78 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Bottom

Ask my anything about tires, I am a tire engineer

Pewufod
post Jul 17 2024, 10:19 AM

1,536 posts

is sumitomo bc100 sufficient for spirited driving for a 2.0 car with around 160hp?
littlefire
post Jul 17 2024, 11:17 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Jul 11 2024, 04:39 PM)
Dear epjx31,

215/45R17
Toyota Altezza RS200
Michelin PS4

Front left tyre got punctured on the sidewall.
Yesterday learned from 1 tiktok video: tyre sidewall damage cannot be repaired.

Looking to replace front 2 tyres.
Drive style comfort and relax, car for balik kampung during weekend.

Considering
1. Maxxis Ipro Vitra <- High Performance (Malaysia Maxxis website claim it is UHP)
2. Bridgestone RE004 <- Max Performance
3. Ventus Prime 4 <- Premium Touring
4. Ventus S1 evo3 - closest dimensions is 205/45R17 <- Max Performance

Max Performance/UUHP > High Performance > Premium Touring

Appreciate your advise.
Thank you.
Personally, PS4 is the top UUHP/Max Performance tires in market beating even the newest PS5 tire in term of performance.
If you can let go of the higher performance and go for comfort and relax style you will need to downgrade to premium touring type tires.
In the list only Ventus Prime 4 is in that premium touring category, the rest is either in Max performance or UHP tires range.

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 17 2024, 11:23 AM
amscouzach57
post Jul 17 2024, 09:54 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 17 2024, 11:17 AM)
Personally, PS4 is the top UUHP/Max Performance tires in market beating even the newest PS5 tire in term of performance.
If you can let go of the higher performance and go for comfort and relax style you will need to downgrade to premium touring type tires.
In the list only Ventus Prime 4 is in that premium touring category, the rest is either in Max performance or UHP tires range.
Bridgestone Potenza Adrenaline RE004 should be an entry level UHP. Above this tire should be Bridgestone Potenza Sport.

Hankook Ventus S1 Evo 3 K127 is also a UHP tire. Above this should be the new Hankook Ventus S1 Evo Z K129
pandikar
post Jul 18 2024, 07:25 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Jul 17 2024, 09:54 PM)
Bridgestone Potenza Adrenaline RE004 should be an entry level UHP. Above this tire should be Bridgestone Potenza Sport.

Hankook Ventus S1 Evo 3 K127 is also a UHP tire. Above this should be the new Hankook Ventus S1 Evo Z K129
Thank you for your feedbacks.

This post has been edited by pandikar: Jul 18 2024, 08:26 AM
littlefire
post Jul 18 2024, 08:48 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Jul 17 2024, 10:54 PM)

You may go into this website link and check the tire category for the related 1.

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Bridgestone/

Potenza RE004 is in Max Performance category, Only the old RE040 is in UHP tires.

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Hankook/

S1 all series are in Max Performance already, only the old Evo V12 is in UHP

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 18 2024, 08:51 AM
ayamxxx
post Jul 18 2024, 11:25 AM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(littlefire @ Jul 18 2024, 08:48 AM)
You may go into this website link and check the tire category for the related 1.

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Bridgestone/

Potenza RE004 is in Max Performance category, Only the old RE040 is in UHP tires.

https://www.tyrereviews.com/Tyre/Hankook/

S1 all series are in Max Performance already, only the old Evo V12 is in UHP
No idea why tyre manufacturers downgrade for the latest of their products
littlefire
post Jul 18 2024, 11:44 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 18 2024, 12:25 PM)
No idea why tyre manufacturers downgrade for the latest of their products
Max Performance is higher category than UHP, i believe is upgraded.

1.Track/Competition
2.Extreme Performance
3.Max Performance/UUHP
4.UHP (Ultra High Performance)
5.High Performance
6.Premium Touring

This post has been edited by littlefire: Jul 18 2024, 11:44 AM
pandikar
post Jul 18 2024, 02:41 PM

229 posts

Is it a good idea to pair Maxxis Victra IPRo or Hankook Ventus Prime 4 at one end with Michelin PS4 at the other end?

Should I choose tyres that are equal/almost equal to PS4 i.e. Bridgestone RE004 or Hankook Ventus S1 Evo 3?
littlefire
post Jul 18 2024, 03:24 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Jul 18 2024, 03:41 PM)
Is it a good idea to pair Maxxis Victra IPRo or Hankook Ventus Prime 4 at one end with Michelin PS4 at the other end?

Should I choose tyres that are equal/almost equal to PS4 i.e. Bridgestone RE004 or Hankook Ventus S1 Evo 3?
You can pair, but if you into hard driving or cornering at high speed better dont, as different tires might got different limitation. Especially the rear tires will need better performing tires to help. If your putting the lower performing tires in the front maybe still can.
dwRK
post Jul 18 2024, 03:31 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Jul 18 2024, 02:41 PM)

how much more bunga you have in your ps4?... if >50% can try find used ps4... tahan until change all 4...

since you don't drive aggressive, should be ok to pair good touring tires...

pandikar
post Jul 18 2024, 03:40 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 18 2024, 03:31 PM)
how much more bunga you have in your ps4?... if >50% can try find used ps4... tahan until change all 4...

since you don't drive aggressive, should be ok to pair good touring tires...
Think >80%, because after put on PS4 , travelled only 19,500km before realize front left sidewall punctured.

Or should I replace the punctured one with used PS4?

This post has been edited by pandikar: Jul 18 2024, 03:41 PM
dwRK
post Jul 18 2024, 04:22 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Jul 18 2024, 03:40 PM)
Think >80%, because after put on PS4 , travelled only 19,500km before realize front left sidewall punctured.

Or should I replace the punctured one with used PS4?
if me >80% i will try find a used ps4... where are you from?

im shopping for new shoes can try look out for you...

actually i would even consider buying a new one...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Jul 18 2024, 04:40 PM
ayamxxx
post Jul 18 2024, 05:27 PM

4,033 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 18 2024, 04:22 PM)

Go to FB marketplace, many sell the used 1-2 years old tyre with decent looking tread at affordable price. But there are also seller who still selling 5 years old tyre there, too old tyre is not ok
dwRK
post Jul 18 2024, 05:36 PM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jul 18 2024, 05:27 PM)
Go to FB marketplace, many sell the used 1-2 years old tyre with decent looking tread at affordable price. But there are also seller who still selling 5 years old tyre there, too old tyre is not ok
ya have to be careful

owners usually asking too much... by the time lower price tire old liao... shops just wanna make quick buck clear stock, but depends also if they have pairs or single...

pandikar
post Jul 18 2024, 06:36 PM

229 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jul 18 2024, 04:22 PM)

Thank you for your recommendations.

I am from Penang.

Found used PS4 on Shopee.
RM240 each. Minimum order 2 pcs.

Not worth it.
At that price, might as well buy new Maxxis Victra IPRo.

If lower-tier tyre is not an issue to couple with PS4, I plan to put Maxxis at the front.

This post has been edited by pandikar: Jul 19 2024, 08:04 AM
dwRK
post Jul 19 2024, 09:37 AM

the consummate chartist
6,227 posts

QUOTE(pandikar @ Jul 18 2024, 06:36 PM)
Thank you for your recommendations.

I am from Penang.

Found used PS4 on Shopee.
RM240 each. Minimum order 2 pcs.

Not worth it.
At that price, might as well buy new Maxxis Victra IPRo.

If lower-tier tyre is not an issue to couple with PS4, I plan to put Maxxis at the front.
me kl... a bit hard to help liao... lol...

yes you can mix any tyre for normal driving but in case of emergency braking handling may be more difficult and unpredictable... drive carefully should be ok

zroter
post Jul 21 2024, 03:17 PM

46 posts

hai boss, tolong listkan tayar Traction AA untuk 195/50/15 dan 195/55/15. dan apa awak recommend sebagai TOP 3 overall?
amscouzach57
post Jul 21 2024, 04:33 PM

525 posts

QUOTE(zroter @ Jul 21 2024, 03:17 PM)
hai boss, tolong listkan tayar Traction AA untuk 195/50/15 dan 195/55/15. dan apa awak recommend sebagai TOP 3 overall?
For street tires,

My preferrence:

Michelin Pilot Sport 3
Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin RE004
Maxxis Victra I-Pro
zroter
post Jul 22 2024, 10:16 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Jul 21 2024, 04:33 PM)
For street tires,

My preferrence:

Michelin Pilot Sport 3
Bridgestone Potenza Adrenalin RE004
Maxxis Victra I-Pro
harga saya dapat, Saga 2024:
185/55/15
(X) Kumho Ecsta PS31 // (X) Michelin Pilot Sport 3

195/50/15
(X) Kumho Ecsta PS31
(180) Maxxis Victra I-Pro // (180) Kinto Forza 001
(230) Yokohama Advan Fleva V701
(360) Michelin Pilot Sport 3

harga saya dapat, Myvi 2022:
195/55/15
(178) Maxxis Victra I-Pro // (188) Kumho Ecsta PS31
(215) Kinto Forza 001 // (240) Yokohama Advan Fleva V701
(291) Pirelli Cinturato Rosso
(325) Michelin Pilot Sport 3

This post has been edited by zroter: Jul 22 2024, 03:53 PM
amscouzach57
post Jul 22 2024, 11:20 AM

525 posts

QUOTE(zroter @ Jul 22 2024, 10:16 AM)
harga saya dapat, Saga 2024:
185/55/15
(195) Kumho Ecsta PS31
(255) Yokohama Advan Fleva V701
(321) Michelin Pilot Sport 3
195/50/15
(190) Maxxis Victra I-Pro // (195) Kumho Ecsta PS31
(215) Kinto Forza 001
(255) Yokohama Advan Fleva V701 // (298) Michelin Pilot Sport 3

harga saya dapat, Myvi 2022:
195/55/15
(178) Maxxis Victra I-Pro // (188) Kumho Ecsta PS31
(215) Kinto Forza 001 // (240) Yokohama Advan Fleva V701
(291) Pirelli Cinturato Rosso
(325) Michelin Pilot Sport 3
IMHO, in this list, the only tires worth considering is Michelin PS3 & Maxxis Victra I-Pro.

78 Pages « < 56 57 58 59 60 > » Top

0.0296sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 03:48 PM