yes, it's one of the pain in the ass problem.
miyakochan89
post Sep 12 2022, 08:15 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(andrewtho @ Sep 11 2022, 07:48 PM)
Most probably not, although Apple just indirectly rendered my current phone as obsolete with the new camera specs  doh.gif

Hoping for a USB-C iPhone next year, then we can finally move on from this wretched Lightning connector.
Yes, I will upgrade only when they get rid of that stupid lightning port. Otherwise nothing in 14 series really stand out or that innovative either. I guess innovation still goes to Android no matter what.

QUOTE(dikae @ Sep 11 2022, 08:11 PM)
haha usbc might come following or next next year, or might not even come at all biggrin.gif get first, think later bro...
USB-C will come up. It’s not a if but when thing. And the duration that EU gives Apple is 2 years, otherwise they risked billions of fine again. The expiration date is 2023.

dikae
post Sep 12 2022, 08:31 AM

an apple a day
9,184 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Sep 12 2022, 08:15 AM)
Yes, I will upgrade only when they get rid of that stupid lightning port. Otherwise nothing in 14 series really stand out or that innovative either. I guess innovation still goes to Android no matter what.
USB-C will come up. It’s not a if but when thing. And the duration that EU gives Apple is 2 years, otherwise they risked billions of fine again. The expiration date is 2023.
usbc is a good to have for me, not important as I use iCloud for most stuffs, almost never need to use cable at all, especially when most my work are sync between macbooks to phone.. having said that, of course i was excited when they switch ipad to usbc back then.. but still not a main requirement for me, at least for now...

with all the rapid innovation, its really hard to tell what they have for us in the coming months or years, just like the notch that everyone hated, all of a sudden they make it interactive, just when everyones hoping for a notch removal..

one thing for sure though, their innovation is all about synchronising all the eco systems together, hoping people to get stuck to their ecosystem, more revenue for them..
leo99
post Sep 12 2022, 08:33 AM

70 posts

For those who previously managed to pre-order on the first day from telco, how long does the delivery date? Able to get on launch date?
dikae
post Sep 12 2022, 08:35 AM

an apple a day
9,184 posts

QUOTE(leo99 @ Sep 12 2022, 08:33 AM)
For those who previously managed to pre-order on the first day from telco, how long does the delivery date? Able to get on launch date?
If you manage to pre order on sep16, then you can collect the phone on 23sep..can opt for self collect or delivery, subject to availability..

This post has been edited by dikae: Sep 12 2022, 08:36 AM
wong_86
post Sep 12 2022, 08:36 AM

DUDE
565 posts

Plan change phone every two year, but 14 not very attactive for me, wait next year, change my 12 pro max battery should tahan awhile.. tongue.gif
isildur88
post Sep 12 2022, 08:41 AM

Lord of Winterfell
774 posts

QUOTE(leo99 @ Sep 12 2022, 08:33 AM)
im in Sabah Tawau also manage to get at launch date. some even have it few days before but apple say cannot deliver before launch date.
isildur88
post Sep 12 2022, 08:42 AM

Lord of Winterfell
774 posts

lock and loaded. icon_rolleyes.gif
dennis008
post Sep 12 2022, 08:49 AM

545 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 12 2022, 07:56 AM)
While easy as it sounds, in reality it's actually hard to get a spot.
Last year during IP13PM pre-order, I only manage to confirm my order at 1.32 am, with Gold colour as my option (Wanted the blue but sold out).

Everyone refreshing their browser at 12am  laugh.gif
Demand induced DDOS.
Yes, it's one of the pain in the ass problem.
wow luckily 16th is public holiday so can stay up late to try and get a spot i dont have preferred colour hopefully can get one
miyakochan89
post Sep 12 2022, 09:02 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(dikae @ Sep 12 2022, 08:31 AM)
usbc is a good to have for me, not important as I use iCloud for most stuffs, almost never need to use cable at all, especially when most my work are sync between macbooks to phone.. having said that, of course i was excited when they switch ipad to usbc back then.. but still not a main requirement for me, at least for now...

with all the rapid innovation, its really hard to tell what they have for us in the coming months or years, just like the notch that everyone hated, all of a sudden they make it interactive, just when everyones hoping for a notch removal..

one thing for sure though, their innovation is all about synchronising all the eco systems together, hoping people to get stuck to their ecosystem, more revenue for them..
Well no revenue when EU bans them from selling Apple products. Easy. The usb-c is a court order. Not like their pipeline or plan or something. Given the choice of course Apple would keep the lightning port or lightning port 2.0 forever.

Regardless of what they implement though, you will definitely find reasons to justify to their actions and agree with it. It is known that Stockholm syndrome is quite prevalent in the all fanbases.

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Sep 12 2022, 09:07 AM
figure8
post Sep 12 2022, 09:03 AM

...dear future, come get me
3,174 posts

Im new with iphone preorder, as i said earlier ip5s was my latest ip.

1. Which website to preorder?Switch or official apple?
2. During preorder, i need to make full payment or just a booking fee?
3. How about delivery? Need to pick up at store?

This post has been edited by figure8: Sep 12 2022, 09:03 AM
miyakochan89
post Sep 12 2022, 09:14 AM

Wut?
6,724 posts

QUOTE(letze @ Sep 11 2022, 10:51 AM)
Lowest price I spot was on 9.9 sale from TMT store Lazada.
RM5089 for 256 GB.It seem like they try to clear the stock with only alphone green and sierra blue left.
Eligible for 0% installment too.
Regarding ip14 p/pm; crash detection is available worldwide right? Only satellite emergency available in US/ Canada.  hmm.gif
Don’t know if anybody answered you but crash detection is available worldwide according to their website. XD
Icehart
post Sep 12 2022, 09:55 AM

14,897 posts

Battery capacity revealed:

Battery capacities for the iPhone 13 lineup:

iPhone 13 mini: 2,406 mAh
iPhone 13: 3,227 mAh
iPhone 13 Pro: 3,095 mAh
iPhone 13 Pro Max: 4,352 mAh

Battery capacities for the iPhone 14 lineup:

iPhone 14: 3,279 mAh
iPhone 14 Plus: 4,325 mAh
iPhone 14 Pro: 3,200 mAh
iPhone 14 Pro Max: 4,323 mAh
JasonTheGreat
post Sep 12 2022, 10:04 AM

832 posts

Wanna ask. I still have 2 months contract with Maxis, and was told I cannot make Online purchase and must walk in?

320 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 11:45 AM