Fuel and oil additives, Ada pakai vitamin?

TSharryleesbr
post Aug 14 2022, 11:14 AM, updated 4y ago

Hi everyone,

I am curious whether these additives (oil and fuel) like Seaform, Mystery Oil, Redline etc. are snake oil or there is some truth to it?

Anyone using them or any recommendations? Open for suggestions

Thanks in advance.
TSharryleesbr
post Aug 16 2022, 02:02 PM

There are specific ones for bikes.

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Aug 16 2022, 09:37 AM)
I don't understand additives at all. The bike (or car) is designed to use regular oil. And NEVER use car engine oil additives on a bike because the clutch uses the same oil with the engine. On that note, NEVER use car engine oil on a bike.
TSharryleesbr
post Aug 17 2022, 03:01 PM

Abang, isn't this minyak lori, betul can put in moto enjin.....?

QUOTE(ajaibman @ Aug 16 2022, 04:59 PM)
Use Diesel grade engine oil (Rotella/Rimula or Uraina).. its JASO MA compliant.

still safer than those additives TS mentioned.
TSharryleesbr
post Aug 17 2022, 06:32 PM

Have to tembak... coz no idea.
The name i mentioned are the popular ones when I did a search.

HDEO is for very old moto (>10years) or new one also can.

QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 17 2022, 03:51 PM)
HDEO in motorcycles... people been using for ages

the list of additives, you also cincai tembak some brand names we also difficult to answer you
some are snake oil, some have specific function

some ppl spray water into intake manifold for decarbonize you got hear before? in some cases, water mist also can perform certain function to engine or components

majority ppl just avoid it because some do more harm than good, some are placebo
TSharryleesbr
post Aug 17 2022, 06:34 PM

Are all oil brands the same considering similar specs in I may ask?

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 17 2022, 03:54 PM)
All garbage..... and I deal regularly with the oil majors...
TSharryleesbr
post Aug 18 2022, 09:06 AM

Next oil change I am testing out HDEO

QUOTE(alexei @ Aug 17 2022, 08:31 PM)
see what ajaibman says and what u think leh?
no
TSharryleesbr
post Aug 19 2022, 05:44 PM

i got myself a can of Seaform. Added some into the FZ engine. It felt super smooth after running it around. Quieter too. Power still the same thought.

Fuel remains as it is. I can add Seaform in it but I am waiting for Redline to come in and test. Try first.

Will compare this with Shell HDEO in the next oil change. Watch many vids on it. Most seems pretty positive.
TSharryleesbr
post Oct 10 2022, 02:51 PM

Updates: 1010 km reached and I changed to HDEO Rimula R4x 15w-40.
Took the Effjek on her normal 50km makan angin vroom vroom ride.... engine behaving nicely. First impression smooth without Seaform (maybe still new). Maybe over thinking it but I think the clutch change seems more sharper. No sticky.
TSharryleesbr
post Oct 16 2022, 11:09 AM

Thanks for the hint.
I scheduled a change at 5000 km... every 5 oil change with check at every oil change smile.gif

QUOTE(alexei @ Oct 13 2022, 08:33 AM)
Regular change the spark plug will be more worthy, follow the owners manual and cut it to half.
TSharryleesbr
post Oct 16 2022, 11:15 AM

Rimula setting in nicely. 200km above now. Engine very smooth and clutch change is good as well.

Downside... power dropped. It takes a little bit more throttle and time to go above 100km.

My opinion... I going to finish the remaining 2 bottles for the subsequent oil change. Shell having sales, buy 2 get 1 free. Most likely will stick with it for now. Touring mode... not really going up to high speeds anyway. Besides that my old effjek might not be able to sustain so.

TSharryleesbr
post Oct 16 2022, 11:17 AM

Thanks otai @ajaibman for the recommendation!

0.0193sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:27 AM