Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer
DM3
Mar 19 2025, 01:27 PM
QUOTE(ry8128 @ Mar 19 2025, 08:58 AM) Thanks man, then I think it’s worth the try. Btw, what is the thread life for vp4? Since u change yearly. So far didn't try VP4, but frm Vp3 my type of driving about 26k+ km, Ps4 20k km, Turanza/primacy can last longer 30k km
littlefire
Mar 19 2025, 01:41 PM
QUOTE(ry8128 @ Mar 19 2025, 12:56 AM) Hi ts and sifus here. Looking to change my tyres and would love some feedback. Currently using primacy 4 and i already locked my next tyres to be either bridgestone turanza t005a or hankook ventus prime 4. Any feedback between this 2? - main priority is wet handling and braking, as i usually drive fast during rain. My cruising speed during dry days and rainy days are the same - second priority is noise and longetivity. - budget not an issue - definitely wont be going back to primacy 4 as i would like to try other brands. Primacy 5 also no for now, but most likely will be next (after either t005a/vp4). Only interested in touring tyres, not performance tyres. Thank you  Turanza T005a already 1 generation old, Hankook Ventus Prime 4 is the latest spec. https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Hankook/Ventus-Prime-4.htmhttps://www.tyrereviews.com/Compare/Turanza...tus-Prime-4.htmEasily VP4 outpace Turanza T005a Unless Bridgestone bring the latest Turanza T6, if not VP4 all the way https://www.tyrereviews.com/Compare/Turanza...tus-Prime-4.htmThis post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 19 2025, 01:43 PM
ry8128
Mar 19 2025, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 19 2025, 01:41 PM) Turanza T005a already 1 generation old, Hankook Ventus Prime 4 is the latest spec. https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Hankook/Ventus-Prime-4.htmhttps://www.tyrereviews.com/Compare/Turanza...tus-Prime-4.htmEasily VP4 outpace Turanza T005a Unless Bridgestone bring the latest Turanza T6, if not VP4 all the way https://www.tyrereviews.com/Compare/Turanza...tus-Prime-4.htmActually, in term of reviews and age of tyre, I leaning more towards vp4 as it is newer. Just that I am still skeptical about korean tyres. Furthermore it is cheaper than t005a, so wondering is it reliable or not, lol.
littlefire
Mar 19 2025, 02:07 PM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 17 2025, 12:54 AM) Longevity wise what is the recommended model? Michelin? If your looking for a tires with long longevity and in budget, you can only look for mid-range tires. Brand recommend as per below. Falken ZE3310/320 <- ZE320 new model coming soon, if can wait for this as it beats Michelin P4 in overall performance Hankook VP4 SUV <- Recommend this GitiComfort SUV520 Yokohama is also good, but since they are more towards comfort/performance bias their rubber compound is more softer and easy to wear out. But AE61 win quite a few awards in Asian tire test 2022 year due to good performance around the track. https://auta.sg/asias-ultimate-tyre-awards-...s-suv-category/This post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 19 2025, 02:09 PM
DM3
Mar 19 2025, 02:16 PM
Been asking around anyone tried Gripmax ?
Duckies
Mar 19 2025, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 19 2025, 02:07 PM) If your looking for a tires with long longevity and in budget, you can only look for mid-range tires. Brand recommend as per below. Falken ZE3310/320 <- ZE320 new model coming soon, if can wait for this as it beats Michelin P4 in overall performance Hankook VP4 SUV <- Recommend this GitiComfort SUV520 Yokohama is also good, but since they are more towards comfort/performance bias their rubber compound is more softer and easy to wear out. But AE61 win quite a few awards in Asian tire test 2022 year due to good performance around the track. https://auta.sg/asias-ultimate-tyre-awards-...s-suv-category/Don't really need performance...looking for price + longevity. How is Goodyear and Toyo in comparison with Falken, Hankook and Yoko?
ayamxxx
Mar 19 2025, 02:56 PM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 19 2025, 02:44 PM) Don't really need performance...looking for price + longevity. How is Goodyear and Toyo in comparison with Falken, Hankook and Yoko? if don't really need top2 performance but affordable price, decent tyre tread life, my experience, Toyo CR1 for a SUV size car. its better than my previous tyre model of Continental UC6 for raining grip, and after putting about 15k km, the wear on the CR1 still low, This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Mar 19 2025, 02:59 PM
littlefire
Mar 19 2025, 03:55 PM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 19 2025, 03:44 PM) Don't really need performance...looking for price + longevity. How is Goodyear and Toyo in comparison with Falken, Hankook and Yoko? Goodyear if want longevity only the Assurance Triplemaxx range Toyo CR1 SUV for me it is consider as lower budget range, longevity should be similar to Yokohama but more towards comfort base.
Duckies
Mar 19 2025, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 19 2025, 02:56 PM) if don't really need top2 performance but affordable price, decent tyre tread life, my experience, Toyo CR1 for a SUV size car. its better than my previous tyre model of Continental UC6 for raining grip, and after putting about 15k km, the wear on the CR1 still low, QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 19 2025, 03:55 PM) Goodyear if want longevity only the Assurance Triplemaxx range Toyo CR1 SUV for me it is consider as lower budget range, longevity should be similar to Yokohama but more towards comfort base. Based on the price for 4 tires, CR1 is about 200 more than AE61. Not sure if CR1 worth that extra compared to AE61. Primacy SUV+ is definitely the best but need to fork out almost 2k for all 4 tires.. Ouch
littlefire
Mar 19 2025, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 19 2025, 05:55 PM) Based on the price for 4 tires, CR1 is about 200 more than AE61. Not sure if CR1 worth that extra compared to AE61. Primacy SUV+ is definitely the best but need to fork out almost 2k for all 4 tires.. Ouch If people is quoting CR1 more expensive, that person is chopping you. CR1 is one of the cheapest in market due to local made, usually is even cheaper than Yokohama. This post has been edited by littlefire: Mar 19 2025, 04:58 PM
Duckies
Mar 19 2025, 05:43 PM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 19 2025, 04:57 PM) If people is quoting CR1 more expensive, that person is chopping you. CR1 is one of the cheapest in market due to local made, usually is even cheaper than Yokohama. It's the ppl fav shop in Klang.
ayamxxx
Mar 19 2025, 07:22 PM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 19 2025, 05:43 PM) It's the ppl fav shop in Klang. Oscar Bukit Kemuning please
Duckies
Mar 19 2025, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 19 2025, 07:22 PM) Oscar Bukit Kemuning please How much?
kueks
Mar 19 2025, 09:39 PM
want to ask those commercial building parking that use concrete as flooring
when turning, the tires will have those screeching sound,
long term will be bad for tyres? cos now daily have to turn up and down 6 floors to park at work place season parking.
ayamxxx
Mar 20 2025, 06:32 AM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 19 2025, 08:11 PM) +60 12-232 3210 Whatapps them for quotation for your tyre sizes an compare it with Klang price
littlefire
Mar 20 2025, 09:46 AM
QUOTE(kueks @ Mar 19 2025, 10:39 PM) want to ask those commercial building parking that use concrete as flooring when turning, the tires will have those screeching sound, long term will be bad for tyres? cos now daily have to turn up and down 6 floors to park at work place season parking. Tires treads are design to wistand harsh road condition, everyday driving on the roads tires make even more noise just you did not notice it as it is not in close area. FYI, the roads surface on the open is even more worse than concrete.
Duckies
Mar 20 2025, 10:03 AM
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Mar 20 2025, 06:32 AM) +60 12-232 3210 Whatapps them for quotation for your tyre sizes an compare it with Klang price Cheaper than Klang apparently but CR1 still more expensive than AE61
ayamxxx
Mar 20 2025, 10:24 AM
QUOTE(Duckies @ Mar 20 2025, 10:03 AM) Cheaper than Klang apparently but CR1 still more expensive than AE61  usually bought the PS4 at Oscar cz goodest price vs others. Klang prices are more premium nowadays, own experience, not like 2010 era. And the famous Kedai Papan shop at Klang, I hate their service treatment.
amscouzach57
Mar 20 2025, 04:47 PM
QUOTE(littlefire @ Mar 19 2025, 03:55 PM) Goodyear if want longevity only the Assurance Triplemaxx range Toyo CR1 SUV for me it is consider as lower budget range, longevity should be similar to Yokohama but more towards comfort base. I recommend Goodyear Assurance Maxguard SUV for SUV tires. Best bang for buck tires IMHO. Affordable, decent grip, good NVH & durable threads This post has been edited by amscouzach57: Mar 20 2025, 04:49 PM
littlefire
Mar 20 2025, 05:30 PM
QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Mar 20 2025, 05:47 PM) I recommend Goodyear Assurance Maxguard SUV for SUV tires. Best bang for buck tires IMHO. Affordable, decent grip, good NVH & durable threads For normal touring/budget Goodyear range tires i dont like is after few years their tire compound really will harden up. Benefits is treads really can last longer, but weakness the braking performance will drop significant, i got few bad experience with Goodyear tires in the past after like 3~5 years usage even the treads still thick but brakes performance really drop a lot and felt longer brakes.