Fuel and oil additives, Ada pakai vitamin?
MeToo
Aug 19 2022, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(harryleesbr @ Aug 17 2022, 06:34 PM) Are all oil brands the same considering similar specs in I may ask? Yes all same, they have industrial specs to meet cause its a commodity. Sure they can make it "better" but that comes with extra cost which doesnt translate well to the end consumer.
ajaibman
Aug 19 2022, 11:25 AM

https://bobistheoilguy.com/forums/threads/h...rcycles.318452/Instead spending money in unknown snake oil.. another safest bet pump V-Power Racing and do italian tune up with the bike...
ZZR-Pilot
Aug 19 2022, 12:32 PM
QUOTE(harryleesbr @ Aug 17 2022, 07:34 PM) Are all oil brands the same considering similar specs in I may ask? If they are genuinely certified to an industry standard (API SN, JASO MA2 etc), then they're basically the same in the sense that they meet the minimum requirement to protect & lube an engine that demands that particular industry standard. But producing parity products isn't good for marketing, coz you'll only end up with generic stuff that forces you to fight on pricing alone. So what they also do is add bonus features to differentiate themselves, justify higher prices & compete better against other brands.
alexei
Aug 19 2022, 02:43 PM
I guess generally, is not recommended as engine care regime.
spend on good oil, is better than spend on additive packages, which in times are discouraged by manufacturer
however, for older engines, due to fuel quality, or wear and tear, or clogging of injectors, fueling issues that may require high repair costs, it is no doubt a possible way to solve the problem. emphasis on solve, not fix.
Seafoam contains high amount of petroleum distillates and 30~50% of isopropyl alcohol, among proprietary ingredients. This product has users and naysayers. Use at own discretion to fix fueling issues - fuel filter, injector, carburetor, old fuel etc...
for other products, same cautious approach is encouraged, check for their material content, and both sides of users experiences
if a product have users complaining blown engine or causing clogged heat exchangers (some bikes uses oil coolers, not oil radiators), or other catastrophic failures, examine it more carefully.
octane boosters are products that increases fuel octane values... u need to understand fuel octane before hand, and get an idea how that specific product increases the value. simple ethanol is able to increase octane value as well.
the same fuel, with additives that raised its octane value, will burn slower. to some users, slower burning fuel means the engine feels smoother and cooler - some of the heat goes out to the exhaust
use own judgement
TSharryleesbr
Aug 19 2022, 05:44 PM
i got myself a can of Seaform. Added some into the FZ engine. It felt super smooth after running it around. Quieter too. Power still the same thought.
Fuel remains as it is. I can add Seaform in it but I am waiting for Redline to come in and test. Try first.
Will compare this with Shell HDEO in the next oil change. Watch many vids on it. Most seems pretty positive.
TSharryleesbr
Oct 10 2022, 02:51 PM
Updates: 1010 km reached and I changed to HDEO Rimula R4x 15w-40. . Took the Effjek on her normal 50km makan angin vroom vroom ride.... engine behaving nicely. First impression smooth without Seaform (maybe still new). Maybe over thinking it but I think the clutch change seems more sharper. No sticky.
alexei
Oct 13 2022, 08:33 AM
Regular change the spark plug will be more worthy, follow the owners manual and cut it to half.
TSharryleesbr
Oct 16 2022, 11:09 AM
Thanks for the hint. I scheduled a change at 5000 km... every 5 oil change with check at every oil change QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 13 2022, 08:33 AM) Regular change the spark plug will be more worthy, follow the owners manual and cut it to half.
TSharryleesbr
Oct 16 2022, 11:15 AM
Rimula setting in nicely. 200km above now. Engine very smooth and clutch change is good as well.
Downside... power dropped. It takes a little bit more throttle and time to go above 100km.
My opinion... I going to finish the remaining 2 bottles for the subsequent oil change. Shell having sales, buy 2 get 1 free. Most likely will stick with it for now. Touring mode... not really going up to high speeds anyway. Besides that my old effjek might not be able to sustain so.
TSharryleesbr
Oct 16 2022, 11:17 AM
Thanks otai @ajaibman for the recommendation!