Proton Preve is there actually one nice story?

TSBLKH3
post Mar 18 2022, 07:21 PM, updated 4y ago

471 posts

I bought a Proton Preve, second hand some more and drove it for a few years. Other than normal wear and tear and needs replacement, my Preve is running fine. BUT, I read so many Proton Preve (or any Proton car in general) horror stories that I am perplexed.

Is this car really that bad as it is or is it just a case of disgruntled owners make the most noise???

If you Preve also gives you (almost) no problem other than normal wear and tear, can you tell your story below???????????????
ktek
post Mar 18 2022, 09:14 PM

小喇叭
13,214 posts

auto gear, manual gear which one urs
police also many preve. silver gaya maa
TSBLKH3
post Mar 18 2022, 09:29 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 18 2022, 09:14 PM)
auto gear, manual gear which one urs
police also many preve. silver gaya maa
Auto premium, silver
FrogBlob
post Mar 18 2022, 09:37 PM

467 posts

Never drove or sat in one before, but always wanted to.
The horror stories I heard are all gearbox related iirc, but not that many also.

voscar
post Mar 19 2022, 12:32 AM

1,526 posts

Preve has already stopped production and not mainstream anymore, since you're satisfied then what's the point of opening this thread huh? Legacy Preve appreciation thread?

I'm driving Proton Gen2 and also touch wood normal wear and tear, you should've known Proton Gen2 is superb problematic, especially during Autoworld era there're multiple horror stories and bashers, but I'm satisfied also.
kaliku
post Mar 19 2022, 09:07 AM

447 posts

Preve problems mostly for the OCH failing even those replaced under warranty.
netmatrix
post Mar 19 2022, 10:00 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Is your seats lumpy? Feels like it has lumps inside it?
SleeplessEyes
post Mar 19 2022, 12:15 PM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Mar 18 2022, 07:21 PM)
I bought a Proton Preve, second hand some more and drove it for a few years. Other than normal wear and tear and needs replacement, my Preve is running fine. BUT, I read so many Proton Preve (or any Proton car in general) horror stories that I am perplexed.
Is this car really that bad as it is or is it just a case of disgruntled owners make the most noise???

If you Preve also gives you (almost) no problem other than normal wear and tear, can you tell your story below???????????????
I'm driving Exora. Same engine and trans as Preve CFE.
I guess I'm lucky because so far my turbo and especially the Cvt is still running fine. Yes I've been following Proton CFE FB group and most problem is from Preve. Dunno why.
The only issue I have is vibration from engine mounting (car is 7 Yrs old).
Och already changed and touchwood didn't encounter Och blow up..
I would think cvt failure is because mostly attribute to frequent aggressive driving. Its a turbo after all.

I would recommend one to idle and cool down the engine for 30 seconds to 1 minute with aircond running, to ensure the shutdown water temperature is below 90c. This can be noticed either from the OBD or radiator fan if don't have OBD.

Other than that just drive like normal but don't drive hard like some Nissan GTR.

TSBLKH3
post Mar 19 2022, 01:41 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(kaliku @ Mar 19 2022, 09:07 AM)
Preve problems mostly for the OCH failing even those replaced under warranty.
What is OCH? Newbie here.
Quazacolt
post Mar 19 2022, 03:08 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Mar 19 2022, 01:41 PM)
What is OCH? Newbie here.
Oil cooler hose
SUSrtk74
post Mar 20 2022, 12:10 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(voscar @ Mar 19 2022, 12:32 AM)
Preve has already stopped production and not mainstream anymore, since you're satisfied then what's the point of opening this thread huh? Legacy Preve appreciation thread?

I'm driving Proton Gen2 and also touch wood normal wear and tear, you should've known Proton Gen2 is superb problematic, especially during Autoworld era there're multiple horror stories and bashers, but I'm satisfied also.
Whats the issue with Gen2?
Ours were only fuel pump
DS51
post Mar 20 2022, 01:54 PM

495 posts

och never solve. lol. and drivetrain really crap. most owner kutuk due to butthurt with how car behave during acceleration. overall still okayla.

as a proton owner, read recent case, feel like proton nowadays much more scary compare to our time. at least car not sleep at service centre for months. but now, that is the case. its mind blowing experience.

a car is not a car if cannot function
alexei
post Mar 21 2022, 10:32 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

The CVT is one kind, must engage first, let the clutch settle within 1~2s, baru tekan accelerator. Otherwise, tekan accelerator before clutch settle is short life mia. Try and see for yourself, the RPM will easily go to 3~5 as the clutch haven't engage and feels like doing a drag race. Mine one after many years, after rev hard uphill, then stop the car, will have burnt rubber smell. Dunno what is causing it, lazy to find out.

OCH issue, ppl blame OCH... but they never think why it burst... deswai never fix... because fix wrong thing
something else is broken
go shopee and search, quite a few has been sold from various sellers. I guess some ppl might have figured this out already

Hint:

This post has been edited by alexei: Mar 21 2022, 10:51 AM
littlefire
post Mar 21 2022, 10:52 AM

2,736 posts

Met a Preve 1.6 campro manual owner, the owner feedback to me he is lucky to bought the manual campro N/A version and never regretted as it is cheaper, less issue & easy to maintain compare to the turbo CVT version.
leon898
post Mar 21 2022, 11:21 AM

734 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Mar 18 2022, 07:21 PM)

new owner? good luck.

timmychin
post Mar 21 2022, 04:22 PM

131 posts

My first car was a Preve, bought it used 6 years ago for 28k. 2012 model. Had around 100k on the clock. Overall I would say nothing really major ever happened, most serious was leaking engine oil which needed a top overhaul, cost around Rm1500. Some stupid issues such as IC regulator in the alternator which made the car turn off in the middle of driving and turning back on. Spent like 5k in total to fix it in 2020-2021 including the overhaul and sold it 2 weeks ago for 16k. Great car with great performance to be honest. Too bad reliability is hit and miss with some ppl. OCH i never kena. Gearbox also never kena. But feels like a timebomb anytime can explode as it's jerking a little already.

This post has been edited by timmychin: Mar 21 2022, 04:25 PM
lowpro
post Mar 21 2022, 04:40 PM

180 posts

I don't have experience with the older models. But my 2020 Preve Premium is one of the last produced ones. So far, no issues and I always service or replace parts according to schedule. Key to ensure that your Preve is running well, make sure to change when you need to change, regardless if the part is spoilt or not...especially for the OCH. This is called preventive maintenance. Cannot afford to be stingy.

I guess I have been lucky to buy the last editions of Proton models. Likewise, I also had a last edition Gen2 CPS Manual. And, like the Gen2 which I had for 9 years, no issues at all. So, I guess those units with issues are those from the earlier batches. Last edition units would probably have had many of the early issues solved already.

BTW, I agree with Alexei on the need to wait a split second for the CVT to engage. Do this to ensure that the CVT lasts longer. Be patient.
ahchat
post Apr 1 2022, 08:32 PM

WISE KUCENG
923 posts

QUOTE(timmychin @ Mar 21 2022, 04:22 PM)
My first car was a Preve, bought it used 6 years ago for 28k. 2012 model. Had around 100k on the clock. Overall I would say nothing really major ever happened, most serious was leaking engine oil which needed a top overhaul, cost around Rm1500. Some stupid issues such as IC regulator in the alternator which made the car turn off in the middle of driving and turning back on. Spent like 5k in total to fix it in 2020-2021 including the overhaul and sold it 2 weeks ago for 16k. Great car with great performance to be honest. Too bad reliability is hit and miss with some ppl. OCH i never kena. Gearbox also never kena. But feels like a timebomb anytime can explode as it's jerking a little already.
I kena both major problem for preve in the same week...OCH burst and gearbox failure.
OCH luckily burst while im driving to tapau breakfast, so can hear the sudden weird noise from engine bay...some were unlucky to have it happened while speeding on highways, which resulted in engine kaput. Got few workshop that provide OCH customization though.

And then, theres the gearbox failure, even after i drive it very2 carefully. But the signs/symptom of a failing CVT were not serious like others kena (jerking, gear free while driving, unusual whining), mine was, metal rubbing sound from inside the Gearbox whenever turning left.

Other than these 2 major problem, proton preve is a very good car, in term of safety, driving experience and performance.
TSBLKH3
post Apr 1 2022, 09:17 PM

471 posts

QUOTE(ahchat @ Apr 1 2022, 08:32 PM)
I kena both major problem for preve in the same week...OCH burst and gearbox failure.
OCH luckily burst while im driving to tapau breakfast, so can hear the sudden weird noise from engine bay...some were unlucky to have it happened while speeding on highways, which resulted in engine kaput. Got few workshop that provide OCH customization though.

And then, theres the gearbox failure, even after i drive it very2 carefully. But the signs/symptom of a failing CVT were not serious like others kena (jerking, gear free while driving, unusual whining), mine was, metal rubbing sound from inside the Gearbox whenever turning left.

Other than these 2 major problem, proton preve is a very good car, in term of safety, driving experience and performance.
How much each fixing cost? OCH and gearbox.
ahchat
post Apr 1 2022, 09:37 PM

WISE KUCENG
923 posts

QUOTE(BLKH3 @ Apr 1 2022, 09:17 PM)
How much each fixing cost? OCH and gearbox.
when OCH burst, prepare at least 450, need to buy the OCH it self and engine oil...just pray it didnt happen when u driving fast and didnt realized it until your engine suddenly jammed sweat.gif

gearbox, there are 3 options,
1.overhaul (full rebuild, change damaged parts etc) costing around 3500-4500
2. modify (mix proton cvt with mini cooper cvt parts...heard many did this, but hard to find actual reviews about it, just some hear say saying its good and all) costing around 4500-6000
3. replace (they get new recond/new? unit from punch factory, and replaced 1 whole gearbox with warranty from factory it self) costing around 6500-8000

0.0239sec    1.12    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 06:20 PM