Sony SONY Xperia 1 & 5 series.. IV, V, VI generation

TSChuanHong
post Jul 31 2024, 03:41 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jul 31 2024, 09:36 AM)
Hi all sifus, is the Xperia 1 III still relevant these days in terms of photo taking?

Yes I understand that it's 3 years old and it will be my first xperia phone. I feel like getting a used one to replace my backup phone. Curious to know about the batt life and support etc.
get 1 IV instead of III.. snapdragon 888 vs 8 gen 1.. even both not that good, but 8 gen 1 still better than 888 in daily use.. camera wise, nothing much change from III to IV.. only difference is IV did support Video pro & USB 3.2 gen.. support vlog monitor as well..
Kahlamx
post Aug 1 2024, 09:51 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Jul 31 2024, 03:41 PM)
get 1 IV instead of III.. snapdragon 888 vs 8 gen 1.. even both not that good, but 8 gen 1 still better than 888 in daily use.. camera wise, nothing much change from III to IV.. only difference is IV did support Video pro & USB 3.2 gen.. support vlog monitor as well..
Thanks for you advice. But the gap of pricing between III and IV is quite big in the used market. I can get around RM1k or less for the III but the IV is over RM2k...

Just found out that there is a creator's intent mode on these phones. Never knew a BT2020 phone exists, and yes I understand that it's not full coverage but at least t covers 100% DCI-P3...still an awesome phone:P
TSChuanHong
post Aug 1 2024, 02:16 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Aug 1 2024, 09:51 AM)
Thanks for you advice. But the gap of pricing between III and IV is quite big in the used market. I can get around RM1k or less for the III but the IV is over RM2k...

Just found out that there is a creator's intent mode on these phones. Never knew a BT2020 phone exists, and yes I understand that it's not full coverage but at least t covers 100% DCI-P3...still an awesome phone:P
if u really need BT2020 format and do color grading at post processing, then yes.. without changing it from SDR, normal device display will looks like wash out footage.. so must know what are u doing.. 1 III im not sure whether do have BT2020, maybe cinema pro app.. but no video pro app, u wont get normal 16:9 ratio video..

oh 1 IV got market rate 2k?! im keeping mine.. 1 III 3 years away from now.. hmm.. but even my Xperia 1 (1st gen) still working fine and my mother in laws is using it..
nebousuke
post Aug 3 2024, 12:07 AM

BlahBlah
944 posts

QUOTE(chubbyliao @ Jul 27 2024, 10:31 PM)
Sorry I am using 1V. I am thinking of getting 1VI if it works.
Hi just to let you know that using shisuka and pixel ims made wifi calling work for me. See the icon now becomes wifi and calling.

https://xdaforums.com/t/vowifi-and-volte-no...g-2024.4566313/

This post has been edited by nebousuke: Aug 3 2024, 12:08 AM
chubbyliao
post Aug 3 2024, 09:28 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(nebousuke @ Aug 3 2024, 12:07 AM)
Hi just to let you know that using shisuka and pixel ims made wifi calling work for me. See the icon now becomes wifi and calling.

https://xdaforums.com/t/vowifi-and-volte-no...g-2024.4566313/

Hmm... I did that for 1V, I can enable the setting, but still in actual usage it didn't work. Checking with the special code and even with the switch on it says wifi calling not provisioned.
Are you using maxis and 1VI?
nebousuke
post Aug 3 2024, 02:10 PM

BlahBlah
944 posts

QUOTE(chubbyliao @ Aug 3 2024, 09:28 AM)
Hmm... I did that for 1V, I can enable the setting, but still in actual usage it didn't work. Checking with the special code and even with the switch on it says wifi calling not provisioned.
Are you using maxis and 1VI?
Did you get the wifi calling logo on the status bar like I did? Yes I am using Hotlink postpaid
chubbyliao
post Aug 3 2024, 02:26 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(nebousuke @ Aug 3 2024, 02:10 PM)
Did you get the wifi calling logo on the status bar like I did? Yes I am using Hotlink postpaid
No I didn't get that. Your model of 1V is DQ-72? I am on maxis postpaid too.
Can you try the code *#*#4636#*#* and check phone information, and check is wifi calling provisioned?

If indeed it works for you I will try to setup using Shizuku and pixel ims again..

Thanks a lot for checking.
nebousuke
post Aug 3 2024, 03:02 PM

BlahBlah
944 posts

QUOTE(chubbyliao @ Aug 3 2024, 02:26 PM)
No I didn't get that. Your model of 1V is DQ-72? I am on maxis postpaid too.
Can you try the code *#*#4636#*#* and check phone information, and check is wifi calling provisioned?

If indeed it works for you I will try to setup using Shizuku and pixel ims again..

Thanks a lot for checking.
No I am not using Xperia 1V, I am using Xperia 1 VI, EC72. Yes, wifi calling is enabled on *#*#info#*#*.

chubbyliao
post Aug 3 2024, 03:23 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(nebousuke @ Aug 3 2024, 03:02 PM)
No I am not using Xperia 1V, I am using Xperia 1 VI, EC72.  Yes, wifi calling is enabled on *#*#info#*#*.
Hmm... I should seriously consider 1VI now.. thanks a lot for checking.
nebousuke
post Aug 3 2024, 08:51 PM

BlahBlah
944 posts

QUOTE(chubbyliao @ Aug 3 2024, 03:23 PM)
Hmm... I should seriously consider 1VI now.. thanks a lot for checking.
Plenty of money for voice over wifi haha
chubbyliao
post Aug 3 2024, 10:27 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(nebousuke @ Aug 3 2024, 08:51 PM)
Plenty of money for voice over wifi haha
Oops . Of course it has to be more than that. I played a bit more with the camera at the store today, also I compared the screen under my normal usage to make sure I am not bothered by the 1080 screen (luckily I don't really see any difference so far to my 4k screen).
The only thing holding me back is of course the $$, and interestingly the size of the phone, how I really like the 21:9 profile so the larger 1vi is a bit less comfortable in hand, at least for me.

So, I am still having second thoughts about it.
nebousuke
post Aug 4 2024, 01:58 PM

BlahBlah
944 posts

QUOTE(chubbyliao @ Aug 3 2024, 10:27 PM)
Oops . Of course it has to be more than that. I played a bit more with the camera at the store today, also I compared the screen under my normal usage to make sure I am not bothered by the 1080 screen (luckily I don't really see any difference so far to my 4k screen).
The only thing holding me back is of course the $$, and interestingly the size of the phone, how I really like the 21:9 profile so the larger 1vi is a bit less comfortable in hand, at least for me.

So, I am still having second thoughts about it.
It's marginal upgrade, a little bit brighter, a little bit louder, a little bit longer in zoom, a little better upgrade cycle. Probably doesn't warrant an upgrade over 1v. Heck, I don't even think it's warrant an upgrade over my Xperia Pro-I, if it wasn't the faulty wifi.
chubbyliao
post Aug 4 2024, 03:28 PM

134 posts

Anyone ordered the HK or Taiwan set of 1VI and do you know if that would still be eligible for the free Sony casing promotion? (I doubt it).
I decided to order online since I don't need the xm5 (already got one and I am too lazy to sell it off online).
TSChuanHong
post Aug 5 2024, 09:12 AM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(chubbyliao @ Aug 4 2024, 03:28 PM)
Anyone ordered the HK or Taiwan set of 1VI and do you know if that would still be eligible for the free Sony casing promotion? (I doubt it).
I decided to order online since I don't need the xm5 (already got one and I am too lazy to sell it off online).
MY set user havent get the case yet.. and u need to register ur IMEI/serial number at sony portal to entitle for the free Sony casing.. so i dont think HK set can do that..
nebousuke
post Aug 6 2024, 11:19 AM

BlahBlah
944 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 5 2024, 09:12 AM)
MY set user havent get the case yet.. and u need to register ur IMEI/serial number at sony portal to entitle for the free Sony casing.. so i dont think HK set can do that..
There isn't a single news about the Sony case from Sony.
TSChuanHong
post Aug 6 2024, 04:38 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(nebousuke @ Aug 6 2024, 11:19 AM)
There isn't a single news about the Sony case from Sony.
I have message to them through FB. They got my order number and checking.. however no reply yet. Will update again if there is any
chubbyliao
post Aug 7 2024, 10:35 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 5 2024, 09:12 AM)
I would think so too. Thanks for sharing.
Anyone tried the deff bumper case? A bit pricey, but I always like bumper case.
TSChuanHong
post Aug 7 2024, 10:07 PM

I <3 Xperia
4,412 posts

QUOTE(chubbyliao @ Aug 7 2024, 10:35 AM)
Hmm nope. But I did used bumper case before back to z5p era.. hmm not so great on hand in term of experience. It is quite bulky in my opinion.

Especially now our phone ratio changed and cause body width increase.. not so recommended. I miss 21:9 body wide + Sony style cover, super slim fit on hand..

Btw received reply from Sony and they just asked to wait for 4 to 8 weeks. Now it's about 4 weeks soon since my order placed.. so assume another month to receive the Sony stand case.. right now using a cheap leather case. Not bad too..

StiggyPlue P
post Aug 14 2024, 11:30 AM

Probation

QUOTE(ChuanHong @ Aug 7 2024, 10:07 PM)
Hmm nope. But I did used bumper case before back to z5p era.. hmm not so great on hand in term of experience. It is quite bulky in my opinion.

Especially now our phone ratio changed and cause body width increase.. not so recommended. I miss 21:9 body wide + Sony style cover, super slim fit on hand..
Btw received reply from Sony and they just asked to wait for 4 to 8 weeks. Now it's about 4 weeks soon since my order placed.. so assume another month to receive the Sony stand case.. right now using a cheap leather case. Not bad too..
They called me to ask me to update delivery address last week. I think they are checking each person one by one to update on details before the cover delivery.. which is why I suspect the delay of cover..
StiggyPlue P
post Aug 14 2024, 11:33 AM

Probation

QUOTE(chubbyliao @ Aug 7 2024, 10:35 AM)
I think Devilcase is the best we can get for now. Although the back is just a thin piece of plastic, I guess it offers overall solid protection and good fit. The Deff aramid case feels too thin to warrant any easiness for protection. But I love the carbon design. Sad that Dbrand no longer do for Sony. They have the BEST casing ever.

42 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0306sec    1.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:02 AM