[2022] MacBook Air with M2 Discussion Thread

Pat89
post Jul 18 2022, 10:45 AM

2,092 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Jul 18 2022, 11:43 AM)
to be fair, most windows laptop also same especially those are in black.

try on lenovo laptop, u will know.. tongue.gif
for my office laptop, it always have obvious oily stains on the surface of the laptop.
Yes, you're right. My office using Lenovo T14 and I have Asus Experbook B9 blask color too.....my god the stain doh.gif

So for me, MIDNIGHT it is rclxm9.gif
GOLILA
post Jul 18 2022, 08:51 PM

199 posts

i just receive email will Arrives 26 July 2022
jagadis
post Jul 18 2022, 08:55 PM

Aspire to Inspire before we expire
1,107 posts

QUOTE(GOLILA @ Jul 18 2022, 08:51 PM)
i just receive email will Arrives 26 July 2022
What was the original estimated shipping date?

I called Apple and upgraded mine from 256GB to 512GB.

So my config now is:

8-core GPU
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
McDullDull
post Jul 18 2022, 08:56 PM

30 posts

After so many reviews on the M2 MBA....
I went and pre-odered an M1 MBA 512... rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by McDullDull: Jul 18 2022, 08:57 PM
ultra_nyamuk
post Jul 18 2022, 09:56 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(McDullDull @ Jul 18 2022, 08:56 PM)
I went and pre-odered an M1 MBA 512...  rolleyes.gif
Why? Price is definitely cheaper. Edit: any other reasons other than price?

This post has been edited by ultra_nyamuk: Jul 18 2022, 10:27 PM
jagadis
post Jul 19 2022, 06:56 AM

1,107 posts

QUOTE(McDullDull @ Jul 18 2022, 08:56 PM)
I went and pre-odered an M1 MBA 512...  rolleyes.gif
Good choice. Its a solid laptop.

I just can’t get over the thick display bezzels.
GOLILA
post Jul 19 2022, 08:11 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(jagadis @ Jul 18 2022, 08:55 PM)
What was the original estimated shipping date?

I called Apple and upgraded mine from 256GB to 512GB.

So my config now is:

8-core GPU
16GB RAM
512GB SSD
25/7- 1/8
jagadis
post Jul 19 2022, 10:02 AM

1,107 posts

QUOTE(GOLILA @ Jul 19 2022, 08:11 AM)
25/7- 1/8
Oh okay. You must be one of the first ones to purchase it online. I don't know anyone in Malaysia who got it in July.
stevenhsl
post Jul 19 2022, 10:08 AM

-removed-

This post has been edited by stevenhsl: Jul 19 2022, 10:17 AM
stevenhsl2512
post Jul 19 2022, 10:19 AM

179 posts

I have recently ordered 16+256GB version MBA, and after reading the news about 256GB SSD being slower, should I be concern about lower sequential read speed? Because for normal usage like accessing apps or internet browsing, random read/write is more important right?

My usage is only just chrome browsing, spotify, netflix, background running wechat WA line etc and microsoft office only, no video rendering gaming or photo editing. Under this kind of usage, not sure the single NAND SSD will show its disadvantage here.

Mac sifu pls enlighten me coz this is my first mac, been using windows all my life.
Jason
post Jul 19 2022, 10:30 AM

6,356 posts

QUOTE(stevenhsl2512 @ Jul 19 2022, 10:19 AM)
I have recently ordered 16+256GB version MBA, and after reading the news about 256GB SSD being slower, should I be concern about lower sequential read speed? Because for normal usage like accessing apps or internet browsing, random read/write is more important right?

My usage is only just chrome browsing, spotify, netflix, background running wechat WA line etc and microsoft office only, no video rendering gaming or photo editing. Under this kind of usage, not sure the single NAND SSD will show its disadvantage here.

Mac sifu pls enlighten me coz this is my first mac, been using windows all my life.
https://youtu.be/I82gF_YAljU
https://youtu.be/H6Olqv5ChlQ

I would go for 8GB + 512GB if I were buying. So that I have more storage. But you can see head to head comparison and draw your own conclusion.

I placed order for MBA M1 instead. Don’t feel this time MBA M2 is worth the price increase asked by Apple.
stevenhsl2512
post Jul 19 2022, 10:56 AM

179 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 19 2022, 10:30 AM)

I would go for 8GB + 512GB if I were buying. So that I have more storage. But you can see head to head comparison and draw your own conclusion.

I placed order for MBA M1 instead. Don’t feel this time MBA M2 is worth the price increase asked by Apple.
I thought of 8+512 at first, but ram is non-upgradeable while storage can always be extended using external HDD or NAS. I Actually don't need more storage as I have most of my things on cloud and I rarely download stuff as well. My windows laptop with 256gb is only 50% full after so many years of usage.

Since I ordered the 16Gb version, can I say that... as long as I do not multitask too much and cause my ram to use swap, I won't notice the speed difference in my daily usage, is this correct?

16gb is to futureproof as im planning to use this laptop for 5 years (or more)

This post has been edited by stevenhsl2512: Jul 19 2022, 11:30 AM
soitsuagain
post Jul 19 2022, 11:25 AM

Let's do it together!
3,818 posts

QUOTE(stevenhsl2512 @ Jul 19 2022, 10:56 AM)
I thought of 8+512 at first, but ram is non-upgradeable while storage can always be extended using external HDD or NAS. I Actually don't need more storage as I have most of my things on cloud and I rarely download stuff as well. My windows laptop with 256gb is only 50% full after so many years of usage.

Since I ordered the 16Gb version, can I say that... as long as I do not multitask too much and cause my ram to use swap, I won't notice the speed difference in my daily usage, is this correct?
Yes. Honestly if you don’t feel you’ll need it then most likely you don’t. About safari tabs and RAM, gimme a break. There’s a thing call folders and bookmarks
notimetodie
post Jul 19 2022, 11:39 AM

QUOTE(stevenhsl2512 @ Jul 19 2022, 10:56 AM)

16gb is to futureproof as im planning to use this laptop for 5 years (or more)
Actually this is a special case here.. Because if you do not take the 512ssd..you will only have 1 x256ssd solder on the mother board rather than 2 x 128gb.. No matter what external hdd you have it will just be 50% slower because instead of 2 Lane Highway its now 1 Lane.
notimetodie
post Jul 19 2022, 11:41 AM

QUOTE(Jason @ Jul 19 2022, 10:30 AM)

Same here.. I placed order for M1
KanGz
post Jul 19 2022, 12:34 PM

241 posts

cancelled my mba order, go for mbp 14 base model bye.gif
notimetodie
post Jul 19 2022, 12:41 PM

QUOTE(KanGz @ Jul 19 2022, 12:34 PM)
cancelled my mba order, go for mbp 14 base model bye.gif
Better screen and ports.
stevenhsl2512
post Jul 19 2022, 12:55 PM

179 posts

QUOTE(notimetodie @ Jul 19 2022, 11:39 AM)
Actually this is a special case here.. Because if you do not take the 512ssd..you will only have 1 x256ssd solder on the mother board rather than 2 x 128gb.. No matter what external hdd you have it will just be 50% slower because instead of 2 Lane Highway its now 1 Lane.
Hence my question is... for my usage like google chrome, microsoft office, netflix this type of activities, will this 50% slower SSD actually affect me? Since I already have 16GB and probably won't trigger swap memory much. Within my budget, I can use choose either upgrade 16gb ram or 512gb ssd, but i don't store many things in laptop also... sweat.gif
ultra_nyamuk
post Jul 19 2022, 02:00 PM

1,833 posts

QUOTE(stevenhsl2512 @ Jul 19 2022, 12:55 PM)
Hence my question is... for my usage like google chrome, microsoft office, netflix this type of activities, will this 50% slower SSD actually affect me? Since I already have 16GB and probably won't trigger swap memory much. Within my budget, I can use choose either upgrade 16gb ram or 512gb ssd, but i don't store many things in laptop also...  sweat.gif
No i think for your simple tasks even 8gb ram will be enough. Only file transfer speeds will be most likely affected for your usage. Then again, are you going to compare side by side with another laptop.. haha no right? And like you said, you wont store much so I guess it wont affect most people.
notimetodie
post Jul 19 2022, 02:00 PM

QUOTE(stevenhsl2512 @ Jul 19 2022, 12:55 PM)
Hence my question is... for my usage like google chrome, microsoft office, netflix this type of activities, will this 50% slower SSD actually affect me? Since I already have 16GB and probably won't trigger swap memory much. Within my budget, I can use choose either upgrade 16gb ram or 512gb ssd, but i don't store many things in laptop also...  sweat.gif
Can't answer you as I've not tested it lol.. Just finger cross hope it works out good for you.

29 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.96    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:25 PM