9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

EV @Malaysia

constant_weight
post May 24 2023, 09:43 PM

916 posts

Glad that the greatest minds of the industries share the same opinion as me.

Gordon comment about "we now have a whole generation of young people never driven a rear wheel drive car" as an analogy of EV transition stuck me the most.

ayamxxx
post May 24 2023, 10:49 PM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ May 24 2023, 08:52 PM)
That's what SC told me as well regarding the battery, should be okay because battery can't broken 2 or 3 at once.

But XC90 common issue not only EDAS, Air Sus, AC Compressor etc
1 year fail each 1 can la, but 2 or 3 items i boleh mampus

My heart wants XC90 but my brain opt for CX8

sorry again hijacking this EV terek
Sorry maybe will get u stay away from XC90. The issues with Volvo is lack of expertise compared BMW/Merz. Get SC all play dumb mode.
Chinoz
post May 25 2023, 07:24 AM

Llamas"R"Us
1,528 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ May 24 2023, 09:43 PM)
Glad that the greatest minds of the industries share the same opinion as me.

Gordon comment about "we now have a whole generation of young people never driven a rear wheel drive car" as an analogy of EV transition stuck me the most. 

The entry level Tesla is a RWD though.

Probably a moot point in any case, since a large number of people won’t know or care which are the driven wheels so long as it goes.
eyerule
post May 25 2023, 09:34 AM

my cow died, it slipped on a banana skin
1,037 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ May 24 2023, 08:52 PM)
That's what SC told me as well regarding the battery, should be okay because battery can't broken 2 or 3 at once.

But XC90 common issue not only EDAS, Air Sus, AC Compressor etc
1 year fail each 1 can la, but 2 or 3 items i boleh mampus

My heart wants XC90 but my brain opt for CX8

sorry again hijacking this EV terek
all this is wear and tear. of all the things you list. it's quite easily fixed la no worries. in fact if you go mazda the parts are not that cheap
EnergyAnalyst
post May 26 2023, 10:58 PM

4,138 posts

https://theedgemalaysia.com/node/668633

The German woes....

Europe’s economic engine is breaking down
By William Wilkes & Jana Randow / Bloomberg
26 May 2023, 06:45 am
Updated - 03:56 pm

...Nowhere is Germany’s disappearing technological edge more obvious than in the auto sector. While brands like Porsche and BMW defined the combustion-engine era, Germany’s electric cars have struggled. BYD Co overtook VW to become the best-selling car brand in China last quarter. Key to its push was an electric model that costs around a third of VW’s ID3, but offers greater range and connectivity with third-party applications....

The above is just a tip of the icebergs, read on to know how worrisome it is

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: May 26 2023, 10:59 PM
greaterheights
post May 27 2023, 07:54 AM

Any recommendation as to companies in Malaysia offering wall chargers ( for EV cars) with solar PV panels?
Zaryl
post May 28 2023, 11:30 PM

Hardcore Casual Gamer
1,709 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ May 20 2023, 10:24 AM)
Level 1 charging can be done via a standard household electrical outlet in your home and would take around 8 to 20 hours to reach a full charge depending on your vehicle's battery size.

So if you are staying at a landed home, why not? just ask how long it will charge level one, and make sure they provide a level 1 charger
In my opinion, it’s best to get a 3 phase wiring system for your house if you want to charge your BEV car.

This is because, during charging at night, for sure you gonna use other high powered appliances such as turning on 2-3 ACs at once and not to mention water dispenser, wife ironing work shirts/kids school clothes, etc.

You don’t want to overload your DB, trust me.

1 phase - max 7kW: ~9-15 hours total charging
3 phase- 11kW or 22kW: ~5-7 hours only

N9484640
post May 29 2023, 07:42 AM

Chasing Electric
1,296 posts

QUOTE(greaterheights @ May 27 2023, 07:54 AM)
Any recommendation as to companies in Malaysia offering wall chargers ( for EV cars) with solar PV panels?
Two different companies- get one that does solar for your house then another for the EV charging point. Solar powered EV charging only good in the daytime. At night you still need to use TNB. Unless you got battery power wall
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 1 2023, 07:28 AM

4,138 posts

https://www.teslarati.com/tesla-byd-dominat...rs-left-behind/

International Council on Clean Transportation (ICCT) recently published a new report, The Global Automaker Rating 2022, which highlights the leaders, transitioners, and laggards in the electric vehicle market. Based on the firm’s study, Tesla and Chinese competitor BYD are currently at the front of the pack, while Japanese carmakers are lagging far behind....
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 1 2023, 07:50 AM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(Zaryl @ May 28 2023, 11:30 PM)
In my opinion, it’s best to get a 3 phase wiring system for your house if you want to charge your BEV car.

This is because, during charging at night, for sure you gonna use other high powered appliances such as turning on 2-3 ACs at once and not to mention water dispenser, wife ironing work shirts/kids school clothes, etc.

You don’t want to overload your DB, trust me.

1 phase - max 7kW: ~9-15 hours total charging
3 phase- 11kW or 22kW: ~5-7 hours only
Level 1 is no long term charging solution, but I was answering to a concern on what way to charge for shot term rental, e.g.

https://www.gocarsubs.com/ourgarage.php?category=Electric

Say you only take a week rental, for one week, you can either hunt for charging stations which defeat the joy of using an EV , or charge level 1 at home without charger installed....

It is still an option per se, not ideal as it will take 17 hours or longer to fully charge but you can minimize that by charging even the remaining range is half full , so long as you don't do it with extension cord but with a single isolated socket and at night where you don't have other appliances doing heavy duty like dryers, electric induction cooking, ironing, etc.

Ideally you should do a combo of level 1 and 2 because you may do level 2 chargers i.e. the type of ‘box’ chargers that you usually see in public spaces, where usually people park their cars for 1-2 hours to ‘top-up’ their vehicle while doing errands (shopping, meeting, exercise).

Again I am talking about shot term rental options.

EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 4 2023, 09:10 AM

4,138 posts

Volvo C40, BMW iX, BYD Atto 3, and the Ora Good Cat

Catch them at Pavilion bukit jalil. Today's last day @RHB Drive: Premium & EV roadshow.

Entrance to the event is free for the public and is open from 10 am to 10 pm.

https://www.carlist.my/news/rhb-drive-premi...-130541/130541/
constant_weight
post Jun 4 2023, 03:02 PM

916 posts

I rarely complement Tesla, this is a great run.

Much more stable rear end over previous Nordschleife attempt, which was sliding all over the place = kudos to the driver for constant steering correction (sorry for not knowing the driver's name, not like Kevin Estre and Lars Kern of Porsche). Good apex speed, until about 2:30, seems like the tyres grip is dropping from heat.

It should be able to maintain the pace for longer time if Tesla give it a wing, with matching front lip aero balance, to be less abusive on raw tyres rubber grip.

Model S Plaid with Track Package - basically gripper Goodyear Supercar 3R (same category as Pilot Sport Cup2) tires, and monoblock calipers with carbon ceramic rotors.

ayamxxx
post Jun 5 2023, 06:23 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jun 4 2023, 03:02 PM)
I rarely complement Tesla, this is a great run.

Much more stable rear end over previous Nordschleife attempt, which was sliding all over the place = kudos to the driver for constant steering correction (sorry for not knowing the driver's name, not like Kevin Estre and Lars Kern of Porsche). Good apex speed, until about 2:30, seems like the tyres grip is dropping from heat.

It should be able to maintain the pace for longer time if Tesla give it a wing, with matching front lip aero balance, to be less abusive on raw tyres rubber grip.

Model S Plaid with Track Package - basically gripper Goodyear Supercar 3R (same category as Pilot Sport Cup2) tires, and monoblock calipers with carbon ceramic rotors.

289kmh is good
constant_weight
post Jun 5 2023, 09:29 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 5 2023, 06:23 AM)
289kmh is good
It's about the rear end stability in the corner. See previous attempt, huge contrast.

ayamxxx
post Jun 5 2023, 09:42 AM

4,061 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jun 5 2023, 09:29 AM)
It's about the rear end stability in the corner. See previous attempt, huge contrast.

Yes agreed. Almost like F1 top team movement, less counters reacts on every corner. Be it like F1 backmarkers, keep on counter react the steering at every corner cz the car is less stable
EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 6 2023, 10:38 AM

4,138 posts

https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...-you-live/71740

Do this survey, perhaps it will help you buy time, petrol heads. I am doing it too.
constant_weight
post Jun 7 2023, 12:29 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jun 6 2023, 10:38 AM)
https://www.malaymail.com/news/malaysia/202...-you-live/71740

Do this survey, perhaps it will help you buy time, petrol heads. I am doing it too.
Why do we want to buy time? As an environmental hero that pushing EV to everyone, you should be extremely delighted to see reduction of fuel and electricity subsidies.

True environment protector be like if I have to sacrifice GDP and reduce quality of life to protect the environment I will do it.

Don't be hyprocrit. Have you buy your EV yet?

EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 7 2023, 01:31 AM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jun 7 2023, 12:29 AM)
Why do we want to buy time? As an environmental hero that pushing EV to everyone, you should be extremely delighted to see reduction of fuel and electricity subsidies.

True environment protector
be like if I have to sacrifice GDP and reduce quality of life to protect the environment I will do it.

Don't be hyprocrit. Have you buy your EV yet?
https://exploringyourmind.com/danger-of-labeling-people/

Labels, labels, labels, labels, and more labels , perhaps when you can stop doing that first?

But I doubt you can , like a famous saying....

Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits

Never mind, like I said, I am no hero, I am not here to change the world

constant_weight
post Jun 7 2023, 08:45 AM

916 posts

QUOTE(EnergyAnalyst @ Jun 7 2023, 01:31 AM)
https://exploringyourmind.com/danger-of-labeling-people/

Labels,  labels,  labels, labels, and more labels , perhaps when you can stop doing that first?

But I doubt you can , like a famous saying....

Watch your thoughts; they become words. Watch your words; they become actions. Watch your actions; they become habits

Never mind, like I said, I am no hero, I am not here to change the world
When you buy your EV, I'll give you my apology and give you double thumbs up

Until that, rclxs0.gif 0 convincing power from all the EV link you cookie cut.

Hypocrit

EnergyAnalyst
post Jun 7 2023, 09:35 AM

4,138 posts

QUOTE(constant_weight @ Jun 7 2023, 08:45 AM)
When you buy your EV, I'll give you my apology and give you double thumbs up

Until that, rclxs0.gif 0 convincing power from all the EV link you cookie cut.

Hypocrit
Sigh......I don't need your apology, I also don't need your thumb up, you are nothing to me but a stranger

This post has been edited by EnergyAnalyst: Jun 7 2023, 09:47 AM

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0313sec    1.27    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 06:44 PM