Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer

views

light_up
post Jul 11 2022, 06:17 PM

Getting Started
171 posts

QUOTE(epjx31 @ Jul 10 2022, 06:42 PM)
Hey guys,

As some of you have seen me posted before, I am a tire engineer working for one of the top 4 premium manufacturer. I write mostly about tires on my blog here https://toptirereview.com/. My ultimate goal is to enable consumers to make a more knowledgeable decision when it comes to buying tires and I hope I can do so by using my website as a medium of information.

Anyways, since I am bored and its Sunday, I would take questions related to tires.

Feel free to ask any questions in regards to tires and I will try to answer as good as I can.

Thanks!
hi, i'm an ex tire compound r&d engineer in Giti, mind to share which tire company u r working with?
ktek
post Jul 11 2022, 06:25 PM

拼拼拼多啦
All Stars
12,545 posts

QUOTE(light_up @ Jul 11 2022, 06:17 PM)
hi, i'm an ex tire compound r&d engineer in Giti, mind to share which tire company u r working with?
u guys can be expertz here rclxms.gif
ktek
post Jul 11 2022, 06:26 PM

拼拼拼多啦
All Stars
12,545 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Jul 11 2022, 03:24 PM)
Why tyre shop ask me to rotate my tyres for a fee, when they're already rotating everyday when I drive?
coe684 is cute most of d times. u can ignore them rotate is happenning whenever u drives
kkm
post Jul 11 2022, 06:47 PM

Regular
1,192 posts

Why tyre shop ask me to rotate my tyres for a fee, when they're already rotating everyday when I drive?
This is a fantastic question! Best so far...
TSepjx31
post Jul 11 2022, 06:51 PM

16 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Jul 11 2022, 03:18 PM)
Will upsizing from 185/55 R16 to 205/50 R16 affect in fuel economy and car acceleration assuming using the same wheels

I believe this is due to larger size but from online calculator it was way below (seems like the perfect size to upsize to) the 3 percent threshold (+0.25%) over 185/55 tires.