4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

~LY.Net Honda City Enthusiast Club~ V4 now..., Honda, the power of dream...

Fasap
post Oct 17 2007, 03:17 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

As for a poor earning man like me.. just got my 2nd hand 3gen city yesterday.. and one thing i can say.. the city is a damn great ride.. feels far better than my brother's vios! tongue.gif just love accelerating using the 7speed manual at traffic lights tongue.gif

Got a sweet ICE upgrade the same day.. sweat.gif as for exterior looks, planning to start off with a spoiler.. any suggestions on which type of spoiler to use?
Fasap
post Oct 18 2007, 12:35 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Oct 17 2007, 06:51 PM)
Woo...Congratulations on ur new ride fasap.  tongue.gif ...u good la, got city to drive...i currently driving waja nia. I think my city only can buy on Dec or next year Jan lo.  sad.gif  BTW, ur city is the 2004 silver i-dsi tat 1 ar??? All how much??

Ok, for the spoiler, i suggest u use duck tail (below pic).....Simple, normal n dam* nice!!!  rclxms.gif
yup.. the silver one.. kaw tim summore wit the seller and got price cut summore.. thumbup.gif all totaling to 59500 (incl. insurance)

did try to find other ct's, maybe a black 2004 idsi, but most I found were a bit 'seasoned' and indeed 2nd 2004 black idsi city are quite hard to find, so lack of choice.. summore mileage all up to 60K++.. so settled for this one lorr tongue.gif

Ok what waja.. at least u weren't driving a kelisa for the past 5yrs like me sweat.gif sweat.gif

the duck tail.. hmm.. looks promising.. but if you use on a silver ct, looks less aggressive compared on black ct's imho.. but will give a look see..

after seeing this, the mugen spoiler also seems like a good choice.. sweat.gif

DARN IT! JUST LOVE BLACK CT'S! too bad got to settle for silver whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Fasap: Oct 18 2007, 12:39 AM
Fasap
post Oct 18 2007, 02:00 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Oct 18 2007, 01:52 AM)
Wah, not bad woo..RM59,500 included insurance summore. Good price!

Both spoiler above are nice...but i prefer duck tail la because more Nice mah. Hahaha... tongue.gif
Yalo, Black CT dam* nice to look at la...sporty man!!! but silver also ok mah...think the good side of silver color lo coz black color is hard to maintain ler, minor scratches very obvious and ur car will look dirty maybe after rain coz the dust stuck at thr and very obvious ler. Need to wash frequently la...but worth it lo...haha...Nice mah black color!  thumbup.gif  second is silver.  tongue.gif
ya lor.. been asking around oso abt the color choice..

if ure usually goin outstation like me, surely ure car's gonna look like a habuk dispenser.. black car means super-extra care to maintain cleanliness.. if silver u still can get away without washing ure ride for a a week or two.. thumbup.gif that's why in the end i chose the silver one loo..

hey bro.. so u said ure getting ure ct by dec or jan rite? you goin for a new one or a 2nd one? made up mind yet? icon_idea.gif
Fasap
post Oct 18 2007, 09:35 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Oct 18 2007, 02:16 AM)
hmm.gif ...i think mostly will go for 2nd hand 1 lo...no need to loan so much, + can faster finish the loan and most important is not too burden for me. hehehe!  tongue.gif
Ei bro, did u know team city forum website?? nice ler, u can get alot of info at tat website. Plus u can join as member thr and get urself a TeamCity number. After be the official member, u can join the event and TT together with them to know more fren, share share the info bout ur lovely ride - City... hehe! I can't join yet coz still haven't buy my city.  sad.gif
Go thr n cc....u need to create a new account thn login.  biggrin.gif
TeamCity
Teamcity.rules.it icon_rolleyes.gif

yup.. already joined it EVEN B4 I BOUGHT MY CAR laugh.gif ... being a 'silent observer' laugh.gif just only now ive started posting sweat.gif When you get ure ct then we join the membership n get our TC number together lorr thumbup.gif

2nd hand? good choice bro.. loan finish faster, debts finish early, then get to buy other dream car icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(cloudyCO @ Oct 18 2007, 02:57 AM)
Yupz join TeamCity for more discussion. And Envy those Thais and their FiberShop. Well some of the local design
do look great ... yet ima still yearning for the quality ones that are available in Thailand.

Lol to get you started ....

Cheers Mate, Oh well at least we can put the Civic Mugen Spoiler as first step hahaha.
Whoa.. nice ride.. wish got the time and muney to do mine like that sweat.gif

yeah, thais got loadsa swell and sweet b/kit designs.. we're just stuck with the standard modulo & mugen & airmaster kits.. just love the 'Dominator' Kit the thais sometime use.

wish I could get my hands on this kit:

This post has been edited by Fasap: Oct 18 2007, 09:38 AM
Fasap
post Oct 18 2007, 10:27 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

that's why you gotta hv race car driving experience/skills to use large spoilers or GT Wings laugh.gif laugh.gif

for normal ppl like myself just use the ducktail is enough tongue.gif
Fasap
post Oct 18 2007, 11:00 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Oct 18 2007, 10:32 AM)
thanks for the very informative answer rclxms.gif
Just joking la bro.. dont be so harsh cry.gif

but still common sense la bro, if youre not attuned to a limited rear view of course dangerous la.. some ppl might use the huge spoilers just for cosmetic reason without proper knowledge.

Race cars use big rear spoilers to provide the aerodynamic downforce they need to tackle corners at insane speeds (i.e no need to worry abt a Mat Repit coming in on a rear blind spot of the wing/spoiler) and mind you their spoilers are well designed to provide such downforce imho. Some ppl, on the other hand, need a big rear wing because it looks damn cool and they want to be 'sporty' without considering whether their wing/spoiler truly has the downforce effect on their car.

Since a wing or any other aerodynamic piece added to a car affects the entire flowfield around the car, the benefits to one type of car over another is not so easily seen. There are large changes to the turbulent flow profile that will change how much downforce and drag are created. So a spoiler/wing works differently on different types of car designs. In other words, when you gain more downforce, you gain a little drag, and you loose some speed. Its all in the stabilty to speed ratio. Some ppl ive met oso think that the bigger the spoiler/wing the faster your car can go! shocking.gif

summore, imho, the ct has a high rear view profile, so its quite awkward to have a clean view of the rear even without any spoilers. Maybe its me, but most modern cars are built this way nowadays as their base designs have good aerodynamics and provide ample downforce, even without a spoiler/wing at the rear. (or izzit malaysian mentality wants LARGE trunk space for balik kampung? hmm.gif )

And for the Ducktail/duckbill, its nearly, purely cosmetic upgrade without proper design. according from what i remember frm me physics classes the Newton's Laws of Motion comes to play. In particular, Newton's Second Law, which states that, "the time-rate-of-change of momentum equals the force acting on the body." Well, the body in this case happens to be trillions upon trillions of air molecules and the momentum change refers to the re-directing of the molecules upwards. Newton's Third Law states that "For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction" and this also works in aerodynamics. Thus, if a body (such as a duckbill)forces air molecules to go upwards, then the air molecules push back on the body. As a result, downforce is created if the air is forced upwards and lift is generated when air is forced downwards. So a simple duckbill/ducktail like the one that aarex shown isn't forcing too much air to go upwards and not much downforce is generated as a result. You've got to move a lot of air upwards to generate much downforce. hence higher slope like the one i shown on the black CT.

.... phew now that's some sh1t i wrote there.. you guys dun need to read if u dont want tongue.gif whistling.gif

So, just like I said.. it all depends on your experience and skills in driving when u want o use a large wing/spoiler.

do correct me if im wrong.. wink.gif

cheers! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by Fasap: Oct 18 2007, 11:49 AM
Fasap
post Oct 18 2007, 04:23 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(aarex @ Oct 18 2007, 03:41 PM)
Hahaha....u wan to wait me ar, still lama lagi wo..now oct only..haha! Potential TC members here.  rclxms.gif  BTW, whr r u from??? i'm from NS.  tongue.gif
Fuyooo, u wrote lots of info bout spoiler la...very informative!!!  thumbup.gif
No prob to wait loo.. I'm also currently at stock parts no point joining their gatherings now sweat.gif .. maybe by nxt year oredi upgrade, hv more confidence to join the TC guys tongue.gif

Im from Kajang smile.gif

Not that informative loo.. just what i remembered during my student days sweat.gif

QUOTE(mydelsol @ Oct 18 2007, 03:45 PM)
now thats the kind of answer i was looking for, THANKS rclxms.gif  notworthy.gif
Cheers dude.. wink.gif

Fasap
post Oct 18 2007, 11:01 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

of coz la bro.. hv car then only can talk this much laugh.gif

when u get ure car 4sure ure gonna be talking as loud as me.. hahah
Fasap
post Oct 19 2007, 01:00 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(cloudyCO @ Oct 19 2007, 03:12 AM)
Aiyar come la we do the Thick Skin no Care face style la, we just go with our Stock car ... Stock TAKEover la.
Maybe they can help us get lubang get cheap stuffs haha
laugh.gif thick skin no care! nice one! there's no official gath for TC them rite now.. maybe when they hv official meet up we can go 2gether-gether (stock people tongue.gif) la and do some STOCKtakeover.. thumbup.gif
Fasap
post Oct 19 2007, 03:06 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

Yeah.. TOVA has great articles abt honda cars.. I fell in love with the CT after reading these.. (3gen one):

http://asia.vtec.net/article/2003City2/index.html
eventho its an old article, its got great tips & techniques on using the 7-speed CVT to full potential.. rclxm9.gif thumbup.gif

and

http://asia.vtec.net/beystock/honda/SportsConcept/HMCity/

Honda is certainly is at the forefront of innovation imho.. compared to the Big T who's sole objective is to conquer the market, in our region that is..

This post has been edited by Fasap: Oct 19 2007, 03:09 PM
Fasap
post Oct 20 2007, 02:05 AM

Ow ny may
626 posts

Added on October 20, 2007, 2:15 am
QUOTE(babyk @ Oct 19 2007, 04:35 PM)
***Remember: There is no actual 7 speed gear, only virtual gear, i think the gearbox has only 4-speed gear in actual gear mode***
IMHO, the CVT does not operate with 4-speed gear in an actual gear mode. 1st of all it has an infinite gear ratio, thus eliminating the fact that it is same as 4-speed. We call it the 4-speed auto because it has 4 FIXED gear ratios to deliver power. CVT in normal drive (i.e L,S,D) has infinate gear ratios (hence the Continuously Variable) and therefore no apparent jerking during your drive due to the ratios that varies depending on your driving style. On the other hand, when you use the 7-speed, you have 7 FIXED virtual gear ratios to provide you with better performance due to higher RPM developed by the fixed ratios.

Summore... 4-speed g/box requires a torque converter to deliver power to the flywheel, whereas CVT connects directly to the flywheel to transfer the power, eliminating the need of a torque converter (lesser engine strain = lower FC smile.gif)

QUOTE(cloudyCO @ Oct 20 2007, 01:23 AM)
I am under the impression that CVT doesn't have a gear box at all , it's uses a pully system - with a set of predefine points  of extension (our case - 7) for the Virtual Gears.

Honda CVTS' got gears? (sincere question).

Do correct me if i'm wrong, but frm the looks of it (and what ive read frm TOVA) the 'gears' here are represented by the two v-shaped cones shown above (in engineering terms it's called the Conical Gear)..

Here's an article abt how the CVT principle works;

http://asia.vtec.net/article/DriveMMT/index.html

although its not the same g/box as in the city we know, the technology is the same as the one 1st introduced back in 1995 in the EK3 Ferio Civic's MMT transmission system.. the current CVT's big brother tongue.gif

here's also an article on how to use the CVT-7 at best potential:

http://asia.vtec.net/article/2003City/index.html

I just dont understand why Honda removed the 7speed steermatic frm the new FL 4gen idsi... Yeah I understand that the 7speed mode consumes more fuel than normal transmission mode.. but it seems that they're trying imply the idsi buyer's dont want to have 'FUN', and only VTEC ppl are the ones that are allowed to have some fun.. sad.gif

This post has been edited by Fasap: Oct 20 2007, 02:32 AM
Fasap
post Oct 21 2007, 09:07 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

Aiyaa babyk.. working so hard to poison ppl to buy 8th gen civic ahh.. you get some incentive mooooney frm honda izzit? tongue.gif tongue.gif summore want to give out 'babyk loan' laugh.gif if you can refinance my car under your loan wit 0.01% interest i take la.. icon_idea.gif

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Oct 21 2007, 04:58 PM)
what is bbk loan? loan shark kaa? dun la...

i have a plan... i use city first... then in 3-4 years im able to save abt 30-35k. trade the city, and get civic with low monthly payment... good plan eh? haha
Wah! apisgogo.. same plan as me loooh! 3-4 years in my current CT and im opting for a civic 2.0s tongue.gif or Type-R whistling.gif oso.. by that time my salary surely can afford.. thumbup.gif start slow-slow.. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

summore a new 9th gen civic might come out by then doh.gif ohh well..

once you go honda u never look back sweat.gif wink.gif (even if tis 2nd hand whistling.gif )

This post has been edited by Fasap: Oct 21 2007, 09:16 PM
Fasap
post Oct 22 2007, 01:34 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

Seriously.. I dont know if its just me, but roads nowadays seem to be flooded with CT and Civics.. anywhere you go u can see a CT or a Civic.. Just having the feeling that CTs are going to overtake Vios' sales tongue.gif

even now CTs are starting to flood our streets, imagine when the new fit/aria model comes out.. laugh.gif summore, the big T's Dugong-mobile (tongue.gif) will have a hard time to live up to its predecessor's reputation, imho..

but still if the prices arent competitive, its going to be a rough journey for honda..
Fasap
post Oct 22 2007, 04:58 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(apisgogo @ Oct 22 2007, 04:00 PM)
i have no problem with the new vios, looks sporty and modern, (camry'ish') but when i sat in the cockpit, feels like not toyota (even the new persona's interior is better imho). and dont like the centered meter.

but when sat in city, is different smile.gif

Yeah.. i did sounded like a blind basher sweat.gif , didnt mean to disgrace toyota and such.. I too was a vios enthusiast a few months back.. I even NEARLY bought myself a vios in june!

I even called the CT an Ikan lumba2 (i.e dolphin) and my dad used to call it 'Honda tak cukup bulan' (i.e stillborn honda) but gatal2 went to testdrv my fren's CT.. I was 'converted' then and there by the NVH, spaciousness and of course zooming off at trafficlites using S-Mode + 7speed Manual... brows.gif

so its true.. dont judge a book by its cover.. so i wont judge the new vios coz i havent drove it yet icon_idea.gif who knows i might buy it next... Bah!! fat chance! whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Fasap: Oct 22 2007, 05:01 PM
Fasap
post Oct 22 2007, 10:13 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

Sweeet!

The new FiT has just been launched in Japan:

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/10/22/new...a-jazz-details/

I predict the ARiA model will follow not long now.. and hopefully reach malaysia by end 2008 maybe?? Hope it will be profiled as sleek as the FiT thumbup.gif

a 'mini civic' is coming to town.. paddle shifters! check! 3 spoke 'civic-esque' steering check!. Nice cup holders tongue.gif.. nice ultraseat pockets..damn this is goin to be awesome.. If the new CT's goin to look/spec'd like this.. i just can image how the vios is goin to cope with it rolleyes.gif

i-vtec equiped.. is this the end of the i-dsi??? summore the CVT comes with a torque converter..? just like the civic right? hmmm cant wait to see the malaysian spec wink.gif

This post has been edited by Fasap: Oct 22 2007, 10:17 PM
Fasap
post Oct 22 2007, 11:57 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

dun think so ler.. the signiture A-pillar beside the side mirrors are absent.. confirm not lerr..

as i recall, this is an old 'artists impression' of the new Fit Aria b4 the actual 2008 fit came out, see the small pic.. that was supposed to be the 2008 fit/jazz..

so i doubt this being the new ct.. (fingers crossed smile.gif)
Fasap
post Oct 23 2007, 01:23 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

Apisgogo:

Congrats on ure booking/purchase man thumbup.gif

Anyways my fren booked the city (sparkling gray) early last month, and till now he still hasn't received his car (1.5mths and counting). Bought at honda showroom in PJ.. bugged the SA abt why so late, SA informed that (mostly gv this reason frm wht ive heard) the sparkling gray color is high in demand and may take up to 2mths.. other colors he say can guarantee a 1mth waiting.. only after you book and bug them they will only tell you this.. haish..

ah well.. keep your fingers crossed man! doa byk2 dpt in 1mth! thumbup.gif
Fasap
post Oct 23 2007, 02:06 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(Kerry1136 @ Oct 23 2007, 01:37 PM)
Hey citi-zens,

I was wondering whether u guys got similar problem as I do.

My driver's carpet when I take out to wash I saw the carpet got like a stain...and its abit oily...I look at the mat below also got a stain...

Now my passenger drivers side also got this oily stain.....I went to sc the guy said it must be my feet rubbing the carpet thats why got stain....but its kinda oily...hrmm...any of your cars got this problem?

Take out your carpet look beneath it....touch it with your hand...its not wet but u can clearly feel there's abit oily there
Just removed my mat at lunch to clear some dust..

nope, i have no oily substances/condition on my carpet at all even before.

just a hunch, but maybe its due to your wet shoes/sandals, the dampness for long periods may settle in under your mat and dust particles that combine together with the dampness develop oily substances? just my 2 cents..

But its quite worrying when considering the fuel tank is under the cabin.. better you go to another SC to clarify? just to be safe..

cheers!
Fasap
post Oct 23 2007, 03:00 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

yeah, buy any car you will rugi worr.. tongue.gif

only 6years and depreciation reaches nearly 40K! whoa.. 1.3 wira depreciates like a continental car..

nasib baik honda cars dont depreciate this fast sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Fasap: Oct 23 2007, 03:36 PM
Fasap
post Oct 24 2007, 03:15 PM

Ow ny may
626 posts

QUOTE(iRonTech @ Oct 24 2007, 01:05 PM)
hmm.gif  Is this 2008 City?

Heaven will fall and Hell will freeze laaa if thats the new CITY.. people wont go buy accord/civic anymore.. just look at the size shakehead.gif

indeed its the accord concept.. so thats its boys an gals.. another myth busted nod.gif

want to see what the 2008 CT ? just look at the pics of the new FiT lorr.. must be exactly the same with exteded butt job only.. the Fit (Jazz) and Aria (CT) are siblings.. the CT wont be styled much different compared to the Jazz.. mark my words.. if got no A-pillar beside side mirrors than its not the CT 2008.. brows.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0568sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 11:17 PM